We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gibratar trip May 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal La Campana

Save Saved
You added Hostal La Campana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal La Campana
c/ Carboneros n03, 11300 La Linea de la Concepcion, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
San Juan de Alicante, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Gibratar trip May 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Had a good stay here- every thing it says is there -great price and location- would stay again no problem rooms clean and good size- close to town great menu available - all in all great value yea there are a lot more expensive hotels around but the money we saved we brought 2 nice bottles of perfume with

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
11
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed there in April, as we visited Gibraltar, and this hostal is perfectly situated near the border. It was incredibly cheap and I was expecting for some things to be wrong, but instead everything was fine. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are nice. Huge wardrobe and bathroom with bathtub, warm room and comfortable beds. No meals were included in the price (it was too cheap anyway), but we had dinner in their restaurant and it was amazing. Well, we love Spanish food, and we were not let down this time neither. We had the "menu del dia" (menu of the day) for only 9 Euro each, and everything we had was delicious. The border is a mere 5 minutes walk in almost straight line, so you can't get lost. The city centre of La Linea is right around the corner with plenty of shops and bars. Would definitely go back and recommend this place!

Room Tip: Don't go around searching for any fancy restaurant! Try the Spanish food they serve as it is gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We decided to stay in hostal la campana because we were visiting Gibraltar and it seemed cheaper than hotels on the rock .
Upon arrival we were greeted with a receptionist with absolutely no knowledge of the English language . We were asked to leave our bags in the room before they cleaned it . We walked into the room horrified with what appeared to be human excrement on the pillows .
We then had to leave the hotel without our baggage and passports for an hour while our room was cleaned .
Other than this we returned to a fresh clean well equipped ensuite hotel room within walking distance of the rock .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echallens, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

It was basic but nice. A bit expensive for what it was but well. Confortable bed, warm room, close to Gibraltar. There was no soap in the bathroom just hand wash.
There was free wifi in the building and it worked quite well :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We got diverted from Gibraltar to Juarez. Endured a 2 hour bus ride back to Gibraltar which put us outside our connection. We didn't have any reservations and it was pouring rain and cold. We stopped in a small Tapas bar right inside the boarder of La Lina and grabbed some food. After our meal, we asked for a hotel recommenation and were directed to Hostal la Campana. We ran for cover in the poring rain for a couple of blocks until we came upon the hostal. Never having traveled overseas, my nerves were already tight from the travel hiccups and 6 hour delay in getting into Gibraltar. But bright, inviting lights from the restaurant downstairs beckoned us in. 35E for a room we could share - two beds. Bathroom even had a bidet. I loved the hotel, staff and their friendly behavior. They even come up and knocked on the door in the morning for our personal wake up call. It was a very memorable experience. Caught the train in Algeceris to Madrid the next morning.

Room Tip: When you are tired, wet and arrived in Gibraltar 5 hours behind schedule, any room is good. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Very good location if you want to pop into gibraltar often, only 3 min walk from border, recently renovated, to be more accurate still under renovation , kept really clean, really nice and helpful staff. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I was very happy with this hotel. The price was very reasonable and it was situated in a nice, safe area. I was able to walk into Gibraltar in about 10 minutes from this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. At the time I went they were carrying out refurbishment on the restaurant so it was a bit chaotic but it was worth putting up with for the sake of all the other advantages! Very happy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostal La Campana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Campana

Address: c/ Carboneros n03, 11300 La Linea de la Concepcion, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > La Linea de la Concepcion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in La Linea de la Concepcion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal La Campana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal La Campana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.