We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply stunning with great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hill Farm House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dormston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hill Farm House
Save
You added Hill Farm House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Dormston, Dormston WR7 4JS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Dormston B&B and Inns
Cheshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Simply stunning with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

8 of us stayed here for one of our family's 65th Birthday. We needed somewhere near to Birmingham but with some atmosphere to match the occasion.
This could not have been better... James was so welcoming and really took the time to make us feel at home
The rooms themselves were immaculate - up to date furnishings & decor, superbly clean and with everything you could want - even free Wifi
The cooked breakfasts were amazing too
Can't recommend this enough - thanks for making a special occasion a truly memorable one

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
14
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
milton keynes
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were fortunate to stay in this lovely place, but unfortunate only to stay for one night as we could happily have stayed for a week. We were met by James as we pulled up (in our hired E-type Jaguar from nearby Great Escapes Classic Cars) who took us to our accommodation in the barn. He explained all the usual things and then gave us advice on where to go for a drive and for an evening meal.

We had hired the suite which is unbelievable value - loads of room, spotlessly clean, very well-appointed with everything you could need. It was so nice to have a good sized kitchen and living area as well as a spacious bedroom all set in a quiet, peaceful location.

Breakfast the following morning was also very good - all served on Royal Worcester crockery in their lovely farmhouse. An absolutely fantastic stay. We will be back. Thank you James!

Room Tip: Suites are definitely worth the extra £10
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

As we now have to regularly visit a relative who is in care in Bromsgrove and having tried some of the hotels in Bromsgrove we looked around for somewhere with a peaceful aspect and personal service. Hill Farm House ticks all the boxes.

Yes fed up with the honourable hotel that charges to park the car – the hard beds at the Inn some star seems to be able to bounce on, oh and the golf and spa resort where many of fixtures were damaged in the cramped bedroom. Despite the huge throughput of guests none of these were able to offer a cosy room with unlimited Wifi or an individually cooked breakfast.

Hill Farm House is a small Bed and Breakfast about 10 minutes south of Bromsgrove and having made several visits there now we have always received a warm welcome on arrival. As most of our recent visits have been during winter the rooms were exceedingly warm. We have always been able to book one of the two suite rooms – each of these is entered via a small lounge area with a service area with fridge (stocked with proper milk) and small sink unit. This is a perfect area to make a cuppa using the complimentary teas and coffee with the fresh milk.
The bedrooms are spacious and well equipped with a comfy bed draped with quality linen, the décor and use of existing timbers give the whole suite a wonderful atmosphere. This warm timber effect is carried through into the bathrooms being fitted with good sized baths and with a plentiful supply of hot water to the showers over the bath. The bathroom seems to benefit from under floor heating but the suite was so warm and cosy throughout.

Breakfast is served across the way in the old farmhouse and some of the tables have wonderful views across the Worcestershire Countryside. There is a good selection of cereals, fruit and yogurts etc but the “piece de resistance” is having your bacon eggs tomato etc cooked to your requirements. James has your breakfast cooked and on the table just as you are ready for it and it’s out of this world to the kept hot food (which is an insult to the life of the pig and chicken) served in some of the larger establishments.

Our relative is going to receive many more visits from us now, as we also need to enjoy dining at more of the local hostelries and explore the Worcestershire Countryside, Stratford, etc. Oh! there seems so much to do, I only hope there is still a room left for us. Having run our own B&B for 15 years in Cumbria we know and appreciate the work James and Vanessa put in to maintain this wonderful retreat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culcheth, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I have used this quiet country B&B for 20 years. We have moved from main house to a super annex with 4 delightful rooms with every facility. James Wall operates the concern to perfection, his breakfast is to best hotel standard. There are no farm animals in this farm but can be found at a distance. Can not wait to go again and again.
Good access to Worcester, Stratford, Evesham.

Room Tip: 2 suites & 2 single rooms. All facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Luxuries rooms, free WIFI, astonishing view, peace and quiet surroundings, helpful and very accommodating service at very low prices. What more can you wish for?

All hotels and B&B should be like this little pearl.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at Hill farm house in October by recommendation. We were not disapointed. We stayed on the first floor of the stable conversion, which had a comfortable living area with tv, and a kitchen area complete with daily fresh milk and kit kats! Huge bedroom and lovely bathroom.All very tastefully done.
The ample breakfast was served and cooked by the owner James, who was so helpful, lending us maps every day and saving us £30 on a trip to the very expensive Warwick castle by giving us his own voucher.
Very reasonably priced, overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My adult son and I recently spent nearly four weeks in the south of England on a motoring holiday, no set destinations, no forward bookings, taking pot luck. We happened upon Hill Farm House and it turned out to be one of the more pleasurable stays of our trip. The old buildings have an undeniable rustic charm about them, our twin room was very spacious and comfortable with a wonderful atmosphere, and our host James made us feel right at home. He's a great bloke and very knowledgeable about the local attractions and the history of the area and the farm itself. He suggested a morning walk just down the road to the house where Tolkien once lived. There are three good pubs within five minutes drive for your evening meal and Stratford is just a short drive away. One of the original Hill Farm storage buildings is being converted into additional guest accommodation and the work is being undertaken sympathetically so as not to spoil the beautiful old world ambience of this delightful establishment. Location, charm, views, comfort, value, a beautifully cooked full English breakfast in an light and airy dining room with views over the surrounding rolling hills, and James' relaxed but always attentive approach, all made for a perfect stay for us. We stayed at seven B&Bs and five were good to very good. I'm only doing reviews on the two we considered excellent.

Room Tip: We stayed in an upstairs room of the annexe which was fantastic, retaining a lot of the charm of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hill Farm House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Farm House

Address: Dormston, Dormston WR7 4JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Dormston
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dormston
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill Farm House 4*
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hill Farm House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.