We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ah, Pilgrim's Paradise.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenmalure Lodge

Glenmalure Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rathdrum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenmalure Lodge
Drumgoff | Glenmalure, Rathdrum, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Rathdrum B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Ah, Pilgrim's Paradise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

After long walk on Wicklow Way we stumbled upon this beautifully located traditional irish pub&hotel. The views over the mountains are Just breathtaking. You can continue walking or simply stay and relax - listening to one of the live music gigs(if you're lucky)...And reward yourself with exquisitely yummy pint of Guinness;)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    14
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bray, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was there with friends to play pool and darts and I really enjoyed this place. Meal was fantastic. I had fish as the main course and it was the most delicious fish I ever had in Ireland.
Will go back one day just for food.
Staff was very friendly, room was tidy and spacious.
I really liked this visit, highly recommend this place.
Thank you

Room Tip: Rooms to the field side have beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork,
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Strategically located at the main cross-roads in the Glenmalure valley this old style Inn is the real deal. Friendly and efficient staff, hearty food, relaxing atmosphere in the bar with a good mix of locals and residents. Ideal place to stay for a walking holiday, particularly off-season.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I have been visiting the Glenmalure Lodge for the past 25 years and i promised myself i would never write a good review .Not because it isn't a fantastic place to stay but to spread the word would only make it even harder to book a room in this very popular lodge .To write a review of the Glenmalure Lodge you would have to begin with the location .Set amongst the Wicklow mountains you will do well to find a more scenic location...anywhere .As for the lodge itself i think the phrase "Old World" best describes it .All the rooms are upstairs and are ensuite , spacious and very comfortable .Downstairs contains the bar , lounge , breakfast room and dining room .Maybe it's the country air or the long walks but food has always been of a high standard and varied . If you are not one for the culinary delights on offer but more for liquid refreshment you won't be disappointed .Enjoy the live music as you unwind with a beer or two. After a good nights sleep it's always nice to have your breakfast handed to you and here is no exception. After a full Irish you're all set for your journey home , unless of course you've been clever enough to book that second night . To sum up,thanks to it's fantastic location and friendly staff and owners,(Pat and Ann ), Glenmalure Lodge offers a warm welcome and memorable visit . If you are booking, two bits of advice i might offer.Book early to avoid disappointment has never been truer and should there be rooms available request one at the front of the lodge to admire the stunning views .

Room Tip: Get a room to the front of the lodge and preferably not over the bar if you fancy an early night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I almost never take the time to write reviews but I just had to in this case... After travelling in Wicklow & hiking around Glendalough we were booked into a B&B in Laragh... lets not go there!!! needless to say for 110 euro & a room with no heating of food included we found ourselves in the car at 5pm on a Saturday night cold & wet in November with nowhere to stay. We had heard good things about Glenmalure Lodge so on the off chance we rang them & explained our situation (we also had 2 dogs in tow) The lady told us to come ahead no problem & quoted us a much better rate including breakfast. We arrived to the nicest warmest homely atmosphere to be greeted with a warm welcome & friendly face. We checked in got washed up & headed to the bar-restaurant for food.. yummy.... all the staff were very friendly as were the locals.. it was a Saturday night so the music & craic was mighty... after a good nights sleep and a large delicious breakfast we headed out for a hike... back to the lodge for a much needed Rock Shandy and even though the bar was not yet open we were accomodated & let in to have our last sip of this wonderful gem, these wonderful people before we headed on our way...I am home now 3 days & have not stopped thinking about going back & telling all my friends... I cant stress enough my thanks to all at this great place...

Room Tip: Enjoy the entertainment stay in the bar until its closing as you can hear the goings on from your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stopped here on a walking trip in the wicklow mountains, had a fabulous stay, friendly welcome, simple honest food and plenty of Guinness. Basic accommodation but clean and tidy. Great value. Plus the Wednesday night music rocked. 5*

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
As, Belgium
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We enjoyed our one night stay after walking from Iron Bridge on the Wicklow Way northbound. The inn has a lovely country pub atmosphere, our tidy room was very comfortable with a queen and single bed. we had lots of room for our gear. Staff were very friendly. Room 11 was right above a noisy beer cooling unit and is to be avoided (hotel was fully booked, therefore we were not able to move to another room. Breakfast is good.

Room Tip: Avoid room 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Glenmalure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmalure Lodge

Address: Drumgoff | Glenmalure, Rathdrum, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Rathdrum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Rathdrum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenmalure Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Glenmalure Lodge to your Saves list