We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maintenance staff were friendlier than Guest Services representatives...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rose Hall Main Road | Little River, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Rose Hall
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Maintenance staff were friendlier than Guest Services representatives...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Front desk check in agent was unwelcoming - no smiling, no words of welcome, no warmth. All our interactions with her during our stay were the same. When asked on a different day if she knew what the weather was supposed to be like that day, she rolled her eyes and said she was not sure - we would have to wait for guest services to open in 30 minutes to find out.

At check-in, the agent gave us our room number and said the bellman would show us to our room. We only had one bag, but were willing to have the bellman show us to our room as we understand that this is also how they make their living - tips. But no bellman was available. We waited several minutes and then decided to try to figure where to go as the check-in agent stared at us and offered no guidance.

Ten minutes after arriving in our room, and literally seconds after I had changed, the minibar attendant knocked once and walked into the room. As my husband greeted him at the door asking what he was doing, he just walked in without asking if he could enter.

Also, we were supposed to have a Pool view room, but our room looked over the daycare's playground. After the unfriendly reception we received, decided it was not worth trying to ask it a different room as this would probably not end well and upset us more in the beginning of our vacation.

We then decided to go make dinner reservations at the Guest Services desk where a yound man was sitting. After explaining to the top of his head that we wanted to make reservations, he did not look up and simply said he was closed and we would have to come back in 10 minutes.

There was absolutely no courtesy from any of the frontline staff; no greetings, no holding doors open - we actually had several staff wait for us to open the door for them and after walking through it, would not even thank us for holding it open.

Though it is all inclusive, drinks are poured very stingily. They are all free-poured, but not one drink had more than half an ounce in it.

Vanessa at the Guest Services desk was very friendly and helpful - always smiling. Paul in the Jambalaya restaurant was warm and friendly, as was Godfrey at the Steak House. All the hotel maintenance staff and housekeeping staff greeted us in the hallways and asked how our vacation was so far.

I know the sounds like we had a horrible time, but that is not the case at all. We had a nice time, because we know how to make the best out of a bad situation... But we were so disappointed that there was such a lack of warmth and friendliness, especially from an Iberostar Resort.

If you go with no expectations of service, then you will have no disappointment.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the managers and staff here at this resort, we would like to thank you for taking the time to give a review about your stay here. We are delighted that you gave us the opportunity to host you and are grateful that you took the time to give such a detailed review with all your pointers on your experience. When we receive such reviews we are able to have a better understanding of our good and bad points and see the areas specific to improve. It also motivates us to keep improving the areas that brought you satisfaction.

For the departments mentioned, both positive and negative, we will highlight your comments to them and where you have specifically mentioned a team member; we will give them your comments as well. While we do cater to a variety of guests with varying and discerning tastes, we intend to provide an ambiance as well as services and amenities that will leave all our guests satisfied. We recognize however that you were pleased with our general service.
All of our team members take great pride in extending our warm hospitality to our guests, and it was their pleasure to have served you. We deeply regret that you did not feel the warm Jamaican hospitality from our Front Desk staff and the gentleman from Guest services. We will forward your comment to their department head for further follow up and improvement. On the other hand side we will congratulate our maintenance crew for getting special mention as you have done so here.

It motivates us to know that in general you are happy with this hotel, and as a result of a combined effort you left pleased. We look forward to welcoming you back once again to our beautiful resort.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,352
    881
    324
    134
    88
See reviews for
961
1,039
51
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just returned from Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort with my wife and 2 children ( ages 20 and 23). We have been to many other all inclusive resorts in Mexico and the carrabean. We really enjoyed this resort and felt we received excellent value for what we paid. It may not have as many pools and restaurants as other resorts but those other resorts such as Sandals are much more expensive.The food was good. The staff helpful and friendly. The room clean. None of us had any complaints and would return.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time in giving us your valued feedback in regards to your experience. It is through communications of this nature that we are given an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from our Hotel. Furthermore, we would like to express our gratitude for the positive remarks; we will forward these to the respective departments. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed the variety of cuisine that we offer. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed the friendliness of our staff and all the amenities we offer.

