We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, spacious hotel - perfect for visiting Gibraltar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AC Hotel La Linea by Marriott

Save Saved
You added AC Hotel La Linea by Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AC Hotel La Linea by Marriott
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Los Caireles 2, 11300 La Linea de la Concepcion, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Rabat, Morocco
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Clean, spacious hotel - perfect for visiting Gibraltar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We spent a long time looking for a good place to stay on the Rock - and settled on this hotel after reading TripAdvisor reviews. We were not disappointed.

The front desk staff was extremely helpful in giving us advice on different ways to get to Gibraltar. It is a long walk from the hotel to the Frontier (border), but the hotel called us a cab which cost less than 5 Euros. I would recommend this.

We ate both breakfast (included) and dinner (not included) at the hotel since the town of La Linea itself is a bit run down and the hotel, while nearly on the water, does not have tourist activities nearby. We found the hotel restaurant menu simple but well executed, and would definitely suggest their homemade lasagna.

Breakfast is a splendid affair with a wide array of choices for different palates and is attended by a waiter to make you coffee or tea.

We also thoroughly enjoyed the free refreshments in the lobby, which is quite nicely decorated and immediately adjacent to the restaurant.

The rooms were very clean and well decorated - we had a view of the water and also a clear view of Gibraltar from our small balcony. The free minibar in the room is an added bonus, but the hotel staff and the high standards of the hotel make this the best choice for visiting Gibraltar.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    144
    47
    18
    7
See reviews for
21
129
22
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
spain
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

A very comfortable hotel convenient for a visit to Gibraltar and La Linea itself is worth a visit.
Only problem was that the free refreshments in lobby (brilliant idea) were cleared away at 7pm, minutes before we arrived to partake of them :-( Apparently they are only available between 11am and 7pm. Wish we had been told this before lounging around in our room when we could have been enjoying a free cup of tea. :-)
Comfortable bed. Spacious room and bathroom. Everything very clean. We did have a superior room.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view. superior rooms are larger and on the corner with view over Straits of Gib
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothwell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

The hotel was located approximately 30 minutes walk from Gibraltar, and was certainly a cheaper alternative to staying on Gibraltar itself. The hotel was clean and comfortable, and our room had a great view of the sea. Parking is readily available. We didnt eat in the hotel, but we did take advantage of the free wifi in the lounge and the free non-alcoholic mini bar in our room. Hotel staff were great in helping us to book a dolphin watching trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to ensure a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed in AC la linea and to be honest thinking that La Linea as a city is relatively run-down i thought it would be just sufficient for our stay. After the reviews though we were expecting something better! And we weren't mistaken. The room was superb. We asked for a view towards The Rock and we were acommodated accordingly. We were on the 3rd floor and we had a lovely view towards Gibraltar and the marina with wonderful sunsets.
The hotel is close to the borders (15 minutes walk) or you can give 5 euros for a taxi which drops you off at the border.

Room was luxurious and looked sleek like in a designer hotel. Overall the service was superb. Our mini bar contained soft drinks and water and it was refilled everyday for free! For a budget hotel such as this that service is excellent!

We would deffinately recommend it and we would deffinately stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

The room was spacious and spotlessly clean and bed comfortable. We liked the free non-alcoholic mini bar in the room which was replenished daily. Also we could help ourselves to coffee/pastry in the lounge which was also free of charge.

Very disappointed that a swimming pool was included in the hotel details but it was not available at all during our stay. In fact the water was green and looked like it had not been used for a long time. Also the hotel was at least 15 mins walk away from the town/restaurants in La Linea. The main reason for our stay was to visit Gibraltar, which took 25 mins to walk to the border and then another 15 mins to the centre of town. Although the walk along the sea promenade was enjoyable. Public transport was limited but taxis were available to the border.

Room Tip: Chose a room that faces the seafront
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Stayed at AC again no problems at all excellent suite which I would recomend staff excellent as they allways are notablly Jose Louis and Sandra

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011 via mobile

Would recomendand great that you get mini bar topped up every day. Nice staff. Fantastic town centre for coffee and pastry.
If you take the day trip to morocco beware every 10 minutes your asked for tip or pressured into buying stuff !.... Told this is normal

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AC Hotel La Linea by Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel La Linea by Marriott

Address: Los Caireles 2, 11300 La Linea de la Concepcion, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > La Linea de la Concepcion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in La Linea de la Concepcion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel La Linea by Marriott 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your AC Hotel La Linea by Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels La Linea
Ac Hotel La Linea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Hotel La Linea by Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.