We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you fancy something different!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yorkgate, Otley LS21 3NU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Otley
Stirling, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“If you fancy something different!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Had a great short break with the family. Felt like a Canadian cabin experience, lovely spa & outside hot tub. Food very nice with tasters between courses, veloutte absolutely tasteless though! Rooms in groups of 3 in own lodge were lovely, clean & nice and warm, ideal for 3 groups of 2 like ourselves. Will definately go back again, and rates high in the Crerar chain, been to most of them now too! Lovely countryside all around and the complex is high above Ottley giving smashing views, loads to see and do in the area.

Room Tip: Told by a local regular user, that lodges are nicer than hotel, hotel rooms need updated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback and we are delighted that you had a wonderful experience. We do hope to see you back at the Chevin Country Park Hotel and Spa or one of our other Crerar hotels very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    323
    248
    159
    78
    56
See reviews for
127
481
12
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Had a fab 2 day 1 night stay. Hotel and location are lovely, our lodge was very well equipped and very clean. Spa facilities were lovely - all very clean as well.
Food was beautiful - 6 course evening meal, amazing :) and breakfast was also lovely.
All staff were friendly and welcoming.
Had free spa treatment and paid for additional full body massage - would recommend this.
Overall the trip was fantastic and we will definitely be returning :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words and feedback. We look forward to seeing you again at the Chevin Country Park Hotel and Spa. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Our first time at Chevin and a great time was had. Rooms great,price great and the food was fantastic. Met a couple who continually visit this place and its easy to see why. The location is good,with lots to do,Spa facilities very good, and staff very helpful. Great place and a great time had.

Room Tip: Just Do It!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We are delighted with your fantastic review and thank you for your comments. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I've just returned from an overnight stay with friends this weekend and have to admit that we all found the hotel quite disappointing. This was our second visit after being given a complimentary return stay as our first was riddled with problems. I didn't review my first stay as hoped our bad experience was just a 'one-off' so wanted to give them a second chance. All our complaints were just confirmed on the second visit, much to our disappointment.
The hotel is in such a beautiful location and is such a quirky little hotel that it could be fabulous BUT it needs some money and time spent updating the entire place and the staff (all very friendly and perfectly nice) need some training to overcome the very long list of complaints we had. All small, niggly little complaints but when there are so many, they equal a bad experince. The main complaints were in the restaurant which could be lovely if they got it right but on both visits, this was where we had the majority of problems. Three requests for drinks which eventually came after starter, amuse bouche forgotten and brought out after we reminded them (with a large white hair in so sent back),main course cold so sent back then on it's return was so undercooked it was sent back again, bread dropped on us twice (very funny), eton mess with no fruit in it. Breakfast was the same, everything overcooked and dry but by then we were bored of complaining!!!!!!
We can laugh about all of this as we did not pay for the second trip and did not get charged for extra drinks due to our complaints, HOWEVER we all felt that the hotel should have gone to extra lengths to redeem themselves after our first experience yet we came away with more complaints than our first trip!!! So, we gave it a second chance but we will not go back and would not be able to recommend it!!! Oh, and the beds were so hard and u comfortable we didnt even get a good nights sleep!

Room Tip: ask for a lodge if you want a slightly more quirky experince (if you really want to go)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I will take on board your comments regarding your restaurant experience and look closely at any additional staff training required. My apologies for any perceived shortcomings in standards or service you have experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely loved this place!! We stayed in a niche log cabin all to ourselves, which was very cosy and warm. So different to anywhere else I've stayed before, I just wish we'd stayed longer. We got a fantastic deal which included 6 course taster menu each night, breakfast every morning and 1 hour 30 minutes spa treatments aswell as unlimited use of all the facilities! The food was incredible and some of the best I have ever eaten! The massage made me feel great. Chevin Lodge totally took us by surprise. Such a calm and quite place, we really felt so relaxed the entire time. Cosy bar close to the restuarant. Oh and there's also hopping bunnies. Winner winner! Absolutely brilliant place to kick back and chill.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your fantastic review of the Chevin Country Park Hotel and Spa.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and very much look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed for one night on a 'get away from it all' deal.
We loved the way the hotel felt as though it was tucked away into the countryside and were lucky to stay in one of the chalet style rooms.
Dinner was fantastic, as was breakfast.
Our only minor quips was the light outside our front door stayed on all night and made our room really light. But, this was only a minor issue.

We will definitely recommend this hotel to friends

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your fantastic review of the Chevin Country Park Hotel and Spa.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and very much look forward to welcoming you back.

If you can let me know your room number I can look into the light outside of your room. I would though stress that for health and safety reasons our corridors are illuminated at night.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I arrived at the Chevin Lodge on a mini break, we stayed in a Lodge which was really nice, very clean, well layed out, there were a selection of coffee, tea's, hot chocolate, scottish shortbread, on offer, a selection of tolietries in the bathroom, the Lodge was in a middle of a wood, very peaceful and tranquil. The spa facilities were lovely, indoor pool, jacuzzi, outdoor hot tub, steam room, sauna, and gym, my husband and I spent quite a bit of time using these facalities, and felt refreshed afterwards. The meal in the Lakeside Restaurant, was beautiful, the food was an excellent standard and the service was in impeccable, we had a lovely break, and are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank for your kind and detailed feedback.

We really hope that you comeback soon to visit us.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa

Address: Yorkgate, Otley LS21 3NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Otley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Otley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chevin Country Park Hotel Otley
Chevin Country Park Hotel And Spa
Chevin Country Park Leeds
Chevin Hotel Lodge
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa Otley, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.