We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect except for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rose Hall Main Road | Little River, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Rose Hall
Mississauga, Ontario
1 review
“perfect except for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

everything was great from food to staff.
a few things to consider. room 2224 is located above the all you can eat restaurant . the sound of the chairs dragging on the floor as people get up and sit was too loud and i could not sleep well. I changed rooms and was happy.
the beach was ok ...rocky at some parts.
If you are into long walks along the beach then you will be disappointed..the beach is only about 500 m long
the beach soccer was difficult for me as i found it hard on my feet. the soccer area is concrete with only a few cm of sand ...this was also dangerous if you are not aware of the concrete under the sand.
The beach volleyball was a little better with about 10 to 30 cm of sand over concrete....still this was dangerous if you are planning on doing any diving to dig for the ball....i scraped both knees and soon played the rest of the time on my feet.
food great!
staff great!
entertaining was good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

The management and staff of IBEROSTAR Rose Hall Beach Resort wish to extend our gratitude to you for choosing our hotel. We are very grateful knowing everything from food to staff was great! Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I hope you have fully recovered from your scraps and our humble apologies are extended for the inconvenience. We will share you review with our team and we will improve where possible. Thanks to you again for making Iberostar your choice and we hope to see you again in the future.

Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,353
    882
    325
    134
    88
See reviews for
963
1,039
51
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Everything was great. Japanese restaurant was good but not great,service was great even though it's an all inclusive. Rooms were very clean and all free activities (snorkeling and kayaking) are close to hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Rose Hall Beach Resort for your past vacation. The management and staff are very thankful knowing your vacation was excellent. We are sincerely sorry for any inconvenience experience at the Japanese with the service and we will work to improve. We are happy you enjoyed the activities offered and our beautiful Resort in general. Once again thank you and we look forward to the next time you will visit again.

Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorold, Ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My mother and I just returned from a 1 week stay and this was the best resort I have ever stayed at in the carribian wonderful staff Diandra, Ebony and smiley were great fun. Momma Ivory says hi!!! Such great food and service was top notch , very clean and comfortable rooms. I really enjoyed the beach for swimming and snorkling. I would definetly go back to this resort and stay in presidential suite

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

The management and staff of IBEROSTAR Rose Hall Beach Resort are thrilled knowing you had an incredible vacation here with us. We thank you for the time taken to share your compliments and we will pass on your warm greeting to our dedicated staffs. We are committed to providing top notch services thereby allowing our guest to have wonderful memories hence wanting to return. Truly we are very grateful and as such once again our gratitude we must extend. We look forward to your return as extending welcome to you again will be our pleasure! Thank you

Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kleinburg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Just came back from our family vacation to Iberostar Rose Hall Beach hotel. I have mixed feelings about this hotel because even though we had a fabulous time, the hotel needs a few upgrades . I don't want to put the hotel down but I don't want people to be mislead by the 4.5 star rating because in my opinion it just isn't. I will break it down by category.
Lobby- 3 1/2 stars
Lobby is grand and has very rustic Jamaican furniture but there's signs of wear and tear. The iron chandeliers are spectacular though, I don't know if they are handmade but they are a piece of artwork on their own. There is a bar as well in the lobby and the bartenders are so accommodating and will make anything you like. The lobby is very nice overall and huge. There's also a flowery fragrance when entering the lobby that is so inviting.
Hotel Rooms: 3 stars
Very disappointed with the rooms, we booked 3 rooms and all 3 rooms didn't have hot water and no pressure. We tried to move rooms but I needed adjoining rooms for my daughters and they told us there wasn't any. I thought this was a bit odd because the hotel wasn't at full capacity, anyway it took them 4 days to fix our shower. Also, very poor lighting in the room and bathroom. Please ladies do not forget to bring your blow-dryer because the one in the room is probably from the 1960s, it's a hose with warm air. On a positive note, I did find the beds to be very comfortable and no noise, slept great! The TV has Canadian channels which is also a nice touch. The mini fridge didn't work properly but with an all inclusive you really don't need it.
Pool Area: 3 stars
2 large adjoining pools, one with a swim-up bar and the other to be used for volleyball and scuba lessons. I was very disappointed in the pool, there are tiles missing everywhere and the bar area had black stuff underneath which totally turned me off. If you don't see dirt like I do then you're fine. Water was always warm but the week I went average temp was 34. Lots and lots of activities throughout the day. Young kids to teens will be entertained here.
Beach: 4 stars
I absolutely loved the beach and spent most of my time here. It's not the crystal turquoise waters that you would get in other parts of the Caribbean but it's clear waters and powdery sand. I've read some reviews about the weeds but this is from the man made coral reef that is about 20-30 feet from the shore. You can snorkel everyday and see amazing fish. If you do snorkel just be-careful as we encountered a jelly fish and others have seen stingrays. There are also baby crabs on the sand but they run away from you. Lots of beach chairs and lifeguards are always nearby. If you like water activities this hotel has so much to offer.
Restaurants: 4 1/2 stars
There is one buffet restaurant that is super clean and a large variety of dishes. The staff here are exceptional, from the chef to the waitresses. They have a carving station every night with something different. One night they even had turkey which was so good. Lots of Jamaican dishes as well, salt fish, curry goat and my fav Jerk chicken.
There are 3 restaurants you can reserve, a steak house, Japanese teppanyaki & Cajun restaurant. The steak restaurant was great and the entertainment at the Japanese was a lot of fun. Cajun I wasn't a fan of but many people like it. There's also room service that the teenage boys loved!
Entertainment: 4 1/2 stars
There's shows every night in the theatre. The staff works so hard and they are fantastic. The best show for me was the Jamaican history/roots (can't recall the name). There's also a beach fire show that the kids loved. Smiley, tootsie roll and Angel make your stay so enjoyable. They are simply the best and work very very hard.
Other Points: 2 stars
From my understanding the locals can spend the day at this hotel for $65, different faces everyday. For this reason alone I wouldn't go back here.
WIFI is not free and you will need to pay for it.
Whatever you do, don't lose your towel card or room key, they will charge you for them.
Must see: Rose Hall White witch tour, go at night though
Blue Mountain coffee: there's a local grocery store that had the best prices, avoid the gift shops.
So overall, it's a great place to go as long as your travel agent doesn't sell it as a 4 1/2 star resort.
I hope management looks at my review and considers making some of the changes I mentioned.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

