We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Michelangelo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Michelangelo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Michelangelo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C.so Rosselli n.3, 54033 Carrara, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carrara
Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Perfect location to the old town center. Fun artwork throughout the hotel. Our room was spacious, comfortable and quite. The hotel staff were welcoming and helpful. Breakfast, included in our rate, was more than adequate. Great value, we will definately be back for a longer stay at this hotel. Carrara is fascinating and the Marble Museum is not to be missed. Note: Street parking or in a municipal lot not far from hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    34
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
24
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Front of house staff are incredibly welcoming and speak English and are able to advise on all aspects of tourism in the area and are very knowledgeable in the surrounding areas of Carrara. Nothing was too much trouble and they went out of their way to make sure they exceeded our expectations when arranging things for us e.g. private transport.
The modern rooms are spacious airy and spotless, with TV, hairdryer, ensuite facilities and mini bar. Our room was serviced every day with clean bedlinen and towels.
The continental breakfast served at the roof terrace with lovely views of the marble alps was perfect and included fresh fruit and pastries each morning.
WIFI is free throughout the hotel which is always a bonus.
All together a very pleasant holiday, the staff are the making of the hotel.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms too be the same in character and all very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We ran into this modern art musuem hotel by chance when looking for a place to stay in the Versilia beach area. Carrara is only a 15 minute car ride to the beaches. It is located in the hills in where you can visit the marble mines. It's a lot less expensive than staying on the coast and at the same time it's a lot quieter and cooler especially during summer months. You'll certainlly need a car to get around, it's mandatory if you want to visit the nearby quaint villages, Sarzana and Pietrasant are a couple of the nearby delights. The only negative aspect can be parking but you can park in the nearby supermarket parking lot overnight, it's only a few minutes from the hotel and costs under 6 euros. If you're there on a Monday, check out the outdoor market for some great deals. The market flows through all of the narrow street and squares that are all adorned with marble monuments.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor with a large balcony, a marble bathroom with a huge shower. The furt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fitzroy, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

This is a wonderful location for a visit to Carrara and surrounds. The hotel is very modern and comfortable in the centre of the old town centre. The staff were all very helpful and welcoming, particularly Claudia. A car here is helpful if you wish to visit the marble mines and the wonderful small towns in the mountains with their characterful restaurants with magnificent views. Local towns such as Bocca di Magra, Sarzana, Pietrasanta, and Marina di Carrara. Ciccio's restaurant must not be missed.

Room Tip: There are rooms with a view on all floors, just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_MichelangeloCa, Direttore vendite at Hotel Michelangelo, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Ericaw910,

we thank you so much for staying with us, for your positive review ( Claudia was so excited !!! ) and for sharing your impressions about the Michelangelo hotel. Yes, our location is strategic, in the city centre of Carrara and close to the marble quarries and other lovely places and small villages of the area that you can easily visit in a short time.
We hope you will be coming back again, please do not hesitate to contact us for any info you would need.

Best regards, Lara Berti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

By chance our group of four stumbled across this exquisite small hotel in the centre of the historic marble city of Carrara. It was refreshing to stay in a refurbish hotel featuring modern art works. It was a hotel where the female receptionist & her trainee went out of their way to be of assistance to us with informarion about the city & some of its features. With all new fixtures & fittings there was nothing to complain about. Happy hour was another welcoming touch - eventhough the volume of nibbles provided was a little over the top. I am sure members of our group or family connections will return to Carrara in the future - having a past family connection. Quality, service & price of accommodation with free wifi gains our recommendation.

Room Tip: Check out the bed/s in your inspection - before booking in. Check windows have blockout if wanting a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

A surprise stop in Carrara led me to some last-minute TripAdvisor scrambling. Hotel Michelangelo is well-located in the historic center of Carrara, but you will need a taxi if you're trying to make it there from the train station. Luckily, Sara at reception is very sweet and helpful, more than willing to call a driver at his house at 8pm in order to make sure we got up to our rooms and out of the rain quickly.

The aesthetic in the hotel is very nice, and the overall accommodations are good: large bed, although it's evident that its composed of two attached singles; good TV; and full bathroom amenities. Although I did like the use of leather in the rooms (the headboard, the desk, one whole wall), I could see its pervasive scent bothering some people.

Negatives: Did have a couple of issues with hot water not working, and a couple traveling with me had a less-than-pleasant encounter with a staff member at breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

This hotel is a shrine to the imaginative achievement of contemporary Italian designers.
It's in the center of Carrara, a prosperous town on the Liguria/Tuscany border. Carrara,
with its white mountain of marble behind it, might be considered the ninth wonder of the
world, so awesome and astounding is the spectacle of colossal marble blocks being
mined. Visitors have access to the interior caves of the mountain and its dizzying
exterior heights.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Michelangelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Michelangelo

Address: C.so Rosselli n.3, 54033 Carrara, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Massa Carrara > Carrara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carrara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Michelangelo 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Hotel Michelangelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Michelangelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.