We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabin fever !!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yorkgate, Otley LS21 3NU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otley
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Cabin fever !!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Ok so on first impressions we liked the look of the hotel, our room was tiny, nowhere to put our bags or anywhere to move the tea table too! I has nowhere to get ready and do my make up/hair. Enjoyed the sauna and hot tub but apart from that, not great. We couldn't. Get a table at the restaurant so has to eat in the bar which had uncomfortable seats and it was very loud, same goes for the lounge, loud brash clientele. One good thing was he pleasant lad serving on the bar, very friendly and chatty. We wanted to book a spa massage... Not for £105 though. Too class spas do not charge anywhere near this much for a treatment. Bed was tiny we couldn't even turn over. Breakfast was the worst I've had. The toast was black and in edible. My full English was awful, watery scrambled egg, pools of fat on the bacon and the haggis wasn't cooked enough, all in all poor. Thanks god for the crossings and jam. I have stayed at a lot of hotels and I can honestly say this was not an enjoyable stay and we won't be returning in a hurry.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    302
    186
    95
    73
See reviews for
155
564
14
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hull
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Just returned from a Sunday overnight special £65pp for bed, breakfast, dinner and 30 min treatment. Spa itself is quite small but had everything you need. Really enjoyed our couples massage. The room itself was beautiful but the bathroom needed updated. The fresh fruit and shortbread biscuits were a lovely touch. We had the 6 course taster menu which was absolutely supreme and we could not fault! We had a bottle of wine which was lovely and reasonably priced. We slept well but I would say the walls are very thin we could hear the other guests clearly and also the cleaners talking very loudly in the morning! Apart from a few minor details overall very good value for money and enjoyed our stay. All the staff were very helpful too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed overnight at Chevin. Arrived late, receptionist friendly and helpful. Room 7 is tiny and barely bigger than the bed contained within it.

The rooms could use an update however everything works albeit older.

Only used restaurant at breakfast. Good buffet and excellent cooked to order menu.

Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Not room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The staff gave great service, lovely surroundings, fab spa package! My only gripe is please change the music! We kept hearing non stop frank Sinatra and other crooners, even the poor staff are fed up of hearing the same 4 CDs!! Will return only if you will promise to vary the music please!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately my experience was a mixed bag. In short; great price (£35 for spa day, 30 mins mini treatment & afternoon tea). However, lacking in customer service in the spa area and the facilities are a little tired and not well cleaned in the spa area. Spa staff barely spoke to us, didn't even show us around the facilities. In fact no-one spoke to us all day until our treatment time at 2pm. No relaxation area for general use, no facilities for tea or coffee throughout the day. The locker rooms and the treatment waiting room wee very dusty and furniture was falling apart. The treatments were okay, facial & massage, but the scalp masssage was so firm that it hurt my head the day after. The afternoon tea was back in the main hotel in the bar area. It was a lovely log cabin effect and the staff here were excellent and very attentive. The tea itself was more than enough food and quite a treat. If the spa itself had a few tweaks to decor, cleanliness, customer service and a little more space to relax it would be perfect. This hotel could quite easily have a 4* spa experience with a small amount of effort. I still think we git a bargain at £35 though.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

My partner and I went for a short break for 3 nights - and booked an executive room.
We were very happily surprised that it was a log cabin in the woods.... this was a bonus as we love the quiet.... the site of this hotel is just lovely, the area has walks all around, beautiful scenery and lovely villages. There are historical places to visit and lovely restaurants around.

The Hotel serves gorgeous food, and if you shop around for a special offer, you can get bed breakfast and evening meal included... which is well worth it. Unfortunately, we only had bed and breakfast but other residents informed us of the offers.

There is a lovely pool, spa in and out, along with a gym.... you can also book treatments.

NOW ..... the staff... what can I say. They were very pleasant.... and friendly. One lady in particular, Anna, the restaurant Supervisor.... what an asset to the establishment. Bubbly friendly and very professional.... she made our mornings. Thank you to her, and all. We will be back...... (said Arnie)

NB.... Beware lack of signal for mobile phones and TV is a little intermittent. Could be a good thing LOL

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

From the moment we arrived we found ALL the staff friendly and helpful. Beautiful surroundings. The sunshine obviously helped with this. Being pregnant with twins, I was made to feel relaxed and looked after. The spa staff adjusted treatments to suit and the restaurant accommodated me being vegetarian and neither myself or partner could not fault the food. The pool is clean but the tiles a bit discoloured from the water. Nothing that stopped me having a relaxing 7am dip. Had a very enjoyable weekend here and would recommend it. Lovely place and staff.

Room Tip: If you are in rooms 40, 41 or 42 (we were in room 40) and staying on a weekend be aware that the fun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa

Address: Yorkgate, Otley LS21 3NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Otley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chevin Country Park Hotel Otley
Chevin Country Park Hotel And Spa
Chevin Country Park Leeds
Chevin Hotel Lodge
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa Otley, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.