We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly "Grand" experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Grand Rose Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Grand Rose Hall to your Saves list
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Main Road | Little River, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Rose Hall
Newmarket, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Truly "Grand" experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Just came back after a lovely week and it may be a bit of a read, but if you manage to get to the end, it will hopefully help you make a good choice, so here it is:

There are a lot of resorts with a "grand" in their name, but this one really strives to live up to this designation. Although when you pull up to the main entrance, you may be a bit apprehensive, considering it does look relatively small, the perception changes after a welcoming wet towel, a glass of champagne and realizing that the resort sits on a small hillside and the massive lobby is actually on a third level of what - for all intents and purposes - is a 5 level structure. Then, to get to the ground/pool/beach level you take a circular, stone staircase with a fountain in the middle, that wouldn't be out of place on a set of the Titanic movie. And the fun just starts here:

Rooms: ocean view is definitely a good choice, but facing a pool will not dampen the spirits either, except maybe on a ground floor, as you will have people walking back and forth in front of your terrace and a bit of green space and bushes don't offer enough privacy, IF staying in the room is what you like, but then, don't go to the islands :) Rooms are spacious, clean, with separate sitting area and a huge bathroom: "rain shower" easily accommodating 2, jacuzzi tub, 2 vanities. Half-covered terrace with a 2 person swing, which you can enjoy even during an occasional rain. And it seems rooms were constantly checked and cleaned - ours was spotless during the stay and mini bar was refilled regularly.

Service: probably one of the best I've seen in nearly 30 years of travel. Everything is "no problem" - the Jamaican way. Always with a smile. After a couple of days, you are greeted by name. Your "butlers" will attend to any desire, 24 hrs/day, chat with you in the corridor while you are walking to your room and will scramble to get you, let's say, an aloe oil if you get sunburned. They will call the room to see if all is o.k., they will knock on the doors to make sure nothing is amiss (mind you, that one could happen at the worst possible time, as it is an all adult resort, lol!). As one of security guards on the beach (more about that later) said: "oh, you are at the Grand, the VIP place". That's how you feel the whole time you are there, like the VIP...

Grounds: pristine and beautifully kept. Both pool and beach area. Grand is one of 3 Iberostar properties located next to each other (Suites is next door followed by Beach). Staying at the Grand gives you access to all 3, including pools (eg. "Lazy river" at the Suites), activities and restaurants. But guests at the others do not have access to the Grand, except for a walk along ocean's edge. Hence the security mentioned before, ensuring your bracelet is "the right colour" when you cross the property line. And to stop any vendors trying to "sneak" on the beach, as it is private and selling is not allowed. Except: from the water. As ocean cannot be made "private", you will see small boats/kayaks/rafts floating about on occasion, offering wares. If you want to look at them, you have to wade into the water, as they are not allowed to land on the beach. A bit of a break compared to some other Islands...

Food: here is the unusual part. Often people complain about buffet, rave about "specialty" restaurants. At the Grand, buffet food is one of the best we've had. Fresh, plentiful, dishes vary by day and there are enough choices to satisfy everyone. As to restaurants, we must have had some bad luck, because lobster, chicken an tuna were rather dry and chewy, although others were raving about the steaks. Also, the Steak House next door apparently is really worth a try.

Drinks: great. Top shelf, local and imported. Including Grey Goose and such. Mohito: best ever, according to the lady that - if you can believe it - had 40 of them in a week... Bar staff attentive, some of them do look at your hand when you approach to see if you are carrying money and the strength of the drink may depend on it. Tested the theory myself, always stronger when I approached with a $... :)

Entertainment: very good. Poolside - staff is excellent, tries to get you in a mood, but leaves you alone without "badgering" if you are not in the mood and just want to bake in the sun. Shows: exceptional for an all inclusive, happen every day at 9:45 pm, at the in-house theater. Live music at the lobby bar. Disco, night club, karaoke. Uff...

Other amenities: Spa (Swedish couples massage is a bliss) with sauna, Roman bath, jacuzzi, cold well and wellness pool. Very nice. Registered massage therapists. Gym. Cigar lounge. Games room (pool tables, computers, etc). Little shopping arcade as well, plus a small casino (slots only).
Money: don't bother exchanging, carry $US. Everyone accepts happily and a much better bargaining power when you go shopping.

