We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Rose Hall lived up to its name” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Grand Rose Hall

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Grand Rose Hall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rose Hall, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Rose Hall
Anna, Ohio
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Grand Rose Hall lived up to its name”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

Our Anniversary Trip started Oct 15 on Air Tran flight from Dayton to Mobay via Atlanta
Since our flight was at 6:00am, the day started early with arrival at the resort at 400pm
We upgraded to Business Class for the 3hr trip from Atlanta for $100/person which offset by the $50 check luggage. We probably could have done without checking luggage but knew we would need sun tan lotion, Aloa and personal cosmetics which would fit in carry-on's. Sun Tan lotion and Aloa can cost as much as $25/bottle on the resort. Flight went smooth, Custom's and Immigration was relatively fast and we were met by the Apple Rep for transfer to the Rose Hall which is approximately 20-25 minutes from airport.
Greeted at the resort with cool towel and drink and checked in and was in the room approximately 10 minutes from check-in. We meet the butler and asked for certain items in mini-bar, champaigne at 10:00PM, turndown about same time. We discussed the Restaurant reservations for Friday and Saturday (made on internet) and he suggested Italian on Sunday. He was off the next two days so we had no contact with him.
The room was very clean, neat and AC worked great. The room was cleaned twice a day in morning and evening. Suggestion would be to have a time for them to clean room which is made through butler.
Restaurants and Bars - as Grand guest, you can eat and drink at the 3 connecting resorts - Beaches, Suites and Grand. Suites can eat and drink at Suites and Beaches while Beaches only has the Beaches facilities. The Grand has more top rated beverages such as Canadian Club and Royal, Brandies, Gray Goose, Tanquire and higher end liquors, beers, and wines. We ate only at Grand which was the Surf and Turf, Gourmet, Italian, Japanese, Port Tia Maria (lunch ), Breakfast Buffet, and Afternoon Jamaican beach party. My wife and I both liked the atmosphere, service, food and proportions. We ordered appetizer, soup,(sometimes), entree, vegetable and desert. We were full after the meal but not stuffed. All the restaurants had a Wine List but we had to ask for it. We stuck to the House wines which were extensive and not bad. You can get higher class wines for pay - Dom is $650. The Japanese was my least favorite - I have been to China and no comparison to that versus a resorts version. I tried Room Service for lunch and food though limited in scope was very good. I ordered a Club sandwich with French Fries, a Prawn/Avocado salad and salmon.
Bars - the quality of drinks was excellent in the 5 bars we tried. The type of liquor which each had varied. You could get Glenfiddich at Lobby Bar but not at pool bar.
Note: Pool opens at 7:00AM - to get a good seat, I would get up and get towels to put on the chairs. We like to be at the pool bar but they have plenty of hostesses getting drink orders during day, we enjoed sitting at bar and really didn't use the seats as much as we could.
A typical day for us was get up at 830 go to Breakfast Buffet and be at the pool by 9:00am afterwhich we took a 1/2 - 1 mile beach walk from Grand to Beaches and Back. The drinks would start flowing and at least one game of pool volleyball. The Pool bar at excellent bar tenders who not only made great drinks but also made you laugh. Morris was probably the Craziest while Garth and Richard were also good. The one bar tender who unfortunately I cannot remember his name made a Dirty Crouch Pink Panty - banna/cream drink which was very good. Mojito's were very popular and the mint was somtimes hard to get so it was a hit or miss there. Lunch was at Tia Maria Buffet and we usually left about 400-500 pm.
G-Man was the main man for trying to get us moving from Beach Volley Ball, Pool Games, or Pool Volley Ball etc. His attitude and laughter rang through the day and was one of those who helped make the time fun.
We left the pool between 4 - 5 pm to get ready for our dinner reservations at 7:00. Dinner lasted until 8:30 most evening afterwhich we would go to Lobby bar.
Entertainment - usually starts at 9:30pm with their shows and shows rotated between the 3 resorts - Jamaica Pride who be on Monday at Grand, Tuesday at Suites and Wednesday at Beaches. We went to 4 of them and didn't stay for all except Boogie nights, We wanted to see Reggae night but didn't. There was also a band at Moon Bar but it didn't start until 10:30 PM while Disco started at 10:30 pm also.Being in the Sun all day, drinking (too much) and being really tired - the 9:30pm start time was hard to make.
There also were slot machines if you are so inclined.
Butler's we had an unfortunate time with Butler's, we saw the Day Butler and discussed Minibar stocking, Champagne and Italian reservation on Friday and didn't see any butler until I complained to Concierge about restocking Minibar etc. I discussed this problem with 6 other couples and they had the same problem. It wasn't until Monday, that it got straightened out. I found out we were also suppose to get ice twice a day at specific times and making reservations etc. I spoke with the Evening Butler and its not easy finding Guests who no ones knows where there are as well as not getting information passed on by the day butler. To my mind, this is more of a Management problem than the individuals - they really do a good job but unless they know what you want or when you want it , they do not want to be intrusive. There should be a list of things which a guest could review and pass on to the Butler as well as have the list of the rooms butler for the week. We did change two things - turndown of bed was 8:30 and Champaign was 8:00 pm. Ice drops we wanted around 5 pm and didn't need any during day. We asked for room to be made-up at 9:30 AM.
Stanley the night butler drew a romantic bath and decorated our bed for our Anniversary. It was beautiful. Once we both knew what was asked for and needed, he did a great job. Too bad he was the brunt of the complaint when it really wasn't his fault.
Water Sports - they have Cat sails boats, kayacks and snorkling gear available. I want to go snorkling and maybe scuba but unfortunately caught a cold which prevented both. We did parasailing for the first time and really enjoyed it. Since this was our third trip to Jamaica we didn't go off resorts though they didn't offer some excursion which sounded interesting.

