We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rose Hall Rd, Rose Hall, Montego Bay 000000, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$209 (USD)
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Rose Hall
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We recently returned from 5 nights at the Hilton Rose Hall. I had done a lot of research beforehand and read my share of trip advisor reviews. Overall, we were very happy with our selection and would return to this resort. We would likely only return during off season as we found that the price was right during that time for this resort and due to the fact that their was many children activities (do not have children) I would not want to be there for high season.
The food was great-I really enjoyed how they served a lot of authentic Jamaica dishes from curries, to jerk chicken and selection of fruit and veggies. They also had a good amount of stations and enough selection to keep most people happy. We tried both resturants and would hihgly recommend Three Palms. The service was great and so was the food.
In regards to excursions we went to Dunns River Falls, went on an atv tour through Mount Zion and a shopping trip into the city. Would highly recommend the excursions! The guides were great and the price was decent. These can be booked in the lobby.
We did not find the rooms and the beach were anything too special (keeping in mind we were there one week after the hurricane so not sure if that affected the beach at all). I prefer places that you can walk along the stretch of the beach. It is closed here and a private beach-this obviously comes with it's pros and cons. If the beach or room is your number one thing this may not be the spot. The pool was really fun and we took advantage of the lazy river, swim up bar, and water slides. We never had issues finding chairs.
The enterntainment, like any resort, is hit and miss and depends on your preference . If the steel pan band is there one night do not miss it-they were amazing and travel the world preforming.
We found that the service was overall good and the staff was friendly and helpful. We never had any issues.
Jamaica is a beautiful place and would encourage anyone to get off the resort and enjoy the island as well!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,828
    1,263
    439
    95
    70
See reviews for
1,787
998
48
174
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
HOLLYWOOD
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Property needs to be remodeled and updated last year. Staff has not been trained to treat customers in a manner of respect and service so they will return on another visit. Food did not campare with other resorts in the area. Unless you get an unbelivable deal on your stay, and none of the other resorts in the are avaliable, DON'T STAY HERE....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobdeBekker, Manager at Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Recent Guest,

Thank you for the review of your stay with us. Considering the number of things you felt were deficient, any one of our managers including myself would have welcomed the opportunity to discuss your concerns in person while you were onsite so we could have addressed these concerns.

Our team takes great pride in our product and service execution and we are very disappointed that you perceived your stay so poorly. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations and we will continue to work on improving our offerings.

We do hope that we are afforded the opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful resort so we may restore your faith in our hospitality.

Sincerely,

Rob de Bekker
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Taken a while to get round to this as we travelled in July. 21 of us went for 2 weeks for a family wedding with 1 of us being a permanent wheelchair user. All of us who went agree this was the best holiday we have had. If you were looking for something to criticise then yes the check in was slow and the sea was a little murky and choppy. There is seaweed on the beach but the staff are up at daybreak every day clearing it away. I couldn't fault there efforts. We spent quite a few days on the beach and in the sea and enjoyed every minute. The food at all the resteraunts was very good with plenty of choice. It is on weekly rotation so by the second week we were seeing the same things but then i hadn't tried it all the first time arround. The book only resteraunts are worth the effort aswell. The staff were all fantastic and tipping wasn't the issue i thought it was going to be. Yes a few dollars here and there perked things up a bit but we didn't feel pressured. Try leaving a few dollars on your pillow for the maids. Towel animals and fresh flower petals appear in your room, magic. There are so many staff members i could mention but would especially like to mention Audrey in the main food hall. She looked for us every day and was particularly friendly. I may have mentioned before but our daughter is a permanent wheelchair user and as such has been ignored on other holidays we have had. Not here. especially Audrey who made here feel very special. Also Denny and Jessica, thank you.
Ok, so the hotel. No complaints from us. Fully accessible and plenty to do. The lazy river and swim up bar are hard to stay away from. Entertainment in the evenings was also good.
One word of advice. Before booking a day trip through your operator (Thomas Cook). Check whats available from the taxi drivers outside. Ask for Thurston. He took all 21 of us on a couple of day trips that were better value than the organised trips and more personal. The wheel chair was not an issue and they even helped to lift!!!!!! You will still get a better deal for just 2 people. We all recommend this hotel. No problem.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I arrived home last night from our first ever vacation (I.e., our honeymoon, babymoon and first vacay all rolled into one). We very much enjoyed our stay at the Hilton. The staff was EXCELLENT (for the most part, there were a few who were obviously not thrilled to be at work that day). We received wonderful service from nearly every staff member we encountered. I have to say though there were a few areas lacking:

- the food wasn't amazing. The breakfast buffet was the best part when we figured out the made-to-order omelets and French toast were where it was at. The other meals at Fresh were not great. The Italian place was the same food as the buffet, just packaged differently. We could only get a 9:00 pm reservation for the night we did Italian, and had to wait quite awhile to be seated. It was obviously very busy and the wait staff seemed rushed. Dinner at the three palms was by far the best. We went there two nights in a row. The service there was superb and the food was very good. The two seaside places were ok, but nothing amazing. Our first day we were famished when we arrived, and ate at the poolside bar. The nachos were terrible, but my husband really enjoyed the veggie "fajitas". The jerkmos chicken and festivales were delicious. The other thing (as a pregnant person, food was obviously my top priority) about the food was that I felt limited in availability. The menu at the poolside places was limited and the same daily, and there were no late night options for food. Since I pretty much want to eat constantly, I would have loved to see a pizza/ice cream place open all the time. It also would have been nice to have a coffee shop. We love coffee, but there never seemed to be any down by the buffet.

