We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced with highway noise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Lake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inn on the Lake to your Saves list
Inn on the Lake
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3009 Highway 2, Fall River, Nova Scotia B2T 1J5, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fall River
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nova Scotia, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Overpriced with highway noise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here hoping we would find the Inn to be the perfect venue for our wedding but they do not allow music? And their fabulous beach and gazebo area have constant highway noise,
Plus the price was just too expensive for an Inn in need of a good scrubbing in the hallways.

Room Tip: Our room opened onto the pool but the highway sounds are worse on this side....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susannelson, Owner at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear NKY 3783

In preparing this response I attempted to identify which room you stayed in, the price you paid and the date you visited by checking your profile against our guest registery and wedding inquires over the months of July and August - unfortunately we have no record of a female 35-49 from Cincinnati Ohio having stayed with us or making any inquires about our wedding facilities or services so it is impossible to address your points specifically.

We, like all airport hotels in the area are near the Trans Canada Highway. Our pricing is checked daily to ensure we are competitive with other properties in the Halifax area. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the facility and the care that our maintenance staff and grounds keepers take to ensure that the Inn and park lands are well maintained.

We host many wedding each year. All brides have given us glowing reviews and none have complained about road noise. We do allow music. Unfortunately we cannot accommodate dances.
If you provide me with a description of what type of facility you are looking for and your budget, our wedding co-ordinator Kerry Reid will be happy to recommend alternate venues.

Best wishes on your wedding
Ron Nelson
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    42
    9
    2
    6
See reviews for
17
72
11
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Hawkesbury, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Being that I am from a small town, I was not keen on staying in the city (Halifax) while travelling alone so, I opted for this hotel. It was booked through the visitor info. center in Port Hastings. I loved the location, after a long week of hard work, it was so relaxing to be by the water. It's very near the airport but far enough away you do not hear air or vehicle traffic - which is GREAT! The balcony was a nice touch as well, again, relaxing!

I received a great rate for my room and felt 100% secure staying here. The staff are friendly all around, including the night staff and are always willing to lend a hand, or provide you with a good laugh!

Wish I could have stayed longer. I have recommended this place to all my family and friends and plan on heading back for a nice relaxing stay.

Did not have breakfast or use the spa.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great - especially those with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed one night at the inn before our next morning flight home. It is on a small lake and I thought it would be more peaceful than one of the airport hotels. It was a great decision. Small hotel, only 38 rooms but clean and comfortable. Our room had a small balcony so we could sit outside and enjoy the lake. Excellent restaurant and pub are right on site so you don't have to leave. Lovely deck for drinks or food overlooks a large pool. Seafood chowder was one of the better chowders we ate during our trip. The cocoanut cream pie was delicious and homemade. Staff was friendly and helpful. There is no elevator, so if stairs are a problem be sure to check if they have first floor rooms. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

When the hotels at the airport were full, we booked into this nice and clean hotel as it is just a few minutes to the airport. Even though the rooms are a little dated, the bed was very comfortable and overall it was a good stay. In the same situation, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed looking out over the pool. It was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

we were delighted to be sent here after being disappointed by a nearby b&b where we had reservations. this hotel has a fair amount of character (compared to typical contemporary motels/hotels). very nicely maintained although a bit dated in some respects. professional, friendly staff. clean. and offering indoor and outdoor dining options. easy parking and minutes from halifax airport (but far enough so you don't hear planes). we were ready for this kind of comfort and convenience after travelling around the country for a few days.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I only discovered this inn on the last day of our travels while looking for a place not too far from Halifax airport in Nova Scotia and was very pleased. Nice location, lovely setting by the lake with beach, and also a room opening onto the pool and patio area. Fine dining in both a dining room and a pub. Have breakfast on the patio in the sunlight. The staff were helpful, and very pleasant stay albeit short. Will be the place I stay next time I am in the area. And hot tub in the room - nice touch - relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Ronge, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We once again chose Inn on the Lake for our first night stay while vacationing in Nova Scotia this year. I love this place! The setting is so peaceful and serene, the rooms are just wonderful, clean and so nicely furnished. The beds are comfortable and the view of the lake is just so tranquill from the balcony.
The service is excellent and friendly. We had our evening meal as well as breakfast at the Inn and just like last year, we found the food and service both top notch!
We will most definately return to this beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the lake! The view is magnificant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Lake

Address: 3009 Highway 2, Fall River, Nova Scotia B2T 1J5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Fall River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fall River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on the Lake 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shuttle Bus to/from Halifax Airport. Outdoor Parking, In-room coffee/tea, Newspaper except Sunday. Use of recreation facilities. Lounge/Bar, and Cocktail lounge. Volt 110-120AC. Restaurant, VCR-request, Limited handicap facilities. Drugstore nearby, Credit union - nearby, Hairstylist, Liquor Commission, Supermarket Services, Fax service, Maid service, Secretarial service, Luggage hold, Multilingual Staff, Room service - 7AM-10PM, Traveler's check cashing Safety, In-room sprinkler system, In-room heat/smoke detector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Fall River
Inn On The Lake Fall River, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.