We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4.5 stars? NOT!!! ” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rose Hall Main Road, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Rose Hall
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“4.5 stars? NOT!!! ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Just got back from a week's stay here. What a disappointment. We arrived to TWO rooms that smelled like mold. No one wanted to step up and move us, instead they tried spraying a nasty chemical that was almost worse than the mold. Anyways long story short, we arrived at 4 pm and did not get a decent room until 11:30 pm. Then the next six days we find the majority of the staff won't serve you unless you have a couple bucks in your hand first. Not all but most. The food at the buffet and the grill was plain and a lot of boiled stuff. And only getting 3 reservations at the a la carte places is a joke. For this money it should be all-inclusive. But the Japanese place is worth going to. Don't bother with the cajun place, the food was so so at best. The beach was awesome though and the beach servers were good too. The star friends did a good job of getting people up and moving. And don't try to visit the suites or grand unless you first make an appointment though. Overall I gave a rating of 1 for the beach otherwise it would have been zero stars. We won't ever go to an Iberostar again

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

The management and staff of Iberostar Rose Hall Beach & Spa Resort would like to thank you for choosing our hotel. We are remorseful to hear that your vacation was a disappointment; kindly accept our humble apologies for all the inconvenience you encountered. Our housekeeping department works assiduously each day to ensure rooms are up to standard; we also have dehumidifiers that we use to assist in room when necessary as such we are truly sorry if your room was moldy. Room change is always based on availability therefore if you inquired and it was not available we apologize for the inconvenience caused. We are regarded very highly for providing a wide variety of meal selection therefore we are sorry if you were disappointed, nonetheless each individual desire varies thus your comment is noted. Guaranteed dinner reservations at the a la carte restaurants are done based on the amount of night you are booked so as to ensure that each guest will have the opportunity to experience the a la carte and not just the buffet. We are happy that the beach servers and the star friends assisted you adequately and we will applaud them. Iberostar is committed to offering exception services and we are sorry you did not experience this service completely. We hope your perception will change and you will visit again and rediscover the immaculate standards and services of Iberostar.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,579 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,257
    809
    301
    130
    82
See reviews for
906
964
50
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Went as a couple for 5 days during the last week of February. It was our first time vacationing in Jamaica as well as our first time staying at an Iberostar resort. Needless to say, we will always look into Iberostar resorts first in other locations that have them and would definitely stay here again if we go back to Jamaica! From location to service to cleanliness, this was certainly top notch.
We got to the resort around 2pm but check-in wasn't until 3pm so they encouraged us to go eat lunch and have a cocktail while waiting for our room to be ready. Once we got into our room we realized the mini-bar fridge was not stocked so we called down and they sent someone up right away to fill it up. This was the only slip up throughout the entire experience.
The rooms, pool and grounds are all kept extremely clean throughout the stay. We saw guests at the other Iberostar resorts come down to the Rose Hall Beach to hang out because they said it was the nicest of the three for daytime relaxation. They have 3 restaurants, not including the 2 buffets, and they allow you to make guaranteed reservations at 2 of them but can make extra reservations at the other restaurants the same day you want to go if not booked. They made extra accommodations so we could eat at all 3. The Japanese Hibachi restaurant and the Steakhouse were the best. The food is great quality throughout the resort, even at the buffets. We read previous reviews before-hand and don't understand how anyone can diminish the food quality or not enough options at the buffets? We talked to many other couples on our trip who had been to other countries, resorts, etc. and they all agreed that the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach in Jamaica had the best food of them all.
At night they have shows at the Theatre which are all very entertaining and a disco/club at the Iberostar Suites next door that is a 5 minute walk and is available to all Iberostar guests. All of the staff took great care of the guests and even played with their children so that the adults could relax a little more. Special thanks goes to Dalbert at the Theatre bar and Julious at the pool bar. They both went the extra mile to ensure we both were always happy and well taken care of. We can't say enough about the level of service they provided to us each day.
Overall, this was an incredible vacation at an incredible resort. We would definitely recommend Iberostar Rose Hall Beach to anyone looking to travel to Jamaica!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

