We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night away from home!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rose Hall Main Road | Rose Hall, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Rose Hall
Stockbridge, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One night away from home!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Christmas 2012 caught my son and me home in Jamaica, where besides celebrating my sister's 50th birthday we were able to spend a couple of nights at my home away from home, the Hilton Rosehall. Complements of the Hilton's management staff, I was able to stay a night at the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel. Even as late as I checked in the staff was helpful and accommodating. I was accidently dropped off at the Iberostar Grand, but once the reservation was located, I was transported quickly to "The Beach". A busy time of year the hotel was seemingly quite, even though "The Grand" had a musician playing in the reception area. The bellman was efficient, and the room was adequate. The bedding however left must to be desired, as I found the pillows hard and the matrass uninviting. The hotel is set in a quadrangle which makes everything easy to find. Seating at breakfast, is on your own, I rather prefer a warm greeting at the entrance and enquiry as to my preference of seating, this allows for the guests and the hotel staff to get to know each other, so on the next visit to the dining room one can be greeted in a welcoming and familiar way. I asked for and did a very short site inspection. I was given several brochures that highlighted each property, which will serve me well as I was not able to see an of the other room categories. This hotel has a lot of potential, with a great location, good staff and adequate resources.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management and staff I would like to extend our appreciation of you taking the time out to share with us about your visit here at the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach & Spa Resort.
The Management and Staff at IBEROSTAR Resorts are committed in providing an ambience which satisfies our guests’ requirements.

I will pass on your comments to the Manager of each department, so they can pass it to the staff. The best reward that we can give for all the hard work our employees do, is to give all these compliments so they know that they are in the right path and keep with the hard work.
I will also forward your suggestions towards the necessary heads of the department so that for future visit from you or any other guest it can be more welcoming.
Once again, it is a pleasure having you at our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you once again.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,361 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,138
    740
    286
    120
    77
See reviews for
812
896
48
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, Nj
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 4 days and there's one word to describe it ....BORING. the decor was nice, the customer service was slow, the room service was ok, the spa wasn't half bad and spent most of my time there. the place was really quiet if that's what you want. I spent 3 days before coming to this hotel in Ocho Rios and had a better time there.

what to watch out for the most? ROACHES! every day I came back from a tour i saw roaches coming from every where. really disgusting. i spent most of my time screaming in disgust and repeatedly calling the front desk. what was their response? a can of raid. before i left i made sure to shake all of my clothes and luggage. definitely won't be referring this hotel.

this hotel is 20 mins from downtown mobay. you can find better hotels closer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your taking the time to give us your feedback and for choosing to vacation here with us.
While we are committed in providing an ambience which satisfies our guests’ requirements, we sincerely regret if the circumstances mentioned may have affected your vacation experience and your perception of our hotel.

Kindly accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience which you may have encountered due to such. I will most definitely put this to the attention of the housekeeping manager, and we will be looking into this issues mentioned. Also, we do have frequent health and safety inspections and we never had any issues with pests.

Once again, we hope that your perception of IBEROSTAR Hotels and Resorts hasn’t been tarnished due to these circumstances. We sincerely hope that we will be given the opportunity in the future to prove to you our commitment to excellent customer service and satisfaction.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We just returned from a great week at the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach in Jamaica to celebrate my 50th birthday. We have two children- 10 and 14 years old and we ALL had a great time! The resort was lovely- very clean and well maintained with a great staff. We had an oceanview junior suite (room 1332) and we really enjoyed having the balcony and the ability to have the extra space to hang out if the kids were sleeping late, etc The view was incredible! The room was spacious and kept very clean each day. Our only complaint was that the air conditioning did not work too well and there were times where we were quite warm- but it was mostly tolerable. The ceiling fan does help. We enjoyed the abundant amount of food at the buffets - there was always something good to eat. Even our picky 10 year old was always able to get something from the pasta bar. The ala carte restaurants were not too good - the Japanese was ok, but we did not care for the Steakhouse or the Cajun spot. The beach bbqs for lunch were my favorite!
The Star Friends Staff as well as all of the bartenders and waitresses, etc...were all terrific and went out of their way to make sure we always had a drink in hand and were having fun!
Our only complaint, was that the front desk service was slow - one night we ran out of toilet paper and had to call the front desk 3 times until someone finally came to our room about 45 minutes later to replenish it. The same went for room service...several times we ordered our daughter chicken nuggets and it usually took about an hour for it to arrive. We loved hanging out at the beach and the pool all day and fully enjoyed many of the water sports including para sailing, kayaking, sailing, banana boat and snorkeling. All and all it was a great trip and I would highly recommend this resort.
Two suggestions- bring a lot of one dollar bills (American) for tips. Even though it's all-inclusive, you will want to tip the bar tenders, chamber maids, etc. Also, I don't know if it was because it was Christmas week, but we had a 2 hour wait in the baggage line at the airport when we were leaving; you might want to pack snacks as there was no time left to go for food and the plane ride home only served nuts and pretzels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Here at the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach, we are delighted that you selected our property for your vacation, and humbled to know that you had a fantastic vacation with us. On behalf of all the team members here, we appreciate the opportunity you gave us to host your vacation. We would also like to thank you for using this medium to share your vacation experience with other readers.

