We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rose Hall Main Road, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Rose Hall
Vancouver, CANADA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

Booked the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach as it was new and had good reviews (we also wanted to experience this management company's resorts as we have been to many AI resorts). It is a beautiful resort and the rooms were very attractive (the king size bed was lovely) with nice features re black out curtains, lots of TV satellite channels, large closet, nice furnishings, no extra charge for safe, with ocean views & nice balconies and stocked bar fridges. The shower/tub was a bit odd - not sure how larger size people would take a bath? But the rain showerhead was very nice. When you requested extra towels, pillows, tolietpaper, etc., no problem! Also resort had elevators and the resort is well laid out and not too large to get around. In the bars, liquor selection was very good and the drinks in some cases were very strong (over proof); food was excellent and with lots of choices in buffet (steak house was good). All staff were hardworking and polite and friendly. Arranged (at the foyer's excursion desk) a private driver/car and travelled for the day to see the sights and also took the excursion for the boat to Dunns Falls. This is a very different type of resort regarding outdoor amenities as theatre, front desk/lobby, bars and restaurants (except the pool bar and the steak house/snack bar) are inside and air-conditioned. Also the fig trees on the beach (which are good for shade) are tall so they block out the beach/ocean views from the pool areas. However the price was good for the amenities and also non-stop flights are a bonus - never has Jamaica been so affordable! PS I am a travel agent :-) so share the love of travel!

  • Liked — rooms and balconies and ocean view
  • Disliked — front lobby or bars are not open air and tropical
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,528 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,228
    795
    296
    128
    81
See reviews for
878
946
50
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia,PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2008

We stayed at the Rose Hall Beach Hotel from 12/5 to 12/10 and had a wonderful time. This was my 5th trip to Jamaica. I previously stayed at Sandals Royal Caribbean twice, Sandals Whitehouse, Couples Ocho Rios, and Holiday Inn Sunspree. The food at Rose Hall was very good - with something for everyone. You will not go hungry. Drinks were plentiful and rooms were average. The beach was pretty, but not the best. Water shoes are needed. We enjoyed the nightly shows. The entertainment team tries very hard to please. I must say that the staff here excels at making visitors welcome. They went above and beyond to ensure we had a very good time. "Hello" to Nancy and Rosemary from Connecticut who we met at the Japanese restaurant. We enjoyed your company and had a lot of laughs together!

  • Liked — resort size was not too big
  • Disliked — average rooms
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2008

I just returned from a 5 night 6 day trip to the Iberostar Beach resort in Rosehall/Montego Bay!! My husband and i went with two other couples we are good friends with and had an extraordinary time!! This was my first all inclusive experience and i couldnt be happier. One of the couples we went with are experienced travelers who have stayed at several all inclusives and said this was one of the nicest and they would definitely return!

The food was great in my humble opinion but i am an adventurous eater and not very picky. there were several restaurants to choose from and my favorite was the Japanese hibachi (incredible!!) and the steakhouse (fabulous and my husbands favorite as well) i thought the cajun was very good too and the waiter ricardo at the cajun was the best waiter i have ever had he was so wonderful and attentive!!! the buffet was great (breakfast was my favorite buffet everyday) they had alot too choose from and also had alot of comfort food for those less adventurous eaters. I was hoping to have more native food that i cant have in new york but overall my dining experience was excellent!! we did leave the resort to go to local eateries for lunch so may i suggest scotchies jerk chicken and their "festival" which tasted alot like a zeppole its only 10 minutes from the resort and on the mainroad!

the resort was incredible!! the beach was beautiful and the water was so blue and clear even in 25 feet of water you could see straight down to the bottom!! we went parasailing which was a bit more money but worth every penny!!! it was so incredible i wish i had brought my camera up with me!! you can see the other two parts of the resort iberostar suites and soon to open vip which look incredible!! they had canoing and water sports available for free but we spent most of our time in the pool - i have seen complaints about missing pool tiles which i find humorous since the tiles are tiny only about an inch each. the pool is an infinity edge pool overlooking the beach with a swim up bar and two sections, one for the bar the other for water sports (basketball, volleyball, and free scuba dive tutorials). the pool has a deck dividing the two sections and lined with palm trees its absolutely gorgeous!!

We also did the cool runnings dunns river falls catamarran (sp?) excursion which took us scuba diving, climbing the falls, and a party boat. it was wonderful!! dunns river falls is incredible!!! i am glad we did the boat excursion though because it only took about 30 minutes to climb so it was nice to have other things to do also. if you are going to the falls bring water shoes for the climb we had to rent them from the boat and it would have been more comfortable with your own shoes, also have a disposable water camera because you will get totally soaked and cant bring your regular camera and the experience is so incredible i wish i had photos!! the falls are gorgeous!!!!

i wish we had more time to do more things they had so many exciting and wonderful excursions but it was also so wonderful to just relax at the resort!! the staff was unbelievably nice and just so incredible!! the entertainment staff were so wonderful they had so many events scheduled and worked so hard to make sure everyone was having a wonderful time!! they also spoke several languages and made it a point to learn everyones name to address you by your first name and treat you like old friends!! they definitely had something for everyone!! and the waitstaff were phenomenal!! i have to mention ricardo again because he was just so incredible!!! and of course gary the poolside bartender was fabulous!!!

