We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Musty room, but still a wonderful place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Rose Hall Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Rose Hall Suites to your Saves list
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rose Hall Main Rd | Rose Hall, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Rose Hall
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Musty room, but still a wonderful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have previously stayed at the IRHS, and we will stay there again. They are very accommodating and kind and provide superior service and accommodations. My husband and I were traveling for our anniversary in January, and we wanted the room we stayed in during our last visit. I emailed several people with the request (reservations, concierge, main guest services, etc). Not only was every attempt made to accommodate us, I received a response from every department I emailed, within hours. As a frequent traveler to Jamaica and the Caribbean, this is rare and was GREATLY APPRECIATED.

We did not end up getting the room we requested, as it was occupied (which they warned me would happen in the response emails). BUT, they went a step above and beyond, upgraded our room to an Ocean Front at no charge. They also had a fruit platter, a bottle of rum, and t-shirts waiting for us in our room, along with a welcome back letter. It was very nice to know that return guests are so appreciated at Iberostar.

A few things we noticed were different since our last visit:
-The Star Friends were much less in-your-face. Not that we ever had problems, but they seem to keep their distance more, not always trying to get you to come do things, even when you are sleeping on the beach.
-There seemed to be less activities around the pool.
-The ocean front room was VERY musty smelling. I thought it was coming from the air-conditioning, but we spent very little time in the room with the AC on. Once the door was opened for awhile, it seemed to help. Now, it is the tropics and I expect some mustiness, but this was abnormal, considering every other time we have stayed at IRHS we have thought it was surprisingly unmusty smelling.

Things that Iberostar could improve on:
-Shuttles to and from the airport.
-More included recreational activities (Couples has a free catamaran ride, etc…)
-Alcohol availability. Other resorts have wet-bars in the room and more drink stations/beach bars.
-Wifi in the rooms. There is internet access in the rooms, but bring your laptop and Ethernet cords because you have to connect to get online. If you are like me and haul your iPad everywhere, there is free Wifi in the lobby.

But this should by no means be taken as anything other than me loving Iberostar. I have stayed several other places, and this is by far one of the best.
-Their staff is top notch
-It is very clean and the grounds are amazing. The buildings are kept up very well.
-It is quiet in your room. The rooms have an entry, a hall, then another entry into the suite. With 2 doors, the noise from the hall is cut down, and the rooms are pretty sound-proof. This is a plus, at a large resort especially.
-There are food options available at all times of the day.
-The beach is tremendous and it sits on a guarded, private beach. So if any of you are used to the “vendors” and salesmen that walk up and down the beach in Negril or other beaches in MB, it is not like that at this resort.
-The bartenders get to know you and put extra effort into cheerfully conversing with guests.
-The wellness spa is still amazing, although it went co-ed and the “womens’ half always had something broken or malfunctioning. Still nice though, and I have not stayed at another place with these amenities.

A couple of notes:
-This hotel is about ½ hour away from the airport, outside of the main area of Montego Bay. It is not one the main strip in MB, like where the Riu or Sandals are.
-It is WINDY in MB. We spend time all over Jamaica, and MB is SOOOOOOOO windy compared to Negril or Port Antonio. Not cool wind, but surprising if you are unprepared.
-This complex is HUGE. Be prepared to walk
-ask for the Appleton rum in your drinks, They use Clarandon if you don't specify,
-Go into MB and eat at the Pork Pit. BEST JERK IN MB! It’s like the 3-dives of MB….
-If you would like the name and number of a trust-worthy, amazing cab driver, please message me and I will provide his info.

It was a great trip, and we love Montego Bay. Iberostar made every attempt to make our tip happy, comfortable, and memorable. We like to travel around, but we will defiantly be making a trip back to MB and Iberostar Rose Hall Suites!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of the management and staff of Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, I would like to thank you for once again making Iberostar your preferred choice for your vacation. Please allow us as well to extend our gratitude to you for taking the time to use this medium to share with other readers your experience while here on vacation.

It has been our pleasure hosting you another time around and we are really thrilled to know that you enjoy the Iberostar experience so much that you plan on visiting us again in the near future. It is pleasing to also know that you enjoyed the amenities that are provided for our valued repeat clients and the overall service received. We have done our best to improve the services that we are offering and it is a delight to know that you noticed some of them. For the areas that we have fallen short, we will take your comments into consideration and forward them to the management team.

Once again we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar and we do look forward to welcoming you back here soon


Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,868
    683
    194
    56
    43
See reviews for
1,390
820
33
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I could go on and on with a long winded review about how amazing my trip was and how Iberostar Suites played a HUGE roll all around in that, but I will only say this: GO TO THIS RESORT AND MAKE YOUR OWN STORY!!! Loved everyone and almost everything about the suites. Me and my girlfriend went on this trip together and the only complaint we had was children running around early every morning and waking us up, but it was a tiny price to pay. We never complained to the staff but STILL got a free upgrade to their Grand Hotel for the last night of our stay!!! To say this was an unbelievable trip would be an understandment

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear guest,
On behalf of the management and staff here at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Iberostar and for taking the time out to share with the online community here at Trip Advisor your view of your stay at our resort.
We are extremely pleased to hear that you had such a splendid vacation with us and that you were satisfied with the overall services and amenities offered here. It’s also really nice to know that you had the opportunity to spend your last night at our sister resort, the Iberostar Rose Hall Grand, to experience the superb services that they have to offer there.
Once again I would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar and we sincerely look forward to your next visit with us.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

What a beautiful resort, steps away from the beach, absolutely fantastic variety of food, very tasty and always in abundance, spotless and well-maintained, the staff were always available, very helpful and friendly. I would definitely go back to Jamaica and I would recommend this resort without hesitation. Mostly couples and families.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of the management and staff here at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, I would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar, and also for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share with us and the rest of the online community your view of your stay at our resort.
Your kind words about our resort are well received and will certainly go a far way in motivating both staff and management alike to continue improving our standards. We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful time with us and that you enjoyed the wide variety of food and our courteous and attentive staff.

