We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ibersostar Rose Hall Beach - Overrated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rose Hall Main Road | Rose Hall, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Rose Hall
Toronto
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Ibersostar Rose Hall Beach - Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just returned from a 7 night stay at the Ibersostar Rose Hall Beach in Jamaica. We choose this hotel because of the brand. However, this trip turned out to be a total disappointment and a waste of money - this hotel is so much overrated in all area, particularly, in customer satisfaction. The beach for this hotel is just disgusting (see photo), it's filled with so much debris that no one swim in it. There is no kid pool for the young kids to use - so beware if you have young kids. When we book this hotel, we're under the impression that the kid's pool and the water playground are common facilities and to be shared by the three ibersostar hotels, however that is not the case. We begged management to allow our kids to use the water playground since the beach is disgusting and they can't use the adult pool, but Iberostar turned our request down cold heartedly. Overall, I regret spending time at this resort and would not recommend this resort to other families.

Room Tip: Service and food are average at best. No water activities for kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
The entire team of the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach would like to send you our warmest appreciations for choosing our resort for you and your family vacation experience. We also appreciate the fact that you have taken so much time out of your busy schedule to share your experiences with other readers, I am certain they will appreciate your comments. We, as the operations team do appreciate these comments as well, since they give us the opportunity to get insight on the vacation experience of our valued guests. We are most delighted that you have enjoyed our amazing sandy beach, the sea grass mostly appears when the water is low, however we do appreciated your comment and we will continue to ensure that our landscaping team continues to visit the area constantly to keep our beach clean like always.
In regards to the situation with the Water Park, kindly accept our apologies for any inconveniences this might have caused you but our clients can only use the amenities of the Beach property, nevertheless you have access to the Spa, Shops, Casino and the Disco which is located at the Suites Hotel. We also have a newly renovated Kids club which h is open every day from 10am- 5pm with a wide variety of activities offered throughout the day for the kids’ enjoyment.

Once again we are grateful that you have selected our resort and even though you have made a conclusion not to return, we do hope that with the varied international resorts we have, we will be given the opportunity to host you at one of them.


Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,361 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,138
    740
    286
    120
    77
See reviews for
812
896
48
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Thank you to the staff of the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel for all that you did to make our first trip to Jamaica so wonderful. The service provided by everyone was exceptional from the housekeeping staff to the chefs to in the restaurants and everyone in between. They worked very hard to make our vacation enjoyable. The rooms were comfortable and the food was great. Although there is only one buffet, there is enough variety and changes in the buffet that you could have something different everyday. The Star Friends are amazing! The highlight for my son every morning was to have a Star Friend have breakfast with us. I asked him who was his favourite Star Friend and he replied all of them! The beach is nice but there is a lot of seaweed that they work hard at trying to keep under control. One comment I would like to make is that we travelled on an early flight, arrived at the hotel at 11am and did not get our room until after 3pm which was very disheartening. I sat in the lobby and observed people arriving after us getting their rooms before us, which I still cannot understand. My advice, if you have an early flight, pack some of your beachwear seperately (so you don't have to open your suitcase in the middle of the lobby) and you can change and enjoy the sun while you wait for your room. All in all we had a wonderful vacation and yeah man we will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your kind comments certainly warrant us expressing our most sincere gratitude on behalf of all the managers and staff here at the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach. We are encouraged by your comments, knowing that all our hard work invested in providing you with a great vacation created a good impression on you and your family.

In addition we are most delighted that you have enjoyed our amazing sandy beach, the sea grass mostly appears when the water is low, however we do appreciated you acknowledging our landscaping team in making the area more comfortable for you. We do apologize for the delay in receiving your room upon arrival, our check in time is 3 p.m. but our housekeeping team tries to have the rooms ready as soon as possible.

Thank you as well for your kind comments about our food, and the friendliness of our staff, we are happy that you have enjoyed the service provided by everyone which was exceptional from the housekeeping staff to the chefs to in the restaurants, the Star Friends and everyone in between. We will be delighted to pass on your kind comments to them, which we are certain they will appreciate.

Once again, thank you for your kind words and we do hope in the near future we will be able to welcome you back for the 2nd time here with us.


Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We just returned from Jamaca - we were there from March 11 - 16, 2013. We just wanted a quick get away from work and relax for awhile. This was accomplished. We thought the food was fine, the resort was nice. The water was very cloudy and not very pleasing to snorkel (which is what we typically do on vacation). We were surprised at how rude a lot of the guests were and they let guests from a cruise ship use the beach for the day - they were a HORRIBLE group of people. Just very intrusive with a huge sense of entitlement. A huge highlight of the trip was Dalbert at the beach bar; always so helpful and the best smile on the beach. We definetly do NOT recommend the Dressel Dive group especailly Turkish.. Although you may feel safe with him in the pool, keep in mind it's four feet. When you are honest with him and advise that you aren't a strong swimmer, bascially cannot swim - he assures you sinking is all you need to do to scuba. However, when you go out for the first time in the ocean to try this and there are probably 10 foot waves out there, that is NOT the time to take a newbie out to teach them how to scuba. Then of course when the student isn't comfortable to leave her in the ocean alone and not help her back to the boat - what a loser this guy is. I'm just over the moon grateful that the grace of God helped me that day and so did Captain Dave. The dive was not a good experience.

