We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“price of drinks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Roebuck

The Roebuck
Roebuck Terrace | Newall with Clifton, Otley, England
01943463063
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 50 restaurants in Otley
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“price of drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

a previous reviewer stated a pint of black sheep was £4.20 this is not the case, its more like £3 also whilst on the point of the beer it has always been top quality, and a great choice from local independent brewerys like copper dragon, ilkley, kirkstall and brigehouse. the food has been very good on the two times ive eaten. and it is in a glorious location with great views over lower wharfedale.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roebuck Pub T, Manager at The Roebuck, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your positive review and we look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    57
    44
    16
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nearly a five star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had lunch at the Roebuck on Boxing Day, so I'm reviewing what was a limited menu. However, I suspect (since Korks is connected to the newly refurbished and extended Roebuck) that a full menu could be pretty good.

We were a party of eight, and the service was friendly and prompt, and the pies and veg excellent, as were the deserts.

It's good that they haven't tried to replicate Korks wine bar - instead this is a good pub with good ales and great views over the valley. Really looking forward to trying an evening meal here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roebuck Pub T, Manager at The Roebuck, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your review and we look forward to your views on our full menu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good food, nice environment, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We wanted a decent pub lunch and knew that the Roebuck had recently been upgraded and extended. It is in our local area.

There is a very pleasant bar area round an open fire where we had a drink before the meal. There is a good range of beers, but a request for a dry sherry led to some consternation from the young woman behind the bar.

There is a separate restaurant with views over Wharfedale. The room was very nice although the old bench/settle seats at our table really needed some cushions.

The various meals which we had all got a thumbs up, although the scampi was not the best choice, being a touch ordinary. The game stew and dumplings and Roebuck pie were voted best of the bunch.

The staff were friendly and attentive. I would describe the service as leisurely, which suited us as we were friends meeting for a chat and an afternoon out.

Perhaps not very top class, but an excellent choice for a meal out and I would certainly go there again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roebuck Pub T, Manager at The Roebuck, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“New Years Day Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

On the morning of New years day we decided we wanted to have a road trip to a country pub for our dinner.

After deciding on the Otley area we referred to trip advisor. After enquiring with other higher rated pubs we found they were either not serving food or had a limited menu. The Roebuck confirmed that they had a full menu on and we reserved a table for two.

When we arrived the pub and restaurant were both busy but we were immediately seated and soon had a drink in front of us. a good choice of ales.

The menu offered a good selection of British meals and a specials board. I chose the game cassarole with herby dumplings and mash, my girlfriend went for the Roast Pork dinner.

the meal arrived around 20-25 minutes later and looked delicious. The game cassarole was packed with meat in a rich gravy with plenty of mash and a big dumpling.

The roast pork was a nice large piece of pork which had been cooked perfectly, the cracking was crispy yet the meat moist. The roast was served with roast and mashed potatoes as well as sprouts and roast beetroot.

After a delicious main course we weren't sure whether we could fit a dessert in, but glad we did.

Baked custard and white choc shortbread and Choc pot and pouring cream. Both absolutely delicious.

Unfortunately the service slowed down a bit after our main course which was a bit strange as the restaurant was much quieter at this point, still nothing to complain about.

All in all a delicious meal in a great setting, delicious food and exactly what we were after in a new years day meal out. Will definitely return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roebuck Pub T, Manager at The Roebuck, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your review and we have taken your suggestions in. We are glad that you chose to come and dine with us and we look forward to seeing you in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Saturday Meal out with friends 14/12/12”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

With 8 in our party we had pre booked meals from the set menu priced at £25 per person. We had read and heard mixed revues on the Roebuck. First impressions were good. The staff were very helpful and the overall ambience felt good. Excellent renovation work and new dining extension makes the Roebuck feel warm and cosy.We had a pre dinner drink before dining. A black mark here drinks are rather expensive. £4.20 for a pint of black sheep bitter. However it was a good pint. When we were ready we were seated at a well laid out table set with xmas crackers and service commenced. The service was attentive and well organised with no long wait between the starter and main dishes. Requested sauces were promptly brought. I ordered a bottle of Merlot wine which was served at a good temperature. Whilst I have had better wines this one is OK if a little dear at £17.95 a bottle. Plates were cleared on completion with no undue pressure to eat up. Often a problem in a group with a slower eater. Puddings were served promptly along with a cointreau coffee for my wife. All in all we had a very enjoyable evening. Not the cheapest place to dine or drink but we left feeling satisfied. I would recommend it as a place for that special occasion rather than a regular haunt unless you have a big wallet.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roebuck Pub T, Manager at The Roebuck, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had a good time and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Roebuck also viewed

 
Otley, West Yorkshire
Otley, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Roebuck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roebuck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.