The Management and Staff at IBEROSTAR Resorts are committed in providing an ambience which satisfies our guests. Once again, thank you for your valued feedback and for having chosen to vacation with us. We sincerely hope that we will once again be given the opportunity to prove to you our commitment to excellent customer service.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

the food, the people,the beach was ok......I had paid for a upgraded room and did not receive it.....was told by the front desk that it was booked solid...Plus it was our anniversary and even though I told them, they didn't even acknowledge it not even a pot of coffee sent to our room....

Room Tip: dont pay for an upgrade re ocean view its a total rip just pay regular price
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and the online community.
Please note that the situations outlined regarding your room are not a part of our accepted standards. We do apologize that you did not receive our special amenities to congratulate you on your anniversary; we are investigating how this shortfall happened to avoid re-occurrence in the future. Kindly accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience which you may have encountered due to such.

Thank you for your feedback and for vacationing with us. We sincerely hope that in the future we will be given the opportunity to prove to you our commitment to excellent customer service and satisfaction.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Just returned back from our wonderful family vacation (20 of us in total) at the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort including our 2 year old grandson who had a great time, the staff was very friendly and focused on him making sure he was having fun which was nice. Checkin was a breeze, the resort is beautiful, very clean and well maintained. We had an ocean view room which was nice - the room itself was very comfortable. We had an issue with our safe not working but the front desk had someone up to the room and within about an hour it was fixed. My only small complaint was the hard pillows.......they could be softer, but other then that........no problem mon.........The resort is easy to get around, everything is very compact and easy to find. The beach is nice, always lots of chairs available and lots of fun stuff going on if you want to partake, or just lounge around drinking strawberry dacquiries !!!! The food at the main buffet / beach buffet was great !!!! if you cant find food there that you like then you are much too fussy !!! The ala carts were fabulous. Staying at the Beach resort you do have access to the spa / shops / casino / disco over at the Suites - the disco was an absolute blast !!!! The suites is not far and they have golf carts that take you back and forth if you want. Sedrick at the pool bar is the best and the service at the beach buffet was top notch, we hope to see our new found friends from the beach buffet again :O) Our family is already talking about going back next year, this is by far the best resort we have ever been to - highly recommend this paradise, and cant wait to return.......YA MON !!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is certainly our pleasure to host you at this resort, and from all of us here thank you for choosing our resort and staying here at the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach. We are pleased to have hosted you at our resort and we are delighted to know that you had a great stay with us. We would like to thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor, and for letting other readers know that you enjoyed your stay.

We are delighted to know that we create ease in your vacation experience at our resort with everything being compact and easy to find. We are grateful to know that you enjoy all our activity and the beautiful white sand on our beach with enough chairs enjoying your strawberry daiquiris. We will definitely send the comment to our kitchen staff on the tremendous work they have done. We will definitely inform Sedrick at the pool bar about how you have rated him the best as well as the service at the beach buffet which you have rated top notch. We are happy you had a blast at the disco. This we are grateful for and therefore it is gratifying to have provided you and your family a pleasing vacation. We are certainly proud to have such wonderful and dedicated employees who always go above and beyond to meet and exceed your expectations.

We are flattered that you have recommended our resort and we are definitely looking forward to welcoming you and your family back to our resort for another great time.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Rooms were not ready for us at 3pm. The staff never apologized but only acted like this happens all the time. This place is a low class wedding mill. The buffet had BUGS in the cereals! Rooms have no charm. Stay away from this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the managers and staff here at this resort, we would like to thank you for taking the time to give a review about your stay here. We are delighted that you gave us the opportunity to host you and are grateful that you took the time to give such a detailed review with all your pointers on your experience. When we receive such reviews we are able to have a better understanding of our good and bad points and see the areas specific to improve. It is through communications of this nature that we are given an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from our Hotel. Our check in time is at 3pm however once our guest arrive before 3pm we will make the necessary exception and perform a courtesy early check in. Our standards exceeds expectation of our guest at all times and with this being said we sincerely apologies for any inconvenience you may have encounter. Our IBEROSTAR Rosehall Beach Hotel is the name behind the world’s most stunning all-inclusive destinations. With a flawless attention to detail, our hotel has been created to treat guests to the most memorable vacation which results in complete happiness.
We are happy to know that we had verities at our main buffet not to mention our incredible a la carte. We ensure that our surroundings are clean and being inspected internal and externally by our Hygiene and health personnel in accordance with Health and Safety regulations implemented by law.

