We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation of a lifetime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rose Hall Rd, Rose Hall, Montego Bay 000000, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$209 (USD)
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Rose Hall
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Vacation of a lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I can't begin to describe what a lovely time I had.
The staff was amazing from maids to servers Devroy & Kevin were exceptional!!!
We did leave the property once to go shopping at Rose Hall but really never felt the need to. I wanted for NOTHING.
I had read trip advisor before I left and brought a $150. In American dollar bills for tipping, I still came back with money.
Don't know where I'm going next year for vacation but the Hilton Rose will be high on the list to do again

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,827
    1,263
    437
    95
    70
See reviews for
1,787
995
48
174
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were 3 generations of women and child and we had a fantastic time here in October 2013. The water park was great, non motorized water sports were fun, we used the gym and water aerobics, the weather, food and drinks were unbelivable and we enjoyed the nightly entertainment. Highly recommend this.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Have just returned from my 10th time at the Rose Hall .We always enjoyed it but it has been going down hill since becoming a Hilton resort. The drinks(spirits) are cheap rubbish, cocktails we used to love are sweet and sickly. Most days I ended up drinking tap water or diet coke but even that was a problem most days as pump broke. You cant even get Jamaican Appleton rum
they use another countries rum. The top shelf drinks are all gone now.
The last river and swim up bar.... what has happened. pool needs major work, tiles missing grubby. the bottom of the pool has gone, in grained dirt, its not cleaning but replacing is needed. The water pressure is low too. swim up bar is smelly and dirty and full of wasps.
The beach has lost most of the sand and the sea comes in much more than used to(not hotels fault)but as a result hardly any beach.
The first week hotel had so many conventions it was one after another
large groups of Adults drinking smoking pot and swearing round the pools, many kids around. Resturants would have loud drunks, couldn't hear each other during our meals.
Food is still good except the Italian, never been good in ten years, The Three Palms is wonderful.
good buffet too.
The teen zone is a flee pit. smells out dated games. my son bought from home controller as last year not working, 12 months later still not working. One of the rooms has been turned in to a junk room.
Jamaican staff still wonderful, so helpful and happy.
Shame hotel managers don't value our custom like their staff. Having spent about 5 months in total in this hotel they are not interested. When hotel manager asked how did check in go. we said that at time of booking we requested low floor 1 or 2 we were given 5th, he said you cant expect us to hold rooms for you if I can sell them I will. Nice for a repeat guest to hear. Then we told them room was too noisy and room lock not working can we move they said 7th floor only even though hotel was 60% full. Get the impression we are not wanted. Will not be back

Room Tip: go else where plenty new hotels out there this need total refurb
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Hilton_RH, Manager at Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear multi repeat guest,

Thank you for your 10th visit to our beautiful hotel. We are terribly sorry to hear that your experience at our hotel was disappointing compared to your previous visit and did not we were not able to deliver to your expectations.

It is also disappointing to see that you did not feel appreciated as multi repeat guest as the hotel always tries to provide that bit of extras to our repeat guest and I know for a fact that we did that for you as well. I wish you would have made me aware while on property as total satisfaction of our guests is of utmost importance to us and we strive to provide a memorable experience to everyone.

Please accept my personal apology. Once again, we thank you for sharing your experiences and we welcome the opportunity to have you and your family to return to our beautiful resort.

Best regards,


Jaap van Dam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

It was a family trip,3 kids,my wife and myself.The kids were very excited over the water park and pool much to mentioned the food.We all had a very enjoyable time.Looking forward for another trip in the veryu near future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Dahlia

My Mom and I stayed here during the last week in October 2013. Mom is originally from Jamaica, goes back from time to time and usually stays with family near Kingston. However, this time she wanted a luxury beach break, and the Hilton certainly provided that.

