We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irie Mon!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rose Hall Rd, Rose Hall, Montego Bay 000000, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Leisure Escapes
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Rose Hall
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Irie Mon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Went there over the Christmas holidays. Had a great time with the family. I really liked the layout of the resort. Waterpark was nice. One good slide and a decent lazy river. Can’t compare to Atlantis but way better than Beaches Turks and Caicos. We went a couple of times. The kids did the tubing, which is huge inflatable that two people lie down on and then towed at high speeds behind a motorboat. You book it by the dock beyond the waterpark. It was 50$ for two people for 15 minutes and the kids had a great time. There is also banana boat, snorkeling and scuba options. We saw a lot of people bring their own tennis racquets. There were courts behind the hotel. You are going to have the play the “towel game” in the morning. Every resort we have been is like this. Get up early in the morning and reserve your chair (especially if you want something by the pool!). The Aquafit classes in the morning were fun if not a tad crowded. There is also a room with PS, Xbox and Wii for the kids/teens. They had decent selection of games. It was much better than Xbox play lounge at Beaches (where there were often demos or not working). We went to Dunn’s falls in Orchos Rios. We took the tour bus which was 60$ pp. We did look at the option of getting a driver but the cost did not seem that much different. The Falls were beautiful and definitely more exciting that I expected. I thought it was going to be just some tranquil scenery watching but it turned into ecoadventure thrill. We also went to the Shoppes at Rose Hall. It was minutes away by direct shuttle bus, which goes/departs every half an hour from the resort’s entrance. We did not go into the jewelry stores but there were just as many souvenir, T-shirt and food/alcohol stores. You can bargain and the prices were actually better than the beach side vendors at the resort!

Food was pretty good. The Fresh restaurant is buffet and your only choice for breakfast. The French toast was incredible. There were very popular omelet stations. Lunch is either at Mangoes BBQ, which is by the water park and has great jerk chicken, or Seaside Grill restaurant, which is sit down restaurant, great view and has even better jerk pork. We called and booked dinner at the other restaurants a few days before we arrived in Jamaica. I would definitely recommend you do this if you are going during the holiday season. There are four places, Seaside Grill, Luna di Mare, Three Palms, and BBQ dinner (at Mangoes). None of them were outstanding but we were glad we went. Unlike other resorts we have been to, there were all open to children so it was nice to sit down with the entire family for a nice dinner. Other nights were at Fresh restaurant which had a great selection. Great pasta bar (worth the wait!) and make sure to try some of Jamaican dishes. The bread at everyplace was incroyable. We found out later that one of the reason is that the resort bakes all their own bread.

We had a partial ocean view room. It faced inwards toward the pool and had a nice view. One problem is that the nightly entertainment is on the stage above the pool and is loud. It stops at 1030pm at night but there is some noise from the open bar which is located on the second floor of the complex. Didn’t really bother us since we were pooped by the end of the day but you can hear people talking past midnight. If you have anyone who is a light sleeper then you may want to get a room not facing the pool area. Our room was on the 5th floor and water pressure and hot water was not an issue for us. The room was very basic. It was very clean but don’t expect too much. You can tell the rooms have probably not been updated in some time since there are very few electrical outlets. There were none by the bedside and few by the desk on the opposite wall. In this age of every family member having at least one electronic device, we were glad we brought our traveling electrical power bar. The wi-fi issue was not really a problem. They had a nice and spacious wi-fi lounge, in which the wi-fi was free. One you connected, then you had free wi-fi for the next 24 hours even if you went back to your room. The only one caveat is that the signal in your room was quite weak. It was fine reading the newspaper or email but you are not going to be able watch any Youtube videos from your room.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We learned that the staff earn minimum wage. They make about 1$ per hour. Many have to work long hours or overtime. We tipped at least one to two dollars or more. It makes a big difference to them! We really enjoyed the nightly entertainment. Being centrally located, it really drew the guests in the hotel together. Some of the entertainers, especially the singers, were really professional. The other guests in the hotel were all very polite. My theory is that it is because the majority were Canadian. During one of the nightly events, the hostess had 5 children volunteers. When she asked where they were from, 4 of the 5 said they were from Toronto! The TV channel selection also includes CBC Toronto and City TV!

We would definitely come back. Despite some of the negatives, the overall place was great. Jamaica also has an incredible culture with music, food, history (and of course the fastest man on the planet), which other islands do not have. I really liked the smallness and friendliness of the place which I could not find at Atlantis or Beaches Turks and Caicos. Irie Mon!

