We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best vacation ever,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Rose Hall Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Rose Hall Suites to your Saves list
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rose Hall Main Rd | Rose Hall, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Rose Hall
Mont Vernon, New Hampshire, USA
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best vacation ever,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Everything about this resort is top notch. Aside from the musty smell in the room, the suites were roomy, clean and more than we expected. The balcony gave us a great view of the ocean, lazy river, courtyard and pools. The bartenders were amazing and all the staff welcoming. We loved the fact that windsurfing, snorkeling,kayaking,sailing and everything including scuba was right there. The excursions were amazing too. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of the management and staff at the Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, I would like to thank you first and foremost for choosing our hotel to spend your vacation. It is our utmost pleasure to have given you the best vacation ever.

Your benevolent words have been well received and they will be conveyed to the managers of all the respective departments to congratulate their staff on a job well done. We are gratified to know that you have enjoyed the spectacular service of our courteous staff, our pools, beaches and activities so much, that you have already considered coming back.

With that said, your remark about the musty smell in the room has been noted and will be handed over to the Housekeeping manager to ensure that this instance does not repeat itself.
We are however extremely thankful that this isolated issue did not affect the overall quality of your stay at our hotel and we sincerely hope that we will once again have the absolute pleasure of serving you again at our resort.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,842
    674
    194
    55
    43
See reviews for
1,372
810
32
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed over the 2nd week of the Christmas break, hotel was at capacity, but surprisingly the resort did not feel crowded and didn't experience any real line ups. This was our second stay at this resort and returned because it caters well to young kids, teens, and activity-minded, lounge around, or really thirsty adults.

For our family with two kids (7+9), the suite works because the kids like to sleep on the pull out sofa, leaving the king bed all to the parents. This means that when the kids go to bed, the TV in front of the king bed can be on and not disturb the sofa sleepers. The TV gets lots of cable channels, is connected to a DVD (free movies at guest services) , but has no HDMI slot to connect an iPad. Speaking of tablets, we brought a cheap $20 wireless router, which easily connected into the ethernet cable in the room, and voila, easy and free wireless in the room for the tablets, saving bringing them to the lobby to connect to the internet.

Enough room talk, because this property excels in the outdoor department. Nice tennis courts, large pool and beach area, a few good volley ball games and the lazy river and kids' water park for a quick diversion. Granted the pool is chilly, but refreshing and certainly warmer than a dip in the lake. In fact, you are kind of taunted to get cold and wet if you want to join in the fun at the pool bar, where the crowd-pleasing bartenders enjoy hosting lots of folks, pouring shots, and laughing at tipsy guests' attempts to dance gangham style. If you want warm water, the ocean is definitely hotter and there are a few warmer spots just behind the folks who sit all day at the pool bar stools as if they are in front of a slot machine. There is a hot tub near the pool area, but that is not heated and the shame on the hotel for not doing something about that!

Service is attentive at the Suites and the staff to guest ratio seems to be right on. Compaired to the neighbouring Iberostar Beach resort, which seemed to be swamped with guests and cruise ship daytrippers, the Suites was not overcrowded. We emailed teh hotel in advance and they honoured our room preference and requests. The food caters to the American/Canadian crowd, with lots of variety and a few local specialities. The New Year's dinner was fabulous and the seafood/shellfish lovers in the group were in heaven. Post dinner fireworks and beach party were outstanding.

Bottom line - expect good all around, enough to make you feel like you got good value and passed a great week, but don't expect to be wowed. Found that booking flights and hotel package separately provided a much better deal than the packages.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Let me take this opportunity to thank you for once again choosing to be guests at the Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, and for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share with us your view on your stay at our exquisite resort.

It is most pleasing to know that you enjoyed our superb services, from our well-kept rooms, pools, beach, tennis court to our annual New Year’s Eve Gala Dinner and Festivities. Your kind words about our friendly, entertaining and attentive staff have been well received and we will be sure to inform the respective managers to commend them on a job well done.

That being said, I would just like to inform you that the Jacuzzi by the pool bar area is in fact not heated as it is not a hot tub. We sincerely do regret any dissatisfaction that may have been brought about by this.

