We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Chevin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yorkgate, Otley LS21 3NU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otley
Durham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great stay at the Chevin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We've stayed at the Chevin once before, as 'fly-drive' guests. It's very convenient for Leeds/Bradford airport - just a £6 trip each way.

Stayed again on 1st Oct, prior to flying the next day. Our room was in the main part of the hotel this time, and was lovely. It overlooked the lake, and was very comfortable. Only slight problem was that there wasn't a hair-dryer in the room. An apologetic receptionist brought one to our room, and told us that they get stolen!

Dinner was pretty expensive, but absolutely delicious! It was the 'taster' menu, ie tiny portions of soup, lamb, etc, but more than enough.

Breakfast the following morning was also extremely good. Minor criticism is that breakfast doesn't start until 7.30am, which meant a very hurried breakfast. Staff were excellent, and served us very fast.

Must mention staff that went 'over and above' during our stay. Samantha, on reception, looked after our booking (we booked direct). Very friendly and helpful.
On our return from holiday, we arrived back at the hotel to pick up our car. After 3 weeks of standing in the miserable British weather, it wouldn't start. Flat battery.... We went back into the hotel reception, to ring the AA. Leanne kindly offered the use of the hotel phone, as the signal for mobiles isn't good in the area. AA arranged to come out, approx 90 minutes later, so we planned to have a coffee at the hotel. Meanwhile, Charlie (who could be the night porter, or night-time duty manager, not sure), offered to give us a push. Lo and behold, the car spluttered into life! What a star! Thanks to you all.

Room Tip: Only the rooms in the main hotel, can access wi-fi. We've also stayed in one of the lodges, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    280
    173
    89
    64
See reviews for
145
532
13
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was a gift purchased from Groupon. A two night stay including a six course tasting menu and a bottle of wine. On arrival we were very warmly welcomed, and directed to our "lodge". WOW! A beautiful log chalet with a grass roof! It was magical. Our spacious, two bedroomed chalet was both warm and comfortable. A huge lounge with a fully fitted kitchen, plenty of towels, pillows and extra blankets. A swim in the pool is a must, but be aware that the floor of both the changing rooms and around the pool is very slippery. We weren't brave enough go in the outside jaccuzzi as it was raining, but there was an indoor, smaller one. Our meal in the cosy restaurant was extremely tasty, and served by friendly waiters/waitresses. We had the house wine, which was delicious, and enjoyed the whole experience . Breakfast again was delicious , with a choice of cereal, croissants and fresh fruit, followed by a choice of either full English, eggs Florentine, French toast with bacon and maple syrup ( my favourite ). Fresh orange juice, tea or coffee also. We felt very comfortable and relaxed at the Chevin and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very interesting building, friendly helpful staff in the hotel, large rooms and the food in the restaurant was excellent. Could perhaps do with an update on some furnishings in the rooms and some public areas and not overly happy with the staff at the leisure centre, although enjoyed using these facilities, only discovered by accident that the outdoor hot tub was going on our second and last night, but got to use it while a clear sky and full moon, lovely and relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

I'd read the many poor reviews so have to admit I wasn't looking forward to our stay, I emailed the hotel and expressed my views but did not get a response so feared the worst.

The food was I admit quite nice, I was pleasantly surprised. The mushroom soup was delicious, the pork starter tasty, the lamb was well worked, we were told it was severed medium rare, but I think it was more rare, than anything, but that suited me. However the service was just adequate, we were served by very young staff (i suspect they just cover the weekends and probably have had minimum the training) as they just plonked each course down on the table, with little information about the dish, which did not I feel do the food justice.

The accommodation was very basic, and is as people described "tired" and in need of some updating, but it was clean.