The management and staff of Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort would like to extend our gratitude to you for choosing our hotel. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to share your uplifting review. We are grateful that you had a wonderful experience with us by enjoying the beauty and cleanliness or the resort, the impeccable services offered by our committed staffs and the delicious selections of meals provided. We apologize that the minibar was not stocked when you arrived to the room however we are grateful that you did not allow this to affect your vacation. We are happy you were able to experience all 3 restaurants and also that you enjoyed the entertainment show. Thank you for your recommendation and we will commend our staffs for the remarkable jobs they have done. Thanks to you again and we look forward to the next time we will extend welcome to you again.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, MA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Where to start, first off the people are just amazing and friendly, I read so many reviews about unfriendly natives well the only unfriendly people were some tourists, Jamaicans are the most welcoming warm people, I have been to many Caribbean Islands and Europe and Jamaica was by far the friendliest!!!
The resort was small but beautiful and so well kept.
Our room was amazing ocean front view was spectacular. Food was great all the time variety and quality great! The servers in the Buffet especially Cassandra were so wonderful and Cassandra sang every morning while she worked I just loved her!!
The drinks were top notch and the 3 POOL bar tenders were so wonderful!!!
The star friends crew so friendly ALL the time!!
Beach was amazing cleaned every morning, and plenty of beach and pool chairs all the time.
Dunn’s River falls tour great has so much fun!!
We were 7 people with 4 - 20 something’s and they had so much fun entertained all day/night!!
My only complaint was the hairdryer so bring your own; if that is my only complaint then you know this was a wonderful vacation!!
We will be returning to Iberostar Rose Hall Beach as soon as possible :)

Room Tip: all rooms are great!! we were in room 2236 amazing, my sister in room 2424 a little musty smell but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

The management and staff of Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort would like to thank you for choosing our hotel. The time taken to share your review is highly appreciated; thank you. We are delighted knowing the top notch services provided were all enjoyed and that you had an amazing vacation. We will applaud our friendly staffs especially Cassandra for continually providing excellent service to our value customers. Thanks to you again for sharing your review and it will be our pleasure to extend welcome to you again. See you on your next vacation!

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed at the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach for 2 weeks from Feb. 5 to Feb 19/14. We had chosen this resort for our wedding, based on a recommendation from a family friend. Of course, like anyone else, I continually read the reviews on trip advisor and decided that I would make my own opinion of the resort once we got there.
Well all I can say is......................FANTASTIC! We had 25 other people join us for our wedding and a week of fun and boy did we all have fun. This resort and its staff make everyone feel like family. It is very clean, very organized and nice a close to the airport. It is located centrally, so if you want to do different excursions the most time you will spend on a bus is about 1.5 hours.
From the moment we checked in to the moment we left, we felt like we were the only people there. The staff knew our entire party by the 2nd day and once our guests left, they would ask about them every time we saw them.
The food was great, the best place to get a drink was the lobby bar and the best place to relax was on the beach in front of Tony's steakhouse.
I would like to thank the wedding coordinators Santena and Vanassa for the fantastic job they did on our wedding. It is a day that will be remembered forever. Everything went off without a hitch, I don't know why I worried so much.
The rooms were a nice size, the air conditioning worked too well sometimes, and there were no issues with smells or things not working.
One thing I would like to recommend however is that the fridge get stocked more often, with water at least. I think that the fridges should be checked everyday to ensure that there is at least a couple of bottles of water for the guest to enjoy. We had to call quite often to get water brought to our room and sometimes we would not get any for a day or two. But other than that.....my husband would say that it should be stocked with beer more often and that too I agree with. I know that you can get a drink anytime, but sometimes you just want to sit on your balcony and enjoy the tranquility of the ocean without having to leave to go get a drink.
If you like snorkelling, the reef just in front of the hotel is great. Tons of different sea life to be seen and on a calm day, it is a fantastic way to spend some time. The best times to snorkel out front are early in the morning and later in the afternoon.
There are plenty of things to do at the resort on a daily basis. something is always going on by the pool or at the beach.
From what I saw, the kids club was great. Rainbow did a fantastic job with the kids it seemed. She was always walking around with them and always doing different things with them. Great job.
I would also suggest that you bring Jamaican money to spend, if you buy in the resort with American money, most of the time you will get your change in Jamaican dollars with no exchange. They give you the change dollar for dollar. not a big deal, just a heads up.

I am hoping that I will go back on day!

