We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Local Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Buco

Il Buco
3 Westgate Arcade | 11 Westgate, Otley LS21 3AT, England
+44 1943 468586
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 54 Restaurants in Otley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $23 - $68
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Leeds
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Local Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My wife and I visited this restaurant for the first time on Thursday night, We had walked passed the entrance many times but the position means it is easily overlooked. Even though we were the first diners of the night there was a warm welcome from the proprietors and we had a lovely table for two in the middle of the restaurant. My wife had the bruschetta to start and her favourite spaghetti carbonara for main, whilst I had a Tuscan sausage and bean starter followed by my favourite Calzone pizza. The food was really excellent and service was perfect. We will definitely be returning.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    23
    3
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
guiseley
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Second Visit Update”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is certainly one of my favourite local restaurants, and although I have "posted" before thought I would just update on latest visit. Visited on my birthday which happened to be a Monday - "Italian Night". Accompanying music was very nice and gave atmosphere, but must say was a little disappointed with the Italian set menu. It was our fault for chosing it, and although it was flavoursome - starter was excellent, the size of portions were far to little (we are not massive eaters), and we really feel that it would be better to either charge a little more for the set menu and give decent portion size, or go for the a la carte which is still very reasonably priced.

The starter which was a form of pasta was delicious, and I could have had that for the main course, but the main course (sea bass) was bland, the fish itself must have been on a diet it was so small, and accompanying veg were more or less non existent, and the desert was very poor - seemed like melted ice cream on a plate. However, still love the restaurant, and will visit again - just go for the a la carte menu next time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“gorgeous food big portions!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Brilliant! Happy hour was 5-7pm on a tuesday. We had steak for a supplement of £3, it was huge and cooked to perfection. we were given complimentary bread, olive oil and olives which were delicious! The veg with my steak had such lovely flavours and i chose a tiramisu dessert which i can not falter. Lovely service and delicious food!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“First visit of many!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Just got back from our first visit and we all had a lovely time - even the youngest (who can be a fussy eater) ate a full 3 course meal! Great host and will certainly be going back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awful never again spoilt my engagement valentines”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Never ever will I visit this restaurant again appalling management ruined my engagement , set manu on valentines night no mention when we booked menu awful no pizza or pasta in Italian restaurant joke !!!! Will never go again xxx

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyjames, Owner at Il Buco, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thanks for the racial stereotype. Italian food consists of more than just pizza and pasta. You may also be surprised to learn that neither chef is called Mario or Luigi either.

The starters consisted of a choice of fresh Orkney Isle crevettes, home cured beef carpaccio or artichoke hearts with olives and capers. Main course of fresh seabass fillets and king prawns, 48-hour marinated beef slow cooked with polenta or vegetable wellington. Finished off with a homemade chocolate and chilli mousse or fresh fruit salad Italian style.

You describe the above menu as "awful". I would describe it as "delicious". You may also note that there are copious amounts of Italian flair running throughout the menu - perfect for an Italian restaurant.

I'm sure you'll see these comments as argumentative but I do feel it necessary to point out to people reading that it is my belief that the Valentines menu was not at all awful, but superb for special occasions - such as an engagement.

Thanks,

Nick
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Buco also viewed

 
Otley, West Yorkshire
Otley, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Il Buco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Buco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.