We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding Setting!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rose Hall Main Road, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Rose Hall
Peoria, IL
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Perfect Wedding Setting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I checked in at the Rose Hall Beach Hotel on June 12, 2013 to attend our daughter's wedding which was held on June 16 - - we checked out June 20.

Upon our arrival in the lobby we were offered drinks which was nice as it was very hot and humid outside. Check in was a little slow.

Our room was large - - the bathroom was also large - - our maid kept both very clean as she made our beds every day of our stay.

The hotel has a large Infinity pool - - there were many chaise lounges on the beach where there was almost always a cool breeze coming off the Bay.

The Ibrostar is all-inclusive - - the Beach Hotel has four restaurants - - Cajun, Japanese, Steak House and Main Buffet.

All but the Main Buffet require reservations and long trousers for men. The Main Buffet serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. We ate at the Japanese Restaurant one evening - - it was average.

Most our our meals were at the Main Buffet which had a different variety of selections every day and was always very good.

Our daughter's wedding was planned to be on the beach - - however it rained and it was held in a ground floor alcove of the hotel. We thought the setting with hotel grounds and Montego Bay in the background was beautiful.

We rented Uncle Tony's Steakhouse Restaurant for the evening. There was a very wide selection of appetizers - - guests had a choice of steak, salmon or chicken. Almost all chose steak and all said their selections were excellent.

Our wedding coordinator, Vanessa, did a very good job.

There are three hotels on this property - - the Grand Hotel is the highest priced followed by the Suites Hotel and the lowest priced is the Beach Hotel.

The Grand Hotel guests can go to restaurants and amenities at all three locations - -Suites guests can go to the Beach Hotel restaurants and amenities - - but the Beach Hotel guests cannot go to the other two hotels - period.

The front desk at each hotel places a bracelet on each guest which identifies at which hotel the guest is staying.

The rules about where one can go is strictly enforced.

Counting the bride and groom (42) guests stayed at this Iberostar - - most at the Beach Hotel,a few at the Suites and one couple at the Grand Hotel and our daughter and her new husband spent four days after their wedding at the Grand Hotel.

My wife and I wanted to babysit our young grandson at the Suites where he and his father were staying so his father could attend some evening events with the other guests. We were not allowed to which we think is wrong.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

The Management and staff of the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort would like to thank you and your family for choosing our hotel for such a special occasion as a wedding. We wish to express our gratitude to you as well for taking the time to share your review base on your experience. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed our facilities and the delicious food provided by our chefs. Our staffs are very dedicated and this is reflected in their work; hence your housekeeper ensuring your room is kept clean on a daily basis. We are very happy that despite the weather your daughter was able to have a very memorable wedding. We will pass on commendations to the wedding coordinators for doing a wonderful job; Vanessa is thrilled by your review.

You are correct, that is the policy of the hotel ‘guest staying at the Beach Resort cannot go the Suites or the Grand’. I am very sorry if you were inconvenience due to this policy however this was set forth to govern our operation and as such we have to enforce it. The Guest of the Suites will have access to the Beach resort therefore in cases such as the one mentioned we would advised that the babysitting takes place at the Beach Resort. Thanks to you once more for making Iberostar your choice and we hope you will visit again in the future.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,488 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,209
    785
    292
    123
    79
See reviews for
864
933
50
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

A great hotel ( yes you could pay more to stay at the grand or the suites) for special occasion. But as hotels go great location,very clean around resort and rooms (slightly dated) helpful staff and plenty of good food ( loved the fresh roast meat each night ).
So if you want a reasonable price hotel only 20 min transfer you won't do better than this loved it .. Spent many a hour looking over infinity edge of pool into the stunning beach ..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

The management and staff of the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacation destination. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your vacation; the helpfulness of our wonderful staff, the good food provided and the comfort of our clean and relaxing resort. Thank you for taking a moment to share your review and we look forward to the next time we will have the privilege to welcome you again.


Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I arrived at this hotel just at the end of June - it was quiet and peaceful at that time.
Then school let out, and the numbers of guests more than doubled.
I recommend going here prior to summer vacation!
This is a lovely place with a terrific beach to walk upon, a clean pool to swim in, plentiful and nutritious food, and a large number of genuinely helpful staff.
The rooms are clean, and if anything in it requires professional attention, someone comes immediately to rectify the matter.
There are people on-site to assist with making arrangements to participate in the country's many wonderful attractions.