Room Tip: Do you not get a room that faces inner court yard if you are a light sleeper or have young children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,984
    1,406
    511
    106
    82
See reviews for
2,012
1,065
52
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Varna, Bulgaria
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Booked through "resort for the day" as part of our cruise and stayed for about 6 hours. We came with our 3 and a half year old daughter who loved the kiddies waterslides which are seperated into 3 parts. She could do it with my help (I went first and then caught her) and would have kept going all day she enjoyed it so much.
Didnt eat much (plenty available on cruise) but had some cocktails including the cocktail of the day which was very strong! Were longish queues for the drinks all day (5-10 mins) and the beach was quite small, but overall we had a great day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed there Jan2-10th, Flew with West Jet, small delay due to staff shortage, arrived safely, customs no problem and quick. We had ride waiting for us and arrived at hotel within 30 min .Check-in was flawless, very friendly and was offered a higher floor, which we took (6th floor east wing) Room was large, clean, coffee maker and fridge, with water and a wonderful bed...
Our balcony faced pool, ocean and port of the entrance, always something to look at when sitting there. The hotel has a great Wi-Fi area, sometimes its slow, They have a free shuttle to "The Shoppes" which is a duty free mall, but small
FOOD..I can't say anything but great about it, at all the restaurants and locations, Fresh was terrific, with so much variety, no one would go hunger or want for anything, hats off to Silvester, who can have 6 omelette pans and orders on the go at all times, and if it happens to be slow, he'll do the waffles also.The Seaside Restaurant was also great for burgers, wraps etc and the staff would serve you at the pool they always had a smile and asked if they could do anything for you.
Specialty restaurants were fabulous,they even added a extra one at Christmas for the amount of people that were at resort, "B.B.Q was great.. Luna Mar was my favourite, hats off to manager Mark and Nathan the server .Three Palms also a hit, shuttle to it and a romantic setting, and great food.
Our favourite bar was Bar King Frog daytime server "Norrette" hats off. It was a great place to have a drink before dinner.
Housekeeping was attentive and if you left requests for some extra, they were there, we loved "Duanne" she was always singing while she did rooms.
Beautiful golf course, grounds and pool areas always well kept by attendants.
Waterpark a hoot for both young and older, attendents willing to find chairs for you.
We always had hot water and good pressure in our room, air worked great.
We had a wonderful vacation and can't wait to return.
Hats off to ALL directors that run the resorts, as a team they are doing a wonderful job, and cant do enough to please the vacationers .

Room Tip: West wing, quiet, nice view, we had the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timonium, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Our family (eleven adults, 5 kids, ages 2, 7, 9, 12 and 15) spent the Christmas and New Year holidays (8 days) at Rose Hall. We had the time of our lives! Santa came on Christmas Day and had a gift for each kid at the resort! The staff was warm and friendly and catered to all, especially the kids. Brandon at the Registration Desk was professional, competent and efficient. The rooms were clean and spacious with great views. Entertainment was fun, with a magician one night, fire eaters, local dancers and great music! New Year's Eve celebration was marvelous. Staff distributed hats, horns, leis, beads and noisemakers. We rang in the new year on the beach with a bonfire, countdown and lots of music. The dining experience was wonderful! We were able to get reservations in ALL the specialty restaurants, no small feat with 16 people! We celebrated our granddaughter's 15th birthday at Luna (Italian restaurant) and it was delicious! The staff made the "birthday girl" feel so special! The staff at Fresh (casual dining restaurant) was unbelievable! The day we arrived I introduced myself to the hostesses and explained that our large family had gathered from all over the world to be together for the holidays. EACH NIGHT we ate in Fresh, the staff reserved a large table for us in the back of the restaurant. The food was delicious! Even the kids found foods they loved! The curry quesadilla bar was a favorite and we looked forward to the "made to order" stations each day and evening, including omelettes at breakfast. Rob, the F & B director, introduced himself as we were arriving at the hotel, and checked in with us each time he saw our group. He and his team are outstanding! We spent our days poolside at Lazy River and at the beach. The slides, River and swim up bar were a hit with adults and kids. The bar staff is fun and the drinks were generous! We had a 30 minute photo session with Travis and he captured our trip with great pics! We have decided to make this an annual trip. Thanks, Rose Hall staff, for helping us start a new family tradition! See you next year!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is my second time in Jamaica, the first time I stayed at the Ritz, but unfortunately it is closed for renovation. Normally the Hiltons are a great stay and great value. I was less than impressed with this one. I paid $450, for one night since we are headed to Negril, Rockhouse Hotel. Even though it was all inclusive I still decided for one night to eat off the resort. Thank god I did. The food was not authentic and was very generic. I guess this place is good for amenities for families, but not good for making them lol. Security was called on us for no reason, apparently someone was smoking in the rooms. My first thought even though it wasn't us, relax it's Jamaica. Overall, coming from the Riu all inclusive in Costa Rica a month ago, this was a sad stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Hilton_RH, Manager at Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments about our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are very sorry for the fact that you were not impressed for the one day that you stayed with us.

We sincerely apologize for falling short of your expectations as this is not typical of the high standards we strive to maintain.

We hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you better in the future.

Best regards,

Jaap van Dam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This resort is the perfect places for families. Although the week we stayed no children were present the adults took full advantage of the slide, pool games and lazy river. Our room was standard two queen bed room with a beautiful view of the coast and the sunrise over the mountains. I recommend an ocean view room or an exterior room as the interior rooms look over the top of a roof and the entertainment in the courtyard may be heard through the evening hours. Nice they provide a drying rack on the balcony just beware of winds that may blow your bathing suit on. (maybe pack a few clothes pins) The staff here is wonderful and appear to radiate a joyfulness while providing services. A tip to the pool guy goes a long way to get the perfect spot and chairs to relax by the pool. If you have a big group chairs can be hard to find. I recommend the fish cakes, swordfish and curry shrimp at the Seaside Restaurant and don't miss the lasagna at Luna.

Room Tip: Outer facing rooms have ocean view and either a mountain view or golf course view. Inner facing roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed for a week at the Hilton Rose Hall. Great property and excellent staff. Was part of a customer incentive trip of over 1,000 guest. Was amazed at how well the group parties and dinners were managed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa

Address: Rose Hall Rd, Rose Hall, Montego Bay 000000, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rose Hall
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 488
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Rose Hall Resort And Spa
Hilton Rose Hall Hotel Rose Hall
Rose Hall Hotel
Hilton Hotels Montego Bay
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa Jamaica - Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.