We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leaves a lot to be desired...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Rose Hall Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Rose Hall Suites to your Saves list
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rose Hall Main Rd | Rose Hall, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Rose Hall
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Leaves a lot to be desired...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

This is definitely not a beach destination. Apparently it is a man-made beach. There are rocks on the shore and in the water. The quality of the food was horrible. Everything tasted the same - Bland. I became very will after eating some lobster. Bottled water is not available on the beach or poolside. If you are a discerning and sophisticated traveller and must go to the Iberostar Rose Hall, splurge, pay a little extra, and stay at the Grand next door.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,771
    639
    183
    53
    41
See reviews for
1,311
778
32
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

Can't beat the location - 20 min from the airport. Property is beautiful and very clean. Staff was tremendous - so friendly & engaging. Hotel has an entertainment crew that facilitates activities (ocean aerobics, archery, pool side activities) that is fantastic. Georgia, Blanka, Marvin, and Noodle are particularly wonderful. Great variety of food at buffets - both healthy and non-so-healthy choices. Someone to prepare fresh juice at the gym every morning was a great treat. Def a fun place for families, friends, or groups. Only area of opportunity is the service. Had to wait a bit after 3 (check-in time) for room to be ready. Also called for a corkscrew - gave up after an hour of waiting. Would def go back to this hotel! Hotel and beach are beautiful, not too larege. Staff was wonderful, accomodating and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

Just returned from a 1 week stay at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites(July 3-10). This was our
third Iberostar hotel, and again we were very pleased. We had previously stayed in Iberostar Tucan, Playa del Carmen, Mexico, and Iberstar Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dom. Republic. Although the hotel in Jamaica was not as lush and tropical looking as the other two hotels (it is very new, and the plants and palms were small) , and the beach was not as beautiful (no palm trees on the beach!! and a bit rocky upon entry into the water), we had a great time. Don't let the rocky beach scare you - it is only rocky right in front of the hotel. If you walk alittle ways toward the Iberostar "Beach hotel", (but still on the "Suites" property, ) there are much less rocks. There are some local people selling some wood carved items and beaded jewelry if you walk all the way down the beach past the Rose Hall Beach Hotel. Make sure that you negotiate a better price than what they are asking!! There are also some guys who come by the hotel in kayaks and surfboards with their wares to sell right in the ocean!! The hotel is fully air-conditioned except for the restaurant on the beach (Aunt Ruby's), unlike the other two Iberostars we had stayed in which had "open air" lobbys and buffets. The Star Friends were exceptional at this hotel, making all feel welcome. (especially Monkey &Noodle- so friendly)! They had numerous activities at the pool, such as horseshoes, archery, ocean aerobics, water polo, bingo, etc. You could do as much or as little as you like. A lot of shade at pool and beach if you want shade! Great pool bar. Great lobby bar. Terrific spa - really good exercise room, plus all guests can use the spa's jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, roman baths etc. at no extra charge. Food was very good. Buffets do get monotonous after 4 or 5 days, but there is a large variety of foods to choose from. There was an abundance of seafood, lobster, shrimp, grouper, snapper, tilapia, etc. Plus, some Jamaican specialities, as well as pastas, hamburgers, pizza, steak, salads, delicious fruit. Breakfast was the best. Waffles, french toast, pancakes, eggs, bacon, potatoes, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, muffins, etc etc etc. You can eat and eat and eat. We ate in the Gourmet and Mediterranean restaurants for dinner.. My opinion was that the Gourmet was better, (altho the Mediterranean had an appetizer bar with several kinds of shell fish and seafood) but dinner portions were small. Truthfully, I preferred the food at the buffets. There were 2 beach barbeques for lunch during our stay. Staff really do work hard to make your stay enjoyable. Not too much nightlife, you can go to the shows at night (there was one on the beach which was really good). They also have a disco for those 18 and over. Other than the shows or disco, really no other night life. But after a full day in the sun, we really didn't care. Went to the Shoppes at Rose Hall one morning, the hotel offers a free shuttle. It is about 10 minutes from the hotel, lots of jewelry shops and a few souvenir shops. Nice enough to visit for an hour or two. Didn't do any of the excursions, so I can't comment about those. My only complaint was that our room was not made up until late afternoon each day, we would have preferred earlier. Even when we requested our room to be made up, it still took a very long time for housekeeping to come by. Had to ask for extra bath towels a few times, but always got them promptly. All in all, a very nice, well run place. Iberostar does it again!! Please feel free to contact me thru Trip Advisor and I'll be glad to answer any questions.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

SERVICE
It was great. The people always smile and you never have the impression that your bothering them went you ask for anything.
There's always people on the beach to serve you a cold glass of water or to fill you BUBBA KEG(you should really get one of these before your vacation, best 10$ investment ever) with whatever lite's your fire!
Overall, great service were ever you are on the resort.