Kindly accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience or discomfort you may have encountered during your stay with us, where you were left feeling you received less than industry standard service.

With these factors taken into consideration, it is our hope that you will reconsider this or any of our other properties, as an option for your next vacation experience, and give us the opportunity to prove to you our commitment to guest satisfaction.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a very beautiful resort, we were at the rosehall beach from Jan. 14-21 for our daughters wedding. Our group had 33 people and there was NOT one complaint about anything. Our check-in was very fast (everyone was checked in within 15 minutes of walking in the doors). We had great rooms our daughter was upgraded to Oceanview Jr. Suite for free, that was nice of the resort but why pay for oceanview all rooms are great. You take the pool or gardenview and they all have part oceanview anyway. The food, buffet , ale carte were awesome, you must do the japanese and the steack house. the bars were all great lobby bar, pool bar, theater bar, disco. The resort is very clean, the beach is great, rooms clean and roomy, staff very helpful and any problem will be adressed quickly.We will definetly go back and STRONGLY recommend this resort. You do get what you pay for and more. Why spend more money to get the same at the Grand or The Suites?
We have been to a lot of 5 star resorts even though this is rated 4.5 by Sunwing and Westjet it is a 5 star. You will NOT be disapointed.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, we prefer upper floors. This is three resorts in one. you get the same thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time in giving us your valued feedback in regards to your experience. It is through communications of this nature that we are given an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from our Hotel. Furthermore, we would like to express our gratitude for the positive remarks, and we are glad to hear that you were satisfied with the hotel in general.

On behalf of all the managers here, we are happy to know that you were pleased with your service and amenities offered, and we do look forward to hosting you here once again in the near future.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We went to this resort for a friend's wedding, so did not choose the location ourselves. From looking at the resort online we were concerned that it would be mediocre and the pictures looked dull and the buildings all very 'concrete' and dated. The resort pleasantly surprised us, as the pictures did no justice. The buildings were colonial in style and more colorful than had appeared. The resort and rooms were clean and the food was great. Lots of variety for those with dietary restrictions. The beach was beautiful, plenty of chaise lounges to be had and palapas for cover, beach volleyball, water activities (snorkeling, hobie cats and kayaks for free) a lovely infinity pool and swim up bar- of course! This resort is great for children, and there are 2 other Iberostar resorts down the beach - one is adults only and we walked through and it looked more luxerious than the family friendly beach resort we stayed at. Our only 'needs improvement' recommendations were that when we visited a Sandals resort in the Carribbean we were able to access windsurfing and water skiing as part of the package also, so this resort offered less for the active types. We also found the activities arranged by the staff lack lustre compared to Sandals - as there were very few games and activities arranged pool and beach side - and if they were happening it was not well advertised. All and all a great place for families or young couples and friends.

Room Tip: We had a basic room and had all we needed - veiw of kids pool and the beach from the 4th floor and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please allow us the opportunity to let you know how elated we are to know that you had a really great time here with us at this resort. We are very sincere in expressing our thank you for using this medium to let the readers know how your vacation experience was. We are proud of the services and amenities we offer, to all our guests and it is very encouraging to know you were pleased with the product in general.

It also gives us great pleasure to know that our staff was able to make a formidable impression on you, and that you enjoyed the services of our staff and the foods that we offer. Besides, we are delighted to know that you were fascinated by our prestigious architectural design. In regards to our water sport activities, our DRESSEL DIVERS offer wonderful shallow sites as well as various intermediate and deeper walls all without the usual buildup of visitors that normally flock to diving places of such quality and a wide choice of trips and excursions for scuba diving, plus offers and packages for maximum diving at great value.

Once again, it is our pleasure to know that you enjoyed our services and that we were able to provide you a delightful stay. We hope that when returning to Jamaica, you will give us the opportunity to host you once again, as it was indeed our pleasure to have served you.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel

Address: Rose Hall Main Road | Little River, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#4 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new 5-star- hotel is located in beautiful Montego Bay, Jamaica. Directly on the beach. Elegant colonial design. Water sports galore. Scuba diving. 3 specialty restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Montego Bay
Montego Bay Iberostar
Iberostar Rose Hall Jamaica
Iberostar Jamaica
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel Jamaica - Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.