It strengthens our determination when we receive comments like yours, to continuously improve our services. For all the departments you have made mention of we will pass on your kind comments to them. Likewise for the areas you mentioned that may have impacted negatively on your experience, we will bring your comments to the respective departments so that they are made aware.

We do hope we will be given the opportunity to host you and your family for another vacation, as we certainly look forward to welcoming you back once again.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Iberostar does a good job we enjoyed the food and the staff were excellent.
They still have an issue at the front desk with getting water! WOW you think this would be fixed with all the reviews saying similar things. The xmas eve dinner was just great with a large selection for all tastes.
I wish they could provide more than one type of beer.

Thanks again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the hotel staff, and particularly the manager, we would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Iberostar Beach Resort and Spa for a second time. We are delighted to know that you had an unforgettable vacation. We are extremely happy that you had enjoy our Christmas eve dinner, as we always try to satisfy our guests. In regards to the issue you had encountered with the Front desk regarding water, we will inform the department so that on your next visit to our Hotel you will never have a reoccurrence of such an issue. We will also inform the Restaurant and Bar department so that on your next trip to paradise we will do our best to have options available for you.

We hope to be able to offer you our hospitality again. Once again thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Beach Resorts and Spa Hotel.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just returned Dec. 29/12 after a week with our teenage daughters. There are 3 separate resorts on one property and this one is geared to families/budget conscious. Staff are all incredibly helpful and friendly. Minor quibbles? Lots of selection at the buffet, but many things were either bland/salty/sweet. Best meal was at the Cajun restaurant. Clock radio in room didn't work, iron cord was dangerously frayed, toilet a little sluggish, bottled water not replenished in room daily, musty smell in our room but not in kids. Having said that, if we'd bothered to say anything I'm sure staff would have acted immediately to sort it out. The charge to use Wifi in lobby area just irritating.There was enough for the kids to do so we could lie around at the beach. Easy and relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: 2332 had a great balcony and ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time in giving us your valued feedback in regards to your experience. Furthermore, we would like to express our gratitude for the positive remarks, and we are glad to hear that you were satisfied with the hotel in general.

We are disappointed to know that the circumstances mentioned affected your vacation experience and your perception of our hotel. Kindly accept our apologies for any inconvenience which you may have encountered due to such. Rest assured that all the corrective measures have been taken to not have a reoccurrence of the situation mentioned.

Once again, thank you for your valued feedback and for having chosen to vacation with us. We hope that your perception of IBEROSTAR Hotels and Resorts hasn’t been tarnished due to this isolated circumstance. We sincerely hope that we will once again be given the opportunity to prove to you our commitment to excellent customer service and satisfaction

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This resort was fantastic. The staff was friendly and attentive from the moment we arrived (they greeted us with a frozen cocktail) until the minute we boarded the shuttle to depart. The food offerings were wonderful. They have a handful of options throughout the day, from Japanese to Cajun (our favorite) and even a Steakhouse. The Main buffet offerings were also a great option. By the second day, the staff at the main buffet were calling our kids by their names. The pool has an entertainment crew that gets all the guests involved in all sorts of activities (adults, kids, and family fun). Even on the one day that it rained, we enjoyed spending time at the main bar where 'Mr. Business' kept us entertained while the drinks were flowing. The only issue I had was the WiFi was only available in the main lobby or cafe but if you are on vacation, that should be the least of your worries...I can't rave enough about the wonderful time we had...and as a plus, I contacted the resort a month later with a question, and they replied right back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time in giving us your valued feedback in regards to your experience. It is through communications of this nature that we are given an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from our Hotel. Furthermore, we would like to express our gratitude for the positive remarks, and we are glad to hear that you were satisfied with the hotel in general.

