We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really good choice for a week in the sun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Rose Hall Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Rose Hall Suites to your Saves list
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rose Hall Main Rd | Rose Hall, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rose Hall
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A really good choice for a week in the sun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I love weddings, I really do. I love the build up and the anticipation. I love the fact that families and friends come together for a happy occasion, and for a few hours emotions and relations are cheery. So having been lucky enough to attend a sensational New York wedding immediately before arriving at the Iberostar, my wife and I were already feeling great.

In fact we could not have chosen a better place to continue our overseas trip, as for the whole week we were in Montego Bay, the Iberostar managed to lay on a different wedding every day of our stay. Some were locals marrying and partying in an idyllic location. Some were those exchanging vows a second time around. But topping the league were a 90-strong wedding party from Colorado who seemed, for the few days that they were in residence, to be having the time of their lives.

Their vibe was infectious. They contributed to a near constant pool party, fuelled in equal measure by performance pool bar staff and a very Jamaican entertainment crew. Games around the pool ranged from bingo, to running along a water carpet, and what looked like an aquatic bucking bronco, all to a hypnotic Reggae beat. So any hopes of making a dent in my reading were quickly dashed. Debit books, credit fun!

If you’re not into Reggae, you soon will be after a stay at the Iberostar. It’s all you ever hear. Now, I don’t mind it at all, and have been searching through the pirate radio stations at home to get it, but I really object to the same tunes being repeated five of six times a day every day – particularly the one about the “cuts” and “no hesitation”. We were not alone with this complaint as I heard several lobby bar conversations voicing similar concerns. I’m amazed that with such a high occupancy rate they can’t shell out for a few more tunes.

The hotel itself was perfectly adequate for a week’s stay. Nothing flash, but everything you needed. The room was a fair size with two double beds, sofa and a good size bathroom. We were lucky. Our room was quite close to the pool area but some were a good distance away.

Food and drink were acceptable. The buffet proved repetitive after a while but served a good range of local, and international fare. Imagine jerk chicken with a side order of pizza.

The occasional lunchtime beach barbeque offered a welcome respite a couple of times during our stay. The jokes in the hype wore a little thin though. “Jerk chicken, jerk pork, jerk fish, everything there is jerk – even the chef’s a jerk!”. Thanks. But the food was plentiful, fresh, and really good, so it was worth it.

The Iberostar had a number of instantly forgettable specialty restaurants, some of which featured their own buffets. How odd. These had to be pre-booked and were rationed according to the length of stay. This proved a chore but ultimately worthwhile, so stick with it if you go.

As a bit of a try on I tried to make a reservation for a restaurant in the Rose Hall Beach hotel next door. It has the same ownership, but is operated separately. Amazingly we got away with it, and ate at the Cajun restaurant. The food was fairly predictable, but we were served by probably the nicest and most helpful waiter in a bowler hat on the island. I’d go back just to be served by him.

Fresh from our success we promptly booked the Japanese restaurant next door. This was pure theatre and sensational in every respect. Go there just for the performance. If you like the food too, as I did, then that’s a bonus.

It was a rather odd set up with the neighboring hotels. There was certainly a hierarchy, with the Rose Hall Suites clearly ranking in the middle. The Rose Hall Beach is positioned as slightly inferior, but I really couldn’t tell the difference. Certainly the restaurants and pool area there were better than at the Suites. The premium option, the Grand Hotel Rose, was the adults only option. But when I asked one of the staff how the places compared, she just commented that the guests were “so uptight” over there. Charming.

Strangely enough the Grand Hotel guests themselves agreed, with a few of them straying into our pool area for better poolside entertainment and friendlier holidaymakers to chat to.

This aspect shouldn’t really be underestimated. At the pool, strangers really did become friends. It’s a great formula. Take a great beach side resort in the sun, add in unlimited food and drink, and allow friendship to result.

So what about the downside? In a word, wifi. It was pathetic.

Connecting took an age. I don’t know which antiquated system they have there but it needs replacing. Each guest gets a unique username and password, which can only be used for a single device. So with a couple of phones and a tablet it confused them no end why we needed extra.

In the end they gave us a pile of twenty codes. None worked, and a frustrating argument developed.