We came on a groupon deal, and I would purchase one again. I would not however pay the advertised full price for accommodation of £155 for this quality.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Located about 10 miles from Harrogate and around 20 from Skipton, this hotel is very well placed to explore Yorkshire. Chevin Country Park Hotel and Spa was where we decided to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. We arrived as expected around 6pm on 15 October. We had a little problem over payment, caused by my having changed our original booking and not having our original payment credited to our bill, but Leanne dealt with this quite quickly once it had been explained to her. We were placed in an executive room in the main hotel. We were delighted with the room. The room was very dark and not like some hotels which are clinically white, Chevin is very much a wooden and therefore naturally dark structure. The room was far too hot for us so I had to turn off the radiator under the main desk of the room and open the sliding door to garden to cool it down. A walk of the grounds took us through the woods, past the tennis courts and showed a number of wooden lodges which generally appear to be three guest rooms per lodge with their own parking areas. This is the more likely accommodation that you would be offered at this hotel. In our room, on arrival, we found a plate of fresh fruit. Two apples, plums, Kiwi fruits, slices of fresh pineapple and orange segments. What a lovely touch guys! Well appreciated. There are also a couple of bottles of complimentary water along with the regular tea and coffee. The room also had a hair-dryer, iron/board and music system with i-pod docking system. This may be what makes this an executive room so may not be standard, but was very well received. We had no issues with room cleanliness. There was a faint musky smell in the bathroom but this was not a problem and we have to appreciate the location of this hotel, which incidentally is alongside the Leeds/Bradford airport. This didn't bother us, but might be worth considering if your after the utmost tranquillity or are a moaning minnie. We had booked a package which included a Spa taster. This was carried out very professionally and moreso caringly by Nicky and Hayley (thank you ladies) and we made use of the pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi too. The gym, while small is well equipped.
The package we had was a half board package with an evening meal consisting of a six course taster menu. This is basically a three course dinner where you select from two starters and puds and three mains, but each course is split by a taster dish. This may come in a Chinese soup spoon type of receptacle or a demi-tasse. The courses were not large but both my wife and I always felt well fed afterwards and enjoyed the variety of the tasters very much. Be warned, coffee afterwards is an additional cost!!The parsnip and ginger demi-tasse was divine...(send me the recipe). Breakfast was lovely too. I note some people say its the regular hotel breakfast etc etc. This was a very varied and substantial breakfast and enough to satisfy anyone, in my honest opinion. I loved the haggis! All in all the food and restaurant service was excellent. My wife and I found the staff, facilities and value for money to be exceptionally good. Many guests we spoke to have been before; always a good indicator. Staff in the hotel and Spa were pleasant and helpful. I am going to be a returning guest without doubt. We have some very nice anniversary memories and are grateful for the part Chevin played. Thank you

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We booked a special deal for a two night stay with bed, breakfast and evening meal as well as three spa treatments.
Arriving on a Friday night from East Anglia I found it tricky to locate so ensure you know exactly where you are going if you don't use SatNav! However the six and a half hours in the car was worth it.
Despite pretty grim weather we were delighted with our stay. We found our room overlooking the lake with its own little terrace absolutely fine, clean and comfortable. Cally, our border collie, seemed very settled and loved the woodland walks.
The food, as stated here by many, was wonderful. Some of the courses were tiny tasters but after six of them one had sufficient. My only criticism is that for strict vegetarians there is very limited choice but when I asked for any deviation from "meaty" options, interesting alternatives were produced without any fuss.
For a hotel of this size the spa was exceptional, Hayley and Isobel gave us three treatments. I know the health and beauty industry very well and these young ladies have the magic touch. I did note the pool looked a bit murky on one side so management may need to look at this.
Overall it's a great place and fantastic value for the deal we had. We will be back. We hope to sample some of the Scottish hotels from the same chain.

Room Tip: The suites overlooking the lake seem the best and biggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

another great visit to Chevin Country Park Hotel. 2 day business trip . Chevin is ideal for Leeds Bradford and Harrogate. staff very friendly and remember returning guests !!! comfortable rooms. food is first class and cannot be faulted. Another great stay . Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: rooms in the main hotel get wifi, but lodges don't, but don't be put off they are comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa

Address: Yorkgate, Otley LS21 3NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Otley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chevin Country Park Hotel Otley
Chevin Country Park Hotel And Spa
Chevin Country Park Leeds
Chevin Hotel Lodge
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa Otley, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.