Room Tip: Upper level pool-side rooms are lovely in the morning. They can be a bit noisy at night during beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to extended our gratitude to you for choosing the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort for your vacation destination. It brings us great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your vacation. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our lovely farcicalities and the nutritious food provided by our highly trained chefs. You are correct our staff is genuinely helpful and we are honored to have them working for us. This is our aim; to ensure that all our guest leaves feeling very satisfied and as such we are overjoyed this was accomplished with you. Thank you for taking the time out to share your review and we hope to welcome you again for your next vacation.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I'll start by saying there will probably be a lot of people who do not agree with me, so be it - this is my review and it is based on my experience compared to the other Iberostar hotels I've been to.....

We have stayed in several part of Mexico and the Dominican Republic but we had not been to Jamaica, so we figured we try it. I wasn't sure if I were going to give it a 3 or 4, but went with 4 based on my other Iberostar experiences.

CONS ~

1) NO WELCOME DRINK - why not? Not one of us got one when we got off the bus; however, 1 hour before we were to board our bus to head back to the airport our bands were cut, so we were unable to get anything to drink while waiting to return to the airport to leave (even though it wasn't technically checkout time).

2) We did have a good time - do not get me wrong - and we know we stayed at the lowest end Iberostar, so I am well aware that the amentities would not be the same as the Suites & the Grand. Our main issue came with our room. It took the desk staff (who seemed bothered by our request) 3 days to get our air conditioner working right - one night they were there at 11 PM replacing the guts, only for them to tell us that it was the sensor which they couldn't do until the next morning. That left us with 3 (yep 3) nights of very little sleep because it would cycle on and off - and the noise would wake you up (or not let you fall asleep - think of it this way - someone right beside your head turning a tv on and then off and then on again - multiple times an hour). We asked to speak to a manager, we were told we didn't need to talk to a manager that they could help us at the desk, we asked to switch rooms - we were told they couldn't guarantee us an ocean view room - or that it wouldn't be ready until late in the day if one came available.

3) When entering our room it smelled like cat pee - not sure why or where it came from - but it did.

4) Lots of sand ants at the beach - I never saw this before and my husband pointed it out one day when he saw a bunch on the ground - and as he swiped one off his leg we looked and saw a trail to a beach chair that was almost COVERED in these tiny red ants - it was disgusting. We only saw it to that magnitude once - but we did see smaller groups of ants throughout the week. I think it was because so many people just poured out their drinks and left food laying around (c'mon people, clean up after yourselves - and on a totally off point subject (stop cutting in line)).

Semi Pro & Pro

1) Entertainment & Food Staff were wonderfull (some of the servers seemed a little put out, but then again, there were some rude people and some outrageous requests). Even though it was an all inclusive - we left a small tip at the buffets and a $5.00 tip at the specialty restaurants. You don't have to tip - we wanted to.

2) Food was pretty good. The buffet could get a little too much if you ate there everyday, but you would by no means, not find something to eat. We loved the Japanese restaurant. We were not so fond of the Cajun one.

3) Nice pool - but didn't like that people would save the chairs and you end up in the sun for 3 hours and never see the person whose towel was on that chair in the shade - that bothered me a lot.

Room Tip: Try to get 3rd or 4th floor, facing the beach and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

The management and staff of the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort would like to thank you for choosing our property for your vacation destination, and the time taken to share your review is also well appreciated. It is astounding to hear that you did not receive your welcome drink as this is a part of our standard, therefore our apologies are extended. In regards to the Air Conditioner, we are very sorry to hear that this was not functioning and took that much time before it was rectified. Usually once a problem is reported the relevant department would work in a very timely and efficient manner to ensure the fault is corrected. Nevertheless, we are very remorseful knowing that your vacation was hampered in a such a way due to the inconveniences you noted in your review and as such we wish to extended our heartfelt apologies. Regarding the ants in the sand, our landscaping team works assiduously on a daily basis to ensure the beach is clean however the sugar content will still remain, thus our apologies are extended one more if you were disturbed in any way the ants. Such inconveniences does not represents what we stand for and as such we hope your overall perception of the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach was not tarnished.

We are very grateful and happy to hear that you enjoyed the entertainment done by our wonderful star friends, the food and restaurants and our beautiful pool. We do hope this will not be your last visit at the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach and we look forward to the next time we will have the opportunity to welcome you.


Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days (June 29 - July 3). I have to say we were pleasantly surprised by the overall experience. The only other all inclusive we have done was our honeymoon at Sandals in St. Lucia, so we were worried the resort wouldn't match up, plus some of the reviews weren't so favorable.