But what on earth is the risk here? It’s not as if they charge non-residents for wifi. This was completely baffling. Someone, somewhere, must have a head office procedure to follow.

Once we were able to connect reality struck that it wasn’t the fastest connection around. Email and facebook were ok, but if you need to download apps then forget it.

Coverage only extended to the lobby area and lobby bar, but I did once manage to get a signal in the “Gourmet” restaurant. Surely it can’t be difficult to extend the range to the pool area and into the rooms. Keep up Iberostar, things have moved on and you really cannot get away with this these days.

Lighting in the hallways was weak, and the whole resort appeared a little tired and in need of a makeover.

The lock on our patio door didn’t work, and although the engineer fixed it, still didn’t look like it would resist a firm shove.

The minibar was very poorly stocked indeed.

We didn’t take any trips outside the resort but they were available. There was a free shuttle to a shopping park if needed. With everything on site we felt this was just a waste of poolside time and made up for it at the airport shops. I don’t regret this at all.

With the exception of those on the front desk, all staff we talked to were great. They were really friendly and genuinely wanted to help you enjoy your stay. You could see that they took a real pride in their job.

All told, this was a really good choice for a week in the sun. Don’t expect luxury, but on the other hand, don’t expect to rough it either. Go for the weather and for the staff, but take a rest from the internet for true relaxation.

Room Tip: Go for a room near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear guest,

We are honored that you have chosen to be guests here at the Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, and we would like to take this opportunity to candidly express our appreciations.
It undeniably gives us a feeling of satisfaction to know that you were pleased with several aspects of our resort including our friendly and courteous staff, our pools and beaches, and the services and facilities offered both here and at our sister resort the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach. All in all your comments and suggestions have been well received and for areas where in your eyes we fell short, we will certainly direct these concerns to the respective departments for their deliberation.

In closing, we again thank you for choosing Iberostar Rose Hall Suites and sincerely hope that we will have the absolute pleasure of serving you at our resort in the future.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,007
    739
    200
    63
    53
See reviews for
1,507
864
39
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (751)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This was our second trip to Iberostar Rose Hall Suites and it was just as good if not better than the first time. Me, my wife and our 2 1/2 year old daughter stayed from April 21 to April 28th and had an amazing time. The weather was excellent once again, the food was perfect and the beach and pool equal 100% relaxations. The one thing that is always going on at Rose Hall Suites is cleaning. The resort is spotless, everyone is very friendly and that what keeps us going back. The beach is never too busy the pool is always fun and the drinks are perfect. If you need anything just ask and they'll do the best they can to help you out. If you're looking for a great location, fun relaxing family vacation than Rose Hall Suites is the place to be! We're already planning our trip back in April 2014!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us to host you yet a second time around at the Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, and also for sharing with us and the rest of the online community your view of how you spent your holiday with us.

We are extremely elated to know that you’ve had yet another amazing stay with us and that you are already planning a return trip in 2014, this is definitely good news and we earnestly look forward to your next visit. In addition, we also appreciate you mentioning a few facets that contributed to making your vacation an amazing one such as the friendliness of our staff, our beaches, pools, and the cleanliness of our resort.

As always it has certainly been a pleasure having you vacation with us. Thank you for making it Iberostar.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This was our first trip to Jamaica and what an incredible trip. The staff was incredible. Just innately nice and respectful. Always greeted us with hello's and smiles. That meant a lot. We went down below the hotel and was able to talk and buy from the locals which was an experience as well. Makes me really appreciate what I have. The security guards were very friendly. I was amazed how much work they put into keeping the grounds clean and perfectly manicured.

The food?!!!! OMG!!! all kinds. I don't know about anyone else. But I had the opportunity to taste foods I've never tried and still eat what I eat at home. It was absolutely great!!!

The only problem we had was the room was musty but they sent us a dehumidifier and that solved the problem No problem . I would definetly return and recommend this to my friends.

Whoever had a problem with this place? Well, I don't know what to say. I loved it.

You will definetly get the feel of ONE LOVE Mon.

Room Tip: Our room was overlooking the garden. It was on the 2nd floor and it was musty due to the humidity...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of the management and staff here at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, I would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar and also for taking the time to write a review for Trip Advisor about your recent holiday at our resort.

