We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for friends wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yorkgate, Otley LS21 3NU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otley
Pitlochry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Stayed for friends wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Stayed here with my girlfriend for my Uni buddy. The place was just amazing and we really enjoyed our stay. Girls behind reception was friendly and made us feel very welcome eventhough there where a few of us checking in. We requested early checkin for the wedding and this was no problem at all, really helpfull. Our room was just ourside the hotel and was really large. Bathroom was a bit dated but very clean. Bed was very comfy so had a really good night sleep. The wedding was just amazing and you can see that they know what they are doing, an oiled machine sprung to mind. The food was just amazing, both for the wedding dinner, evening buffet and breakfast.

Check out was busy and the hotel had a wedding fayre on Sunday. Again it looked very organised and we ended up staying for lunch and having a look around...you never know...

Well done chaps we had a great weekend.

Room Tip: Choose a wood land lodge, just great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    302
    186
    95
    74
See reviews for
155
565
14
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
heckmondwike
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

our annual spa break this year was at the Chevin Country Park 23rd to 24th October, Very good value for money, good sized clean rooms fantastic food, great friendly staff many thanks to therapist JAMIE who did all 10 girls treatments!! also thank you to James, Sam, Peter Emma and Jodie,The Chefs are especially talented, food tasted wow! and presentation was superb.

Room Tip: just ask the staff they are more than willing to help :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Myself and my partner stayed over at the hotel over the weekend for a good friends wedding we were very inpressesed by the location and apperance so much so my parner thought of booking it for her hen do when we get married next year.

As soon as we got in though it went down hill it was takeing up to 30 mins to get served in the bar not because it was busy it was the barman who did not know how to serve a drink or pull a pint we kept getting the wrong drinks given to us at different prices when we got the same order a second time this went on all day, but on the evening the staff chnaged and there was a big improvement and we were able to enjoy the night do until we came to our quite expensive room were it was very cold and the TV did not work but we could not find anyone in the bar or reception to voice or concerns.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Chevin to celebrate our anniversary, having got married there three years ago. We were booked into the honeymoon suite with evening meal and breakfast. The room, food, atmosphere and facilities where excellent. Our evening meal, which was five or six courses, was absolutely superb. The hotel is so peaceful, apart from the very occasional plane passing overhead, and the pool/Jacuzzi was clean, quiet and well maintained. Generally the hotel is fantastic.

Now for the "but"!

As mentioned, we were in the honeymoon suite. At around 5.30am we were woken by three screaming children in the room next door. Now I understand that people may want or need to bring their children to a hotel, especially one popular for wedding's, but whoever thought it would be a good idea to place a family next to the honeymoon suite should have been dragged from their bed, brought to our room and made to listen to the racket from next door. At 7.00am I had had enough, and went to speak to reception, who raised my issue with the Duty Manager. This was adequately resolved, for which we are grateful. However, given that this is a hotel which seems to pride itself on relaxation, I must say that we left more tired than when we arrived! Indeed, the only proper sleep we had was between 12.30 and 5.30 and 8.00 and 9.00 when the family next door went for breakfast. We had intended to use the 8.00 until 9.00 to go for a swim, but the lure of an hour's desperately required sleep was too much to resist.

Generally, the hotel was fantastic. The redevelopment work which has been carried out in the three years since we last stayed has not detracted from the charm of the place. As mentioned, the food was amazing and we did have a great time. Maybe next time we will book the honeymoon suite and next door, just to be sure of a reasonable night's sleep

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Chevin Lodge Hotel this September and we loved every moment.
the receptionist was friendly and very helpful with our check in informing us of activities near by and also told us about their leisure facilities which was a big help as we didnt not realise this was available on booking.

Later that evening we sat in the bar before our evening meal in the resturaunt and it was every so cosey which alot of choice of drinks which was a bonus. The young girl who served us was ever so polite and friendly and struck up coonversation with us which you dont find in young youth these days.
The resturaunt was set by a beautiful lake and accommadated for everyone, the staff were every bit polite and helpful.
The food was outstanding choosing our meal off the Set Menu which was a 7course taster Menu.

Our room was very nice and clean with a comfy double bed. there were also facilities and products accommadated in which we did not hestate to use and the size was just perfect for two people, staying in room 7.

Overall Chevin Lodge should be a 5*star hotel and not just 3* best hotel wev ever stayed at and WILL be returning for another great stay.

thankyou very much to all the staff making our stay memorable.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Dear Sue,

Many thansk for your feedback and I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are indeed very proud of our food and service evenmore when it is you the guests who makes these comments.

Again my thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Jurgen Kruijt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We got married at the Chevin in September and had almost all our guests stay for 2 nights. The service was really good - especially from Tom and Sue in the Events Team and the rooms and food were great too. However what makes the Chevin really special is it's location - its hidden away in beautiful woodland with a lake and has the Chevin County Park's Surprise View just up the road / it really is unique.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed at the hotel while attending a wedding at the lodge. Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised with the surroundings despite the wet weather. The bar and restaurant are comfortable and cosy, some of the party had difficulties with the bar staff. When booking a room I was told that all rooms had been refurbished, however I am not sure when! I booked a room in the hotel although we were allocated a lodge room which was spacious but tired. The bathroom is in need of major renovations and heating sorting out. It seemed very over priced for this quality despite getting wedding discount.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa

Address: Yorkgate, Otley LS21 3NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Otley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chevin Country Park Hotel Otley
Chevin Country Park Hotel And Spa
Chevin Country Park Leeds
Chevin Hotel Lodge
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa Otley, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.