We however, do hope that in the near future, should you decide on visiting our beautiful island of Jamaica again, that we will be given the opportunity of serving you once more.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Thank you to all the staff who made this vacation so nice and stressless... The ocean was beautiful, the food as good as it can be in a resort, the rooms very nice and the outside layout was awesome. The New Year's party on the beach was exceptionnal and fireworks incredible !
We were 11 people and it was never a problem to sit all together at restaurants or on the beach.
The resort is very clean and well kept. You never feel that you are in a crowd and everything is smooth and easy.
The lobby would be so much more interesting and inviting if it was more open on the outside, towards the spectacular grounds and ocean... Peolple go to the tropics to be outside and have the opportunity to sip a drink on a terrace watching the sun go down or the stars come out ! It would be easy to modify the actual architecture !
We were also wondering about all the (excellent) food that is leftover everyday... Is there a way to make Jamaicans able to get it ?
Once again a special thanks to all the hard working staff who make this resort a place you want to go back...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of all the staff and particularly the management team at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, we would like to thank you for not only choosing our wonderful resort to spend your family vacation, but also for taking the time to share with the online community, how your holiday went at Iberostar.

The Management and Staff at Iberostar Resorts are committed to providing the right ambience, services and facilities which satisfies our guests’ requirements and we are indeed extremely pleased to understand from your kind comments, that you have had an enjoyable vacation at our resort. In addition, your comments about the lobby being more open to the grounds and ocean will be passed on to management for them to take it into consideration, as we are always looking for ways to continually improve upon our services.
Please note, that with regards to the food that is left over each day, majority of the food is available to our employees in the canteen and we also have a program in place that ensures that the remaining food does not go to waste.

In closing we would like to thank you again for choosing Iberostar and we sincerely look forward to serving you in the future.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We recently returned from a 1 week vacation at the Iberostar Rose Hall Suites (January 5-12). It was a family vacation with two adults and two children, ages 7 and 9. I should start out by saying that we have visited a lot of all inclusive resorts, all over the Caribbean which we use as comparisons. Last year we attended a resort in the Dominican Republic which had great reviews but turned out to be terrible, over half of the resort, including myself became terribly ill. Vowing not to tempt fate a second time, we chose Jamaica instead of the Dominican. In light of this bad experience, I was some what apprehensive upon arriving at the Rose Hall Suites, as the reviews had also been great on Trip Advisor. The only bump in the road occurred once we arrived at the front desk for noon and were told that the room would not be ready for another few hours. We took this time to do some exploring of the resort and have some lunch. We had ordered a pool view room and upon returning at 3pm our room still was not ready. To avoid any further delay, the front desk person changed our room to an ocean view room and apologized for any inconvenience. Although I was still apprehensive, that this might be a sign of things to come, I was pleasantly surprised to find that this was not be the case. Our entire trip was fantastic, the staff at the Iberostar Rose Hall Suites were top notch, highly professional from cleaning to entertainment staff, all were gracious and polite.Our room was more than satisfactory and well laid out for the entire family to utilize, the pull out couch came in very handy when the adults were in need of a good nights sleep. After being severely ill in the Dominican last year, I was afraid that the water or food would somehow effect my digestive system in Jamaica. However the opposite was true, the food in all restaurants was very good, overall the dining experience for the week was terrific. My 9 year old son is not too adventurous when it comes to food but after seeing all that the resort had to offer, he and I tried a large variety of different foods and drank a lot of water. Nobody in our family became the slightest bit sick which usually makes or breaks a persons view of a good vacation. If you are looking for a great and safe family getaway, you will not be disappointed the Rose Hall Suites. I agree with the other reviewer, that the entire week was very windy, causing the sea water to become cloudy but this is something that is beyond anyones control and can't be used as a negative strike against the resort. In speaking to the local people, the high winds were unusual and once they die down the water becomes crystal clear once again. We certainly spent more for this resort than the one in the Dominican Republic, although both had 4 and a half star ratings, but it was worth every cent!

Room Tip: Saturday night is beach night, so the music is very loud up to 11pm, after that and all week, no com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Please allow us to use this opportunity to express to you, our sincere gratitude for not only choosing to spend your holiday at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, but also for taking the time to share with us your comments on your stay at our hotel.

With that being said, it certainly gives us a great deal of contentment upon hearing that you have had a remarkable experience while vacationing at our hotel, your kind remarks about our rooms, food, and hospitable staff, are well received as this will go a far way in further motivating our teams to continue improving on our already sublime standards.