Shopping: free shuttle to Rose Hall shopping centre every half an hour. High end stuff mixed with souvenir shops. Perfect for "quick and dirty" shopping spree. Or, $15/person gets you a half a day trip to 3-4 different stops, including a local market, for the more thrifty shopper.

Excursions: White Witch zip line is cool. 7 horizontal traverses, 1 high angle and 2 vertical drops. Wife has a fear of heights, took a risk and had a blast. But some were screaaaming, lol! Horseback riding including a swim in the ocean (on the horse), also worth trying. Tame horses, just beware "the trot" if you are a male and it's your first time. 3 days later and I am still checking the delicate parts for damage, if you know what I mean... Heard good things about the ATV tour as we'll.

One downfall - it's a human factor that probably won't change any time soon - "chair hoggers". Yes, even here. Towels left on pool and beach chairs for hours, starting somewhere at 7-8 am. Resort has notices against blocking chairs, but not too many pay attention. To their credit, staff will pick up the towels that are left unattended for a longer period of time to free up spots, but if there is a book, sunglasses or a bag, they can't. We were next to 2 chairs at a "prime" pool spot that had towels, a t-shirt and a bottle of sunblock already on them when we got there at 8:45 am. Nobody showed up till 12 pm, fully dressed, straight from the building/room. Sat down for 20 min, disappeared into a building for an hour... Come on people, you are not the only ones around! Not the resort's fault, but still annoying. Same everywhere...

This is getting long, so here is the bottom line: a really great spot if you are looking for an "adult only" break from the everyday "blah". Quiet, attentive, with staff ready to meet and exceed your needs. Maybe not perfect just yet, but very nearly up there, short of being at a private retreat on a private island. And if a group event is in cards for you, seek out Janelle (hope I am spelling it right) - she will make it really special for you.

Hope it helps - take the plunge and enjoy!

Room Tip: Ocean view, level 2 and up, or "private pool room" on the ground floor (only 6 of them or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your positive review. We were ecstatic to learn that you enjoyed our well-appointed rooms and personalized service. Our team aspires to provide service beyond compare to each of our guests. For this reason, it was particularly rewarding see your recommendation of our hotel on this website. We apologize for the inconvenience you faced as it concerns other guests who hold chairs. Fortunately you did not allow that experience to interfere with your otherwise enjoyable vacation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that you will not hesitate to return.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,338
    618
    140
    48
    30
See reviews for
390
2,823
86
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We just got back from a full week vacation at the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall in Jamaica. This resort takes 5 star service to an entire new level with it's butler service but also with all the staff that made great effort to treat us as if we were royalty or famous stars.The check-in team, the luggage porter, the cleaning crew, the bar tending staff, the butler and the animation team all made it a point to remember our name and cater to our every request. The rooms are gorgeous, beds are very comfy, patio is very cozy with a nice swing & couch to lounge on before dinner, food at the buffet (which is themed differently every night), food at the restaurants, pool side beds...it's all so perfect. We had fantastic butlers (Kevoy & Keen) that went out of their way to make us feel very special. Even other butlers & butler supervisors walk around the grounds asking you if all is good and if you need anything from them. The pool side waitresses walk around the pool side constantly making themselves available to get you a drink whenever you need it. The drink variety is impressive and they didn't hesitate to provide us with high end alcoholic beverages & wines. t have been to several all inclusives hotels including other Iberostars and I must admit, this one tops them all. Congratulations to the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall staff & management, you have a winning formula. Speaking with other guests around us throughout the week, they all agreed with me that we must come back to this place as the service level is unmatched.