The beach and gardens.
Don't expect miles upon miles of fine white sand - you would need to go to Negril for that. The beach is small, there are some rocks and seaweed washes up daily. But I can't speak highly enough of the ground staff who work all day to clear the seaweed, clean the beaches, mow the lawns, clip the hedges and look after the plants and flowers. These men work HARD, during the blazing heat from early morning until late at night. They are not in direct contact with the guests so probably miss out on the compliments and tips, but personally; a big thank you from mom and I.

The lifeguards are fantastic! Friendly, helpful, knowledgeable, skilled with the boats and fun. Berton, Gavin and your colleague (whose name I can't remember) thank you so much guys for looking after us and looking out for us. If you do read this, I really will make time to come out in the sailing boat with you next time!

Entertainment.
There are daily activities by the beach such as 'guess the name of the song', crab-racing' etc... and plenty of things for the kids to do. We were there on October 31st Halloween, and the evening show was absolutely spectacular. The performers must have put hours and hours of practice into the dances. We loved the 'Little Red Riding Hood' dance and were blown away by the dancer spinning both the 'girl in red' and the 'girl in white' at the same time. If you are from the UK, this dance would have been a real show stopper on the television ballroom dancing programme, called 'Strictly Come Dancing'.

Dining.
This is the only area which disappointed a little. We felt that the food was sometimes adapted too much to American and European taste.There is a wide variety of food and drinks to choose from, but it would be nice if one restaurant (possibly the Seaside Grill ) served authentic Jamaican food such as Jerk Chicken and Escovitch fish that is proper hot. The shrimp balls were heavy and doughy with very little shrimp at all, but the fish tea is really nice.

The Palms restaurant is fabulous fine dining. Dress elegantly, relax and enjoy the ambiance. You get driven there in a shuttle bus (it's only a five minute drive) and the food is nice. The Luna Del Mare restaurant offers Italian cuisine, and is not to be missed for its wonderful setting. Again, dress in your finest. I have to say though that here, the food did not match the surroundings. The chicken was bland, the cabbage and carrots undercooked and the fish lacked flavour. The Tiramissu however, was wonderful as was the ice-cream. Our waiter, Colin was superb, attentive but not obtrusive, polite and genuinely concerned that we were happy. You have to make reservations for dinner at all three restaurants. Note to management: Food portions are huge and it is sad to see how much goes to waste.

Rooms
We were on the fifth floor, overlooking the golf course and sea - a perfect paradise! This is the quieter side of the hotel, as it is away from the bandstand. Breakfast on the balcony our first morning was heavenly, but the portion sizes were just too big. Our room was thoroughly cleaned every day and re-stocked with bottled water, coffee (there's a coffee making machine and fridge) and fresh towels. There is a room safe for which you select you own code. The Housekeepers work really, really hard and appreciate any tip given.

Service.
The staff are truely first class! Front of house are super professional, waiters thoroughly trained, cleaners and ground staff take pride in their work and security is excellent. They are a credit to the hotel, to themselves and to Jamaica and deserve every tip they get.

My final word...
The lifeguards - love you guys!

Room Tip: Choose the west side overlooking the golf course and sea, for peace, quiet and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Recently returned from a 5-night stay. First time staying at an all-inclusive. Overall we had a very positive experience at the Hilton. There were some definite highlights to our stay. However, there are some missed opportunities at the property that could really make it a 5* (relative to the moderate price category) resort. Overall, a moderately-priced property that is a reasonable value good for both families and couples.