It would be our greatest joy to serve you once more, should you ever return to our beautiful island of Jamaica, as we consider it an absolute pleasure to have had you vacation with us. Again, thank you for choosing Iberostar.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We just came home from a week at Rosehall suites and enjoyed a great time . The service was always good and always on Jamaican time... We received a room with 2 double bed , not exactly what we wanted but it worked , bed was comfortable . Location , location , location is key to a good room , dryers can keep you awake by 6:30 am .Take a lighted mirror from home very dark room for doing your make-up. Because it is winter it was a little rainy and had lots of wind . The swim up pool was chilly and made for a quick swim up and a hasty retreat . Aunt Ruby was our favorite restaurant and we had a awesome rib eye steak .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of the management and staff at the Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, I would like to thank you first and foremost for choosing to be guests at our resort and also for taking the time out of your busy schedule to enlighten us and the online community with your appraisal of your visit with us.

It has been an absolute honor to have hosted you, and it is most gratifying to know that you had a wonderful time while vacationing with us and that you were overly pleased with the food at the Aunt Ruby’s Steakhouse restaurant.

We are extremely pleased to understand from your kind comments that overall, you had a very enjoyable time at our resort and we therefore genuinely hope that we will once again have the absolute pleasure of serving you in the near future.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed December 26, 2012 to January 5, 2013. On January 4 between 7pm and 9pm our room was broken into and two Blackberries were stollen along with $160 cash. Management were quick to respond when we reported the theft but they ran a scan on our door which indicated that no one had entered our room while we were at dinner. They suggested that we had left our door open when we went out. We absolutely did not walk out of our hotel room for dinner and leave the door open. They shut automatically behind you. I had read other reviews on Trip Advisor that people had items stolen from their rooms so beware.

I have to say though that we tried hard not to let this bad experience on our last night taint our holiday because other than that we had a lovely time.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing to stay at the Iberostar Rose Hall Suites and for also taking the time out to share your reviews on your stay with us. It certainly gives us a great deal of satisfaction to know that you have had a lovely time at our luxurious resort.

With that being said, we sincerely regret to have heard that your valuables and cash went missing from your room while vacationing with us. However, a thorough investigation was done as it relates to your missing items, and it was concluded that no staff accessed your room during the time frame you believed your items went missing. We would also like to remind you that all rooms are equipped with safety deposit boxes. Please note, as it relates to the room doors, we in fact do not have room doors that automatically close themselves, they have to be closed manually.

Again we do regret that your items went missing while vacationing with us, but we are thrilled to know that despite this setback, you still had a lovely time with us. In closing, we again thank you for choosing Iberostar and hope that we will once again have the pleasure of serving you at our resort in the near future.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at this resort the week before Christmas.

The Good :
- Room clean and spacious, with beautiful views
- Food was very good
- Entertainment team was amazing and very friendly
- Beach and ocean were beautiful, and the weather was great
- Small waterpark, and kid-friendly

The Bad :
- Lacking a separate wading pool for kids
- Landscaping and vegetation were average
- No animals on site. Usually kids are delighted with multicolor fish, turtles... They add more "life" and could easily take place in the useless fountains which add nothing.
- Waiters and reception staff not very warm, with some exceptions

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Let me begin by expressing our sincere gratitude on behalf of the staff and management team at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, for choosing to be valued guests of our lovely resort. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to send us your comments on your holiday with Iberostar.

With this in mind, we are truly thrilled hearing of your satisfaction with cleanliness of the rooms, the beautiful beach and waterpark, the food, and entertainment provided by our entertainment staff. Please note that we do in fact have 2 separate wading pools for children which are located at the Kids Club and can be used by any child between the ages of 6-12 years. We have also noted your suggestion to have some animals on property and will be sure to inform the respective manager. That being said, we would like to use this opportunity to express our genuine regrets if you found that some of the waiters and reception staff were not very warm but however assure you that this is certainly not a true depiction of our standards of operation.

In closing, we again thank you for choosing Iberostar and hope that we will once again have the pleasure of serving you at our resort in the near future.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Rose Hall Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Rose Hall Suites

Address: Rose Hall Main Rd | Rose Hall, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rose Hall
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#2 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Rose Hall Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Iberostar Rose Hall Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Rose Hall Hotel Rose Hall
Iberostar Montego Bay
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites Jamaica - Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.