We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rose Hall Rd, Rose Hall, Montego Bay 000000, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Leisure Escapes
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Rose Hall
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great family vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Traveled with: husband & 2 sons (ages 4 &6) as well as another family with 2 young children

Lodging: Hotel room was comfortable and clean. We requested and received a resort-view room upon check in (vs the ocean view) which is considered an upgrade, as we were informed that the ocean view rooms are louder. Hot water sometimes went late afternoon, but it was never a problem for us.

Food: Pretty good - we are not that picky and had no problems with it. There was a big variety, and the kids could eat well. The a la cart restaurants were ok - 3 Palms was the best, and a nice golf view. We didn't enjoy the Italian restaurant as much, nor the seafood one. It was easy enough to get reservations, although for earlier times (i.e.-6 p.m.) we were booked towards the end of our stay. The grille by the beach is amazing (great chicken!) and they also have jerk chicken over lunch time there too. Better than eating at the buffet (Fresh) for lunch.

Staff: Staff was overall friendly, although there were some surly ones. We just avoided them! Tipping even just $1 is appreciated.

Swimming pools: The chairs get taken by towels very early - so if you are picky about where you sit go early to get your chair! They do not take towels off chairs after 60 minutes as they say they do. The main pool overlooks the ocean, and is where the aquafit takes place. The "kiddie" pool includes the lazy river, and 2 waterslides. My boys were too small for the big waterslide (with the tube) but enjoyed the smaller ones. Sometimes the tubes get taken by people just sitting in them to drink by the bar, but if you swim around you are bound to find some in the water.

Beach: It does get lots of seaweed, and is rocky by the shore. It's a small beach, but apparently there is an adult-only beach (we did not go there). They have lots of non-motorized water activities that are included, and generally not much of a wait for them. We tried kayaking and the sail boat - both are fun. The motorized sports cost money but you can bargain. We went on the banana boat with the kids and had tons of fun. Beach chairs are easier to find than pool chairs.

Kids Club: I wish we discovered this earlier on during our trip! The boys loved going to Kids Club. It was our first vacation that they were comfortable being away from us (and vice versa). The kids club was very organized/structured, including a schedule board outside of the club. The staff was very friendly and caring, and interacted well with the kids. They even had a tennis lesson for 45 minutes which both my boys loved. Other activities included crafts (small fee for some of them, like bracelets, etc), treasure hunts, games. The games (musical chairs, races, etc) included amazing prizes (souvenirs, musical instruments). The sand area was covered, and huge. Toys were modern and well-kept. My kids did not want to leave Kids Club!

Excursions: We went on the the Johns Hall excursion which included a drive through downtown Montego Bay, visit to a church, a local school, and John's Hall plantation. We all enjoyed the tour, and actually got the kids in for free.

Spa: Did not take advantage of services, however I did get my hair braided (one braid) for $2.50.

Overall a great resort, we would go back - especially knowing how much our sons loved Kids Club. We did go in a busy time (Spring break) but it was not too bad. The resort is not too far from the airport and there is a free shuttle.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the resort/kiddie pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,987
    1,408
    511
    107
    82
See reviews for
2,016
1,067
52
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was my first time out of the country and we came here for a girls trip. We chose the Hilton rose hall resort because of its location, the costs, and previous reviews. I was a little skeptical only because on prior vacations we hadn't always had the best experience with all inclusive resorts. Well let me tell u I knew this was going to be fabulous as soon as we got off the plane! We chose to pay extra and have a private driver that the resort offers which was well worth it. It saved alot of confusion and time while trying to get to the resort.
Once we arrived, check in was super easy thanks to the very pretty girls at the front desk, and our room was in a great location..218. The room was decent size and clean which is most important. It even had high end toilet trees which says a lot. The overall size of the resort was perfect. Nothing ever felt to far away, which can happen at larger resorts. There is a gym and spa on site as well as a little lobby with wifi that you can use.
There is a lot of activities going on at all times around the resort if your into that kind off stuff. Such as kayaks, this sailboat thing which is sooo fun, corn hole, a lazy river, water slides etc. As well as entertainment at night.
The food was good too. There is two outside bar and grill restaurants which are super connvient to get a table and grab a bite to eat for lunch, there is also a lunch buffet inside. There is a breakfast buffet every morning with any type of breakfast food that exists. For dinner there are two smaller restaurants you are able to choose from, and a themed buffet eveynite. If your interested in eating at the restaurants I will say make your reservation immediately upon checkcking in, because they do book up quick. There was a wide variety of drinks available from mixed drinks, to beer, some wine, and shots. My favorite drink by far was called a 711! The nightlife at the resort was decent depending on what you like too do. There was an outside bar on the main level, which got pretty crowded at night time. I would imagine because of the fabulous bar tender by the name of leonell. Another place to go to is a medium size bar/club inside the resort called cricket. There is a dj who takes request, and a stage if your feeling crazy. There we met a young man by the name of Shevon Wellington. He works in the activities department at the resort. He was one of the most sociable, polite, respectfull, and attentive employees we met at the resort during our stay. He made our vacation so much fun. Between recommending activities to try, and just overall interested in making sure you have the best time of your life. Working in an industry that is based on customer service, he is DEFIANTLEY an asset to the Hilton staff. I cannot say enough good things. :)
The only downfall during our stay was the weather. It was not the best, but believe me we had a blast the entire time thanks to the Hilton staff. We were sad to go, but will defiantley be back for round too!

