We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plan to return! Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yorkgate, Otley LS21 3NU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Otley
1 review
“Plan to return! Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011 via mobile

I booked an executive lodge package for my partners 30th and all's I can say is that we loved every part of it! The lodge was great, the food was nice and the service in the restaurant was first class. Spa staff were lovely and the spa itself was just gorgeous! Lovely surroundings and a lovely drive in.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Dear Guest ,
Thank you very much indeed for your feedback and am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Jurgen Kruijt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    323
    248
    159
    78
    56
See reviews for
127
481
12
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Poor lighting in room, wall light and one lamp, both in one corner of room. Shower pressure poor.  Asked for Glava whiskey and was given unidentified whiskey.  Found bottle in cellar!   No honey available at breakfast.  Food was good, menu quirky.  So disappointing having previously stayed in Crerar Nairn hotel which was outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed at the Chevin Country Park hotel on a short break in July.

I requested a woodland lodge as this sounded very romantic and it was better than expected. The Reception was very efficient and kind. They gave us a direction map and told us we could park outside the lodge, ideal when travelling from abroad like we did. The room was clean and well equipped.

The weather was amazing giving us plenty of opportunity to enjoy the outside terrace and tennis court. Furthermore we enjoyed some lovely drinks at the lake side, amazing and so relaxed!

My girlfriend enjoyed a massage on the second day and was very impressed with this. The whole spa is a great addition, especially the outside hot tub (!).

Dinner on both evenings was great. We booked an inclusive deal but could easily change to the a la carte menu for a small supplement, but kind of expected that. Young restaurant manager clearly knew his food and wine and told us they had just received a highly rated prize, the ‘rosette’. I can see why, the food was amazing.

On the second night there was a wedding, so we thought this might cause an issue with so many guests but this was never the case, at one stage we were wondering where they were while sipping some great white wine (great advice of the restaurant manager) at the lake side.

In general we had a wonderful time and our next trip to England for sure is going to include Chevin Park!

Thank you very much to all employees of the Chevin!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed and I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Please rest assured that I have shared your feedback with all our staff. We take great pride in delivering an excellent product and feel that the 44 acres of woodland combined with our terrific sandinavian style lodges really give that great feeling of relaxation.

We will look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel soon.

With thanks

Jurgen Kruijt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at a family wedding and our room (a lodge style place) was stunning. There was a seperate room for the kids, living room area open plan to our bed. Very spacious. The wall were quite thin though so you could hear people talking in the adjoining rooms.

The leisure area was lovely, kids loved the swimming and I loved the outdoor hot tub.

Wedding was great and food was lovely.

Overall I would love to stay again if it was closer to where i live!!

Room Tip: Request a log cabin room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind comments and am delighted that you and the children had such a great time.
Indeed some of our rooms are very well equiped to accommodate families. I'm also pleased that you enjoyed our swimming pool and new outside hot tub so much.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Jurgen Kruijt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed at the Chevin for two nights to attend a wedding. The location is excellent and the ceremony, meal and service afterwards was first class. The breakfasts are superb, prepared with style and there are several choices. They are served in the main restaurant overlooking the lake which is a lovely setting.

The two-bedroomed lodge we stayed in was spacious and sort of New England style, it also had a kitchen. However, the cleanliness of the lodge left a very bad first impression. I do understand that the lodges are in the woods and you are bound to get creepy crawlies in the lodges, however, there were cobwebs absolutely everywhere, the wall lights in the room are hurricane style and the tops of them were thick with dust. The headboards are moleskin and were matted with dust, as if they had never seen a cloth. The shower curtain was very moldy and the floors looked like they had not been swept. There were kirby grips and tops of razors lying in the corners. There were also cigarette butts lying on the ground outside the lodge. My kids were a bit freaked out by the cobwebs, so I ended up dusting around everywhere myself. The maid did come by the next day to try to clean up, however, we were all getting ready for the wedding and it wasn't practical for her to come in.

We had a meal in the bar and my husband had to wait for 15 minutes to get served the first time and then 10 minutes the second time! It's a good job the food was excellent as that cheered us up a bit after having to wait so long.

.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review and for taking the time to speak to me whilst at the hotel.
As we discussed I have discussed your comments with my head housekeeper and am sorry for the discomfort this might have caused.

However thank you for your kind comments regarding the wedding and I believe all had a wonderful time.

With thanks,

Jurgen Kruijt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silsden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We were booked through the HRG group and arrived to find our booking had been cancelled as the manager had apparently booked the wrong dates and it was assumed we were a no show. So, we were given an upgrade to one of the lodges in the woods which was a nice surprise. My only comment really was that the lodges were not that well lit due to the eco lighting in use. Other than that, a most enjoyable stay with lovely staff in the restaurant at breakfast time and the food in the bar and the restaurant at breakfast was just fine. There was a wedding at the hotel whilst we were there and I have to say that the function room looked absolutely fantastic; beautifully decorated tables.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. Iam however sorry in regards to the mix up with your reservation but was pleased to read that this was swiftly resolved.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the service and food and am delighted to inform you that the restaurant has recently regained it's rosette from the AA.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Jurgen Kruijt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester,England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Stayed here through the Groupon offer & it would be somewhere I would go back. We had a massage included which was very relaxing. Food was delicious & plenty of choice for breakfast the next day. Our room was a bit on the small side but wasn''t an issue.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We regularly have some great offers on so become a friend of us on facebook and you will receive all updates as they happen.

Many thanks

Jurgen Kruijt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa

Address: Yorkgate, Otley LS21 3NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Otley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Otley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chevin Country Park Hotel Otley
Chevin Country Park Hotel And Spa
Chevin Country Park Leeds
Chevin Hotel Lodge
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa Otley, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.