We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Grande Quercia Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Grande Quercia Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
La Grande Quercia Bed & Breakfast
Contrada Fontanella, 64100 Teramo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Teramo B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Teramo, Italy
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“A home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is our fourth trip to the Teramo area of Abruzzo and we stayed again with Russ & Sergio at this wonderful B&B. Since we first visited there are now a number of other options in the area, a new hotel, a renovated hotel, other B&Bs but nothing would take us away from the hospitality of these two.

On previous trips we've stayed in the Bella Vista suite but as this was already occupied we stayed in one of their standard rooms. Really, really pleased we did, the standard is excellent and the bathroom even better! Staying in the main house we always thought might have added noise but not so, an Italian couple staying in the room next to us came home at 2am and we didn't hear a sound!

Breakfast is always to each person's liking, they are really flexible on time, and always nice personal touches.

They have continued to invest each year, already replacing outdoor loungers to ensure the best comfort for guests.

This B&B for all types of guests, whatever your needs. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeQuerciaAbruzzo, Owner at La Grande Quercia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you both so much for another great review. When we have return guests, we always regard this as the highest compliment we can receive, so to have you stay here for the 4th time was wonderful.

We are also really pleased that you got to enjoy staying in the main house and glad that you found it to be quiet. The late returners were a bit of a worry for us, as it is unusual for guests to be out so late, but they were so considerate and we thanked them personally the following morning for creeping in like church mice.

We look forward to seeing you both again very soon!

Russ & Sergio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
127
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is a very special place; outstanding in every way. A truly beautiful setting and a home away from home...and much more! Russ and Sergio are the most gracious hosts. Our goal there was to meet relatives for the first time and they made this easy. They are welcoming and warm; recommending restaurants that were terrific and guiding us through the culture and experience of Abruzzo. Members of my family met us at La Grande Quercia and Russ and Sergio helped to provide them a warm reception. Our experience staying at La Grande Quercia was truly a memorable one, and I definitely would like to go back as soon as possible. Russ and Sergio are helping to track down other relatives and I look forward to another visit to La Grande Quercia.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeQuerciaAbruzzo, Owner at La Grande Quercia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you so much for writing such a great review of your stay here with us here in Teramo. It brings us a huge amount of pleasure when guests return to this area to re-connect to long lost family and the warm welcome you received from your new found family was fantastic.

As soon as we have more information on your other distant family members we will be in touch and we look forward to welcoming you back to arrange the introductions. Just remember to prepare yourselves for the onslaught of the wonderful Teramane food that is likely to be rolled out in your honour!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Excellent in every way! Rooms are spacious, very comfortable offering views over the meadows, fields towards the hills. Heavenly skies, ultramarine dotted with fascinating cloud formations. Sergio and Russ are definitely the most gracious, helpful, friendly hosts ever, serving up prosecco to our friend's relatives who stopped by and ordering and picking up a rum cake for us to take to lunch with same relatives. They recommended restaurants and made reservations. We particulary enjoyed visiting a local olive oil factory, walking along the beach at Pineto and late in the evening sharing stories with Russ and Sergio in La Grande Quercia's comfortable living room. This is a cozy gem far from the maddening crowd in lovely Abruzzo.

Room Tip: Our room and our friend's were both excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeQuerciaAbruzzo, Owner at La Grande Quercia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Sandra, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your stay here with us.

Our aim is always to do the very best we can for our guests and to have that appreciated, really makes our efforts worthwhile.

We very much hope to see you back here in Abruzzo one day, when hopefully the weather will be better!

With our best wishes,

Russ & Sergio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I was privileged to accompany a couple of dear friends on an Easter break for their first visit to this hidden gem. We thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay, from dipping our toes in the Adriatic sea at Roseto degli Abruzzi, to visiting Prati di Tivo at the foot of the snowy peaks of the Grand Sasso. For a glimpse into the history of the region we spent an afternoon wandering around the hilltop fort of Civitella del Tronto and another at the engrossing ethnographic museum at nearby Torricella Sicura, as well as the Roman ruins in central Teramo.

The value - not to mention sheer size of the portions! - offered by the local restaurants (including Il Fortino with its amazing views of Teramo and the rusticly charming Momenti di Gusto, Canzano, whose specialty is succulent arrosticini) must be unbeatable in Italy. Our week was topped by visits to Oleificio Matalucci Ortenzia, where we tasted a range of extra virgin olive oil, and the Orlandi Contucci Ponno vineyard to sample several local wines (thanks to manager Giulia for being a wonderful host!).

Yet again Russ and Sergio rolled out the carpet and made us feel both at home as well as honoured guests.

Room Tip: Worth paying that little extra for the Bella Vista suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeQuerciaAbruzzo, Owner at La Grande Quercia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
It was great to see you here again and we really very much appreciate the review you have given us, plus the information you gave of all the things you can enjoy in this area, even if it is raining!

I think we enjoyed you staying here almost as much as you.

Next time we will try and arrange some warm sunshine for you.