The Positives - The resort is close to the airport, so it was a short ride there. Since Iberostar has three resorts that are all next to each other, the hotel sits on a big piece of property. No one bothered us trying to sell us things when we were on the beach, which was nice. The resort is very clean. I was worried about this, but it was immaculate. From the room to the lobby to the pool, the entire resort was spotless and seems to be updated and maintained regularly. Our room and bathroom were clean and spacious and stocked with a mini bar. The room temperature was very cool, which some people complained about. We like it very cold when we sleep, so we were very happy with this accommodation. The pool area and beach were very nice and someone was always around cleaning up and keeping it nice. The pool bar bartenders were extremely friendly and fun and helped everyone enjoy themselves. There were many activities in this area (aqua aerobics, volleyball, soccer, contests) which were fun and the staff kept things entertaining.

The Negatives - Each guest is required to wear a plastic hospital type bracelet for the duration of their stay, which can be kind of annoying. Also, the beds aren't the most comfortable. The biggest negative for us was the food. The buffet had a large selection, but the quality wasn't the best. In addition, the sit down restaurants aren't really sit down. You still have to get your own appetizers and desserts, which are buffet style. If you are looking for a true, relaxing sit down dinner, you won't find it here.

Overall, we had a great time at this resort. It's a great place to stay and definitely a lot of fun.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

The management and staff of the Iberostar Rose Beach Resort would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacation destination. We wish to express our gratitude to you as well for taking the time to share your review. We are delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy our well maintained and beautiful resort. We are very committed to upholding the standards of our hotel thereby ensuring that the environment is suitable for complete relaxation and fun. We are very happy you were able to enjoy our facilities and the services provided by our dedicated staffs. In regards to your “negatives” we appreciate your valued comments; as it is by means such as this that we are able to evaluate and better our services. We are very sorry you found the bracelets unpleasant, however this is a part of our standards and means of identification while being our valued guest. We apologize if the quality of our food was not the best for you as usually our food is rated with high regards. The specialty restaurants here at the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resorts are not full a la carte but rather semi a la carte, therefore we apologize if you were inconvenienced in any way due to this. We are very grateful that overall you have a wonderful time and we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

hi ive just returned from this hotel for a week with my daughter,,,im not kidding when i say this it was the best hotel,ive ever been for entertainment,, i only booked for a week and wished i had booked a fortnight,, the pool area is fantastic with lots of activities,, and the pool entertainers alone made the holiday,, the room was exellent with airconditioning,,the food was out of this world,, with so many choices,, i would sincerley reccomend this to anyone,, lovely beach also,,ive got to take my hat off to the management as its hard to pick fault with anything,, the only thing i can knit pick at is possibly the internet as my daughter is a big user,, if this was free the whole place would be perfect,, a massive thankyou for one of the best holidays ive had,, thankyou and would return tomorrow if i could...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Iberostar Rose Hall Beach & Spa Resort for your vacation destination. We would also like to express our gratitude to you for taking the time out to share your review. We are delighted to hear that the entertainment provided here made your vacation fantastic. We are very grateful that our entertainment team has contributed in such a significant way to your vacation ad we will definitely applaud them for doing such an excellent job. We are pleased that you enjoyed the wide selection of delicious food offered and that you were able to relax in the comfort of your room as well. Thank you for your wonderful recommendation and we appreciate your comment regarding the internet; we will do our utmost to improve where possible. We look forward to the next time we will have the privilege to welcome you.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The room was very clean. Staff was very professional but laid back. NO WORRIES, MON! Food was awesome! Jerk chicken yummy! Breakfast was tha bomb!
We went horseback riding and ziplining. Excursion staff were very accommodating. Night sky was beautiful. We saw 2 shooting stars on our last night.
NO LINES FOR ANYTHING!
We slept peacefully.
Only downs were the bathroom shower was on the weak side, and you have to pay for internet including wifi service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach for your vacation destination. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your vacation. We are all very dedicated in providing excellent service to our guest and as such we are grateful your expectations were met. The Jerk Chicken is truly yummy! And I know our check will be happy with your review. We appreciate your comment regarding the bathroom shower and the Wi-Fi and we will do our very best to improve where necessary. Thank you for taking the time to share your review and we hope you will visit again for your next vacation.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel

Address: Rose Hall Main Road, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
#4 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new 5-star- hotel is located in beautiful Montego Bay, Jamaica. Directly on the beach. Elegant colonial design. Water sports galore. Scuba diving. 3 specialty restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, VISIT US, INC. , Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Montego Bay
Montego Bay Iberostar
Iberostar Rose Hall Jamaica
Iberostar Jamaica
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel Jamaica - Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.