We left the Grand on 10/22 and hit Dayton at 11:00PM and as the pilot stated when we landed in Baltimore from Jamaica - welcome to reality!!.

Overall, this is an excellent Adult Resort with Great Staff. The resort was only 40% booked so not every restaurant was open every night. Several floors were dark and on our floor wing - I think there may have only been 4 - 5 rooms occupied. We were upgraded to Ocean view. We talked to several people who have been to the Iberostar Adults and all say they are wonderful with many coming back to the Rose Hall Grand. Hopefully we will be one of those coming back to Rose Hall soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,378 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,707
    503
    117
    34
    17
See reviews for
320
2282
66
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,022)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

I am late with this review - we went November 2009 for a long weekend - but it was SUCH a great experience (at least the first 3 days we were there - LOL - more on that last day below) that I wanted to make sure to share it!

We love Jamaica and go once or twice a year - Been to Montego Bay, Negril, Trelawney and have stayed at a different property each time - Sandals, Grand Lido, Grand Palladium, to name a few ...... ALWAYS had a great time (which is why we keep going back!) but our 4 days / 3 nights at this Iberostar was THE BEST (for the most part!) so far and I would absolutely go back to this property!

Because it was such a quick trip we wanted Montego Bay so we didn't have a long drive from the airport - it took about 10 minutes to get to the hotel - the reception/check in was smooth, super friendly and our ocean front - butler serviced - HUGE room was ready for us at 8AM when we got there ..............

The room was oversized, the bathroom oversized, the balcony HUGE with a swinging 2 person love seat overlooking the ocean - I normally don't care too much about the room b/c I am on vacation to sit at the pool and beach not sit in my room, but this room was AWESOME and a pleasure to come back to!

Our "butler" was SUPERB - asked us what our favorite drinks were, what papers we wanted to have each morning and provided everything, including a surprise rose petal bubble bath, as if he was invisible - we never saw him, but ALWAYS had what we needed!

The food was OUTSTANDING - I have never had stone crab claws and lobster tails as part of a standard lunch buffet, but we did at this resort, all 3 days at lunch - ALL the food at every buffet and ever restaurant was TOP NOTCH!

The service was above and beyond everywhere - the pool area, the pool bar, the lobby bar, the restaraunts, the front desk, our butler - whoever trains the staff KNOWS what he/she is doing!

The beautiful and HUGE lobby bar area had early evening entertainment each night that was upscale, yet still fun (well dressed, GOOD acoustic singers as opposed to drunken "sing along" type stuff) - which we really enjoyed being there as a couple as opposed to with a bunch of friends - we wanted an "upscale" yet fun vibe and we got that!

