We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you expect from Iberostar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Rose Hall Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Rose Hall Suites to your Saves list
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rose Hall Main Rd | Rose Hall, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Rose Hall
Washington, Dc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Everything you expect from Iberostar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We love Iberostar, and have been to several of their resorts. We started out with them years ago, at the recommendation of our travel agent. We have never been disappointed. Always clean, great food, great service. Just a relaxing vacation, just as it should be.

Room Tip: Make sure you tour Rose Hall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Indeed we are thrilled knowing your travel agent made a great selection to have chosen the Iberostar Rose Hall Suites for your Vacation. We are delighted to know that you had a great experience while here and also would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us the great experience you had.

We look forward to hosting you once again, to have another great vacation with us.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,903
    693
    197
    59
    47
See reviews for
1,418
833
38
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (714)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

My company recently had our annual retreat at this resort. We booked 11 rooms with guests coming and going over the course of a week. A special thanks to Renee in hotel reservations for helping to accomodate all of us and setting up the rooms by email.

CHECK IN: Once we got to the hotel (just 15 mins from MBJ), check-in took longer than I would hope/expect due to complications from having so many rooms (and different people in each room). Most of the front desk staff I dealt with weren't particularly friendly or accommodating besides Oralando, who deserves special mention for being VERY helpful.

STAFF: Fortunately, the rest of the staff we encountered (from housekeeping to Star Friends) were very friendly. Star Friends definitely make the trip a lot more enjoyable - Sweetness, China, and Professor were great!

FOOD: This was our second consecutive year at Iberostar, and the food this year was better than I remember. Gourmet, Mediterranean, and Mexican were quite good - almost all of us had the lobster at the Mexican restaurant and enjoyed it even though it was overcooked a bit. Mediterranean and Mexican also have an excellent appetizer buffet. Hibachi (at Beach) was fun but the food was definitely a notch below the others. We were also disappointed that "Asian Night" at the buffet consisted of only a couple sushi rolls with everything else the same as any other night. The beachfront buffet is the by far the better lunch option (over the buffet attached to the hotel). Overall, we were quite impressed with the food.

We did try to order room service late a couple nights and had major issues with that. Both times, nobody picked up the phone (supposedly 24 hour room service). One time the front desk suggested we go to the Mexican restaurant for late night snacks (wasn't a very large selection). The other time the front desk had to call room service on our behalf and it took over an hour to deliver and the food was cold when it arrived. This could use improvement.

Alcohol level is good but not top shelf (Canadian Club, Jim Beam, Johnnie Red, Absolut, etc). Stay at the Grand if you want top shelf. We bought some top shelf bottles at duty free in the airport in advance knowing this.

DAYTIME/ACTIVITIES: As mentioned above, Star Friends work their butts off to ensure guests have an enjoyable time. We participated in everything from beach volleyball, water volleyball, basketball (not Star Friends run), ping pong, etc. And when you just want to relax on the beach, they won't bother you.

Pool isn't heated but water was comfortable when we went in February. Beach had lots of small rocks around the Suites part. It seemed to smooth out if you went to the right towards the Beach resort.

NIGHT: The music bar was a lot of fun, especially karaoke and the live reggae bands. And the cigar bar attached has a good selection. The shows are best left for the kids. Disco was pretty big and played decent music depending on the night. Vibe depends on the guests and how many go there. It wasn't very full the nights we went. But it's nice there's a full, included bar there.

ROOM: Rooms were very good size. Beds extremely comfortable. Seemed like the A/C worked better in some rooms than others. Some balconies' views were blocked by a wall, which was part of the hotel's exterior design. A little disappointing though for some in the group. Could use more outlets.

INTERNET: I remember the internet being quite slow last year. It seems they've improved this, as the Wifi was pretty strong where available, even on the beach. On the beach, it was a little more spotty as one day it wouldn't connect, but the days we were able to get on, it worked well. It didn't stretch to all parts of the resort, however, such as the beach buffet for lunch. Cell signal was varied throughout the resort but pretty strong overall (also remember this being much weaker last year). I've been told the cell signal and Wifi is stronger on the lower floors. Worked very well on floor 2.

