We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carrara Marble Quarries tours

Carrara Marble Quarries tours
Viale G. Galilei 122/E, 54033 Carrara, Italy
+39 328 415 6084
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Activities in Carrara
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tours and guided visits at the Carrara marble quarries, excursions on 4x4 off road vehicles, walking tours of Carrara historical center, sculpture studios and marble workshops.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife and I are very interested in mining, mostly gold and silver mining, so when we saw the opportunity to take a tour of a marble mine on our planned trip to Cinque Terre, we jumped at the chance. While our arrangements were handled by Gabriele, our tour guide was Heike, and what an excellent guide she was. We took the half-day trip, which included going into the mountain tunnels and climbing to the tops of several quarries in her 4x4 vehicle. We were expecting this tour to be one of the highlights of our trip to Italy - and it was. Heike provided us with a very informed and thorough explanation of the mining process, expertly answered all of our many questions and guided us expertly over the mountainside. Thank you both for arranging and conducting this unforgettable experience.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    12
    0
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camaiore, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“GUIDA FANTASTICA, POSTO INDIMENTICABILE ED UNICO AL MONDO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Gabriele (IL TAU) has demonstrated himself time and time again to be a real expert on Carrara's quarries and all the industries that are connected to them. He has a great knack of connecting with people of all nationalities and from all walks of life. You will come away from this tour of this vast, marvellous and unique place with a sense of wonder and admiration. Place this on the list of things to do before you die!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
“Awesome Cave di Marmo Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Gabriele took us in his rugged 4x4 for a very exciting tour of the beautiful Carrera Marble Quarries, renowned world-wide for the exquisite marble that the quarries produce (including for some very famous sculptures!). A steep drive up to the very top of the quarries produced an amazing view over the quarries, Carrara itself, and the sea.
Furthermore, Gabriele is very knowledgeable of not only about the history of the quarries (which is also very interesting), but also about the technical aspects of the quarries, such as how the marble forms, is mined and transported. Thank you!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
1 review
“roller coaster ride through the mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

last week on the 23rd of November i went on the jeep tour with Gabriele up the mountains of Carrara , i am a stone sculptor and have seen many quarries all over the world sourcing stone but Carrara by far was the most breath taking to see, this trip up the mountains is not for the faint hearted especially when we went up, after the floods which took out houses and moved large boulders onto the road, but this was all cleared by the time we got there and it was very safe, it is a very steep climb at the start so i was holding on to the jeep and putting my foot on the imaginary break , but after that it got better and better to see a quarry like this is a privelige no one should turn down, as the stone cutting trade is highly secretive and even if your not into the stone to see the views is unbelievable , its like a landscape painting coming to life on front of your eyes, as you can see right down to the port, we travelled to the summit numerous times and then drove through the tunnel to finally see the Michelangelo quarry which was the highlight , Gabriele is highly knowledgable about the quarries and art in general so after seeing Florence and Pisa and all the master works of the renaissance , this journey TOPPED THEM ALL.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“TRULEY UNFORGETTABLE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Guide is fluent in several languages and has an in dept knowledge of the quarry and its history. Takes you on a breathtaking, exciting and most beautiful road on his 4 wheel drive. The trip is not for the faint hearted, but the guide's experience assures guests he knows what he is doing. On the top of all the roads, you find yourself on a highland with the sea on your right and the mountains on your left and stand amazed and graced by the view what awaits for your arrival.
It is a small guided tour, with limited number of people and not the big bus tour what we had to get used to on some other trips before. Its worth every penny. We left with a wonderful experience. We visited Firenze, Pisa, Lucca ect. all what is on the must see list in Tuscany. But visiting the Carrara Querries is the one we have been talking about to everyone. Ever since.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carrara Marble Quarries tours also viewed

Carrara, Province of Massa Carrara
 
Carrara, Province of Massa Carrara
Carrara, Province of Massa Carrara
 

Been to Carrara Marble Quarries tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carrara Marble Quarries tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.