Room Tip: We had an ocean front room, the view was stunning, I highly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your generous review. We were delighted to learn that you found our service to be exceptional. Your recommendation of our rooms, top-shelf liquors and butler service will also serve to inform other prospective guests about our hotel. Our Management and staff looks forward to being able to welcome you back and hope that you will make us a part of your next vacation.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Great Vacation! The short distance from the airport was really nice. The Hotel staff were very friendly & helpful. Towels & beverage upon check-in was very nice. This resort exceeded our expectations. The hotel was very clean and inviting. We had a Junior Suite Ocean Front Room which was fantastic. We would recommend this hotel to everyone. The restaurants were absolutely terrific. We especially enjoyed the Italian, Japanese & Surf & Turf Restaurants. The beach restaurant was great for lunch & breakfast. Nothing beats having breakfast by the beach, except for the terrific room service. The daily buffets also had lots to choose from. The evening shows were good with very talented performers. There were fun events on the beach & by the pool on a daily basis and lots of activities to choose from. We would love to go back :)
 Special mention & thank you's go to Darwin, Wesley & Kelverne for the great & personable service, Sonia & Kevin for their terrific waitress/waiter service, Crystal for your friendliness at all of the events, Jason for the great meal & fun at the Japanese restaurant and to all of them for making our stay so enjoyable. 
Other transportation, shopping & excursions were great!! Lots to choose from.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent vacation. We appreciated that you took the time on your return home to review our property. Your mention of our hotel’s cleanliness, delicious cuisine at our restaurants, entertaining evening shows and friendly staff was certainly inspirational. We look forward to serving you again soon and hope that you will not hesitate to call on us when next you are planning a vacation.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I found the resort as lovely and friendly as I expected. I did find the main buffet and most of the other restaurants were rather stark as compared to our many stays at Iberostar Grand Paraiso. Our butler, Tafari was just GREAT as well as our maid Natalie. Also, I must reward Barrington at the front desk with an excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your pleasant review of our property and service. We were grateful for the privilege of hosting you earlier this month. Your comments about our efficient Front Office Staff will also go a far way in motivating them. We have also noted your critique of our Buffet and restaurants and will be passing on same to our Executive Chef. Our team looks forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that you will continue to think of as family.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Me and my husband went to the iberostar grand rose hall for our birthday. It was the most amazing time we ever had the people at the resort were great, we were welcomed like family and pampered from the time we got there to the time we left. Our butlers Okeine and Stephen were the best for our birthday our room was decorated with rose pedals and candles which was very romantic. The entertainment was excellent especially KiKi excellent entertainer, Peter (Mr.Neat), Pati (shortcakes), Thunda, Clyve, and we can't forget Sonia these people are like family. The staff knew their guest by first name which was very nice. There was never a boring moment at this resort. The food was excellent. Would definitely go back.....

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor so you can have Stephen and Okeine as your butlers they are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your informative review. It was inspiring to hear that our butlers and entertainment team had surpassed your expectations. We look forward to being able to accommodate you again in the near future. We hope that you will continue to think of our hotel as your Jamaican “home away from home”.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We visited the Grand Rose Hall resort in May of last year and I've been quite remiss about writing a review. Overall, we were very happy with the staff, room, restaurant, pools and beach. We are preparing to go to the Grand Bavaro in Dominician Republic next month.

I should start by saying this was our first time at an all-inclusive, adult only resort other than Sandals (we've stayed at 3 in Jamaica). I was nervous making the switch because Sandals is a known quantity and frankly, their website is better and I felt more informed. But we are so very glad we did. I didn't find very many comparisons when we were looking, so that's the perspective of this review.

Crowding
Although the Grand Hotel Rose Hall was at full capacity when we went, it never felt crowded. Restaurants were never full and except for the “party pool”, (the pool with the swim-up bar) the pools and beach were enjoyably quiet with laid-back people.

Also, at Sandals I was up around 6:30am sleeping or lounging on the beach or poolside to reserve seats for the day and once or twice even got a coveted side table, which was one of my biggest complaints. It was exactly the opposite at Rose Hall. Every day, we had breakfast around 8:30 - 9am returned to our room to get ready for the day and easily found two seats - either in the shade or not - at 10am. With side tables. If you wanted this at Sandals you’d have to pay thousands of dollars for butler service so they will reserve seats for you.

Pools/Beaches
Although the pools look larger on the Sandals websites (Negril and Whitehouse), those at Rose Hall were just as spacious if not more. But that could be attributed to a crowding problem at Sandals that doesn’t seem to be a problem at this resort.

The beaches at Negril and Whitehouse were calmer and more enjoyable, but staff told us that is the difference between those beaches and Montego Bay.

Activities
We are all about lounging, reading, floating/swimming and enjoying cocktails, so we can’t comment on the nightlife because we are generally in our room by 9 or so. One of the few areas that Sandals does better are beach activities. They have tons of things to do for free from stand up paddle boarding to snorkeling (at a real reef). Only snorkling was available at Rose Hall, and it was a man-made rock area that had few fish right off the beach. It was also in front of the family-oriented resort next door so there were lots of kids around.

