We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST vacation ever....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rose Hall Main Road, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Rose Hall
Greensboro, North Carolina, USA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“BEST vacation ever....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

As soon as I walked in, I was greeted with a smile & a drink! My bag was taken to my room for me. The room was AMAZING & very clean. I had no problems sleeping thru the night (that's how quiet it was). The staff was VERY friendly and the entertainment crew was AWESOME. They made my trip even better. The food was good & PLENTY!! I would most definitely recommend this hotel. I went alone and felt very safe my entire time there. I was never bored & just enjoyed myself. I am already planning my next trip!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach for your vacation. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed yourself during your stay with us and that the staff made it even more so. We appreciate you taking the time to post a review about your stay for us and the online community. The fact that you’ve stated that you were more than satisfied with the amenities and services of the resort fills us with pride and strengthens our determination to keep and uphold the “Iberostar” standards. We look forward to having you as a guest again, where the great staff and services will be waiting.


Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,516 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,224
    789
    295
    128
    80
See reviews for
874
941
50
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We decided on Montego Bay for a change of pace as we usually go the to the Dominican Rebublic. We also got a fantastic rate on a last minute deal so away we went. We travelled with Sunquest, no problems. The resort is a short 20 minute bus ride from the airport. When we first pulled up, I was a little taken aback by how much concrete was around, as we are used to the vast and lush properites of the DR. However, when you get to the beachfront, it is lovely. The food was the best we have ever had at an all inclusive, tons of variety and all very good. This is the first all inclusive we have stayed at which had room service, nice after a long day at an excursion. The staff was very friendly and always had a smile and were there to help. We were happy to have CBC on the television just to keep up with the news. The rooms was spotless, tub a bit small but really who cares? The Star friends animation team worked very hard and did a good job. There is not a lot of beach to walk as it only spans the three Iberstar resorts so no long walks on the beach. The snorkling right in was pretty good when the wind was calm. We are scuba divers and were impresses with the variety of fish, we even saw a Lion fish. Ther are three clusters of coral, the middle one had the most fish. The water was pretty calm for swimming as it is a bit of a protected bay. Service for drinks at the beach was good. We ate at the steak house and the Japanese restaurant, both very good. We did not bother with the third a la carte as most guests said it was just average and we were very happy with the buffet restaurant. All of the rooms have at least a partial ocean view so don't bother to pay for the upgrade. WE noted a comment on a lot of loud people at the swim up bar, yes there were but to use just a bunch of people having fun. WE noted the management was always around, even out clearing plates and chatting wtih guests at the buffet so they are very hands on and visible more so than we have ever seen, good for them. We came home very relaxed and very pleased with our stay

Room Tip: Get an upper floor as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach for your vacation destination and for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us on “Trip Advisor”. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied with the amenities and services that the resort had to offer. With yourself being a scuba diver, to receive such kind compliments fills us with pride and keeps us determined to continue to provide great service.

We will be sure to forward your comments to the appropriate departments (especially the Kitchen) so that they may be informed of how much you enjoyed your stay. We are happy that you had an enjoyable and relaxing vacation with us and we look forward to the opportunity to offer you our hospitality again in the near future.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Just about everything about this place was perfect. We were there on an all inclusive plan which meant we hardly ever needed money, there was no tipping, and the stress level was zero. Positives: very friendly and helpful staff, great food, lots to do. We liked all the restaurants (the dress code was more restrictive than we as southwesterners are used to), and the food was original and well done. If you like to sail, and we do, plan your reservations carefully. The boats are all reserved and you must be sign up first thing in the morning. Kayaks are lots of fun and always available. We found Jamaicans very friendly and not at all obsequious. From what others have told us about Jamaica, going to an all inclusive hotel avoids the badgering for handouts you might expect elsewhere. We'll go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach for your vacation and for taking the time to post a review of your stay for us and the online community. We are glad that you and your family were satisfied with the amenities and service that was provided by the hotel and that the food was cooked to your liking. The fact that you were satisfied with your overall stay and that you’ve stated that you would return to our resort fills us with pride and determination to keep in step with the “Iberostar” standards.
We look forward to having you as our guest again.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tshwane, South Africa
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at Iberostar Beach for 5 days this November. It was a lovely hotel. Excellent food and service and nice rooms. The beach is small but lovely. The pool was nice and we would have used it more but it was always packed with adults sitting at the bar and being loud and rather drunk. With two small kids, this was definitely not the right choice for us. It's fine if you are single, with friends or a couple but I would not recommend this hotel for families with younger kids. There was a nice playground at the Iberostar suites but we were not allowed to use that (god only knows why because it was empty all the time). The evening entertainment was good fun and the kids enjoyed it a lot. Booking dinner was the biggest hassle because it was always 9pm booking which was too late. We managed to get into Samurai and the Caribbean restaurant just by turning up 15 minutes after the reservations expired. The food was great and the kids really enjoyed Samurai atmosphere (like Benihana). I was very irked that they charged for wi-fi and also the banana boat ride ($25 per person is ridiculous price) which is usually free in other resorts. The Spa was wonderful and the massage was worth every penny (happy to pay when you are getting good value). All in all, quite an average place. I would definitely go back to Jamaica but try my luck at another resort.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea FRONT view...we had a sea view that overlooked the pool (and noise) with the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Iberostar Rose Hall Beach for your vacation destination. We find it unfortunate that you felt as the hotel did not fit the bill for you and your family. The understanding that I have come to after reading your review is that the behavior of some of the other guests was the main inconvenience about your stay. We do apologize for this although we cannot demand that guests behave in a certain way, if they aren’t doing anything illegal or utterly disturbing others vacationing. We are happy that you enjoyed the services of the “Spa” and that your children thoroughly enjoyed the Japanese food and entertainment. Dinner reservations are usually and suggested to be made in advance upon arrival so that the 6:30 pm, 7:00 pm, 8:30 pm seatings are available as oppose to making it the day of which most likely will have only the 9:00 seating available.