I would like to thank you once again for choosing Iberostar and we sincerely look forward to your next visit.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We recently stayed 5 nights at this resort and went with about 40 other people for a destination wedding. Our room was not ready when we arrived, but we didn't request an early check in and the website said 3 so that was not their fault. The room was exactly what we wanted. It was spotless. It did not have a musty smell nor, were there any bugs the entire 6 days. The air conditioning and television worked fine. There are only about 20 channels, but enough that we could find something to watch in the evening.

The wifi is free, but requires a password and only works in the lobby. Our smart phones worked as well. However, through Verizon we would have paid a hefty fee for sending or receving texts as well as data. We only used our phones in the lobby with the wifi or for photos.

I loved the food and I am a picky eater. The buffet has something for everyone and was air conditioned. It was nice to come in out of the heat for a while. The servers take your plates quickly so be careful not to leave the food unattended to use the restroom. Twice, we had to go back up to the buffet to get more food because we were not finished and the table was cleared. 9/10 workers were very sweet and appreciative of any type of tip. They were sweet to our 4 year old son as well. Of course you have one here and there who was not the happiest, but overall, everyone was nice and accommodating.

We really enjoyed the steak house. Mexican was not bad. Gourmet was not for me although, my fellow travelers enjoyed it. Everyone's favorite was the Hibatchi/Japanese restaurant. I highly recommend eating there, especially if you have kids! Book it as soon as you arrive because that one fills up first. Everyone drank the water and no one got sick. Being pregnant, this was a big concern for me. It didn't have a funny taste either.

The pools were great as well. Very clean...We never had trouble getting chairs at either the beach or the pool. There is ice cream daily for the kids and a huge assortment of drinks from the bar for everyone else. They can even make frozen lemonade and virgin strawberry daiquiris for the kids so they get fun drinks like everyone else. My son loved the water slides for kids. There is security over there and they are quite strict. No running etc.

I would go back to this resort again with no hesitation. It was a wonderful family vacation!

Room Tip: We liked the 4th floor because the view was great of the entire property. However we were in the &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of the management and staff of Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, I would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar to spend your vacation and for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share with the online community your view on your stay with us.
It is a pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, and that we were able to appease your discerning taste with our delectable selections. It is as well a pleasure to know you enjoyed the room, pools and overall service you and your family received.

It has certainly been our pleasure to have had you vacationing with us, and we truly hope that when planning your next vacation, Iberostar will be the foremost resort in your mind as we would consider it an absolute honor to serve you once more. Thank you for choosing Iberostar.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This resort is only 5 years old and it's a stunner. The rooms are large and clean with individual balconies. Huge bathroom with jacuzzi tub for two. The restaurants are amazing! Service is awesome. Staff are very friendly and speak English. It's only 25 minutes from airport. We were part of a group for a wedding and that went off without a hitch. It was a very beautiful beach wedding. Only downfall was the drains in bathroom sink didn't work properly. This resort will not disappoint.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of the management and staff of Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, I would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar and for taking the time out to share with the rest of the online community your view of your stay with us.

We are extremely proud to hear that you were pleased with our outstanding service and friendly staff, and that you enjoyed the room and the restaurants. We also appreciate that our resort was selected for your wedding group and equally pleased that as a guest you were also able to enjoy the wedding and the services offered.

With that being said, we will certainly forward your concerns regarding the drains in the bathroom and sink to the respective manager for their consideration.
It has been an absolute pleasure hosting you at our resort and we sincerely look forward to your next visit with us. Once again thank you for choosing Iberostar.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Great place. We first went in 2008, married there in 2009, brought the kids that we conceived there with us in 2010. We have not been back, but we are looking to return in September, 2013. My hubby is Jamaican, so he loves that they have a great selection of local food at every meal. There is a mini fridge & we brought a kettle for hot water, so we didn't have to go down for water for bottles. We have twins, so they provided us with 2 cribs (no cost). We had more than enough space in the room. The place is really clean & pretty.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear guest,
On behalf of the management and staff of Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, I would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar to spend your vacation and for taking the timeout to share with the rest of the online community your view on your stay with us.
It is certainly heartwarming to hear that you tied the knot at our resort and have returned with two new members of your family to share the Iberostar experience with them.

We certainly look forward to your visit this September and would like to thank you once again for making it Iberostar.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This holiday was beyond anything we expected and buy the first week of our two week holiday we were already discussing coming back!! CHINA, MO-MO, HAPPY FEET, sting ray, sweetness and o.m.g made mine and my sister Hannah's holiday we fell in love with all of them and miss them so much!! We met so many amazing people and made memories we will never forget, we adored every second and we can't wait to come back this holiday easily beats Mexico and Florida. We will be seeing jamaica again very soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of the management and staff of Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, I would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar to spend your vacation and for taking the timeout to share with the rest of the online community your view on your stay with us.
It was truly our pleasure having you vacation with us and we are really pleased to know that you thoroughly enjoyed the company of our Star Friends and are already planning on a second visit.

We have had the honor of hosting you at our resort and we certainly look forward to your next visit with us. Once again thank you for choosing Iberostar.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Rose Hall Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Rose Hall Suites

Address: Rose Hall Main Rd | Rose Hall, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rose Hall
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#2 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Rose Hall Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Iberostar Rose Hall Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Rose Hall Hotel Rose Hall
Iberostar Montego Bay
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites Jamaica - Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.