-our room was a pleasant surprise in that it had a balcony and ocean/golf course view. There were a few disappointments here though. There was only one chair at the desk, so we had to sit on the beds, which got uncomfortable. The only light in the room was the two wall sconces between the bed, the bathroom light and the hall light. Usually in Hilton properties there's a desk lamp and a floor lamp. The placement of the desk felt a little odd, only because the coffee maker had to be plugged into the outlet on the opposite wall, so we had to brew coffee on the floor, which was weird. The other strange thing about our room was that there was NO decoration at all. No pictures, no fake plants, nothing. Besides the view, I appreciated the little refrigerator and 2 free bottles of water/day. The in-room coffee was AMAZING. Usually in-room coffee is terrible, so this was a pleasant surprise. Oh, and we also had trouble getting hot water consistently. Washing my face at night, the water never got warm, even after running it for 10-15 minutes.

-the Internet situation kind of sucked. There was one small area where you could use it, so we crowded in with a bunch of others so we could FaceTime back home with our 2-year-old. It just seems silly to charge $12/day for something that is so widely available for free these days. This was pretty minor though, since the point of our trip was to disconnect for awhile.

-the beach was ok. Plenty of beach chairs/tables, and the sand was nice. They kept the beach pretty clean of seaweed too. But, there was LOTS of seaweed in the water and our first day it smelled like eggs. Maybe it's sensitive pregnancy nose, but it was stinky.

-Hilton HHonors - I was told at checkin that I wouldn't earn points for my stay because I booked through a third party. To me, this is ridiculous. I focused my vacation search on Hilton properties just for that reason, and am still upset that my loyalty isn't going to be rewarded.

In all, we had a very nice (albeit too short!) trip. The one thing that sticks out in my mind was the quality of the service we received. I've stayed at a lot of hotels in a lot of places, and have never received such wonderful service. The staff truly made our experience great. If we go to Jamaica again, I can't say that we'd definitely stay at the Hilton, but it would be a top contender. It'd be a great place to go with a family, because there were so many families though, makes it hard to have an adult focused vacation if you're looking for that.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed for three nights in November at the Hilton Rose Hall. Our first mistake was to stay at a kid friendly resort. Despite having a separate water park for kids, the main pool in the resort is not adults only, so if you are looking for peace and quiet this is not the place for you. The beach is nothing special, very small and actually a disappointment. The rooms are decent, cleaned everyday. The bathrooms are very old and small. The food is not the greatest and can be compared to cafeteria food. The only decent meal we had was breakfast, with delicious french toast and a very friendly omelette station. The a la carte restaurants are nothing special. The staff is VERY friendly and everyone does go out of their way. The best part of Jamaica were the people and I think next time we would spend more to stay at a more luxurious adults only resort. At the end of the day, you get what you pay for. This is a moderately priced hotel, so don't expect anything spectacular.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swisschef66, Executive Chef at Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a respond for our resort,

You are right; we are a kid’s friendly resort however we believe that we have enough public areas for our guest that like to have a little bit more peace and quiet. I am sorry if our food offerings did not meet your expectations. My team and I are trying to prepare a good variety of great tasting dishes that will please most of our guest. If someone has a challenge to find anything suitable on our menus, we are more than happy to prepare special items to accommodate their needs.
Best regards
Michael Dannecker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I love Jamaica and the staff were wonderful, but the hotel is terrible. We usually go to smaller, quieter places but as we had our teenage children with us we thought it would be fun for them to have discos and entertainments. Sadly, the inside, charmless disco was always nearly empty and stuff like dancing on the beach, bonfires, reggae - all in short supply. There were not Nearly enough sun beds either around the pool or on the beach, and people were literally fighting over them. The building itself is like something from 1970s Spain - although the food was good and the cooks, chefs and waiters were extremely nice. The whole place needs a massive refurbishment and was phenomenally expensive for what it was - particularly as you have to pay extra for a great many things. We escaped into Montego Bay and the great public beach there, as well as the surrounding hotels and local area because the hotel just wasn't up to it. Charmless, and wrecked by simply not having enough space for the numbers of guests. Queuing for everything - including the lazy river. Dispiriting. If you like institutions, stay here, but there's a whole beautiful island to experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Hilton_RH, Manager at Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent family vacation at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were disappointed in your guest room and the activities available on property. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we will take your comments into consideration as we continually work to improve our on-property experience for guests of all ages. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to the island.

Thank you,

Jaap van Dam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

I love the Hilton Rose! Staff is amazing. So kind and make you feel special and cared for. Really can't say enough about the kindness and effort of the staff. Hotel grounds and rooms are beautiful. Food is great. Lazy river at pool was so much fun. Loves getting a drink at the swim up bar and floating around in the river. Spa was top notch as well.
Only complaint is for the rooms, you can hear your neighbors very clearly. A little uncomfortable at times. Overall trip was amazing.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa

Address: Rose Hall Rd, Rose Hall, Montego Bay 000000, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rose Hall
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
#3 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 488
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Rose Hall Resort And Spa
Hilton Rose Hall Hotel Rose Hall
Rose Hall Hotel
Hilton Hotels Montego Bay
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa Jamaica - Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.