We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half Term Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yorkgate, Otley LS21 3NU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otley
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Half Term Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

The food and ambience of the main Scandinavian style lodge was the principal attraction for us. The decor and warmth of the main building was matched by very high quality food. Local freshly made ice cream in a spun sugar cage was a hit with our young sons, and the restaurant staff were all great. The food here has an AA rosette, which we thought was deserved.

I'd agree with other reviewers that the main building (recently refurbished with nice fabrics and decor, and a showpiece real fire) is in much better condition than the original lodges and leisure spa. We didn't have an issue with cleanliness in the pool area - it was cleaner than your average municipal swimming baths - but this facility just felt a little bit dated. This, we understand, is being addressed. We've stayed in some Holiday Inns which are barely upgraded 'Posthouse' hotels with far murkier and gloomier leisure facilities. The pool is surrounded by floor to ceiling windows looking out into the forest, and the sauna was always at a perfect dry heat.

Our lodge was massive, with two bedrooms, a big bathroom and a small kitchenette and lounge area. To be honest, the initial 'key in the door' reaction was muted, as the lodge we were given was definitely in need of a spruce up. Apart from the great plasma television with digital channels, it would have been perfect for a 70s or early 80s tv drama set - and the kitchen was definitely creaking. However, the housekeeping was good, and once we settled in we very much appreciated the space. It was like having our own holiday cottage in the woods. Again, we understand that all lodges are undergoing refurbishment and work was already taking place discreetly during our stay. We'd paid a very low rate and wondered whether the room allocation perhaps reflected this.

Crerar Hotels, who own Chevin, are evidently investing in the place, and it already has many great attributes. We think it will only get better when the remaining areas have been refurbished. Ilkley, the Dales and Moors, and Leeds are so close, and the woodland setting makes it feel very special.

I should also say that we booked online through 'Easy Breaks' and the price was extremely competitive for two nights with breakfast and dinner.

We'd certainly go back again, and felt that the Manager and his team were hugely committed to providing high quality customer service and they could not have been any more attentive or good natured.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2009
Many thanks for your kind and honest review, it is very much appreciated.

It is good to know that the effort of the team is being noticed and that the continued commitment of the company can be seen.

We will continue to provided the levels of customer care that you would expect in Yorkshire and with the constant investment we will stive to meet the higest of standards in all areas.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    280
    173
    90
    64
See reviews for
145
533
13
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

My partner and I had two nights in the Chevin as a birthday treat. The hotel definately is unique which is a selling point.
We had a room in the main hotel. It was very small, fine for two nights but would get claustrapobic after more. The room along with the rest of the hotel was very well decorated. We arrived late and the room had no toilet roll, we were so tired we ignored this and slept expecting it to be replaced the next day. Unfortunately on arriving back to the room, again quite late the next day the room had not been serviced at all. Obviously we complained to the duty manager who sorted us out with towels and loo roll but we didnt feel much of an apologie was made. We complained at check out and the answer was that they thought we only booked one night. Pity the poor guest who arrived next to find our belongings all over the room! We accepted a discount on our room but it is worrying that the room hadnt even been looked at!
The breakfast was very nice but we didnt have any other meals so cant comment on the food quality. The pool and jacuzzi were nice but Im not really sure if you could class it as a spa hotel. Another concern of ours was the lack of local knowledge at reception. My partner wanted to know the answers to some relatively simple questions and the answer back was 'Just cos Im work here doesnt mean I know about the area' and pointed us in the direction of another guest for the answers.
Overall a pleasant stay for the price but could have been better

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay with us. I am extremely dissappointed that on this occasion our houskeeping department fell short of yours and our expectations. This is an extremely rare occurence and I am absolutley confident that this was a one off.

The reception staff in the hotel are all local to the area and in general a fountain on knowledge on what to do and where to go, they also have access to an information pack at reception that helps to deal with most enquiries. I have discussed your comments with the team and I am sure that they too are dissappointed on this occasion.

Once again I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

We spent the night here after our friends got married at the hotel. We'd got a discounted rate on the room as a result of this which was good otherwise we would have found it quite overpriced. We had a standard double room on the ground floor which was clean and tidy but felt quite small - this was probably also due to the fact it's has a log cabin effect so was quite dark. The darkness did allow us to get a good night's sleep and not be woken by the sun in the morning though! We had breakfast in the hotel the next morning as well which we were one of the last to come down for so they were struggling to get us a clean table but the food was good. The hotel is in quite a remote location but as we were there for a wedding this didn't matter. It is a gorgeous setting with the lake and woods and a nice looking hotel.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 23, 2009
Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel here on Tripadvsior, we do take time to review these and put in place action which may help us to improve.

We have recently change some of our room type settings to reflect the slightly smaller nature of some rooms, these apear on our own website as Budget Double rooms. Whilst smaller than executive rooms we feel that they still represent value for money accomodation in a truly unique setting, offering a cosy feel with modern flat screen TV's and digital channels.