With our very best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My three friends and I flew out from cold snowy England to Pescara on the Italian Adriatic coast at the end of March for a few relaxing days in the Abruzzo countryside. The weather was much warmer than at home and blossom was showing on the trees so it boded well for our stay.
We drove up to our B and B through winding lanes with lovely rural countryside, hilltop villages and farms appearing round every bend. The welcome from our hosts, Russell and Sergio, at La Grande Quercia couldn't have been sunnier or warmer and we were soon inspecting our large, well-appointed en-suite rooms with their comfortable double beds.
After a good nights sleep we enjoyed a delicious continental breakfast attentively served by our hosts. Every morning Russell and Sergio made a point of offering advice about where to go and what to see - indeed they arranged two outings - one to an olive oil press, and the other to a wine producer. Both were very interesting and purchases were made.
We ate at a variety of restaurants - Russell and Sergio know the area intimately and made sure we dined very well every evening.
During your stay at La Grande Quercia be sure to visit Teramo - a busy little local town with good shopping, nice coffee-houses and interesting Roman ruins. I also recommend driving to Gran Sasso, the highest point on the Italian peninsula. You will drive up through spectacular gorges with rushing torrents and waterfalls beside the road, passing little mountain villages until you arrive at a point where amazing views stretch out in every direction. If you get the chance visit Civitella with it's enormous fortress and beautiful town which nestles below. We wandered here all day, our cameras constantly recording the great views and the architecture - both local vernacular and aspects of the enormous towering fortress.
If you are seeking a place to relax and/or explore, in a lovely setting with great hosts this is the B and B for you. In hot weather there is a pool and terraces so I'm hoping to return during the Summer.
Alan

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent but the separate little self-contained building is exceptional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeQuerciaAbruzzo, Owner at La Grande Quercia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Alan,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive review of your stay here with us and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our B&B and also got to see so many of the wonderful places in the Teramo area.

It was a pity that the weather was a bit mixed and we hope to see you again in the summer when you can enjoy the swimming pool!

With our very best wishes, Russ & Sergio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Fantastic B&B nestled in the beautiful countryside in Abruzzo. The owners Russ & Sergio spoil you rotten....from the warm welcome, great rooms (the Bella Vista room is stunning), fabulous breakfast spread (try the homemade quiches!!) to the tips where to visit and how to make your stay in the region unforgettable. A big suggestion from us is to book a cooking lesson with Sergio, which was great fun, very educational and tasted good too. The location is great, situated close to both the sea and mountains. Having great company really turns a trip into a holiday and Russ & Sergio provided that in bundles. Great people, great place, great food, great value.... I hope they have availibility for our next trip! Mr & Mrs L

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeQuerciaAbruzzo, Owner at La Grande Quercia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Wow! What a lovely review you have written for us, although we doubt that we are the best B&B in the world - we can but dream!

Thank you for taking to take the time to write this review and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The suggestions you left with us to add to the experience here for future guests were very welcome and we will be introducing some new features very soon.

We very much hope to see you here again when the sun is shining!

Best regards, Russ & Sergio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

If you are looking for a lovely and quiet place to visit the region close to Teramo and the Gran Sasso, don't hesitate, just choose the B&B La Grande Quercia.
Sergio and Russ are both very helpfull and great. They take perfectly care of their hosts giving you advice about things to visit, where to have dinner or taste wine.
I was travelling on my own but felt really at home at their B&B. They even invited me at Sergio's birthday party in a trattoria nearby with all their Italian friends.
The rooms are clean, well furnished, comfortable. A small fridge in the room would have been an advantage but that is really the only remark I can make.
And one last advice ... book a cooking lession with Sergio.
I consider Sergio and Russ as good friends. They are always welcome in Belgium and I will surely return to their B&B.
Corry (Belgium)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeQuerciaAbruzzo, Owner at La Grande Quercia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Corry,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay here.

We always welcome suggestions to improve things here, as it is our aim to make the stay of our guests as comfortable as we possibly can. We understand that having a small fridge in each of the rooms would be nice, but have resisted this because we were concerned about the noise and heat these may create. However, after some research we have found that completely silent minibar fridges are now manufactured and they do not have heat generating motors/coolers. We have therefore ordered one for each room. They are not intended for keeping foodstuffs, but will be great for cooling water, soft drinks, wine and perhaps fruit.

Thanks again for mentioning this, as we know that future guests will appreciate this addition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Grande Quercia Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grande Quercia Bed & Breakfast

Address: Contrada Fontanella, 64100 Teramo, Italy
Location: Italy > Abruzzo > Province of Teramo > Teramo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Teramo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are seeking a place to relax and escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, this boutique bed and breakfast is the perfect place for you. Peace, tranquility and appreciation of this wonderful region of Italy is our aim. Nestling in the heart of the beautiful countryside of Abruzzo, the mountains of the Gran Sasso are within a short distance from La Grande Quercia Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your La Grande Quercia Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Grande Quercia Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.