Room Tip: Ocean front is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

The management and staff of Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort wishes to express our gratitude to you for choosing our resort. We are thrilled that you have allowed us the opportunity to host such an extremely special occasion as your wedding. Santena and Vanessa are committed to providing excellent services and they do their utmost to ensure the bride and groom requests are met therefore we are happy your special day was fantastic! We will commend them for the remarkable job they have done. Your comment regarding the refilling of the mini fridge was noted and we will do our best to improve; we apologize for delay in stocking the mini fridge based on your request. We are grateful that you and members from your group all enjoyed the time spent with us. We will applaud all our staffs for the excellent team work done thereby allowing everyone the pleasure of a fantastic experience. Thank you again and we look forward to the next time we will have the privilege to extend welcome to you again.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths Falls Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I would begin by saying that if you are looking for perfection; you are n the wrong lifetime. I have read reviews about this resort before going and would say that 9/10 people are more than satisfied with this resort and many rave about their experience. My wife and I would fit into the latter category. We traveled with another couple and they too were excited about their stay here. The ocean view junior suites are awesome. The four of us enjoyed the beach in the mornings and the last couple of hours each day at the pool. The food and drinks were enjoyable with great variety of both. As mentioned by many others; the friendly staff are the best asset of this resort. I cannot emphasize this too much. The highlight for my wife and I was our daily visit to the local vendors. They are just off the resort property; over the wharf where the boats are moored. The booths are rustic and the resort has posted a sign saying that; you leave the property at your own risk. We felt at no risk while there. if you would like to meet some of the local people and enjoy bartering for beaded bracelets, necklaces and other souvenir trinkets; this is the place to go. Tell the vendors that; "John and Susan referred you". You may get our discount.

Room Tip: The ocean view is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

The management and staff of Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort would like to thank you for choosing our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that your vacation was completely enjoyed. We appreciate the time taken to share your wonderful review and we are thankful that the other couple had a wonderful time as well. We will applaud our friendly staffs for the remarkable jobs they have done thereby allowing your experience with us to be exceptional. Thanks to you again for choosing our resort and we look forward to the next time we will have the privilege to extend welcome to you again. Thank you!

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Just came back from iberostar rose hall beach with my family and it was one of the best vacations we've done so far. Great service, great beach, great selection at the buffet food and very clean. I've seen bigger buffets but it still had great selection. This hotel is great for families with kids. If your traveling as a couple and is looking for some alone romantic time.... This place is not for you! Staff was wonderful especially with my kids

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

The management and staff of Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort would like to thank you for selecting our resort as your preferred vacation destination. We do our utmost to always provide exceptional services thereby contributing to vacations being unforgettable and we are thankful that our desired result was achieved with you. We will applaud our staffs for the remarkable services offered; we are proud to have them as part of our team. Thank you for sharing and for your recommendation. We hope to see you again for your next vacation. Thank you!


Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Ontario
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Just returned from 8 days at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach,Mo Bay,travelled Feb 19 -27th/14,we had a great time,weather was perfect,half hour of rain was all we had.Food was good,loved the jerk chicken,tried the Steakhouse alacarte,it was very good too.Beach was nice,soft sand,raked every morning,more rocks and gravel at the Grand and Suites hotels to the left side. Lots of shade,good snorkling just out front,grounds were nicely kept.We had a beautiful pool/oceanview room #1322,shower worked well,lots of hot water,a/c worked great, staff and management were friendly and helpful. We would not hesitate to return,we have been to other resorts in the Carribean,4& &5 Stars but Iberostar Rose Hall Beach has become our favorite so far.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

The management and staff of Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort wishes to express our gratitude to you for spending your past vacation with us. We are grateful that during your 8 days you were able to relax and enjoy the delicious food especially the jerk chicken, the beauty of our property and the excellent services provided by the management and staff. Thank you for sharing your wonderful review and we anticipate the next time we will have the opportunity to extend warm welcome to you again.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel

Address: Rose Hall Main Road, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#4 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new 5-star- hotel is located in beautiful Montego Bay, Jamaica. Directly on the beach. Elegant colonial design. Water sports galore. Scuba diving. 3 specialty restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, VISIT US, INC. , Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Montego Bay
Montego Bay Iberostar
Iberostar Rose Hall Jamaica
Iberostar Jamaica
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel Jamaica - Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.