We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay ...!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal La Campana

Save Saved
You added Hostal La Campana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal La Campana
c/ Carboneros n03, 11300 La Linea de la Concepcion, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay ...!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Facts: very close to the border with Gibraltar, very clean & well looked after, great value in a good price. Good location also to visit the City of La Linea. Next door is you will have a very tasty tapas bar..where you can seat, relax & have a tasty bit & glass of a good wine... You will also see the chef cooking for you... Typical Spanish tapas bar...

Staff: extremely nice & helpful, I wasn't well & they were helpful with extending the stay with no additional charges and help my boyfriend to find a nearest pharmacy. I was very grateful. In a normal hotel they will just say that the check out has passed and you need to pay for another day..In La Campala they were friendly & understanding .

Many many thanks guys! We surly will be coming back...

Ps when we visited the downstairs restaurant was still being done so we haven't had a chance to tast any food, but im more then sure..its very tasty

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
11
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed as a party of four adults inte ding to use it as a base for a few visits to Gibraltar. Period booked was for the 11th Sept to 14th Sept using two separate rooms.

What a great find as it turned out. The Hostel is a family run business, but the proprietor made it feel like we were honoured guests in his own home.

The hostel is situated about 500 meters or so from the Gibraltar border. It is a pleasant flat walk across a public square, then through a bustling cafe area. Plenty of opportunity to have snacks if you can't wait to cross the border.

The hostel reception area/bar/restaurant is on entry to the Hostel. The premises immediately strike you as being clean and tidy. Most of which has been recently refurbished. One lift serves all 4 floors, but as there are only 17 rooms and a perfectly adequate stairway, there is rarely any wait.

The rooms are pleasantly furnished with massive wardrobe storage. There is an en suite bathroom with both bath and shower. Both rooms are clean and tidy.

Requests for extra pillows were dealt with immediately. Service to the dining tables for food and drink was immediate as the reception desk is in the same room. Snacks were delicious and made to order.

An evening meal is available for only 9 euros which comprised 3 courses, with a perfectly adequate choice. Couple this with reasonably priced drinks which were on the large side and a nothing is too much trouble attitude from the staff and you realise why this is so positive a review.

The Hostel offers no parking facility, but there is a public car park just opposite which is about 20 euros for 24 hrs.

I must point out the role played by the proprietor, whose name for the moment escapes me. He is there from early in the morning until late at night making ones stay delightful and inspiring his family and staff to care for the customer. I have no hesitation in recommending La Campana.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Wifi non existent in room and needed for planning so it was very disappointing that it wasn't available. Black mold under window in room was a bit nasty. Only one plug in the room one in bathroom so it was hard to charge up camera and phone. The Air Con worked good which was nice in July. TV was a small flat screen multi channels. The bathroom was a bit strange 1/2 tube size created a pool of water out into the room so watch the shower pressure. The knob to turn the shower head was broken off. They also had strange long pillows rather then regular individual pillows. Smal tear open shampoo and shower gel and small hand soap bar were good as we had forgotten ours. The closet came with an eclectic assortment of hangers. Small desk and chair but would need to move the bed if you want to use it. The stairwell was a storage of shelves two bed farms and one mattress. The was a lift although we didn't use it.
Restaurant downstairs also operates as reception. Parking garage across the street although the hotel has two spots out front. The main road that runs into Gibraltar is just around the corner and the border is about a 5 minute walk
About 3-4 streets down from the hotel is an area of shops and restaurants plenty to choose from.
Overall a very good location and a hit the budget mark so would stay again only if wifi is assured.

Room Tip: Parking free on no color curbs, blue pay meter yellow business use. Find a non painted curb and par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan de Alicante, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Had a good stay here- every thing it says is there -great price and location- would stay again no problem rooms clean and good size- close to town great menu available - all in all great value yea there are a lot more expensive hotels around but the money we saved we brought 2 nice bottles of perfume with

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed there in April, as we visited Gibraltar, and this hostal is perfectly situated near the border. It was incredibly cheap and I was expecting for some things to be wrong, but instead everything was fine. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are nice. Huge wardrobe and bathroom with bathtub, warm room and comfortable beds. No meals were included in the price (it was too cheap anyway), but we had dinner in their restaurant and it was amazing. Well, we love Spanish food, and we were not let down this time neither. We had the "menu del dia" (menu of the day) for only 9 Euro each, and everything we had was delicious. The border is a mere 5 minutes walk in almost straight line, so you can't get lost. The city centre of La Linea is right around the corner with plenty of shops and bars. Would definitely go back and recommend this place!

Room Tip: Don't go around searching for any fancy restaurant! Try the Spanish food they serve as it is gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We decided to stay in hostal la campana because we were visiting Gibraltar and it seemed cheaper than hotels on the rock .
Upon arrival we were greeted with a receptionist with absolutely no knowledge of the English language . We were asked to leave our bags in the room before they cleaned it . We walked into the room horrified with what appeared to be human excrement on the pillows .
We then had to leave the hotel without our baggage and passports for an hour while our room was cleaned .
Other than this we returned to a fresh clean well equipped ensuite hotel room within walking distance of the rock .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echallens, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

It was basic but nice. A bit expensive for what it was but well. Confortable bed, warm room, close to Gibraltar. There was no soap in the bathroom just hand wash.
There was free wifi in the building and it worked quite well :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostal La Campana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Campana

Address: c/ Carboneros n03, 11300 La Linea de la Concepcion, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > La Linea de la Concepcion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in La Linea de la Concepcion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal La Campana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal La Campana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.