Room Tip: Anything on the main level had the best access around the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We went to this resort in June 2012 with 20 family members for our wedding and a 2 week break. The hotel is gorgeous and we received a room upgrade on arrival to a ocean front that over looked the beach and gazebo where we would get married. All the family had golf course view rooms, which were equally lovely. The hotel facilities were great, but most of all the food is outstanding! Yolandi our wedding planner was very attentive and looked after us very well. Even the day before the wedding we decided to move the time forward to 3pm instead of 5pm as we were unaware it starts getting dark about 6pm in June. She called the priest to make the change. Yolandi colour matched our bouquets and button holes with my bridesmaid dress and they were stunning. Are wedding day was perfection. We conducted our vows on the beach and then went up to the gazebo to sign the marriage register. We also decided to cut the cake, champagne reception and conduct our speeches in the gazebo as the sun went down as the three palms restaurant (where our reception was held) would of had other dinners there so we wanted it more intimate. The three palms was our favourite restaurant as you over looked the golf course. Our wedding pictures were conducted on the green outside the gazebo and my husband and i went on the golf course for ours. The staff were fantastic and this holiday is one that all the family are still talking about. The only suggestion i would give the resort would be to have a beach bar open in the evenings as we found it quite repeatable to go to the same bar in the evening unless you went to the nightclub. This resort is great for couples and families and it was fantasic to have your own private hotel beach as we realised from day day trip to Negril you do get harrassed to buy things at Negril beach. Highly recommend the golf course it is beautifil! They clean the beach constantly to make sure there is as little weed as possible on the beach as possible and the room maids make sure your room is always clean. The beds are the most comfortable beds we have slept in!!!!! Our family constantly speak about a return trip, so hopefully one day we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel never disappoints. Our 5th year here. Great people, service, accommodations and food. The beach and ocean are marvelous. Rooms are nice and the AC really works, which isn't always the case at other resorts.

Like most resorts, you'll need to make reservations at three of the restaurants. Get to the service desk early in the morning to make reservations.

We rent one of the cabanas so we aren't in the sun all day. They cost $50 per day, but well worth it. You get personal service with food and drinks.

We especially like dining at Three Palms (outdoor dining at the golf club house) and Lund di Mare (indoors).

This year, I finally played golf at Cinnamon Hills. What a beautiful course along the ocean and into the mountains. Expect to pay about $200 for a round including cart and caddy. Our caddy, Murine, was fantastic. Really knows how to line up your putts.

Mangoes is a great place to have lunch. Be sure to ask for Shernette and tell her Tom and Hope say hello.

The only "complaint" I have is that you need 60,000 Hilton Honors points per night. As a Hilton Diamond member, they treated us like royalty. We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Went to this hotel in 2010 and had a great experience. Stayed there last week and really felt that the place had gone down hill a bit.
The positives:
- Housekeeping staff were wonderful and did their best with the rooms
- Fresh restaurant (buffet) had diverse menus each night

The negatives:
- For the amount of money we paid I would expect nicer rooms nd a better experence
- Bedding was good but the sink and shower were clogged
- Three Palms portion size was very small.
- Reservations were hard to come by for the higher end restaurants.
- If you are on the pool side of the hotel it is loud until 10:30pm or so
- They eliminated the premium package for alcohol
- Staff seemed hit or miss, some were very helpful and others were not

I think we will be trying the iberostar next time. Heard some nice things about that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobdeBekker, Manager at Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Recent Guest,

I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I understand that you were disappointed and that we came short of delivering what you are accustomed to expect from us. I truly apologize if this was the case and I can assure you that I will definitely keep your review in mind to improve our on-property experience. We appreciate your business and sincerely apologize that we did not provide you with the level of quality that you are accustomed to receive from us. We do everything we can to ensure our guests enjoy our hotel. With that said, I assure that your feedback is incredibly important to us and I will definitely take your comments into consideration.

Again, I thank you very much for your review and sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity and stay with us next time you’re in the area.

Yours sincerely,

Rob de Bekker
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Just got back from a weeks holiday here and it was by far the best holiday we have had. Staff are so friendly and cannot do enough for you especially at Bar King Frog. Rooms were very clean and were kept clean thought our stay. The pool area was also very clean and tidy and maintained thought the whole day. Swim up bar was great and you can take drinks anywhere. Towels are supplied by the hotel which was nice as everyday you have a clean beach towel. Food was good not amazing but lots of choice. The seaside grill does very good food in the afternoon. Also book to go to the three palms restaurant, had a lovely meal there. Drinks selection is huge for cocktails or if you don't know what to have they will make one up (with loads of rum!) Going out of the hotel was good if with a driver/guide. They are a very poor country so just bear in mind when out and about. Not that it's dangerous but they will try and sell you anything but a polite no usually sorts this. Bob Marley tour at nine mile was the best! Get captain crazy as your guide he is so so funny! Will definitely be going back to this hotel!

Room Tip: Resort view at back of hotel was really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norristown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

A great vacation. The staff is very friendly and treat you like very valued guests. Tashalee (Seaside Grill) and Cynthia (Bar King Frog) were especially nice. The Hilton check-in person was very good. I didn't get her name but she was wonderful. I called her the girl with the pretty eyes because of her blue and purple shadow.

Room Tip: Room 317 had a great view. To the right you could see the ocean and to the left were the mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa

Address: Rose Hall Rd, Rose Hall, Montego Bay 000000, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 488
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Rose Hall Resort And Spa
Hilton Rose Hall Hotel Rose Hall
Rose Hall Hotel
Hilton Hotels Montego Bay
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa Jamaica - Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.