ROOM
The rooms had lot's of space for all our stuff. The washroom was incredibly clean and room service always did a good job. We were on the ground floor and everything was easely accesable and a very short walk away. GREAT ROOMS thats all I have to say!

BEACH
The beach was very nice but the first 3 meters in the water had rocks and was a little hard to walk on. There was always longchairs available in the sun or under a palm tree hut. (And we were 7 people!) Lots of games were played on the beach like bachi ball, volleyball, mini soccer, horse shoes so you could take your drink play a little game and go back to loundging in under 45 mins. It was great! Plus every day at like 11:00 there was ocean arobics! Great funn and the starfriends(GO) were real hot!!! Not to hard but not to easy nice uperbody workout. The sand was nice and the water a great bleu color. Rifts were close to beach and very easly accessible with snokling gear!

POOLS
Theres 2 big pools. One with a swimup bar and a place for small children...away from the bar of course and a second were mostly sports wereplayed. There was a lazy river with a good current and tubes. The infinity pool was great(the first one described) gameswere played at the end of the day and the view was amaising!! The water was just hot enough to get in easly but still refrenching! (Sorry my spelling sucks! I'm french! but I' trying)

ACTIVITIES
Theres lot's of activities you can do on the island. we went to the Dunn's river falls with the Cool running's group. We took a catamaran to get there and stop for some snkoling before the falls. It's was great and the falls were great fun to go up! Beware if you have small children, it might be hard for them fo follow! After it's a party on the boat ride back!!!! Music alchool and dance GREAT FUN.
At the hotel you can rent, for free, boats, windsurfing equipment and kayaks. There great fun but lots of paper work to fill out !
At night there the traditionals shows in a really nice theather. There nice fun of the hole family!

THE BEST PART WAS THE FOOD AND THE PEOPLE
Oh yah I was going to forget the food!!!!! It was superbe! The buffet was great morning noon and night! There was the regular food you'd have at home, plus traditinal Jamaican food. 2 day a week there was a BBQ on the beach with musicans playing reggee ...SOOOO MUCH FUN Then at night we ate at (a la carte) places thrue out the ressort. JUST AWSOME Kabash was the best and the steak house was great... oh the Japanies place you also have to go! Trie reserving your suppers before getting to Jamaica or to that right after your first drink!!!!! That way more chances for you to get all you want!

THE WORST PART WAS
Bingo bango at 4:30 in the pool... don't know y there did not just play music
LEAVING

For the best service find: LISA
Best starfriend : Noodles!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

We went there on June 22 -29th .. there was 12 of us, im 22, it was my family and another...We arrived and our rooms werent ready for a little while, but they held our luggage and we could go to the pool or eat or whatever we wanted....Everyone is very friendly.. they gave you a drink wen you arrived there...

THe restuarants were all good..we didnt go to the japanese or the cajan becuase they were all booked..There is always food.. even late night...the one day they had a beach barbaque...

everynight they had a show which were all good, a magic show one night. and a beach party that was alot of fun..and after that there was the disco and another bar open till 3 after.

tHe pool and beach was very nice..we mostly were at the pool... they have the star friends .. Monkey Marven Noodle Carlos blanka and everyone else who were all cool...and the pool bar...wont forget blanka saying archtre you can win a prize lol!

We also went to margarita ville which was alot of fun.. we went during the day so we can go on the slide that goes in the ocean and they have the trapalines in the water that are only open till a certian time then that part closes.. i will put pics

but the rooms where all great...and nice and big... but if anyone has any questions or anything let me know.. i will be posting pictures.. ohh and they have the huts were u can buy things and they will go cheap.. check out the gift shop prices first so u know what to pay haha! and they have computers there and you dont have to pay to use the internet and there is wireless!!! and the SPA was great and you dont have to pay for it.. check it out!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
08244
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

Our group of six had a fantastic time at this resort and would definitely visit the resort again! We traveled with two adults and four young adults ages 19 to 26. We were fortunate that one of our two rooms was ready when we arrived at the resort at 11:00 am. The rooms were beautiful and spacious and with the exception of the towel service, everything was perfect.

