We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday Treat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Roebuck

The Roebuck
Roebuck Terrace | Newall with Clifton, Otley, England
01943463063
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 50 restaurants in Otley
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Came across this after a long walk around Fewston reservoir. We pop in on the off chance that they could fit us in and they did, the service was great, the atmosphere was buzzing families and couples and the food was great. Had the homemade Ox Cheek and barley pie...was really tasty and filled to the brim. My husband homemade fish pie was exactly the same... great value and a lovely unexpected treat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    57
    45
    16
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Otley, West Yorkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Still very good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Eaten here about 4 times now and enjoyed each visit. Always seems busy, nice setting and staff are very good.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great surroundings inside and out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Visited on a Tuesday lunchtime on a lovely sunny day . Sat out and admired the lovely views , although the internal decor was just as good. The food was very tasty and well worth the money . Great selection of beers and lagers , Estrella from Barcelona and also San Miguel .

All in all a good experience .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“'Warm and Friendly'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Meeting with friends to eat at this recently refurbished restaurant/bar we were pleasantly surprised at the range of 'real ale' on offer. the Black Sheep bitter was really on form. We had a bit of a wait for our food, though we would rather wait for well prepared food than be dissapointed with microwaved fare! No dissapointment here; our lamb and salmon dishes were delicious. Our only thoughts are that a little more fish variety would have been nice, though for myself the range of locally sourced meat was more than satisfactory. We particularly liked the pud, I think it was called 'cafe gourmand' or similar (10/10) for this. The waitress staff were all very friendly and we were made to feel welcome. (cost about £25/head). All in all a good experience and one which we will repeat again soon. Malcolm S Stott overall a good 8/10.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dear But Not Dear!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

A place now dear to my heart but not dear on my pocket!

We had a lovely Saturday evening with friends, arriving at before 8 and leaving after 11pm. The service was good, the pace of the meal relaxed, with a nice space between course. The wine list was good and reasonably priced.

The seating was comfortable and the tables were of a good size, which makes a refreshing change from those establishments that seem to think it appropriate to squeeze you onto a postage stamp sized table, as if it were a rehearsal for your next in flight meal!

The chef really understands how to do simple food really well! We each had 3 courses and each eat differently for each course and all were very happy with their food.

If I had a criticism it would be that chefs learned to make proper pies again, rather than using ceramic bowls with a pastry lid!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Roebuck also viewed

 
Otley, West Yorkshire
Otley, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Roebuck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roebuck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.