We are delighted to learn that we have contributed to making your vacation an incredible one and your kind comments will certainly motivate both management and staff alike to continue improving on our services.
It has sincerely been an absolute pleasure to have hosted you at our resort and we definitely look forward to your next visit.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergeant Bluff, Iowa, USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My family and I had a wonderful time. The staff was very friendly! The only thing we had issues with we're the restaurants. We felt that we were rushed and we like to visit and enjoy our meals. If we visit again I think we will just stick with the buffets. Overall we had a great stay and will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of all the hotel staff, and particularly the General Manager, we would like to thank you for not only choosing to spend your vacation here at the Iberostar Rose Hall Suites but also for sharing with other travelers, your opinion of your stay with us.

It is indeed a cause of satisfaction to hear that you had a wonderful time at our resort and that you were pleased with the overall friendliness of our staff. We however sincerely regret hearing how you felt about the restaurants and will certainly inform the respective manager about your comments. Nevertheless, we do hope that you will once again give us the opportunity to prove to you our dedication to customer service satisfaction.

It has been a great pleasure hosting you at our resort and we do hope to offer our hospitality to you again in the near future. Thank you for making it Iberostar.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

-super clean
-super comfy beds
-superior meals (a la carte and buffet)
-awesome location (minutes away from airport)

I've been to several all inclusive resorts throughout the caribean and this place is superior by far to all other destinations. Anyone complaining about this place really needs to tone themselves down - this is Jamaica - no one runs there (except Usain Bolt).

Room Tip: Avoid ground level floors - there can be some unwanted crawly things that can easily access your roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to be valued guests of the Iberostar Rose Hall Suites as we are certainly aware that there are myriads of other resorts for you to choose from, but you chose to spend your special vacation with us. Please note that we are also extremely appreciative of you choosing to share your review of your stay with us here on Trip Advisor.

It is most gratifying to hear that you were thoroughly pleased with the cleanliness of our resort, our comfortable beds, wonderful food and our close proximity to the airport.
We are quite confident that you will again be staying at our lovely hotel in the near future and as such we sincerely anticipate your return trip to Iberostar Rose Hall Suites.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Falls Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

First trip to Jamaica. Wasn't sure where to stay. Stayed at Iberostars in other countries , so decided we couldn't go wrong . Really glad we did . Resort top notch . Food , entertainment and service were above expectations . Pool and beach were really beautiful , as was the resort itself. Plan to return to this place for sure

Room Tip: Enjoyed overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of the management and staff at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, I would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing Iberostar once more. We also very much appreciate you dedicating the time to writing a review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay with us.

Your kind words certainly motivate us to continue improving and we are thrilled to know that you thoroughly enjoyed the food, pools, beaches, entertainment and exceptional service.
We would like to thank you once more for choosing Iberostar and we candidly look forward to your next visit.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We visited the Iberostar for a friend's wedding with a group of about 25 people and had the most AMAZING time. The resort was beautiful. We loved the bartenders at the pool bar and all of the staff were very friendly. They even sent a birthday cake up to my room for my birthday which was a week before our stay. Best vacation ever! will def go back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to express our most genuine gratitude for you choosing Iberostar Rose Hall Suites to spend your vacation. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments of your vacation here on Trip Advisor.

We are extremely thrilled to hear that we contributed towards your amazing holiday while staying at our resort. We greatly appreciated your kind comments about our bartenders at the pool bar and especially about the friendly and attentive service from our staff. We are also grateful to know that you enjoyed the amenities sent to you for your birthday.
Hosting you at our resort was indeed a pleasure and we are confident that you will be staying again at Iberostar and as such we look forward to your next visit.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rose Hall
2.9 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
10.7 mi away
Royalton White Sands Resort
Royalton White Sands Resort
#15 of 64 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 2,331 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
4.0 of 5 stars 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Rose Hall Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Rose Hall Suites

Address: Rose Hall Main Rd | Rose Hall, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rose Hall
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Rose Hall Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, VISIT US, INC. , HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Iberostar Rose Hall Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Rose Hall Hotel Rose Hall
Iberostar Montego Bay
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites Jamaica - Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.