Ultimately, everyone had a great time and with just a couple slight issues, though it would seem these issues are easily corrected. I'd give it 4.5 stars if that was an option.

Room Tip: Rooms on floors 0 and 1 won't have much beach/ocean view. Some floor 2 rooms have great views a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the hotel staff, and particularly the manager, we would just like to extend our appreciation for choosing the Iberostar Rose hall Suites for your annual vacation. We are delighted to hear that both you and your group were pleased with the vacation/retreat.

We would also like to thank you for taking the time to share with us and the online community the memorable stay you had with us as this motivates us to continue improving our hospitality. We will also congratulate our star friends that for the tremendous job they have done in ensuring that your vacation was a memorable experience.

We however took note of several issues that you mentioned in your comment and we would like to extend an apology for any inconvenience this may cause.

We hope to be able to offer you our hospitality again at Iberostar. Thanks again for choosing Iberostar.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We just returned from Iberostar Rose Hall Suites. This was our second visit and won't be our last.

We celebrated by in-laws 50th wedding anniversary and had a fantastic time. The resort is beautiful and well maintained. We did not find it busy this time of year. We had our choice of beach chairs and pool chairs whenever we moved from one area to the next.

The staff are polite and friendly and seem to genuinely want you to be having a good time.

The food was excellent. We ate in the Steak House (on the beach), the Japanese restaurant, the Mediterranean and the Mexican twice. The meals were delicious, but we were equally happy to eat at the buffet every night. Ask Adrian to whip you up some pasta and you will not be disappointed.

We were travelling as a couple with two kids (9 and 11), and older couple and a couple without kids. We all were amused and had a great time.

I had read some reviews with concerns about the check-in process. We may have just been lucky, but we all checked in and were in our rooms within 15 minutes of arriving. Drink in hand.

We are already looking forward to our next trip.

Thanks to all the staff for making this trip so fun and memorable!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Iberostar Rose Hall Suites Hotel. We are Pleased to know that you’ve enjoyed your vacation in celebration of your In-Law’s 50th Wedding Anniversary; we would like to send our congrats to them as well and wish them all the best. We certainly appreciate you taking the time to share with us and the online community the great experience you had.

It motivates us to continue improving and maintaining our high level in customer service both to our present and future guest. Thanks once again for choosing the Iberostar and we look forward to seeing you again.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Just got back on Feb 10 2014 from a 1 week trip out of Detroit Metro. The complex was very well kept up, the pools were always sparkling even in the afternoon after a lot of use. The Rooms were large junior suites with refrigerator, Iron, ect. Large lani and we had a partial ocean view and view of pool area and these were standard rooms. Our opinion was that the food was better than your average AI, Drinks were fine no weak ones here, they didn't have all the top liquors but i'm sure you could find something you like.Entertainment was pretty good with a lot of participation from the guest. The beach was well groomed with just a few small stones and not everywhere just is a few spots, a lot a chairs and shade, there was bar service on the beach but not excessive. Did not see the saving of chairs around the pool to much in the early morning probably because there were a lot of them to choose from. Dont see how you could have a bad time at this resort. There were younger kids around but not over run with them, The Grand next to the Suites is Adults Only but was over $1000 more for one week (i can put up with some kids for that kind of money)

Room Tip: you will pay extra for true ocean front, but how long are you in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all please allow us to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Iberostar to spend your vacation. We certainly do appreciate you taking the time to share with us and the online community the experience that you’ve had on your vacation.

It was an honor to have been able to host you at our hotel and we are grateful for your feedback regarding the cleanliness of our rooms and pools, the delicious food at our restaurants, entertainment and selection of top shelf liquor.