We appreciate you taking the time to share with us and the online community your opinion of your stay with us and we look forward to the opportunity to offer you our hospitality at any of the “Iberostar” resorts in the future.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

stayed at the beach resort for a week with my 3 yaesr old anf my wife.the sevice was top notch, food was great. they really make you feel at home. good shows at night. there is a beach party one night. over all have nothing bad to say about the resort or the service. im already planing to come back soon. thanks iberostar!!!!! see you soon!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach as your vacation destination and that you’ve taken the time to post a review on “Trip Advisor” for us and the online community as I’m sure that it will be very helpful for future guests and for our staff so that they know that their service during your stay was excellent. We are happy to know that you and your family were pleased with the amenities and services that our resort had to offer and that you felt at home as we strive to make all ours guests feel like this should be their second home. It fills us with pride and strengthens our determination to know that you will return as are looking forward to your next visit where the great staff and service will be waiting.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Just visited Iberostar Rose Hall Beach in November and had a fantastic time. Luis Gonzalez and his staff do a wonderful job of ensuring that all guests feel welcome. We were always greeted with smiles and genuine friendliness whether it be the restaurant staff, the room staff, the lifeguard, the shop staff, the gardener or even the painter. We felt like we belonged. For me, having travelled to many places, great and genuine staff are the real key to a great vacation.

The rooms were comfortable, quiet, and good size. We were very lucky to be upgraded - ours had a wraparound corner balcony with a fantastic view of both beach and pool.

We tried all three a la carte restaurants while were were there and enjoyed them all. I have to say that I am typically not expecting a lot from a steakhouse in the Carrbbean as more often than not you get something resembling shoe leather... but when we visited Uncle Tony's and I ordered my tenderloin medium rare, it was cooked to perfection! The above and beyond entertainment provided by the chefs at the Japanese restaurant was a lot of fun, and the Cajun restaurant too was a pleasant surprise. We had breakfast in the buffet each day and the selection and service there was great too. I don't go to the Carribbean looking for great food, so when I get it, I don't take it for granted and the food here was very good.

We spent most of our time at the pool and it was never difficult to find a chair close by. The staff at the swim-up bar were fantastic. They kept the bar stools full because they engaged the guests and no one wanted to leave. A shout out to Cedric, Rayon, and Kevin - you guys are awesome! The entertainment staff kept the action going around the pool too so it was a great place to be.

A great asset of the resort that I need to call out - Maria and her entertainment staff. Maria is born to be in the entertainment field. She is so good at "encouraging" people (even the nay-sayers) to volunteer for activities and they end up having a great time. She and her team seemed to work day and night - they never slowed down and their enthusiasm never dimmed.

The lobby bar was a great place to hang out as well...always people around and stuff going on. Enjoyed the piano player in the evening.

We visited the disco in the sister resort one night as well and had a great time...unlike most resort discos, there were actually a lot of people there and the dance floor was full.

If I had to pick one thing that wasn't quite as perfect, it would be the beach. Lots of chairs, clear water, and sand under foot...can't complain much...it just wasn't the best beach I have been to. Did love the lunch served on the beach the one day though.

