We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Lechazo in Spain by far.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Brigante (Asador)

Casa Brigante (Asador)
Plaza Mayor, 5, 09340 Lerma, Spain
+34 947170594
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Lerma
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cali
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The Best Lechazo in Spain by far.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

If your looking for high quality and taste for Lechazo de Cordero, this is my personal best I've eaten in Spain. The portion is more than enough for 2 very hungry men. So, careful ordering the other dishes. The wine listing is adequate, not great. I had no problem getting a table for lunch at opening time (no reservation). If your travelling near Lerma, Casa Brigante is an outstanding choice for a meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    44
    9
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Lamb to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Before you die, have the lechazo (suckling lamb) with a bottle of the local Ribera here. (Death leaves a bad taste in the mouth so better do this before the Grim Reaper catches up with you.) You might want to order a simple but very fresh, crunchy salad with the lechazo - it'll making you feel a little less guilty about the unctuous spoonfuls of delicious fat that you spoon over the meat. Of course, this is not much like meat. It has the texture of a sort of loose-fibred, juicy silk. I don't get to eat silk too often unfortunately. It was worth the wait. But don't wait a lifetime before you make it to Lerma.

By the way, don't forget to book your lechazo beforehand when you make your reservation. You'll want to kill yourself if you don't. Remarkably good value - 70-80 euros for two people.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Lamb is the brick oven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The ex mayor of Lerma now runs this restaurant where he will cook roast lamb in his huge wood fired clay oven. He also makes his own traditional black pudding.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Authentic relief from typical tourist spanish restaurant experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We were delighted to find such a fabulously calm atmosphere behind the doors of this resto; especially important when travelling with a baby. We smelt the wood fire burning from about 10 am & that settled it for us. The speed &quality of service, & quality of food (lamb cutlets & lomo iberico) were without fault. All in all, a great experience. And they do accommodation too!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing and overpriced.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

After reading previous Trip Advisor comments, how could we not visit for lunch. I booked a table and pre-ordered the 'House Speciality' which I had to do at the time of making the reservation. The welcome and service was faultless. However, the meal arrived in a large dish, and whilst fully accepting that lamb is a fatty meat, I was not prepared for a plate full of bones, fat with very little meat for 2 people. There was no faulting the taste, but as that is all we got for €38, it was somewhat disappointing. The wine, salad was fine, but my wife left looking forward to something to eat after paying overt €60 for the experience. I would like to think it was an off day, although the restaurant was almost full.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Brigante (Asador) also viewed

Lerma, Province of Burgos
Lerma, Province of Burgos
 
Lerma, Province of Burgos
Lerma, Province of Burgos
 

Been to Casa Brigante (Asador)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Brigante (Asador), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.