We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Michelangelo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Michelangelo to your Saves list
Villa Michelangelo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Oasi San Bernardo 8, 95030 Nicolosi, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Nicolosi
Valletta, Malta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The staff were a bit indifferent till we got to know the owner of the Hotel, and then their attitude changed dramatically. We were treated like family and even the chef and staff did their best to help us in every way. The downsides are the parties in the evening, but they usually start late and the people who visit the pool in the Summer, but most of them do not bother you. But if you are one to have a quiet pool to yourself, forget it. The bar at the pool is pricey, but they cater for the day visitors, that's how they make their money. Some people would say its a bad Hotel because of these two things, but they are wrong really. The rooms are comfortable, especially the ones at the back (its quiter there, then the front). Of course the pool view is great, but noisy and there are no real views, so you go for the friendliness and the pool. The meals are fantastic, maybe a bit pricey, but not for us Maltese.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back quieter but no views. Double rooms are nice, but the 3 or 4 rooms are very cramme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VMichelangelo, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Villa Michelangelo, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Many thanks for your opinion about our hotel and our service. We hope it will be usefull for all those guests who would like to visit Sicily and Etna . We do our best to improve our service and we hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    31
    16
    17
    8
See reviews for
25
37
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in the hotel and we were alone as guests. The pool area was great and perfect to relax. The breakfast was not what I expected, only toastbread, no yogurt and the staff was looking at us during breakfast! The room was small but we has wireless. Theres a little fitnessroom but most of it in there was not working. The view is great - also the garden and a goot choice for exploring etna. On the other side you have to take the car to get to the nearest town.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VMichelangelo, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Villa Michelangelo, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thanks for your opinion. We are glad to know that you appreciated our hotel and we are sorry for the things you didn't like. We always make our best, trying to do better.
Hope to see you againg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Worst place I've been in Sicily, the people who run this place treated us very badly and didn't try to help us even a little bit. We booked online a room and when we arrived we were told (by the waiter in the restaurant, no one in the hotel told us) that they were having a private party (a birthday) in the pool that night. When we finished dining we went to our room and it was completely iompossible to sleep, it was like the music was inside our room. We asked for a room change and they said it was plenty and there was nothing they could do. We tried to put a claim but they didn't cooperate. Also, when we paid, they tried to charge usmore money for the dinner. Long story short, if you don't want surprises and want to sleep and have a good night in a normal place, never go here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

We booked 2 nights and ended up only staying 1 night due to the extremely rude attitude of the manager when we complained about the unreasonable music at a party at 12.30. We were told by the manager that the only reason we were making a complaint was because we wanted to get away without paying. No apologies were offered at any time. We were also concerned that the restaurant where we thought we were having a quiet evening meal was suddenly transformed into a men's evening and a belly dancer entered the room. At no point in the evening were we ever informed that this was going to happen, despite being at one point the only couple in the restaurant. I was the only woman in the restaurant during the whole evening which made the belly dancer experience rather disconcerting. The whole experience was unpleasant due to poor staff and management attitude, when the hotel was actually lovely. We advised the reception staff of our reason for leaving early.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Michelangelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Michelangelo

Address: Via Oasi San Bernardo 8, 95030 Nicolosi, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Nicolosi
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Nicolosi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Michelangelo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Michelangelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Michelangelo Nicolosi, Italy - Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Michelangelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.