the rooms were beautiful each setup like a suite with a pullout couch sitting area near the balcony. they were large with comfortable beds and the bathroom was huge. the shower was wonderful i loved the shower head its was like showering in a light tropical rain! there was a stocked refrigerator included for free with softdrinks water and beer, a coffe/tea pot, and room service for no extra charge. they were clean and so comfortable i loved it!! we had no problems checking in either and they greeted us with mixed drinks for the girls and red stripes for the boys in the main lobby while john the bellhop got our bags!! the staff was excellent in the lobby as well. when checking in my friends were teasing each other and the woman at the desk was concerned they were upset with each other and called the room later to make sure they were okay and if there was anything she could do! travel to and from the airport was all included and arranged by the hotel so we had nothing to stress out about. check out was at 12 and our flight was at 4:45 however they were so accommodating checking our bags and allowing us to hang out at the hotel and have lunch, to keep our rooms only would have been an extra $10 an hour if we chose too. they even gave us drinks to go.

they had their own club the "jammin bar" and also a kid friendly cabaret kind of club with a different performance each night. both were very nice. they also had karaoke but if you want to sing along to billy joel you'll need to bring it with you. again they had different activities at both clubs to keep you entertained and the service was excellent!!

all in all a 5 star review i would love to go back and definitely intend to try other iberostar resorts around the world!!

  • Liked — i loved the whole resort!!! but daytime activities was the best!!
  • Disliked — they didnt have much at night for a young crowd looking to stay up late and have some fun
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

This was my 40th birthday trip. Ive never been to jamaica so i really didn't know what to expect. Went for 5 days 4 nites. I'd heard alot of comments about the locals and how they live being depressing to some people. I guess since i'd heard that it didn't bother me, i was expecting to see plywood houses and etc. This is the first time i ever stayed at an Iberostar or all inclusive either. Well, despite the missing pool tiles(?) i had the greatest time. We arrived at the hotel around 1:30 in the afternoon so I did have to wait about 2 hours for my room to be ready but it was fine we went to the buffet and had a late lunch. It was only about a 20 to 30 minute bus ride to the hotel from the airport. We only ate at the buffet and the grill, i had alittle trouble finding things that apeeled to me but i have a funny stomach. My boyfriend though tried alittle of everything. The staff was great, johhny one of the bell hops was very helpfull and BIG momma, what a trip she is. Only took one trip to the falls, it was ok, the day was cloudy and had rained in the morning so maybe if it would have been sunny and hot it would have been better. Bad part leaving there to go back to the bus, locals pushing there goods on you. I want to go to the Dom Rep will try to stay at the Iberostar there as well had a wonderful time here.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the beach water
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2008

We stayed for two weeks in Iberostar Jamaica
The hotel is magnificent, and we had an excellent time.
We tried all the restaurants no complaints , except the last night as the hotel got busier , When we went to the buffet restaurant tables were not being cleared or cleaned, found it difficult to find a clean table to have a meal.not enought staff on.
Out side grounds and pool area were kept very clean.
The entertainment staff round the pool put in a lot of effort to entertain you all day and night,the only down side was that we found out that they did not pay the trainee entertainers,they were taken on a two weeks training programe, some were still trainee five weeks later and still no pay , when asked if they had a job for them they were told no but you can stay on if you wish.( Slave labour)
Found the Jamaican people very frendly.
Definately would go back to Jamaica.

John & Evelyn Scotland

  • Liked — Very Clean
  • Disliked — nothing
Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

We stayed at the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach for the last week of October. The resort is really nice, grounds are beautiful and the service is great.

Our room was beautiful, oceanview, everything worked and it was cleaned daily. The A/C controls were right next to the bed so you didn't have to wake up at night if you wanted to change the temp.

We liked all the restaurants, especially the Japanese and Steakhouse. I don't really understand the people in these reviews who say the food was "really bad".

The entertainment team works really hard to keep you entertained and the shows at night were also very good. They work long hours but always seem to have a smile on their faces.

The only thing I didn't like about the resort was the size of the beach, but I knew about that before we left. We never experienced any problems during our trip except for a couple cloudy days! Overall a really nice resort and great vacation spot. I would rate it as a 4 star.

  • Liked — Pool, Restaurants, Room and Great Service
  • Disliked — Beach
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston,sc
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2008

Okay, we just got back from a company trip to Iberostar Rose Hall in Montego Bay, Jamaica. The pictures you see on this site are accurate...the landscaping and grounds are very nice and kept up.

The negatives:

The food- in all honesty it was pretty bad. The best meal I had was at the steakhouse. The Japenese steakhouse was not horrible but the lunch buffets were pretty bad. Everything I ate went right through me.

This was a free trip but I believe this resort is pretty inexpensive, so you get what you pay for.

The Good Stuff:

However, the staff is great! This was my second time to Jamaica (I stayed at Sandals Dunns River Falls before) and although the resort in itself (and definitely the food) was much nicer/better- the staff was top notch at Iberostar.

The beach was nice- plenty of room if the beach is your thing. The pool was really nice and relaxing.

The rooms are nice enough & the bathrooms are very nice for the price you pay for this resort.

Bottom line- it is not the Ritz but a very nice and relaxing getaway for an inexpensive price.

We liked it enough to book another little 5 day get away in January. As for the food, the resort is so economical we can definitely afford to go off the resort and eat.

The drinks though were NOT watered down (so good value there)

  • Liked — The staff and the pool
  • Disliked — The food
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel

Address: Rose Hall Main Road, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
#4 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new 5-star- hotel is located in beautiful Montego Bay, Jamaica. Directly on the beach. Elegant colonial design. Water sports galore. Scuba diving. 3 specialty restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, VISIT US, INC. , Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Montego Bay
Montego Bay Iberostar
Iberostar Rose Hall Jamaica
Iberostar Jamaica
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel Jamaica - Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;