Room Tip: If you go to rest and relax - you may not want a room close to the pool, we were in 1124 - when they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

The entire team of the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach would like to send you our warmest appreciations for choosing the resort for you and your family vacation experience. We also appreciate the fact that you have taken so much time out of your busy schedule to share with other readers on Tripadvisor your experiences; both good and bad with them. I am certain these readers will appreciate your comments. As well the operations team here appreciate these comments as they give us the opportunity to get insight on the vacation experience of our valued guests.

We do apologize about the inconvenience of the cruise ship visitors intruding your vacation, we try to consider all parties and accommodate everyone making our environment healthy and enjoyable, leaving all of our guests satisfied.
The dive center offers multiple water sports and activity for our valued guest, we do apologize for the experience you had and will pass on your comments to the dive center management so he can brief his staff regarding your situation.

Your words of encouragement will be given to the staff so they will know they all did a great job. Thank you as well for highlighting your visit and sharing the uniqueness of Jamaica and our hotel with other readers as well as the fact that you enjoyed it.
On behalf of all the managers here, we would like to thank you once again for choosing our resort for your vacation experience, and we do look forward to hosting you here once again in the near future.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The advertise sit down restaurants but they were all full except after 9:00 PM! My pregnant daughter couldn't stay up to eat dinner with us. They limit your towels to one per person. My other daughter was sun burnt and wanted to stay covered with a towel and couldn't. The workout room was only 50% operational on electric equipment of which there were not enough to begin with. The room refregerators were not cold and only restocked every other day with 3 beers and 4 bottles of water and one gallon jug of water. Did not restock room coffee unless requested. Spa pictures throughout the hotel were not of the spa on site. Spa water and steam were not hot. Spa swedish showers and broken as was one jacuzzi. The spa was not at all luxurious for the luxury price. Room shower had no water pressure and conditioner was not included. No bathroom fans to eliminate steam. Blow driyer was useless. Beds were comfortable. Service was not very good...for example you could request something politely and they would not respond. So you couldn't be sure if they heard you. No pool or beach drink service unless you tipped. LOUD activities directors....hard to get away from their "encouragement". LOUD beach party went till 11:00 PM and could not sleep. In six days we were only allowed to sit down restaurant visits and the food was just ok. There really were only4 restaurants....not 12 available. Then when got to the restaurants at 9:00 they were only half full! We would not go back. Front desk was not friendly. You must save chaises or there are none available....so someone must get out early to reserve seats. Dinner is not available till 6:30 so have late afternoon snacks. Gift shop hours are unpredictable at best so plan accordingly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

From all of us here at this property, thank you for your comments. We appreciate the time you took to share your comments on this medium with other readers. Receiving comments like yours allows us to evaluate the services and amenities that we offer here and gives us the opportunity to assess our activities. It is disappointing to know that none of our offerings were pleasing to you, and we certainly apologize for this.

We are also disgruntled to know you do not believe you did receive value for your money. We will bring your comments to the attention of the department heads to do an evaluation of our services and amenities. In regards to the dinner reservations, we would like to advise you that, the hotel policy is that we are unable to make dinner reservations prior to your checking in. You will find a Guest Service desk in the lobby where you will be able to make your reservations in person directly from 9:00 am to 11:00 am, 1:00pm to 3:00pm and 5:00 pm to 7:00pm. In the mornings you will be able to book for the same night and following days, in the afternoons only for the following days. In the afternoon we do also offer any cancellation that we might get for the same night.
The only case when we make dinner reservations in advance is for families or groups larger than 15 people.
The number of times that our guests can visit our a la carte restaurants will depend on the numbers of days that the guest is staying at the resort. The number of reservations per stay is as follows:3 nights-1 dinner reservation, 4 to 6 nights - 2 dinner reservations, 7 to 9 nights - 3 dinner reservations and so forth.

With these factors taken into consideration, it is our hope that you will reconsider this or any of our other properties, as an option for your next vacation experience, and give us the opportunity to prove to you our commitment to guest satisfaction.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We just got home from a 7 day family vacation (we have 3 teenagers) at this resort, and it was fantastic! I loved it all. It was a beautiful hotel, and it really had everything we wanted. I hear that the Suites is even better, but since I never went to look at it, I didn't know what I was missing. There was lots to do -- beach volleyball, beach soccer, snorkeling, tennis, basketball, kayaking, etc., etc. The food was good. I do agree that after 7 days, you get a little tired of it, but they do a great job. The specialty restaurants (we did the steak house and the Samurai) were really good. We did one outing from the resort to the Dunn River Falls. We really enjoyed it, but we would also have been perfectly satisfied never to have left the resort at all. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing and fun vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was certainly our pleasure to host you and all your friends and family here. All the managers and staff thank you for choosing our resort and are delighted that you took the time to share with us your stay experience.