Pros:
Great locations close to the Montego Bay airport. Private beach that is isolated from beach vendors (if that bothers you). Adjacent golf course and rooms with views of the mountains, golf course and water. Moments of truly spectacular service: the airline lost one of our bags and we did not receive for over 24 hours. Hotel helped us get clothes, offered free laundry and handled communications with the airlines. Concierges also set us up with a GREAT driver for two days to take us around the island (ask for Thurston Gordon). Day time dining was good. Enjoyed the jerk chicken / pork and shrimp fritters. FRESH for breakfast was good. I am not a big breakfast person but liked the local Jamaican offerings -- just wish they had more of them (typically 1-2 of them only). The fresh fruit was the best. Never had fruit of this quality. However, wish some of the offerings they had at dinner time (much more fruit offered) were available for breakfast. Ate at 2 of the 3 fine dining restaurants. Three Palms was very nice -- on the golf course. Jamaican focused food. However -- I found as most hotels do, they tone down the food to cater to tourist palettes. I wish they would have kept it more authentic. Luna Di Mare (Italian) was very good (but not great) Italian and a good break if you are looking for it. Dinner buffet offerings were good and had different themes every night -- again the fruit offerings were the true highlight. Alcohol quality was right down the middle. Not top shelf but good brands nonetheless (including some Appleton products). Red Stripe on tap. Nice swim up bar at the water park. While we did not take advantage of them - good non-motorized activities (including kayaks and sailboats). One day we got a cabana by the ocean. Very good value and relaxing - service was great in the morning but tailed off a little in the afternoon. Availability of pool chairs, etc were plentiful when we did not have a cabana. Rooms were a good size with nice size balconies. As we had a partial ocean view room - we were very happy. However, we could see some "resort" view rooms (especially on the lower floors) that had poor views. Good in-room A/C. As a Hilton Diamond member, on-site service and amenities were great. Nice fitness facility. Good WiFi.

Cons: As other people have mentioned, the rooms and common areas are starting to show some wear and could use an update. Also ventilation in the hallways was lacking - they need to get some better airflow through there (very musty / moldy smelling). A little more attention to detail by housekeeping would be good (make sure toiletries are re-stocked every day and timing of turn-down service is a little more consistent). Many of the servers were exceptional. However some seemed indifferent as well (Fresh and King Frog Bar). A little more attentive poolside service would have been nice (generally had to get up and get your own drinks, etc unless you found a good server and gave them a tip). Evening entertainment could be much improved and more varied (some great music outside / better bar service would have completely changed our evening experience). Water park was great but they need to do something about the lack of tubes for the lazy river. Beach is indeed small as some people have mentioned -- talking to some regulars, it seems that the beach has "shrunk" over the years as the tides have come in. I'm wondering if there is something they could do about it. That said, still plenty of room to lay out on the beach. Bathrooms were small in our room. Beds were ok but we have had better ones in resort properties

Room Tip: Stick to tropical or ocean view rooms. I would avoid resort views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayport, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This year, we took our 4th trip to Hilton Rose Hall. We usually take at least 2 vacations per year, and HRH has been 1 of them for the past few years. This has been continuously earned by their service, food, management, staff and overall hospitality.

The travelers are my wife and I, along with 2 daughters - ages 4 and 8 (they celebrated their birthdays there). We decided to splurge and spent 3 weeks this year. Please note, this is an EXCELLENT resort for families, groups and weddings. If you are just a young couple or single, this won't be for you. We prefer the American hotel feel to the resort inside - good materials, actual carpeting (not tiles) in the hallways, big lobby area, while the rooms are a good mix of hotel/Caribbean resort. The outside resort area is distinctly Caribbean, with a good mix of American and Jamaican food (which was authentic).

All of the staff did an excellent job making us feel at home and welcomed. I wanted to give special thanks to the management (rare find): Ingrid Bailey, Jaap van Dam, Ronald Day, Soshanya Jackson, Andrea Whyte. They made us feel welcomed and we had great conversations.

We look forward to going there again early next year with a bigger group.

Room Tip: Become a Hilton Hhonors member. 2 sides of the resort - one is the quiet side (by the golf course) i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa

Address: Rose Hall Rd, Rose Hall, Montego Bay 000000, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rose Hall
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 488
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Rose Hall Resort And Spa
Hilton Rose Hall Hotel Rose Hall
Rose Hall Hotel
Hilton Hotels Montego Bay
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa Jamaica - Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.