We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good site” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Valley Holiday Park

Save Saved
You added Hidden Valley Holiday Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hidden Valley Holiday Park
Rathdrum, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
dublin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here a few weekends ago. Nice site. Seems well run. Toilets/showers clean. My one pet hate tho is having to pay for showers.. and low and behold this site is no different. And they are very miserly with the shower time. All in all tho a nice site. will return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveltheworld81, Owner at Hidden Valley Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our showers cost 1 euro and last for approx 7 minutes. This is fairly standard for Ireland, however I will be sure to review it this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    32
    23
    25
    17
See reviews for
116
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Drogheda, Louth, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed last weekend and had a ball. We were lucky with the weather which was fab. Bumper boats are great fun and my two boys aged 2 & 4 loved them. We stayed in the Log cabins which are basic but fine. They really could do with a shop on site to stock essential supplies, however it's only a short trip in a car to the shops. Would defo consider a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveltheworld81, Owner at Hidden Valley Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately we do not have the space for a grocery shop on site, but there are two in Rathdrum, which is within walking distance, and there will hopefully be one opening this summer near the entrance to our park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Kerry, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Just home from a week long camping holiday with my two boys. Was very impressed with the facilities and camping pitch by the River. We arrived on the Saturday it was very busy on the camping pitch but many tent left on the Sunday making it more enjoyable. My children 4 & 7 were always kept busy at the play ground, archery, slide, bungee, canoes and bumper boats. They brought their bikes and spent some time cycling around the park, meeting new friends and playing in the river. I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the toilets and washing up area. The staff in reception were very helpful and friendly. The guy in the archery was fantastic with children. We had mixed weather but still managed a campfire 5 out of the 7 nights roasting marshmallows- very enjoyable as most Irish campgrounds do not permit fires. We did get one night of very bad rain and thunder which resulted in a very went camping area but we were prepared and didn't let it ruin our stay- just a cozy night in the tent and a day out in Wicklow town. For the bad reviews in relation to wet pitches and grounds- what do you expect with the summer we had? Also lot to do in the surrounding area- would highly recommend Clara Lara for a day out!! Would highly recommend this campground!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveltheworld81, Owner at Hidden Valley Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately we can't prevent the rain, but we do our very best to keep everyone on site happy and the kids busy in the rain or shine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Camped here for the first time in August with the kids. The camp ground was very crowded with tents camped on top of each other. The ground was very stony and as pointed out by other reviewers, the drainage was awful. The facilities for the kids are good but if you've more than one or two kids, it gets very expensive. Also, the playground area closes at 7:00 p.m.and does not open until 10:00 a.m. - the only other place available for the kids to play is by the river. Our kids were up before 7:00 each morning which left us with 3 hours before we could even kick a ball about.
The toilets and showers weren't bad but for the 3 days we camped, there was a black rubbish bag left on the beach at the weir - soiled nappies one of the many things that spilled out onto the beach. it doesn't say much for the type of camper who would dump their rubbish but even less for campsite management that would leave it there. The bin area was overflowing for the entire 3 days and smelled awful.
Won't be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveltheworld81, Owner at Hidden Valley Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that your experience was not a great one. We have staff who pick up rubbish everyday around the entire park, so I'm not sure how the black bag on the beach was missed. My apologies for this. The bin areas are checked on at least twice a day, but unfortunately for whatever reason many people do not put their rubbish inside the bins. Last season was a very wet season and even the best drained land could not cope with all the rain, however we have re-drained the camping area this past winter and we're bringing in new soil and reseeding. Hopefully this will help this problem!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was our first time at Hidden Valley. We sayed for six nights in our motorhome. The weather during the week was pretty mixed, and when it rained - it rained, so much so that the ground was sodden. We did feel sorry for those in tents. The pitches with hard standing were very welcome but we found them very narrow. Even when parked along one edge we could not exit the motorhome without walking on the mucky grass. We found the site activities to be very weather dependent. The site could do with greater attention to detail being paid to the cleanliness of the toilet block. The windows of the men's and women's toilets were full of spider's webs, complete with various carcasses and could not be described as being in pristine condition. There just appeared to be one single shower each for men and women with the remaining showers being shared single cubicles. There appeared to be no set time for cleaning and one could be standing at a urinal (as I witnessed) when a female member of staff would walk in to check the toilets with little more than a cursory knock on the door. We were not impressed! I would have expected more from a CC Site. There is also a cafe which also does take away, and an ice cream counter which, on the two occasions we went to it, did not have what we wanted despite it being on the menu. If there is a shop on the site, it only seems to sell soft drinks and sweets, it's emphasis appears to be on hiring equipment and tokens for the various activities on the site.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveltheworld81, Owner at Hidden Valley Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment. I'm sorry that you did not have a good experience on our site. We have staff cleaning the toilets non stop from 6 a.m. to midnight, and they are checked on every hour through the night. As you can imagine it is very hard to keep the toilets in pristine condition with all the children on the site, however we do our very best. I will share your comments with our cleaning staff. Our hard standing sites are the same width as the UK sites. Unfortunately we cannot control the weather and all we can hope for is a more sunny season for 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just back from here and had a great time staff are helpful and seem to work non-stop will definitely go back. Despite the weather there was plenty for kids to do we especially loved lighting the camp fire at night to toast marsh mallows curfew is also great.

Michelle from Dublin

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveltheworld81, Owner at Hidden Valley Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us! Our curfew is in place so that people can have lots of fun during the day and a peaceful sleep at night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

my family and I spent 3 nights camping at hidden valley and this is our review, due to the wet weather there was no shooting, archery, bungee jump or mini football only the playground for younger children was open, luckily my kids 11 and 13 brought their bikes with them, they enjoyed the canoes on the lake but no staff was supervising them. they played in the river just going in up to their knees. I was worried for children being sold rubber rings to play in the river with as I witnessed the water was flowing fast towards the weir. The campers kitchen was adequate and the hot water was free and charge of E1 for 20 mins to use a hot plate to cook. The curfew was imposed at 11pm which was good. The rubbish bins area was untidy and overflowing at times, the outdoor cafe sold a variety of food which we enjoyed. 6 mins for E1 in the shower,there was not enough showers to go around. toilets were smelly and untidy and sanitary bins overflowing and not enough toilets either so time it well before you go. nice location though..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveltheworld81, Owner at Hidden Valley Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our park. We're happy to hear that you had a nice time and I will be happy to address some of your concerns. Most of our activities are open in the rain, however there are some activities that close when the rain is heavy or ongoing due to insurance purposes and safety. The inflatable swim rings are used for our lazy river, which is a supervised activity. It is at the discretion of the parents/guardians as to whether their children can use the rings on the river, at sea or another body of water. Our amenity block is cleaned non stop from 6 a.m. to midnight and checked on frequently through the middle of the night. I will share your comments with our cleaning staff as what you have described should not be occurring. We have a main shower block and also individual showers at the front of the amenity block. I think sometimes customers only see one and not the other. I will be sure to check on the signage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hidden Valley Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Holiday Park

Address: Rathdrum, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Rathdrum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Rathdrum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hidden Valley Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Holiday Park Hotel Rathdrum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Valley Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.