The resort was less than half full when we got there and Friday and Sat/Sun we chatted with and hung out at the pool with the other guests - all ages of people who were all very friendly and having a good time in a low key / casual way - no crazy people doing body shots or being drunken fools - UNTIL SUNDAY LATE AFTERNOON .... when an Incentive Trip invaded the hotel! ;-)

THEN it got VERY CRAZY and the crowd changed dramatically - which we found to be entertaining that night / next day, only because we were leaving the next afternoon- if we had to spend the rest of the week with these new folks we probably would have gotten tired of the "change" in atmosphere........incentive trip winners tend to be LOUD, CRAZY and READY TO PARTY - and these people WERE ! ;-)

I would absolutely go back to this resort (but I WOULD make sure it wasn't "incentive trip time") and would bring friends!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

The service staff are great very friendly.The poilcy at the grand is no tipping,but I found that some still expect to be tip. I would check with guest relations if an employee acts as if he/she are entitled. The staff on the whole are fabulous and sincerly want to help make your stay pleasant. I soon come!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, Ny
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

We had such a nice time at this resort. We changed our honeymoon 2 weeks before we were to go and we are glad we did. the service was great. We loved our porch swing. The drinks were fabulous! The food was decent. Would definitly go back:)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

Iberostar was a great place to stay and I would definitely go back there again. The staff was excellent. The food was fabulous and there was so much variety. The nightlife was awesome. We met and hung out with a group of people that we met at the club in the resort whom we partied with every night we were there. We stayed at the Grand so that allowed us access to all the other Resorts which allowed us to experience different foods and drinks. The Grand is Adults Only and that made for better drinks and a better nightlife. That being said, it was worth it to stay at the Grand. This was my first trip to Jamaica and because of the way I was treated at Iberostar, I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

This is our first time going on an all inclusive vacation and first time writing a review but felt it was only fair since prior to going to Iberostar Grand Rose Hall in Montego Bay we valued all the other reviews. Here goes.... whoa we were spoiled! From the Bell Service taking our bags off the shuttle bus and bringing them to our rooms, to the server who handed our welcome glass of champagne and cold towel to our front desk check-in person to our butler to the pool bar tenders to the activities coordinators to the spa staff to the wait staff.... it was the people that make this place. They all seem genuinely happy and are there to make your stay the best it can be. --- Morris at the pool bar is the best bar tender we have EVER had!! He was awesome!!

To be fair I will mention some things that weren't ideal. Men had to wear pants every night. We didn't know this so the only pants my husband brought were the jeans he wore on the plane, he wore them every night. The reservation policy I get, it's to be able to accommodate everyone and have some control over the flow of guest. When we first checked in there were only certain availabilities (time and place) so we weren't able to pick what restaurant we wanted or what time. (I heard you can tip your butler and they will make it happen if you want to change the reservation, we didn't though.)The pool buffet where you can get lunch and snacks didn't have the best service -- only place we experienced less than par service and we went 3 times. Also, when one of the servers dropped a couple glasses by accident we watched the manager witness it happen and not help the server who was working hard. The manager just stood there - and it wasn't like he was busy doing something else. Turn down service came too earlier for us. They would come between 5-6pm each night and that was usually the time we were showering for the night to go out later. If you said no then you missed out on that service. One other thing I would change, the carpet down the halls. They are stained and have a musty smell.

Our Butler, Darwin, was awesome even though we didn't use him. He would call and check-in to make sure were OK. We tried to think of things we wanted or needed but there wasn't anything so we never took advantage of using him but his phone calls to check on us was much appreciated!!

With all that said our vacation was awesome. We would go there again but would like to try another location. Our weather was perfect and it was between 10/11-10/16/2010. We only had one rainy afternoon but it was short.

Hope this helped Have a blast!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Very happy with the whole experience. Beautiful beach, beautiful hotel facilities, great value for money, friendly staff.

The all inclusive value was great. Unlimited top shelf alcohol that was not skimped on when served, unlimited ini bar, 24 hr room service, restaurants/buffets with good meals.

Nightly shows were good to average but something to do in the evenings. Bar staff were friendly and entertaining. Entertainment staff were friendly however sometimes too friendly in that we tried to avoid at times (this depends on the type of person you are, some people loved playing volleyball, ping pong etc with them everyday - we preferred to relax on the beach). The beds are very soft, comfortable to lie on but not great for us for a full nights sleep (again, this obviously depends on the personal preference).

Expect to tip. Whilst it is supposed to be covered in all inclusive deals, the majority of guests tip and it has become expected by staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberostar Grand Rose Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Rose Hall

Address: Rose Hall, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Rose Hall 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Orbitz and Venere so you can book your Iberostar Grand Rose Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall Hotel Rose Hall
Iberostar Montego Bay
Iberostar Hotel Montego Bay
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall Jamaica - Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.