We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Hotel Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vita Mediterraneo

Vita Mediterraneo
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Vita Mediterraneo to your Saves list
Vita Mediterraneo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo, Urb Pueblo Mediterraneo, 11300 La Linea de la Concepcion, Spain (Formerly Hotel Citymar Mediterraneo)   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Budget Hotel Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have stayed in budget hotels all over the world and this compares very well. The balcony overlooked the beach and my room was spotless when I arrived and was cleaned every day. O.K the restaurant was not open everyday but the center of town with a good selection just a short taxi ride. Only a 15 minute walk to the border but you can see all there is to see in Gibraltar in a couple of days so worthwhile having a look around La Linea.
In my opinion other reviews have been very harsh after all what do you expect from a budget hotel. If you want 5star then pay the price.

Room Tip: Third floor has best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
8
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel is in dire need of updating and refurbishment. It advertises as 3 star but compares only to a 1 star. The rooms are grubby. We had a triple room with a tiny double (luckily we're not large people) and a single - no balcony. The room smelt damp and the bathroom was just about passable with very old fittings. The aircon was barely adequate and the room was too hot. Breakfast was served in quite a nice dining room, but the cups and plates were all chipped and grubby and overall not worth bothering with. The main attraction for this hotel was the parking so that we could walk into Gibralter (about 15 minutes walk) and also walk into the main town which was really pretty of a night-time. The beachfront location had great potential but certainly wouldn't return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Linea de la Concepcion hotels

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed one night at the Vita Mediterraneo in La Linea de la Concepcion. Reception was fine, on arrival a big smile and a Hola from the (older) male receptionist. Comparing previous reviews we must have had the best room in the house: linen was clean, lights worked, beds were comfortable, in the bathroom a tiny soap,2 sachets of shampoo, 2 of bath gel, hot water and no whiff. The shower head is fixed to the wall, not on a hose.There is a ceiling to floor wall separating the sink and half of the bathtub. Glad that the loose sink tap did not fall off in my hand,I meant to tell reception to fix it. A sea view from the balcony which had 2 chairs. A summer chiringuito has been erected on the beach just outside but luckily the music was not loud enough to disturb my sleep even with the balcony door wide open.There is a Chinese buffet restaurant about 50 yards away, and a tiny shop round the next corner. The place does need paint,it's certainly not luxury but we will stay again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed here with my partner and son for 10 nights. I definitely wouldn't stay here again. The bed sheets were never clean and the breakfast was very poor, serving stale bread rolls and not much of a selection. The reason I have given it so many stars is the price. You can't really expect much when you aren't paying a lot. The staff are ok, mainly outside the front smoking. They sat there and watched as my partner struggled to manage all of the bags/ suitcases when we left the hotel. Therefore I wouldn't recommend it.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyttelton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Check in was ok. The room was basic and only one set of towels was supplied despite the was a double room. The verandah had cracked tiles and there are cracks in the parapet walls to the outside of the building. Only one chair supplied, no outdoor furniture, the toilet did not flush without lifting the cistern lid each time, and the bedcover had a cigarette burn hole. There is a very interesting constant noise of bubbling water in the walls which when we questioned the reception they said this was the air conditioning. Despite putting up with the bubbling water noise we couldn't get the ac to work. The breakfast was very poor - no service, terrible machine coffee, poor quality food offering. This place just feels cheap compared to others for the same price. Despite being on the waterfront the hotel is in the wrong part of town - no real facilities around and the area is run down compared to the other promenade on the poniente side. I would not recommend this.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Hotel was clean with fresh towels every day and clean bedding. Breakfast at 3.50 Euro was a bargain and you could eat overlooking the sea across the road. The hotel is in a good location and is in walking distance to the border and only 5 euro for a taxi ride to the centre of town. Staff were friendly and the bar was open whenever you needed it and the prices were reasonable. For what was paid for it I thought that it was great value for money and I would happily stay in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Whilst this hotel is looking a little tired, the value for money is excellent. Bedding and towels very clean and changed daily if required. It is a 5€ taxi ride from the Gibraltar border. Hotels on Gibraltar can be very noisy and expensive this hotel is well worth considering for a visit to The Rock.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vita Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vita Mediterraneo

Address: Paseo Maritimo, Urb Pueblo Mediterraneo, 11300 La Linea de la Concepcion, Spain (Formerly Hotel Citymar Mediterraneo)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > La Linea de la Concepcion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in La Linea de la Concepcion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vita Mediterraneo 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mediterraneo Hotel is located in the city of La Línea de la Concepcion, facing the Rock of Gibraltar and the African coast. Beachfront in the Cadiz coast. In the Costa de La Luz, where you can enjoy the fine sandy beaches and fishing villages with a long tradition that mark the identity of the coast of Cadiz. The Mediterranean Hotel becomes the ideal place to enjoy the charms of a privileged environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vita Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterraneo Hotel La Linea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vita Mediterraneo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.