The management and staff of IBEROSTAR Rose Hall Beach Resort would like to thank you for selecting our Resort for your past vacation. We appreciate the time invested to write and share your review. We have read your review and indeed we will do our utmost to improve so as to ensure we are better able to meet and exceed all our customers’ expectations. We must apologize for the any inconvenience encountered whilst staying with us; we are truly sorry for the disappointment experienced. Our staffs are very dedicated and we work unremittingly as a team to correct all reported errors with urgency nonetheless as per your review you experience delays in getting errors corrected; for this our heartfelt apologies are extended. The pools are cleaned and treated everyday however we will share your comments with the relevant departments so as to ensure they can evaluate and amend where necessary. There is a cost for lost towels or towel cards however there is no cost for room keys. The hotel offers day pass based on availability and with respect to certain block out dates; we are sorry if this caused any inconvenience to you.

On the other hand, we are truly grateful that you were able to enjoy some aspect of your vacation, the delightful food provided, the exciting entertainment and other excellent services provided by our polite and friendly staffs. We will pass your compliments on to the staffs especially those mentioned by names. Once again thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Rose Hall Beach and we hope you have not allowed the negative experience to tarnish your perception of IBEROSTAR as we take great honor in delivering exceptional services to our esteemed customers. Thanks for sharing and we will do our utmost to improve where needed. Thank you.

Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

The staff make this hotel!! Smiley from the entertainment staff, Tootsie and Breezy made my little boy's stay remarkably enjoyable. Shelly and Dane at the front desk, Kimberley at guest services. Cassandra and Sadia in the dining room. Nadia and Neil at the lobby bar also Ebony and Maria- entertainment staff. They all went above and beyond to ensure we had a great time. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

The management and staff of IBEROSTAR Rose Hall Beach Resort wish to extend our gratitude to you for selecting our hotel. It is indeed a pleasure knowing you had a very memorable vacation here with us. Truly our staffs are amazing and we are proud to have them as members of our team. We will applaud all staffs mentioned by names and as well we will share your review with our entire team, as certainly they will be motivated by your kind words. Once again thank you for choosing our hotel and it will be our absolute pleasure to extend welcome to you on your return visit. Thanks!

Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Just returned from honeymoon at the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel and enjoyed this resort tremendously! The little extras they provide are amazing. We went snorkeling right off the beach to the artificial reef and had a fantastic time. The food and service were both wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

The management and staff of IBEROSTAR Rose Hall Beach Resort are overjoyed knowing that you enjoyed your stay tremendously! We will commend our wonderful staffs for once again exceeding the expectations of you our valued customers. We are very grateful that you took the time to share your uplifting review and as such once again our gratitude we wish to extend. We look forward to the next time we will have the opportunity to host you again; maybe for your anniversary! All the best and congratulations to you both. Thank you.

Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Literally just home from a two week hoilday at the iberostar rose hall beach hotel, we had a great time from morning till night, its fun and games from aqua aerobics to dance classes , even a beach bbq with a steel band playing reggea music,which we really enjoyed . The hotel has three restaurants which you have to book, we tried them all with the steak house being our favorite, the steaks were amazing ! The staff were also very nice, with barman Dalbert the master cocktail maker really making our holiday special ,a lovely guy , also Andrew the barman made this a memorable trip with his specail cocktail Victorias Secret, a must try !. The evening entertainment was also very good , would recommend the hotel to anyone thinking of a visit to jamaica.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

The management and staff of IBEROSTAR Rose Hall Beach Resort are overjoyed knowing you had a wonderful stay here with us. We thank you for taking the time to share your review and we will commend our staffs especially those mentioned by names for the outstanding services offered. Providing remarkable experience is our sole purpose and always we work assiduously to attain therefore we are truly happy knowing all was enjoyed. We sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to extend warm welcome to you again in the future. Thank you.

Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel

Address: Rose Hall Main Road | Little River, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#4 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new 5-star- hotel is located in beautiful Montego Bay, Jamaica. Directly on the beach. Elegant colonial design. Water sports galore. Scuba diving. 3 specialty restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Montego Bay
Montego Bay Iberostar
Iberostar Rose Hall Jamaica
Iberostar Jamaica
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel Jamaica - Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.