We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They try hard, but it's only a 3 star at best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rose Hall Rd, Rose Hall, Montego Bay 33126, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$139 (USD)
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Rose Hall
Bokeelia, Florida
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“They try hard, but it's only a 3 star at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I was at this property for a conference, so I really did not have an option. Overall, it was a good experience, but could have been better. It was a challenge to get into the specialty dining, so I opted for the buffet each evening. Though the food tasted good, I found it did not change up much and got old. The salad options were not all that great, so if you are a non meat eatter you may not be happy. With all the investments made in the water park, I would have thought they would have had it attended longer into the evening.

Rooms were comfortable, clean, and quiet.

The gym is very well equiped, clean, and modern. If you like your work outs, you won't miss them at this property.

The staff was very helpful and friendly.

There is free wifi, however, it's crammed into one small little area on the main floor near the lobby. Wifi is available in your room for a daily fee.

The Cricket Nightclub is hot and cold, depending on which groups are in and if there are flight crews staying over. (Flight attendents can be a lot of fun) The nightclub itself is not all that. Plastic chairs and poor decor could be improved with a little investment.

Though it was a Hilton, and I am a Honors member, I was not greeted as such or receive any of the perks.

If you are planning a meeting, this place works well and much better than in Kingston (where I spent the next 2 weeks on business).

If you are seeking a family destination in Jamaica, this property is very family friendly.

Room Tip: I had a partial view room that was part golf course and part beach. Not bad at all for an alternati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,695
    1,179
    397
    88
    64
See reviews for
1675
918
46
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,027)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just returned from a week at the Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa. Loved, loved the lazy river! It was a great way to beat the Jamaican heat.....jump on a tube and float around while sipping your favorite cocktail! Water slides were fun too! If you are looking for a quieter pool, there is the large rectangle pool that hosted those who just wanted to sunbathe and read a book. Service was the best that I've experienced at an all inclusive. Friendly staff where always around if you wanted another drink or some food brought to your lounger. Never had a problem with trying to find a lounger either which was nice! The beach was ok, as other reviewers have stated. You can't go for a walk down the beach and the water was not clear when out swimming infront of the resort. But the ocean was very warm and calm. The food was great as well, a lot of variety. And there was an awesome jerk chicken cart by the pool side around lunch time! My favorite restaurant was Luna, beautiful atmosphere and great tasting food! The disco was fun if you had a group of people together, but for the most part wasn't very busy. Went for a massage at the Spa, it was ok but not worth the $200. Rooms are pretty basic with a modern feel, thought the shower/tub could have been nicer. We did the daytime and night time Rose Hall tour about the white witch, Annie Palmer. The Rose Hall is a 5 minute taxi cab ride away. We paid $25 return. The cab driver just waited. The tour is about an hour long and is well worth the $20 admission. The daytime tour was great because you could see the beautiful scenery and but the night time tour was even better if you like a good scare! It was kind of cheesy at times, but adds a bit more excitement to the tour, plus you still hear the story of the Rose Hall. We also took a cab to the hip strip which cost us $70 return. We had a drink and appetizers at Marguarita Ville ($5 red stripe and $8 onion rings). Beautiful view here and you can also have some fun in the ocean. They have a water slide that goes into the ocean and water trampolines and such, so pack your bathing suit! We shopped in some stores that usually gave you a 20% off discount. But found Jerk spices and booze much cheaper at the Jamaica airport so beware! We absolutely loved Jamaica and would definately return again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neepawa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Loved this hotel, the service was fantastic and the facility was great. I can honestly say this resort was better than I was anticipating, all because of the people who work there. Ronaldo, Aston and Hanef by the pool were great and the jerk chicken cart is to die for.

Do yourself a favor tour the Night Rose Hall tour, a great little scare and so interesting.

My only negative is the no free wifi in the rooms I have stayed at four resorts and all have offered this.

Do yourself a favor see Jamaica talk to the people, and stay at the Hilton Rose Hall you will be glad you did.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have to say I had an awesome time at the resort last week. Our week was incrediable and would definately go back again. Jamaica is a beautiful country and would recommend anyone to stay here. The staff were incrediably friendly. We made some great friends especially Oneil, Jean, Shevon, and Devon. They made our stay even more special. They are all incrediably talanted and geniune people. The entertainment, dancing and food was incrediable. So if you decide to stay here please make sure you get to know them they are wonderful people. If I have missed adding anyone I am truly sorry.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this resort and the people of Jamaica make it so special! Besides the obvious beauty of Jamaica the entertainment was fabulous... they kept us on our toes......literally! I Have to give a shout out to Shevon, Oneil, Devon and Jean and thank them for the endless entertainment and dancing! We enjoyed your company, passion and incredible service during our stay last week!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Left the teens in Pennsylvania and arrived to a beautiful property, in the 80s, with wonderful staff.
Our ocean view room was very well attended during our stay. The staff even saw to it that my wife, who fell ill one evening, had broth, crackers, ginger ale, and a pot of ginger tea brought to the room. A special thanks to Chevon Cooke and the chef for their kind attention. She was feeling fine the next morning and was able to enjoy the rest of our trip. I would, however, suggest that the volume of the music be lowered. There's no need to blast great reggae music to the point of total distortion and annoyance. A nightly diet of that was a major negative as the sound invaded our room on the top floor We did enjoy the steel band that played one evening for a function on the lawn. Volume was just right - people could talk, dance and enjoy the evening without being chased to their room by a blasting band. Otherwise, we had a very good experience. We hope the property manager gives serious consideration to the sound level of the entertainment. That would be a HUGE improvement. ( Everyone we spoke with about it agreed.)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The 4 of use (wife, sister/brother in-law and I)Our visite Hilton Rose Hall for at least the 10th time during the month of January 2013. We had a great greeting by Royal who helped us with our baggage and check in, Edith was a wonderful person in hous-keeping and Melrose has always made us feel soooo very comfortable for dinner. However, we would like to give the Ambasador of the Week AWARD to Kevin Pringle on the beach....He made sure we had all we needed for a most enjoyable vacation....Hats off to KEVIN PRINGLE!!!!! We plan to visit again next year and the next...

Room Tip: The location of the room was secondary because thay were all soooo clean and comfortable. We were ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa

Address: Rose Hall Rd, Rose Hall, Montego Bay 33126, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rose Hall
#3 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Rose Hall Resort And Spa
Hilton Rose Hall Hotel Rose Hall
Rose Hall Hotel
Hilton Hotels Montego Bay
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa Jamaica - Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.