We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel for an adventure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Corsaro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Corsaro to your Saves list
Hotel Corsaro
p.zza Cantoniera - Etna Sud, 95030 Nicolosi, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nicolosi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hotel for an adventure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located on up on the mounten. Great views but if there is a storm it would be difucult to go down.
Room are basic. Bed is wonderfull
The staff is very nice. Thanks Davide.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McOrion, Direttore at Hotel Corsaro, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
I agree, April can play some jokes. We had two little snowing - and temperatures around zero - hich made it difficult to leave hotel early (road frozen and difficult without snow tyres). Even most of our staff had troubles (we already changed all winter tyres with summer ones).

At April beginning (or in November) unpredicted low temperatures make early check-out or late check-in a bit risky.

You'll be a bit sad to know just two days after you left hotel we had another spectacular paroxysm (see photo on official website).

Hope you will come again, I expect a 'real' eruption (a long one with lava, days and days of explosions, good weather, a lot of photos to be done!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    31
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
74
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Poole
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I been to Hotel Corsaro back in July 2008 to base myself for my ascent of the Etna Volcano and I found it to be a great hotel with a spacious room, a good sized restaurant area with a buffet selection of delicious food, and with some conveniences such as bottled water, souvenirs, etc.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McOrion, Direttore at Hotel Corsaro, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Mr. Ren, many thanks!

As you discovered we like giving best rooms to Etna lovers :-)

As some others you are considered one of our "Special Guests" and we are happy to be your far house on your volcano, nothing else!

Next year we'll also have a wellness area. It is necessary after a day on Etna coming back in hotel covered by sand, isn't it?

Saluti dall'Etna!
Davide Corsaro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We had a superior room with terrace and it was incredible. 2.000 meters terrace with view on half Sicily.

Room was big and costed just 10 euro more than a standard one.

Complete breakfast included but if you wish a real Cappuccino you have to ask it to service (they don't charge it but it is not specified).

Great dinner with excellent pasta and meats (no fish). It was good after a long day trekking to have such abundance. Good choice of wines with very low prices if compared to Paris standard.

No possibility to book by Booking.com and similar but they offer best price directly. To reserve about credit card is complicate if you don't have a fax or a scanner, anyway (nothing terrible but you need to spend a bit of time more than usual). They answer very fast to each mail, at least.

We have been VERY lucky and we had an eruption while we slept there; SIMPLY INCREDIBLE.

Room Tip: Ask for Superior rooms with terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McOrion, Direttore at Hotel Corsaro, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Many thanks!

about Cappuccino after your review we wrote it on coffee machine, sorry. Now all guests know if they want they can have 'real coffee and cappuccino' without overpricing. Some groups, most french, prefer coffee machine to espresso one so we offer both possibility (but we prefer espresso!).

Reservation process is not direct, I know and I am sorry but this allows us to make all guest best price possible.

About eruption "it happens" (no overpricing, anyway, is like a cappuccino!)

See you soon!
Davide Corsaro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Øystese
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

HOTEL CORSANO is the best in the all Italy!! The hotel is located near to the volcano Etna. Rooms are very spacious have big, comfortable beds, wonderful views form the windows. It is also TV and free wireless internet connection. Also bathroom is OK. What is more personnel it was very friendly and polite. Food – breakfast: was delicious with a big variety of food. The atmosphere it was a really family.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warszawa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

In hotel Corsaro I spend 2 weeks:) It was my best holiday ever:) The hotel is located very close to the volcano Etna. In hotel is very friendly service, great views and a lot of delicious food!The rooms are very nice and clean. I recommend this wonderful hotel:) For sure I will return here in next summer:)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011 via mobile

Lovely hotel on Etna, friendly staff! Views from 204 terrace is amazing! Very close to Etna cable car at about 2000 meters of altitude. Good restaurant and breakfast (for Sicily three stars hotel standard). Ideal getaway to visit volcano and surroundings! Visit Zafferana and Randazzo and try a "granita" in Nicolosi. Great!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgarr, Malta
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

We were a relatively large group (brothers/sisters/kids/and parents - 17 in total). The hotel is a very good one with all necessary amenities being comfortable. Some rooms have amazing views. We had dinner in the restaurant and this was very nice, starting off with some mouth watering anti-pasti (home made stuff), deliciious pasta for seconds and various meats for the main course. Restaruant service was good, and very efficient, clearly showing that they are well geared for larger groups (it seems that the location takes on day trippers to Etna, becasue the restaurant is huge compared to the number of rooms).

Considering that the italian breakfast is usually just sweets, breakfast was also quite good.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McOrion, Direttore at Hotel Corsaro, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Many thanks for your review!

soon we'll have a wellness area so if you think to come back in summer time for an eruption watching trip (or again in winter time, especially in a record season as this 2012 one) you'll find hotel even more comfortable!

See you soon!
Davide Corsaro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Corsaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corsaro

Address: p.zza Cantoniera - Etna Sud, 95030 Nicolosi, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Nicolosi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nicolosi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highest hotel on Etna volcano, just 300m far from cable car station; best base for excursions and winter sports. Excellent cooking in restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Corsaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corsaro Hotel Nicolosi
Hotel Corsaro Nicolosi, Italy - Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Corsaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.