The food was great, expecially the filet at the Gourmet restaurant, and the lunch buffet was fantastic. We left a few dollars for tip at breakfast and lunch, and a little more at dinner.. We gave extra to the trainees and the tips were greatly appreciated.

We visited a nearby school while we were there and brought supplies that were greatly appreciated. We used Reggae Tours (cab service) to get there, and also used them to and from the airport which saved us a lot of time. After visiting the school, our driver took us to a restaurant to get Jamaican patties and we stopped at a roadside coconut stand to try coconut water.. It was a great experience and a fun day. Gregg, the owner of the company, was very nice, reliable, and a very safe driver. His e-mail address is [--]. You can call or e-mail him in advance to set up transportation.

We made lots of friends at the pool and had great fun with people from Georgia and Maryland. The pool bartenders, especially Wailen, Oreth, and Kevin were very friendly and gave excellent service.

The Star Friends were very talented dancers and entertainers and made every day and night a lot of fun for us, especially our new friends Lashayna, Georgia, and Shane. We participated in many of the daily games, from water polo, to archery, to bocce ball and shuffleboard, which made each day even more fun. We went to several shows at night which were good for the most part. Make sure to go to the Tutti Fruiti Comedy show and the Beach Party. The disco was great, it starts off slow, and gets better as the night goes on. It is even more fun when the star friends are there as well. The male star friends, Carlos, Blanka, Noodle, Marvin, Monkey and Kenny, made an effort to visit the guests throughout the day and night and include everyone in all activities. They were very personable and fun to be around.

Our family had a nice time relaxing at the lounge bar before dinner, but it would be nice if there was another bar besides that one to go to at that time of night. The other bar, the jazz bar, did not open until 10:30.

This was our second trip to the Iberostar in Montego Bay and we love it there. Last summer we went to the Beach resort which was also very nice, but we preferred the Suites to the Beach. We intend to return next summer!! If you are looking for an upbeat and active resort, yet beautiful and relaxing at the same time, you can find it here!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this resort for our honeymoon. We were originally booked in for Mexico but had to change our plans last minute due to swine flu. I am so glad that we did!!!! Rose Hall Suites was so excellent, we can't wait to return next year for our one year anniversary!!

Check in went smoothly, and we were greeted with cold beers/fruity drinks upon arrival. We had a beautiful oceanview suite, with a bottle of champagne and fruit plate waiting for us. The rooms are incredibly clean and modern. We spent a lot of time sitting on our large balcony relaxing.

The food here was AMAZING!! Mind you, we are not picky eaters...but we absolutely loved the selection and quality of food available. The omelets at breakfast are so yummy!! We ate lunch at Ruby's everyday because it is open air seating...lots of selection and variety there as well!! The beach BBQ is also a must!! Staff at all restaurants were so friendly and our drinks were constantly being refilled. We ate at the Mexican, Gourmet, Steakhouse and Mediterranean restaurants but really enjoyed the buffet the best because of the variety!!

The cleanliness of this resort amazed us. There are always so many groundskeepers working everywhere. Our room was always clean, and we received turndown service most nights.

The disco was fun, if you like to dance the night away, definitely try it!! And head over to the Mexican restaurant for late night snacks!!

Star Friends were awesome...definitely a HUGE plus of this resort!! We played bingo by the pool almost everyday, and my husband played beach volleyball, and beach soccer with everyone. Also, visit the tennis courts as the tennis pro is a great guy :) Check out the spa wellness pool as it is free, and couples can go in together. Great for a rainy afternoon!

Bring lots of tip money in American Dollars...not required, but always appreciated.

Anyway, we absolutely LOVED our stay and I could go on and on about the fabulous things at this resort. Don't listen to any picky reviewers...you will have a great time if you book this resort!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Rose Hall Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Rose Hall Suites

Address: Rose Hall Main Rd | Rose Hall, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#2 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Rose Hall Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo and Despegar.com so you can book your Iberostar Rose Hall Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Rose Hall Hotel Rose Hall
Iberostar Montego Bay
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites Jamaica - Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.