We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love Jamaica Iberostar! Go back in a heartbeat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rose Hall Main Road | Little River, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Rose Hall
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We love Jamaica Iberostar! Go back in a heartbeat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

This was our first trip to Jamaica, Mo Bay. We stayed at the Iberostar Rose Hall BEACH, the cheaper one of the 3 resorts of Iberostar. The location & staff at Iberostar is what makes this place amazing!! We arrived on Feb. 20th until the 27th. The airport is nice (when departing don't buy any duty free from the 1st duty free shop go to the 2nd shop close to Gate 15, alot cheaper!) from there to the resort it took about 20-25 mins. We checked in fine, friendly service, but no cool refreshments upon arrival. We got room #1131 beachfront suite nice, clean, spacious & the view was perfect! We watched the sunset first & then walked to the Main Buffet were they had lobster & the staff were very friendly. They had a great variety of food, curried lamb, chicken, goat, jerk everyday, pastas, seafoods, roast beef, turkey, the usual hotdogs, burgers, fries, check out the BBQ on the beach, delicious! They also have buffet at the Steak House, except for dinner. Book your dinner reservations early so if you don't have a good meal you can still catch the buffet. The Cajun is the worst, but the Japanese & the Steak House are good! At the Japanese the Chef puts on a lil show (bring camera). The entertainment is good keeps you entertained & if you want to participate in the show just make sure you can have a good laugh at yourself too!! Don`t miss the entertainment on the beach (Thursday). At the Main bar you'll probably meet Ricardo, Gregory, Nadia, Dillon, & at the Music Bar Oren, all great guys we had a blast with them...Ricardo makes great drinks for the ladies if your tired of the usual. The nightclub & spa are in the next resort (SUITES) you can take a cart or walk a couple of mins over. The other 2 resort guests can come & play & eat at the BEACH, but you cannot do the same at the other 2. If you ask the bellmen in the front they'll offer to show you around their resorts! Ok, the beach is narrow when walking & the BEACH sand is definitely nicer than the SUITES (too rough) but best sand is at the GRAND. The water is clear & beautiful & you can walk out 20 yds & the water comes up to your shoulders, you can see your feet, lil crabs, & fish as well as floating makerts they can`t come close to the beach but you can go out to them and check out their stuff. Plenty of room on the beach always find a chair & lots of shade. When we went, there was a cool breeze but it was nice in the sun. One day it rained for half the day so we went shoppin and later the sun came out & it was humid! The Lilliput Craft Village next to the resort is a (enter at your own risk, not part of the resort) great place to bargain. Lots of people go over from the resort, the people are friendly! The Dunn`s River was fun, half day trip & worth buying the DVD they sell of you climbing up ($39US). The Holiday Inn Shopping is a good place to check out souvenirs and things. We only had one problem & that was our room key card wasn`t working and we went to front desk a couple of times to get a new card (1am) and when the bartenders noticed how many times we walked back and forth, they offered some help and we had the night Mgr. Shewa, night maintenance guy, Ricardo the bartender, and us in the hallway at 2am having a good time trying to get the lock to work. We got in but the door lock had to be replaced that same morning at 8am and we didn`t leave our room until it was done even though they said it was ok to leave. All in all we had a great time made good friends with the locals & loved every minute of our time in Jamaica...would go back next week if we could! Tip the staff well they do a hell of a job to make your vacation fun, memorable and give you the feel of Jamaica!! Hope this helps you out! Ya mon!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,399
    926
    347
    142
    92
See reviews for
1,005
1,091
53
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

We had traveled a lot, and this is by far the worst hotel we have ever stayed at. 3 stars would be a better description. Service was bad, the staff was not accommodating whatsoever. Bring cash with you, because in order to get any decent service, you have to give tips/bribes. Bracelet policy is unacceptable, especially when not having many choices for food. Same food in every restaurant, and in order to get to the restaurant (if you don't want to eat buffet food) -- you have to have reservation, which is difficult to get (only 2-3 allowed per stay, and all times are booked). Even if you are lucky to get reservation, you still end up eating the same buffet food that they bring to you. The buffet food is horrible, its the same food day after day, not much different between lunch and diner.
Beach towel policy is stupid. You have to have an access card which you need to exchange for a towel, if you forget your towel on the beach, they pick it up and then make you pay $10 for a misplaced towel.
And if you bring kids, you need to ask for an additional card, otherwise your child won't get a towel.

