We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go agin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Otley Balti House

Otley Balti House
42 Bondgate | Otley, Otley LS21 1AD, England
01943 461277
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 52 Restaurants in Otley
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Would go agin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Hello all.....my partner and I went here on a "deal" £14 for a three course meal each for two people.........we were warmly welcomed and the place was small and elegant, we were placed in a cosy corner, we booked a table for 8pm and seated straight away!!! we ordered popudums pickle tray and drinks and these came very quickly .... we then ordered our main food and the starters arrived very quickly but then then the service got a little slow ...........we waited 20mins before we asked how long the main course would be? after this enquiry the mains arrived, the food tasted amazing....... the desert was only Kulfi (ice cream) Vanilla ( cheap & terrible) and Pistachio (amazing flavour) Value for money only if you take a deal and choose the most expensive items on the menu, not including extras like Rice/Nan.......our meal would have approximately cost around £25........... not the saving we would have expected..........on saying all that I have to say again that the food was amazing and we will return..........but only on a deal.........

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    30
    10
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
harragate
1 review
“Which you had a royal saffron in Harrogate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Me and my husband and couple of friends where in last night an we really enjoyed our self's the conniusor cocktail for two wow serving fish,chicken tikka,lamb tikka,sleek kebab and king prawn a mouth watering stater an me friends had the sizzling cocktail all most the same,for my main I had a lamb special kharai and it was the best lamb dish I have had in ages very soft lamb that melts in ur mouth what more can I say it was a beautiful experience at the royal saffron an the service was spot on.an I thank the manager for giving us a complimentary drink with the bill we hope to see you very soon. Love Khalida and Adam xxx

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Mind blowing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

I went on Saturday an what can I say best curry iv had so far in otley an would recommend to anyone try the ussmani a hot curry but wonderful going thee again on Sunday carnt wait:-)lol

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

After our usual Leeds Indian restaurant changed hands for the worse we have been trying different Indian restaurants on the Fri of each week, usually using on line vouchers (wowcher) and eating early around 7pm.
Last week it was the turn of the Royal Saffron. I am amazed at the tone taken in adverse reviews below because on last nights meal I honestly rate this as one of the best Indians we've tried yet in the Bradford/Leeds area.
The place is very small (but I found that there is another floor upstairs, around the same size,) but the space available is maximised, without being cramped or seeming so to dineres, its cosy.
There was a short wait time for a table, in which I noticed the staff cleverly uti;ised limited space and re-arranged the tables to suit the queue waiting. There again at 7pm I rate a queue as a good sign, not a bad one.. (The wine bar next door had dozens or spare tables & no queue.)

The place was spotless, the staff smartly & indenticaly dressed and they were polite & helpfull.
The waiter to customer ratio seemed high, almost as if each table had its own. I had forgotten my glasses and our own waiter patiently helped us to choose a meal, making recommendations when we described our likes and dislikes to him..
The food was magnificent, even the initial popadoms came with 5 choices of dip, not the usual two or three. (They were however billed as "extras")
The starter, a shared platter for two was first class and I can't possibly fault the Indian mixed grill I had as my main meal.. the piece of tandoori fish was simply to die for,,, both the tandoori and Tika chicken perfect and it came with a sauce that was a meal on its own, Our only "extra's" (over the voucher cost) was the wine, a bowl of rice and a large Naan (also excellent btw.)...
I rate the food we had TOP quality, & the service we had the same..

If I had to find a fault? then only that the toilets are upstairs, a struggle for disabled like myself and that on them the banister was loose, again an alarming hazard for disabled persons grabbing it to climb up the stairs, (when any handyman could fix this in five minutes.)

All in all we I really enjoyed our visit and will certainly be back again.. Compliments to the Chef.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knottingley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very dissapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My Wife and I visited the Royal Saffron this Saturday with a Wowcher deal and found the whole experiance very disappointing. The atmosphere was none existent and conditions cramped. We actually felt like we were sharing the next couples table as the table plan is so tight. I felt like calling the samaritans at one point as all the waiters looked so suicidal, which added to the very poor service. Customer satisfation seems to be very low in the waiters priorities. The starter was quite pleasant, but the mains were just terrible and we couldn't finish them and dicided we weren't going to risk the sweet and ended our visit early. We got a bit of a shock settling the bill as we weren't sure were the extra cost's had come from, and trying to get it explained was impossible due to the waiters attitude and his inability to communicate.Will not be returning worst restaurant ever visited.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otley Balti House also viewed

Otley, West Yorkshire
Otley, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Otley Balti House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otley Balti House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.