We look forward to hosting you in the future and hope that you will not hesitate to book our hotel when planning your next vacation.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a lovely week at IRH Suites. I read many of the prior reviews in preparation for the trip, so I will try to report on some different aspects in order to help you decide if this resort is right for you. I agree with other reviewers - the resort is immaculately clean - and I am a clean freak! The maid service in the rooms is top notch. Fresh towels twice a day? Love it! No musty smell either - which is amazing considering how humid it is. Keep your patio door closed all the time - this will ensure that the AC continues running and the humidity in the room is kept to a minimum. The floors get very slippery, very quickly if the patio door is open! For that matter, use extreme caution everywhere on the property as floors are marble or tile and very slick. We talked to a gal who stepped out of the elevator and slipped and hit her head so hard she blacked out. I can see how easily that could happen, so be mindful at all times. The resort is very good about posting cautions about slippery floors - so take heed!

We paid quite a bit extra for an oceanfront room and ended up on the first floor, which was disappointing as the views from the higher floors are much better. We had a direct view of the ocean but the balconies are recessed with thick walls and balcony railings, so the view in either direction is limited. Also, when sitting on the patio, the thick railings almost completely obstruct the view of the water. This was a bummer considering the price we paid. Upon closely inspecting the entire resort, I would say that there is really no need to pay for an oceanfront room. With the exception of a few rooms on the ground floor closer to the back, I would think that nearly every room has a decent view of the gardens/pool/ocean. I say take a gamble and see what you get . . . spend the extra money on something else.

The room itself is very comfortable and well appointed. Bed is very comfortable (not too soft, not too hard . . . . just right) but if you do not like a very thick, firm pillow, you should consider bringing your own. Decent linens and changed regularly.

The property is lovely - the infinity pool and gardens very nicely laid out and maintained. The pool bar is fun and the bartenders make a huge effort to remember your name (especially the ladies . . . you charmer you, Jules) and find the perfect drink for you. Unless you like something very specific, just let the mixologists do their work and dream up a drink for you. It's like they can read minds! Drinks are VERY strong! Drink service around the pool can be a bit slow - it seems that there are only two servers working at any one time. This could be improved. But you will need a dip every half hour or so to cool off, so why not just head over to the swim-up bar?

We talked to many other guests and the general consensus seemed to be that the food is much better than average compared to most all inclusives. We do not have a lot to compare to. We usually do vacation rentals or time share and do our own meals. The buffet has an incredible variety - most of which is quite good. Do try everything in the Jamaican corner, which they have several times during the week. Try the callaloo (green stuff that looks like steamed spinach). Mmmmm! We ate off resort several times, and the Jamaican offerings in the buffet were often as good. The Asian night was exceptionally good as well. All in all, I would say that the buffet was as good or better than all of the a la carte restaurants, except for the Aunt Ruby Steakhouse. We had an excellent meal there. Rib steak was cooked perfectly to order and nicely seasoned. The other a la cartes (Japanese, Mediterranean and Gourmet) were so-so. Other than the pleasure of getting table service and having less noise and hubbub, it wasn't really exceptional. Menus are limited and the seafood was overcooked in general. And as noted by other guests, there are lots of little kids dining with their parents - so it isn't an intimate, romantic setting.

I preferred the lunch buffet at Aunt Ruby's which is actually on the adjacent IRH Beach property. It is open air dining, which is lacking at the Suites. Perhaps a little less variety - but the outdoor dining makes up for it. Make sure you head over there on Monday and Thursday at lunch time for the beach BBQ. Live steel drum music, an ice cold Red Stripe in your hand, the sand in your toes and jerk chicken on your plate. True bliss!!

As other reviewers have noted - if you do not want kids around, this is not the place for you. But if you do your research, you will be aware of this. We wandered around the IRH Beach next door and it seemed like there are a lot more kids at the Suites. If you want peace and quiet and a more upscale, staid atmosphere, go to the adults only IRH Grand next door. You will pay for it though - and you might find that there isn't enough action. It looked a little ho-hum to me.

I highly recommend getting out and touring the island. Otherwise you could be on any beach, anywhere. Jamaica is more expensive for those of us from the West Coast of Canada than almost any other hot destination. If you aren't going to experience the unique charm of the Jamaican people and the excellent food, why not just head somewhere more inexpensive? For a fantastic, fun, safe and informative tour, give Alrick Allen (owner/operator of Your Jamaican Tour Guide) a call. Check out his website (yourjamaicantourguide.com). Call him at 876-377-7634 or email him at alrickallen@gmail.com. He will show you a fun, safe time!