We had a 2 year old child with us, and we all had to sleep in the same bed. In the last resort, we got a separate bed for a child.

Summary: This is a cheap resort, and you are getting a really bad value for your money. Add another $500 (7 night stay), and you could be staying in much better place.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

SHOUT OUT TO AL FROM PITTSBURG AND SHANE, CRAZY KENNY ET AL.
Went with an open mind. Have been to 5 stars elsewhere before. Not up to snuff in some ways. Minibar: only filled with beer, soda and water if you leave a tip. Certain important lights did not functioni, i.e. in the hall by the safe and the bathroom. Buffet at breakfast: had to do tricks to get another cup of coffee. Watch your beach towels for sure. Never had anyone ask me if I wanted a drink around the pool - got my own. Two sinks in the bathroom: one didn't work. Towels were replaced daily. Shower was great! Balcony: am 5`4``: could not see over the railing when sitting but could see in between the pillars. Great clothes rack on the balcony - a little too small though. Felt sorry for the workers there all the time - they made you feel that way. Entertainment in the theatre was good. Room service: ok once, second time: food was lousy and cold. It`s all about the tips I`m thinkin. Great entertainment staff: Shane, Crazy Kenny et al. Nice lifeguards. Not much for singles though! Met some nice people on my own. Food was good. Make your reservations as soon as you get there. Fitness centre: small, hot but not bad equipment if you can stand the heat. No professional trainers on hand. Guards at the border to the grand. Makes you feel like you are in the former West Berlin. Overall: I miss Jamaica. The grounds are well kept. Beach: ok I guess.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

First of all, I've travelled to a lot of resorts eg. Dom Rep., Cuba, Mexico Barbados etc. so I feel like I've got a bit of a benchmark from which I compare resorts. With that said........

My husband, daughter and I were at the Rose Hall Beach from the 27th- March 6th. Overall we feel that the service was excellent and the value very good. Was it as "flashy" as some other 5 stars we've stayed at? No, but with that said, we very much enjoyed our stay..the food was good and varied, and the size of the resort was convenient for getting around easily, the beach was clean and the water warm. What stands out for us though, were the great staff- waiters, bartenders and animation crew all do a fabulous job. We agree with some reviewers that the front desk staff were the only ones who seemed to be rather cold and snitty at times. Make sure you don't miss the Silverbird ?? show in the evening great talent from outside!!!
It was our first trip to Jamaica, but will not be our last.

On another note- we had a tour with Reggae Tours which I arranged prior to arriving- excellent service, price and tour to Negril- HIGHLY recommend this and our driver- Carlton. Google GREG CONNELL Reggae Tours for more information.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

My husband & I just returned from a one week stay at the Rose Hall Beach. Immdiately we noticed how clean everything is. Everything is prestine. This resort is regal, every detail from the landscaping to the decor to the food was well above our expectations. We have stayed at several five star resorts in Mexico, over the past three years, and this resort was by far the best experience. The staff, namely Dane, Schare, Gregory, Blake, Annie & Sunshine were one of the highlights of this trip. We did not bring our children. However, DO NOT HESITATE to bring small children. The staff taking care of the children are AMAZING! We watched and admired how well they (Annie,for one) care for these children, and the children adored the staff! The people of Jamaica are beautiful and the staff at this resort make the trip more than a five star. They smile, they sing and they tell you all you want to know about the island. I was sorry that was not able to find a comment card to commend the efforts of these individual staff members.
The music on the beach, the shows and the music in the restaurants only added to the experience. Our room had a breath-taking view of the gardens and the ocean. I do not think there is a bad room in this resort. The "Beach" is the lower end of the three resorts, but feedback from guests at the Grand & Suites was that they spent all their time at the 'Beach" as they preferred the food, entertainment, etc. The resort is 15 mins from the airport. We booked the three hour shuttle tour into Montego Bay and it was well worth it. It gave us an opportunity to do some shopping and to see the island. Dunn's River Fall's is a MUST, but leave your camera behind, unless it is waterproof. You can buy the DVD for forty US dollars, again, well worth it. The weather was beautiful. Even on overcast days, everyone lies around on the beach & pool. The view & music seemed to make the clouds disappear. We found the prices of everything from pop, t shirts, cigarettes, the same as here in Canada. The resort was full of Canadians. Tipping is very important everywhere you go. Please remember to tip the staff. We will definately be returning to this resort within one year and we cannot wait.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