Our entertainment departments do strive to satisfy our guest offer multiple game and activity for their vacation to full fill with fun and laughter, and we thank you for acknowledging that pointer and we will pass your comment to our entertainment team.

We are pleased that you have enjoyed the variety of food options and foods area we offer such has the buffet, Steak House and our entertaining Samurai a la carte, and we thank you for high lighting this via this medium.
And last but not least, we anticipate your return with you and your marvelous family, along with new friends that will become a part of the Iberostar family.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

First and foremost... the STAFF here is amazing! They are truly genuine and friendly and seem to love being there and working with their comrades. The staff were always happy, accomodating, and went over and beyond whenever we asked about anything or requested anything.


The other thing I loved was how professional the staff is. They are always more than willing to help and never expect or demand a tip (unlike Mexico).

Second. the buffet food is great! There is so much variety day to day that I never got sick of the food. Actually, once I got back to Toronto I quite missed the food here! The key is that they always use fresh local food. They have a wonderful fresh fruit bar with someone constantly cutting and replenishing fresh exotic island fruits. The morning breakfast has a fruit/veggie juice bar with everything from cantaloupe, honey dew, ginger, pineapple, spinach, kale, on and on and on... DELICIOUS! They also incorporate lots of Jamaican food at the buffet so it was great to try the cuisine.

We loved our room as well. Beautiful view of the pool and beach. But the key about the rooms and hotel itself is that it is IMMACULATELY clean inside and out. Not that kind where it looks clean on the surface but you find the dust bunnies or dirt where they don't expect you to look. Very very clean.

The beach was nice... but a little bit seaweedy (but I think this is how most of Montego Bay is?) However the hotel staff make the effort to rake the seaweed every morning and keep the beach super clean. Very nice gradual water depth so it was kid friendly. I wish there were more huts, but we never had a problem finding beach chairs so no complaints overall.

Drinks were excellent... no question of diluted alcohol here! These Jamaicans defintely like their drinks strong and don't cheap out! Great service everywhere we were in the hotel.

The hotel itself is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. Thank you Iberostar for making our trip as wonderful as it was!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending your vacations with us. We are delighted that our staff members have extended the warm hospitality services that Iberostar Rose Hall Beach is known for.
extend your lovely comments to the necessary department.

And we are most delighted that you have enjoyed our amazing sandy beach however the sea grass mostly appears when the water is low, we do appreciated you acknowledging our landscaping team in making the area more comfortable for you.

We thank you for all your wonderful comments towards our hotel, staffing, rooms, beach and most outstanding our warm hospitality and services we extend to you. We are looking forward to your return once more.


Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

When we first arrived, we were shown to our room on the top floor overlooking the pool and ocean. Unfortunately, the balcony was enclosed and when you sat down you couldn't see a thing. I called down and asked if we could be moved to a room with an open balcony. We didn't even care if we could see the ocean, we said. Schewa(sp), the manager immediately offered us another room. When he personally took us to see it, we find we have been upgraded to ocean front with a wrap around balcony! ...and at no extra charge! Perfect! That was just one example of the service we received during our stay. The hotel was clean. The pool nice. The beach was good , but after you've been to Bavaro Beach in the Dominican nothing compares. The drinks good. Could have used a little more live entertainment each night. Would have enjoyed a little live Reggae each evening. Maybe we just missed it. The food was typical of all-inclusives...okay, but after 7 days of it, I was ready for a good ole American pizza. The steakhouse, though, actually had very good steak. The staff was always friendly. If you simply want a very relaxing vacation, this hotel in Mo-Bay is perfect. If you want to party, go to Negril. And I would recommend hiring a private driver through the hotel to take you there if you stay in Mo-Bay. So much nicer than taking one of the buses, and not that expensive. ($270 for two of us...picked us up at 10am and stayed with us all day, took us wherever we wanted to go, and brought us back around 8 that night). Worth the 1 1/2 hr. it takes to get there. The dune buggy excursion we booked through the hotel was awesome, also. The horseback riding, not as much.

Room Tip: a lot of the balconies on the top floor have solid walls instead of railings. When you sit down, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

It’s wonderful to know that you enjoyed your stay and that the warmth and hospitality of our staff was an asset to your vacation. Our staff is one of our greatest assets, and we are proud to be able to offer their services.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort and especially the steak at our steakhouse restaurant.
Thank you for your valued feedback, we are delighted that you have enjoyed the ambiance of your room as well as the overall entertainment and the variety of cuisine offered.

We sincerely hope that we will once again be given the opportunity to welcome you back here.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel

Also Known As:
Iberostar Montego Bay
Iberostar Rose Hall
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach
Montego Bay Iberostar
Iberostar Rose Hall Jamaica
Iberostar Jamaica
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel Jamaica - Montego Bay
Address: Rose Hall Main Road | Rose Hall, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#4 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new 5-star- hotel is located in beautiful Montego Bay, Jamaica. Directly on the beach. Elegant colonial design. Water sports galore. Scuba diving. 3 specialty restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Venere, VISIT US, INC. , HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.