We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bella Coola is 'Cooler' !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Coola Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bella Coola Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Bella Coola Mountain Lodge
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1900 Mackenzie Hwy (Hwy 20), Hagensborg, British Columbia V0T 1H0, Canada (Formerly Brockton Place Guesthouse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hagensborg B&B and Inns
Bend, Or
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bella Coola is 'Cooler' !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A must stay when visiting BC(Bella Coola). Holly & Fraser are the ultimate hosts ensuring all your needs are met. Their knowledge of the valley is astounding, both are stewards of conservation, and you will benefit from their experiences as life long valley residents. Rafting trips with Frazer were my highlights. His skills on the river allowed me to get some great pics of grizzlies. Holly's warm and friendly manner made for a very comfortable lodge environment. Enjoyed some great conversation about the valley with Holly at meal time. A must visit on your trip to Canada.

Room Tip: All rooms excellent, but don't consider room selection when traveling to Bella Coola. Stay outdo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser K, Owner at Bella Coola Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Glad you got some great pictures of the eagles, mountains and of course the bears! It is always a pleasure to guide guests that appreciate Holly and my approach to sustainability and we always strive to improve those aspects of the business that are easy to overlook! Thanks for the great review and we hope to see you again in Bella Coola for another adventure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    20
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
34
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed here for 2 days in August of 2012. It was a lovely, tranquil place to come to after travelling across Canada for 4 weeks.

Fraser and Holly were very warm and friendly hosts that did their best to accommodate my needs even though I was travelling alone.
On my first day, I went on a river rafting trip with Fraser and some other tourists. We saw a grizzly bear for about 2 seconds as he/she got frightened by seeing us and ran back into the bushes, we didn't see anymore grizzlies that day but it was lovely just to cruise down the river enjoying the scenery

I loved the car hire option that they have at the lodge as it is quite hard to get around the place without one.There is no public transport here so it is best to bring a car with you.

The rooms are very spacious and kept very tidy and the downstairs restaurant has great food. Make sure you reserve a table for dinner during the day as they do get busy at night and making a last minute reservation may not be possible although Holly did arrange a table for me at the last minute which was great.

I hired a car on the second day of my stay and I was driving down Highway 20 just outside Bella Coola just enjoying the scenery. I turn around this bend in the road and right there in the middle of the highway is a big grizzly bear walking up the centre line about 100 metres ahead of me. I slammed on the breaks and pulled off to the side of the road and just sat there and watched him/her amble along for a good 10 mins. Just me and this beautiful grizzly bear on this quiet highway.It was my best day of my entire 5 weeks spent in Canada.

If you are keen to see some grizzly or black bears in their natural habitat or if you just want to get some peace and quiet, I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser K, Owner at Bella Coola Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Solo travelers are always welcome, and kudos to you for getting all the way to Bella Coola, it can be a challenge logistically! Glad your trip was a good one and Holly and I enjoyed hosting you and taking you on the tour - Fraser.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Only stayed one night. Sure wish I could have stayed here and on the Coast longer. Fantastic owners. Made me feel very welcome. A coffee bar and a fabulous dining room, what else could you ask for??
My room was great. Shared it with someone but even that wasn't too bad! lol

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Coola_Lodge, Owner at Bella Coola Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Next time you will have to book an extra day, and don't forget the fishing rod for those fall coho! Thanks for visiting us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofstade, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed in the lodge Aug. 31 until Sep. 3rd, 2012, room 16 type suite.
This lodge is in Hagensborg at 15 minutes distance from Bella Coola and the ferry.
The accomodation is very tidy and well maintained, our suite incl. separate bedroom and kitchen and plenty of room for 4 persons.
The lodge has a nice restaurant offering high quality food.
Holy and Fraser are very professional and make sure that you enjoy your stay. They also have 'Kynoch Adventures' under the same roof which is very handy to book for some well organized activities, as we did the bear watching.
Of course the nature and wildlife in this valley is impressive.
An excellent location!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Coola_Lodge, Owner at Bella Coola Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thanks for the review Eddy. We certainly had good weather in late August and we are glad you enjoyed the bear tours and the wilderness. Bella Coola is certainly a special place and we enjoy sharing our experiences with visitors. Cheers, Fraser and Holly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The highlight of our 30 day adventure in Canada. We thoroughly enjoyed the wonderful location and with a clean and comfortable room, great hosts, magnificent scenery, and magnificent scenery...... what else could one wish for? ............. About a week to enjoy it more. Unfortunately my wife and I could only stay two nights and although the salmon were not up to speed, had the priviledge of seeing a Grizzly that wasn't behind a fence.
So come on all you travelling "Kiwi's" put this on your 'Must Stay List".
Thanks, Richard and Gay. (New Zealand)

Room Tip: Book well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Coola_Lodge, Owner at Bella Coola Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Not a lot of Kiwis make it to Bella Coola, I guess because your own country offers some spectacular sights and experiences as well! Glad you enjoyed our 'northern' wilderness and thanks for the comments in your review.

Cheers, Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed in the lodge and enjoyed a comfortable, clean room, made me feel at home. The restaurants offers great quality food. The staff were very friendly and always looking to makes feel at home. The bear tour was an amazing experience and Frase,our guide, shared all his knowledge about everything from birds, salmon and of course bears. He was always ready to answer questions.
Holly and Fraser know for sure how to make you feel home and make the best out of your experience in Bella Coola

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is an excellent place to stay in Bella Coola. The lodge has been creatively built and incorporates local materials including beautiful recycled lumber from the old dock. Our room was comfortable with the added bonus of a kitchenette. Holly, the owner, was most accommodating and ensured that our stay met our expectations. The only bear we saw in Bella Coola ambled across the lawn of the lodge in the early evening! The continental breakfast was more than adequate and appreciated. We would definitely recommend the lodge to anyone wanting a real Bella Coola experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Coola_Lodge, Owner at Bella Coola Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thanks for visiting us in Bella Coola this summer, we appreciate that you noticed the unique building features and care we put into the lodge, that means a lot to us as owners! The bear viewing season has picked up and we are seeing grizzly bears on the river every day now! Hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bella Coola Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Coola Mountain Lodge

Address: 1900 Mackenzie Hwy (Hwy 20), Hagensborg, British Columbia V0T 1H0, Canada (Formerly Brockton Place Guesthouse)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Bella Coola Valley > Hagensborg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hagensborg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Coola Mountain Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Coola Mountain Lodge (Formerly Bella Coola's Coast Mountain Lodge) is a long established lodge offering unique package and wilderness tours and accommodations. The perfect spot to get away and explore Bella Coola Valley BC, Canada.On-site dining and tours make the lodge a perfect complete holiday destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Bella Coola Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Coola Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.