A few things to be aware of before you go.
Individuals staying at the Grand have access to this resort but you do not have access to theirs, you are easily idetified by your bracelet and will be escorted out. The sand at the Grand is also nicer but do not sit on any of the chairs their, stick to your own beach.
Whatever you do... DO NOT LEAVE YOUR BEACH TOWELS UNATTENDED!!! We left ours on our first day even before we could check in (Check in time 3:00 not gauranteed!!), when we returned they had been picked up. We spoke with management and the front desk staff... I have never been treated so poorly before!!!! We would have to pay $20 to get our towels back. This appears to be common as we spoke with others... it seems to be a scheme.
If at all possible avoid using the staff at the front desk for anything... they don;'t seem to care about anything!!! The front line staff are great though and really accomodating.
No face cloths ever and the number of towels left varried each day
We were with other family in two other rooms; the sevice varied greatly (not sure why)... they had towel art daily!!
The only place in all of Jamaica where I was told that the only change they could give would be in Jamaican and not in American was in the Iberostar gift shop at the resort... no where else (including any where in Montego Bay, the Craft Market, Ocho Rios, or Negril)... very interesting.
Book your A la Carte Restaruants as soon as you arrive... do not follow the 'rules' to booking... they don't!! We could only get into one out of the three when we tried booking on our second day there.
Be aware that everyone has their hand out and are not afraid to tell you what they expect for a tip.
If you do not like cigerette smoke, be aware that people smoke everywhere and you can't get away from it.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2009

First off, if you decide to stay at Rose Hall Beach instead of the Suites or Grand Hotel, get ready to be treated like a 2nd-class citizen. I walked along the beach to the Suites, walked into the lobby and wanted to check out the gift shop. Once the employees recognized that my wristband was from the lowly Beach Hotel, they asked me to leave immediately through the front doors by security. I was HUMILIATED. I understand I paid less to stay at the Beach Hotel, but the attitude of the employees was ANYTHING BUT accomodating. I would love to treat them like dirt if these same employees came to my country!

I have stayed at three other all-inclusive resorts and I must say that Breezes and Sandals were better. The food was no so great at Rose Hall Beach. I was all excited for jerk chicken only to be disappointed my first day. I ended up filling myself with comfort food (pizza, french fries, hamburgers) instead of the other buffet choices.

Oh, if you want to buy a Cuban cigar (or a Jamaican for that matter), get ready to pay through the nose. Also, the Cohibas are fakes. They want over $30 a cigar for a counterfeit cigar. Either the hotel is duping you or the tobacco distributor is duping the hotel. Additionally, the cigars in the gift shop have tobacco beetles in the humidor. I saw them crawling around!

Now for the good. The maids, waiters, bus-boys were very friendly and accomodating. I wish that the management at this place were the same.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel

Address: Rose Hall Main Road | Little River, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
#4 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new 5-star- hotel is located in beautiful Montego Bay, Jamaica. Directly on the beach. Elegant colonial design. Water sports galore. Scuba diving. 3 specialty restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., VISIT US, INC. , Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Montego Bay
Montego Bay Iberostar
Iberostar Rose Hall Jamaica
Iberostar Jamaica
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel Jamaica - Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.