Did see a few weddings while we were there too. The staff seemed to take a lot of care looking after the extras. Loved the idea that they even set up a private beach party with bonfire at night for the wedding guests.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Iberstar Rose Hall Beach to my family and friends and do look forward to visiting Luis and his team again as soon as I can.

Thanks to all of the Iberstar Rose Hall staff for making our stay something to remember.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach for your vacation destination and for taking the time to post a review about your experience with us. On behalf of Management and the Iberostar staff I would like to say we enjoyed your time with us as well and we are happy that you enjoyed the staff, services, and amenities offered by the resort cause as we like to say the more the merrier.

Knowing and understanding that our staff is one of the most valuable assets that we have, as most do not only come to work for works sake but sincerely enjoy what they do. We will definitely forward your kind comments about the aforementioned staff to the appropriate departments so that they and their staff will be made aware of the great service you experienced. Maria (aka Lava Child) and the bartenders that you mentioned will receive a copy of your comments so they know that their services was a special part of making your vacation as enjoyable as it was.

We are pleased that you were satisfied not only with the selection of food that we offer, but the preparation and final result as well knowing that “food” is a major player when it comes to great customer satisfaction. It fills us with pride and a great sense of satisfaction to know that you not only come back for a return stay with us but that you would recommend us to others.
We look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future to offer you the hospitality you’ve come to expect from us.


Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I was here Oct 21-28 2012. I am a travel agent and came with my mother and sister to celebrate our birthdays. First of all I was impressed with how beautiful the hotel is, considering this was more of a value location. It definitely didn't feel or look like it. The only complaint I have is their front desk. Everyone I dealt with was rude, they were lying to me and a few other guests as well. The hotel was at 50% capacity and had many requests for upgrades. I think the front desk staff are all very lazy and didn't want to do anything but socialize amongst themselves.

We were upgraded half way through the trip to a ocean front room and had an amazing view of the pool and the ocean! I spent hours walking around the property, everything was very clean and well maintained. They have some of the most stunning gardens in the courtyards. I was also able to view a few weddings, they have many locations throughout the property for ceremonies. On the day of the hurricane I was walking around and saw them setting up right in front of a large doorway. They pulled down a screen to keep the rain out and meticulously squeegeed the floor until the big moment. This was my first hurricane so I asked the staff a lot of questions on protocol and what to expect. I spent a good bit of time speaking to an employee named Chad-Rick who I nick named the "weatherman". He kept me updated on what to expect and when to expect it. He was an excellent source of knowledge on the Iberostar Hotels as well as their level of service. Most of that day I walked all over to take video of the storm. My mom and sister hung out in the lobby where there was indoor games, a bar, coffee and snacks.

The Food!!! My mother has a Gluten/Wheat Allergy and had no problems finding something to eat. She couldn't believe how much they offered, which was a huge relief. As for my sister and I, we ate everything!!! It was very good, we loved the Japanese restaurant and the main dining area for breakfast and dinner was always clean, fresh, and well served. There was always a huge selection of food. They also provided us with a beach party lunch one of the days and it was fantastic!!! They have great Jerk chicken.

We spent a majority of time at the pool and loved the music and entertainment while we sat at the swim up bar. I never had any trouble getting a towel or a chair or a drink....everything was really great. I would never hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. I saw families, friends, couples, young and old. An absolutely wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach for your choice of resort for this vacation and to know that it was your “Birthday Get-a-way” as well we are overjoyed to know that you were not disappointed and that you and your family had a marvelous time with us even when “Sandy” passed through. Your comments towards the food will definitely be forwarded to the Executive Chef as your comments are sure to put a smile on his face, as we know that sometimes finding food to fit some eating habits or absent certain products can be difficult.
We will forward them to the “Weatherman” Chadrick as well, so that he knows that he was a big part of making you all feel welcome with his general knowledge of not only the hotel but the island as well.

Your statements mentioning your interaction with the “Front Desk” will be forwarded to the General Manager as to inform him of your feelings/ experience with the staff so that “Iberostar” services is 5 star across the board.

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review about your stay with us on “Trip Advisor” and we look forward to having you as guests of our resort again.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel

Address: Rose Hall Main Road, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
#4 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new 5-star- hotel is located in beautiful Montego Bay, Jamaica. Directly on the beach. Elegant colonial design. Water sports galore. Scuba diving. 3 specialty restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, VISIT US, INC. , Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Montego Bay
Montego Bay Iberostar
Iberostar Rose Hall Jamaica
Iberostar Jamaica
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel Jamaica - Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.