Restaurants
We loved the breakfast and lunch buffets, and found them to be comparable to Sandals. There was never a wait and the food was diverse and fresh. The theme restaurants were difficult to get into, I highly recommend emailing your selections a week in advance or you may not get to eat at one or two because they are full (yes, even though they are never really full). The food is good, what we’ve come to expect from an all-inclusive resort.

Ambience
Sandals resorts are more of a Jamaican vibe whereas Iberostar feels more like a European hotel. Iberostar has “Star Friends” who are fun and super friendly. They will engage you as much as you want, inviting you to play in the active pool or just have a nice conversation. Sandals seemed more of a happy/party type place and Rose Hall seemed more like a laid-back, relaxing place.

Service
At Sandals you get what you pay for. Basic is just that. Concierge is a bit better and I assume butler is the best, but we never upgraded that far. At Iberostar, all rooms have a concierge and butler. I noticed no difference between the concierge service at Sandals and Iberostar and cannot speak of the butler service. The butlers at Rose Hall are shared among all guests on a floor and some are better than others. But honestly, if you make restaurant reservations before arriving, there really isn’t a thing you’d need a butler for. Unless you want ironing and packing - witch Iberostar butlers do upon request - which isn’t for us.

Special thanks to Barrington at the front desk who moved us to a quieter room when we weren’t happy with a smile. Melisa at the pool for bringing us drinks and a huge smile all day long and Star Friends Peter (“Mr. Neat”) and Kiki for great conversation and laughs.

Rooms
All rooms are the same, it’s just location which is refreshing from Sandals where you’ll spend hours wondering if this room is really worth another thousand dollars than that room. They were clean and well appointed. And Iberostar offers customized mini-bar (only available at concierge and butler level rooms at Sandals) and a pillow menu (not available at Sandals).

Transfers/Tips
Transfers are not included in the package at Iberostars like it is Sandals. We ended up paying another $120 for transfer which was as annoying as any we experienced to Sandals.

You are not allowed to tip at Sandals (except butler-level) but are at Iberostar. We brought $200 in 1’s, 5’s and 20’s and spent almost all of while we were there. But there were a lot of pool-side and beach-side drinks :)

Spa
Spa services are comparable. I always start out with a scrub and massage and then a wrap at the end. Prices and services were about the same. Iberostar does have a mineral pool which a few people raved about, but the smell kept me out. Just not a fan, although many were.

Price
We had a better experience than any previous vacations at Sandals and spent almost two thousand dollars less.

Sandals vs. Iberostar Grand Rose Hall
Hands down Iberostar was the better resort and we had a better time. So much so that unless Sandals can figure out a way to get their prices down, we will not be coming back.

Room Tip: We booked the lowest level room, but were upgraded after the first night when it was too loud in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your generous review. Your comments about the scenic room views and professional service of our Butlers was very encouraging. We noted with pride too, that you considered our staff to be very pleasant. It was unfortunate that you felt our hotel lacked Jamaican culture, when we have so many entertainment activities that promote the culture of the island. We encourage persons to participate in activities, talk to staff and to take advantage of tours offered by the various Tour Operators – in order to learn about our country’s culture. Our team looks forward to hosting you again and trust that you will consider our hotel as your destination of choice for all future vacations.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Recently spent a week at the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall all-inclusive resort and while in many ways it is a wonderful property ultimately I was left feeling underwhelmed at this price point.

Let's start with the good things, of which there are many. The grounds are immaculately kept and virtually spotless. The beach is not large but pristine and pretty much rock-free. The oceanfront room was very clean and had an excellent view. The pools, while not as large or interconnected as at some resorts, were well-maintained and very enjoyable. The variety of food was above-average and the mixed drinks were well-made with ample portions of quality liquors. The resort never felt over-crowded, though getting prime chairs on the beach of by the pool was often competitive. The outdoor restaurant with the ocean view was an extremely pleasant place to take morning and afternoon meals, with generally good service.