Jamaica is world renowned for its hospitable and friendly people, and we are very proud to have Jamaicans employed to our company and have incorporated the culture of the people and showcase this through our scheduled daily activities and nightly shows. We will therefore inform all the department staff that had stamp a lifelong lasting vacation experience for you and your family.

We look forward to see you again at the Iberostar Resort and Spa or any of our Resorts. Thanks again for your valid feedback.


Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

There are three Iberostar resorts lined up along the beach in Rose Hall (near Montego Bay): The Grand, Suites, and Beach. Although you can walk on the shoreline to all the hotels, you are not allowed to venture into the other resorts and kids are not allowed even at the shore line of The Grand.

The pool and beach areas at the Iberostar Beach Resort are beautiful, well-maintained and clean. Security is excellent and there are no hassles on the beach. The beach is fabulous for families. There is a shallow area roped off on the beach and a small reef very close to the shore with tropical fish. There are life guards at the pool and on the beach. There is a group of entertainers on the beach and in the pool area with dancing and activities. There is no hot tub.

The resort is overcrowded and the facilities are not adequate for the number of people. The hotel busses in cruise ship passengers and all the pool chairs are taken by 10 am. The beach is very crowded but we could always find a chair. The bartenders are overwhelmed and one must often wait in line to get a drink. Drinks were weak and not of high quality. For the most part, the staff was very friendly, helpful and courteous.

The food was a big disappointment. Buffet style for all 3 meals with a large selection but poor quality – especially for meat and main dishes. The salads, bread, fruits, and desserts were good. The buffet was very crowded. For a certain number of nights (3 for a 7 day stay) one can eat in 1 of 3 specialty restaurants: Steak, Japanese, or Cajun. In order to make a reservation for these restaurants, one must go to the reservations desk during specific hours and wait in a long line for a very slow reservation process and limited seating times. The wait staff in the restaurants was helpful, hard-working and friendly but overwhelmed with the crowds.

TIP: Go to the breakfast buffet before 9:30 am and the dinner buffest before 7 pm to avoid crowds.

The fitness center (open only 7 am to 7 pm) is another example of a nice facility that is simply not adequate for the number of guests. There are two treadmills and one functional elliptical (the other was broken for our entire stay). These key pieces of equipment were full every single day.

Our room was spacious and well decorated with a great view, but we had a few minor problems: a musty smell, ants in the bathroom, a broken hair dryer, a broken door lock to the patio, and a noisy fan. After 4 calls to the front desk that resulted in dead end transfers and busy signals, I walked to the lobby where there was a line at the front desk. There was often a line at the front desk. I finally dropped a note at the front desk and most of the problems were fixed.

There was WiFi in the hotel lobby only (none at all in the rooms!) and the charge was $2 for 30 minutes with packages for longer times. The internet codes were for one device only so one could not buy 24 hours for family members to use one at a time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time in giving us your valued feedback in regards to your experience. Furthermore, we would like to express our gratitude for the positive remarks, and we are that you chose to share your experience with other readers.

The Management and Staff at IBEROSTAR Resorts are committed in providing an ambience which satisfies our guests’ requirements. We provide our services and amenities, at varying times to provide all our guests the opportunity to enjoy our facilities. We sincerely regret that these times were not convenient for you and that you were not able to maximize your vacation experience. Kindly accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience which you may have encountered due to such, and we will certainly bring these challenges to the attention of the operations team and your comment regarding the Kitchen will be forwarded to the Executive Chef.

Once again, thank you for your valued feedback and for having chosen to vacation with us. We hope that your perception of IBEROSTAR Hotels and Resorts hasn’t been tarnished due to this isolated circumstance. We sincerely hope that we will once again be given the opportunity to prove to you our commitment to excellent customer service and satisfaction.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel

Also Known As:
Iberostar Montego Bay
Iberostar Rose Hall
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach
Montego Bay Iberostar
Iberostar Rose Hall Jamaica
Iberostar Jamaica
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel Jamaica - Montego Bay
Address: Rose Hall Main Road | Rose Hall, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#4 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new 5-star- hotel is located in beautiful Montego Bay, Jamaica. Directly on the beach. Elegant colonial design. Water sports galore. Scuba diving. 3 specialty restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Venere, VISIT US, INC. , HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.