Weekend mornings are our busiest for breakfast and we will certainly review table arrangements to ensure sufficient tables are available for all guests, especially towards the end of service, that said I am glad the the full cooked breakfast was to your liking and provide ample sustenance for your journey home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

We booked a winter break for 69 for 2 nights half board and it really it what it says on the tin !!--we had a double room that should have been a single-no bedside cabinets at all and really bright spot lights above the bed that hurt your eyes. Not much other lighting in the room beside those so I couldn't see in the mirror as my body blocked out the spot lights from behind.There ws rubbish and a half bottle of water left from the previous occupiers-as though the cleaners finished half way through doing the room.
HOWEVER the service and friendliness put all that to the back of our minds and the food was out of this world for what we had paid. It really was award winning food that melted in your mouth-and such an imaginative menu.
We would definately book again but wouldn't want a standard room-I would be happy to pay the £20 upgrade to get an executive room. It was unfortunate that there were weddings on both nights so the hotel was full so we couldn't upgrade but the staff were very helpful about it.
Wonderful scenery from bedroom window overlooking the lake and the Spa made it a welcome leisure stay.
If you are reading this then the answer is YES you must go there but avoid room 14

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel here on Tripadvisor, we do take pride in our work and constantly seek feedback for suggested ways of improvement.

Some of the smaller rooms in the hotel are cosy and petite and we include these in our very best value packages and as you suggest it is always worth enquiring about upgrades available which still represent excellent value for money.

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding the staff and food served, these are very much appreciated and will be passed along.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

We previousley sayed at this hotel early 2008 and on this, our second visit have seen a significant improvmnet and investment to the hotel. The bar and restaurant area has been extended and a new disabled access frontage has been added to the main building. We have stayed in both the lodges and main building and our personal preferance is that the in house rooms are more cosy and homely. We agree with other comments made on the site that the lodges are ready for an up-grade (and some sound proofing). As soon as you step into the corridors in the main building you can smell the real fire burning, and as you approach the reception you can see the fire in all its warmth. The staff at reception are welcoming and helpful and this was the case with other staff we came into contact with in the bar and restaurant. The room we stayed in (room 15) was clean, cosy and tidy (albeit compact!). The chair under the dressing table would not pull out enough that you could sit behind it as it wedged against the bed. But this was only a minor iritation. The leisure club was ok but is in need of updating and cleaning. (i believe this is to be inclued in the schedule of on-going works). I am normally an avid swimmer but the murky green colour in the pool put me off. The spa too was in need of a clean but was usable. Maybe the leisure club could shut down for a week each year off peak for an annual clean? The restaurant was very nice and has improved since our last visit. The food was well presented and tasty and our only minor complaint was the lack of a chicken dish on the menu on the first evening. The waiting staff were polite and efficent and we did not feel rushed in anyway Breakfast was very nice with a good selection too. On the whole I would recommend this hotel and those negatives mentioned really are only minor iritations and would not put us off returning in the future.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I am gald that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel and in particular the welcome of the staff and the quality of food served.

Some of the guest rooms are cosy and these will always represent the very best value rates available at the hotel, we do have executive rooms and suites available so it is always worth enquiring about the upgrades available.

We will revisit cleaning schedules for the leisure club to ensure that standards are maintained throughout.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff and standard of food and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

We have just returned from 4 relaxing days at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful.Food and accomodation were excellent. What a lovely setting this hotel is in.We happily recommend this hotel to our friends. ISKH Cleveland

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to post this review, your kind comments are most welcome and we will continue to offer our brand of customer service to all guests who visit the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateshead
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

We were staying for two nights in an outside lodge but unfortunately it was on the side of the family lodge but was very nice ,so we requested to be moved due to wanting quiet break and the management were fantastic and we were moved to an inside room even thought the hotel was busy due to a wedding they moved things around.The room was a little small compared to the outside one but was clean and cosy .Noise from the corridor could be heard but not a problem.We ate at the restaurant on our first night and it was an absolute delight with fantastic scollops and beautiful venison plus great service and surroundings.The breakfast was really fresh with lots of choice and plentiful,all in all a fantastic weekend perfectly relaxing with great surroundings and great staff which made the stay even better .highly recommend and would do it all again in a heart beat...

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2009
Many thanks for your recent review, I am gald you enjoyed your visit to the hotel and I am sure the team will appreciate to comments made regarding their efforts.

The food has received many plaudits recently and we will ad yours to that growing list. I have to agree that the views from the restaurant are stunning and make for a perfect backdrop to any romantic break.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa

Address: Yorkgate, Otley LS21 3NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Otley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chevin Country Park Hotel Otley
Chevin Country Park Hotel And Spa
Chevin Country Park Leeds
Chevin Hotel Lodge
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa Otley, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.