As for the negatives, service was spotty-for example water was not consistently provided in the room which is a concern because drinking the tap water was not recommended. Getting the room made up could take quite a while and once or twice we just did without for the day, though the housekeeping staff did a good job apart from this and the room was very clean. Overall, the staff appeared poorly coordinated and seemed to lack any management; for example our shuttle driver on the way back to the airport was told we were not waiting even though we were waiting where we were supposed to well before the appointed time and we might have missed the shuttle had the driver not been diligent in double checking-as it was this made the return trip later, and more stressful, than it should have been.

The room, while spacious, only had a loveseat on the deck, no lounge chairs and it was really only comfortable for one person at a time-not at all what one expects at this supposed level of quality and amenities, nor consistent with promotional photos. One of the features touted by the resort is that you can visit the properties of its two neighboring resorts, while a plus in theory we found that the amenities of the adjacent resorts were not very convenient from our room since they chose to keep the nearest door between facilities locked. (likely because they didn't want to staff it to prevent non-Grand guests from going into the Grand area, I suppose)

Worst of all was the food, while the choices were quite adequate in theory, the execution left much to be desired. Proper food temperatures were not consistently adhered to and the buffets were best eaten early or not at all as the concept of retiring or refreshing items did not seem to exist. For breakfast, the made-to-order eggs were the best choice. In addition to the dinner restaurants being a pain to make reservations at prime time, these were all poor to mediocre as a total experience-the steak was absolutely terrible at the Surf and Turf restaurant and none of the entrees were memorable. The tempura shrimp served at the Pan-Asian restaurant one night had clearly been cooked quite a while prior and had no business being served at a Long John Silver's, let alone a pricey resort, though in fairness overall this was the best of the dining venues. The fact that a typical mainstream cruise line (even without resorting to extra cost dining options) is as good or better than the food here says enough.

In terms of the liquor service, as mentioned mixed drinks were fine but beer choices were limited and only Red Stripe was available consistently. Also, if you are wine drinker you will be sorely disappointed as the Spanish house wines were simply awful (reds undrinkable) and the upgrade options are mostly garden variety US super market wines marked up exorbitantly.

All in all I did not regret choosing the resort as it was mostly a good experience given the 80+ degree temperatures and generally good weather. If you are not a picky eater and are indifferent to wine you might well love the place as it definitely has its good points and I freely admit to being on the picky side of travelers. However I personally would be unlikely to return because as a total experience it just fell short of the expectations its lofty pricing brings with it.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any truly bad rooms from what I saw but oceanfront is the best. High fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your review. It was kind of you to review our property on this website. Having read your comments, we wanted to clarify the following:

1. the Hotel does not manage any of the transfers offered on property. Transfers are either arranged by your Travel agent/Tour Operator or a Taxi service. If you are having difficulty with your transfer, our concierge/ Front Office personnel would be only too happy to assist you in contacting the party responsible for your transfer.
2. Each room’s balcony is furnished with a sofa and hammock, which provides additional seating for two persons. The Rooms all have a Loveseat as well as a table with chairs – so in our estimation, we have provided many different options for in-room seating. However, if you had needed an additional chair we would have gladly assisted you with same.
3. Since we have 24-hour room service, we expect guests to call Room Service, if they have run out of water or have any other special orders. Your Butler or Concierge would also have been only too happy to help with any requests you had.
4. The Door between the Iberostar Suites and Iberostar Grand is not locked with a key, Guests from the Iberostar Grand can go back and forth as they wish. However, a Security is stationed at the door to graciously open the door for our guests while gently explaining to the Iberostar Suites guests that they are not allowed to freely visit the Iberostar Grand.
5. We offer the following Beers: Red Stripe (Regular, light and draft), Heineken, Guinness, Dragon and Carib Beer

We regret that you found our food to be sub-standard and are sorry that you did not seek to have dialogue with our Executive Chef in order to address your complaints. Our team is always anxious to please our guests so we ask that should a guest have any complaints that they address them to our Public Relations Manager. After all it is only through communication that we can meet all your needs. Our Management and staff would like to offer our humble apologies for not adequately meeting your needs. It is our hope that on your next visit, you will email us with any special requests you may have, via pr.grand@iberostar.com.jm

We look forward to your return visit.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Grand Rose Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Rose Hall

Address: Main Road | Little River, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Rose Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Iberostar Grand Rose Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall Hotel Rose Hall
Iberostar Montego Bay
Iberostar Hotel Montego Bay
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall Jamaica - Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.