We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Tasty Food, Lovely Setting, Great Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bates Restaurant

Bates Restaurant
3 Market Street | Market Square, Rathdrum, Ireland
+353 (0)404-29988
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Rathdrum
Price range: $35 - $139
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Ireland
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Very Tasty Food, Lovely Setting, Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We had Sunday lunch here today... The set menu (2-course around €19 or 3-course around €24) was excellent value. The staff were particularly attentive to to needs of the kids that were with us, and really went out of their way to make sure they were happy. Happy kids mean adults can eat in peace :-)

The food was very nice - I opted for the 2-course menu. Staff were very friendly, and nothing was a hassle for them.

I have no hesitation recommending this place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    29
    5
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very tasty meal and enjoyable night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoy heading around Wicklow trying out the various restaurants and Bates is up there with the best! We ate there mid week in December and were surprised by how many other tables of guests were there, they all appeared to be local as they chatted easily to one another. The service was a bit slow but worth waiting for. There were 5 of us and we all enjoyed the selections on offer. They offer a 2 or 3 course set menu from €20 to €24. We didn't have wine but a few had beers. The breads and tapenade were very tasty beforehand but be careful not to be greedy as you need to keep space for the meal. 5 star experience. *****

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Worth a detour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This restaurant was recommended by our B&B and it did not disappoint. Taking the 'value menu' - which correctly suggests that the a la carte was very pricey - there was still an excellent choice of original and appealing dishes, ranging from wild mushroom risotto to venison sausages. A very good feature was the facility to choose either a starter or a main course from the 'risotto and pasta' section - although you could not have two starters and a main course as your 3 course option. The supplement for steak - a lamentable practice - was excessive and the wine list, while good, was generally overpriced. Service was professional and effective if a little unctuous. The worst part of the night was the arrival of a party, in both senses, at the adjoining table which include some very loud and rude women who made conversation at a range of 2 metros quite impossible, but you can't fault the restaurant for that.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

The owner of the b&b we stayed in recommended this restaurant and we were not disappointed. The restaurant looks great, we got a great table by the fire place. Friendly staff, good menu, great food. Would really recommend this place to anyone.

The only thing I didn't like was the fact that they have foie gras on the menu, no restaurant should serve that anymore.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Bates Restaurant, A hidden gem in Wicklow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We booked a Sunday lunch for 4 as my cousin and her husband were visiting from Australia and I wanted to take them somewhere different and unique. Bates delivered on all counts,great food, extremely well presented,friendly service and good value for money.I have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bates Restaurant also viewed

Wicklow, County Wicklow
 

Been to Bates Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bates Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.