All in all this is a very good resort. Is it worth the extra money as compared to Mexican all inclusives? I would say, only if you get off resort and enjoy the cool vibe this island has to offer. If you do get out - don't miss Mystic Mountain. Do the tranopy tour which includes the Jamaican bobsled run (SUPER FUN) and a pretty decent zipline. You can easily spend a day up there. Bring your bathing suit for the pool and waterslide.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Iberostar Rose Hall Suites Hotel here in Jamaica; we know for sure that there are many other vacation spots that you could have chosen. We certainly appreciate you taking the time to share with us and the online community such detailed review about your stay here.

We are indeed delighted to know that you had enjoyed the facility and what it had to offer to make your stay an enjoyable one. We will congratulate the staff who made significant contribution towards making your stay a great and memorable one.

We look forward to seeing you again and your loyalty is much appreciated.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

For the 5th trip to Jamaica...this Resort made my last walk toward 40 amazing! I had the best birthday among the best hotel staffers in the world!

At Jamaica Iberostar resorts you are treated like family! I stayed at the Rose Hall Beach section in 2012 and staffers still on-board remembered me and were quick to give out hugs and well wishes. I truly felt like a family member. Trust, I don't like to repeat resorts...but I will gladly return to the Iberostar complex.

My room was always clean, fresh towels giving twice a day, a working air conditioner, and the minibar stock! As for the grounds...absolutely stunning and ...well the food was outstanding. And, most importantly, everywhere you went...you were greeted with a smile, a joke, or someone willing to give you a helping hand! My only complaint...the food service staff at the Suites were not as friendly as those at the Beach. So, for lunch and dinner, I made it my business to go back home to the Beach. But, as for the Suites' front desk staff, bar staff, maintenance staff, and the bellman crew...you could not ask for better partners to share your vacation and birthday with!

Special shout outs to: Wayne, Avon, Lamont, the Lobby Bar Crew,...and my Beach family Maxine and Randy!

You will see me again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the management and staff here at Iberostar, I would like to thank you for your generous comments and for once more choosing to spend your holidays with us.

We are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you were treated like a star for your birthday. I’m quite certain the persons mentioned were pleased to have celebrated with you on your special day and it pleases us also to know that you felt like family with our courteous and friendly staff. We do regret hearing that you found some staff not as friendly as others, and we do assure you this is not the typical standard here at Iberostar.

In closing we would like to thank you once more for celebrating your 40th birthday with us and we do look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Windy City, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I visited Mo Bay Jamaica for the 1st time with my mother and aunt. We went with my Mom's book club and had a blast! Jamaica is a beautiful island with beautiful people and delicious food! This was a family resort so there were people of all ages and from all over the world. I loved the amenities of the hotel, the different restaurants, the nightclub and the movie theater. I went to RELAX and do as much of nothing as possible!! I thoroughly enjoyed myself and would stay at this resort again if I had the opportunity.

The only drawbacks were that everything I did was resort related. If this is what you're looking for then great! I wanted a bit more of the feel of the "real" people on the island and have decided when I return that I will stay in a vacation rental. I will also stay in another part of the island, maybe Negril.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing to spend your vacation with us here at Iberostar, and for your review posted here on Trip Advisor.

It gives us a feeling of satisfaction to understand that you had an awesome time with us and that you were able to relax and enjoy the amenities, the food, the staff, the restaurants, the disco, and the theatre. The next time you return we invite you to explore our island and enjoy the attractions and history of its culture, as we do have tour companies here on property that can assist you in making selections for excursions

We do hope that we will be given the chance to host you once more in the future as it has been a pleasure having you vacation with us. Thank you once again, for making it Iberostar

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Rose Hall Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Rose Hall Suites

Address: Rose Hall Main Rd | Rose Hall, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Rose Hall Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Iberostar Rose Hall Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Rose Hall Hotel Rose Hall
Iberostar Montego Bay
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites Jamaica - Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.