We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very hard to fault” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buon Apps Italian Restaurant

Buon Apps Italian Restaurant
Wharfebank Business Centre | Ilkley Road, Otley LS21 3JP, England
01943 468458
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 53 Restaurants in Otley
Price range: $31 - $70
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Bucks, uk
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very hard to fault”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

First time here and have to say, it was superb. Quality food. Started with scallops, albeit a tiny portion, it was tasty. My main was fish which was so perfectly cooked that it melted in my mouth. My friends pasta was also excellent. Service was unobtrusive throughout. My only criticism was that my runner beans, albeit nicely fresh and cooked well, I had requested without any oil or butter on them. Must have been a language barrier, for they arrived coated with the oil.
We had their £15 two course menu, which represents great value. Looking forward to return here again !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    41
    10
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Super Italian Restuarant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Fantastic building, proper Italian food, proper pizza.
The staff are always so helpful and well presented just a darn good place to eat, drink and make merry!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Had a family meal tonight at Boun Apps for my daughters 21st birthday, the service was very good and all all 4 meals our group ordered where fantastic, a perfect meal out and reasonably priced, as they say you get what you pay for!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Back to form - a very enjoyable meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Last year I wrote on Tripadvisor about our experience at Buon Apps, after which we have not returned. Then some friends wanted us to dine out with them and chose this restaurant as it was one of their favourites. We went along with their choice, and had a thoroughly enjoyable experience. Our complaint previously was about poor customer service and we are aware of other friends who felt that their service could have been better managed. Now the restaurant appears to have employed experienced and well trained floor staff, who were very attentive and engaging with all the diners. We chatted to our waiter at the end of the meal and discovered that he had worked in the drinks and catering industry over many years. He certainly knew how to look after his customers. Our visit was on a Friday evening and we all enjoyed the special 'Fish Friday' menu; two courses of fresh fish, well cooked and presented. For people who enjoy good food this restaurant has much to offer beyond the standard fare of an Italian Bistro. We shall return as I can now recommend the food, a well balanced wine list and above all the service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Wonderul food, service and setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I've been pestered to try here for some time by an Italian friend so the expectations were very high. Driving though the industrial estate approaching the restaurant was a little disconcerting but any fear of a sterile, contrived, out of town restaurant were instantly allayed as soon as we walked through the door.
It's a beautiful space and used very cleverly. The excitement increased as we had a relaxed drink at the bar and perused the very promising menu.
We started with a fish sharing platter which was fantastic. Seafood salad, smoked salmon, scallop gratin, mussels, anchovies and much more were spread out in generous portions over a huge plate.
Mains were equally impressive. Asparagus tagliatelle was a beautiful balance of flavours, pasta cooked to perfection and the Chicken Diavola was tender with just the right level of heat.
Wine matches were competently supplied by a very chatty but not intrusive waiter who wasn't scared to crack a joke or two.

Even though I was expecting a good night, expectations were well and truly surpassed. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buon Apps Italian Restaurant also viewed

Otley, West Yorkshire
Otley, West Yorkshire
 
Otley, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Buon Apps Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buon Apps Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.