We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Mixed Reaction” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Grand Rose Hall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Grand Rose Hall to your Saves list
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Main Road | Little River, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Rose Hall
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A Mixed Reaction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was our third consecutive annual stay. In past years, we would have given the resort an unqualified 5 stars. Regrettably we were disappointed this year. Many aspects were still perfect – wonderful butlers (Randy and Darwin); excellent food and drinks; spacious, comfortable rooms; beautiful surroundings, and friendly staff who are eager to help. As returning guests, we were upgraded to an oceanfront room, and the manager had left us a bottle of wine and lovely welcoming note.

So what were the problems? First, although the resort has a clear policy against the practice of “reserving” pool and beach lounges with towels, the policy is not enforced consistently. During the week we were there, it was difficult to find a spot in the shade by the pools or beach after 9 am. But one couple took the prize for boorishness: They had brought with them a colorful, professional-looking sign stating “Specially reserved for Mr and Mrs (name withheld). Enjoy the sun in Jamaica!”, and tied it to one of the palapas on the beachfront. The clear implication was that the resort had reserved the spot for these guests. They had also apparently hammered nails into the soft wood of the palapa and the one adjacent to it, from which they and their friends hung their beach bags. And they sequestered rolled-up towels in the “rafters” of the structure, where staff were unlikely to see (and remove) them in off-hours. When I removed the sign on the fifth evening and took it to the manager, prompt and decisive action was taken (which I hope, but doubt, included telling the offenders to take their business elsewhere in the future!) But the sign had been posted for 5 days before I complained. It shouldn’t be up to the guests to do the policing.

A second source of irritation is the fitness room. It is wholly inadequate for the number of guests. In past years, the attendant had been extremely helpful in ensuring that guests had equitable access to the cardio machines. This year he was virtually invisible. A simple sign-up sheet would have facilitated fair use of the cardio machines. It may take time – and resources – to improve the fitness facility, but it takes nothing to put out a sign-up sheet and ask guests to limit their time on each machine to 30 minutes.

We found the buffets to be superior to all but the Gourmet restaurant. The Italian restaurant, in particular, could easily be improved by allowing guests to have a pasta as well as a main course, and by putting a basket of good bread on the table, instead of dishing out tasteless tiny rolls.

In past years the general atmosphere was more fun, too. What happened to the great guy who led the water aerobics at the beach every morning? And the daily 4 pm pool game in which the Star Friends held taut a mat across the width of the pool, and invited guests to try to run across it? We missed the hilarity at the end of each day.

Will we return? I’m not sure. We love Jamaica and there is much to love about the Iberostar Grand. We really thought we had found the perfect resort to return to every winter.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your informative review. Firstly, we would like to apologize for the thoughtlessness of other guests, but as you rightly said, we were unaware of the actions of those particular guests. Your kindness in informing us then allowed us to speak to the persons about the sign. The assistance of other guests in communicating with the Pool Conciergewhen chairs are held for long periods without anyone returning would also assist the pool concierge in creating space for other guests who might be without chairs.

We will certainly be looking into your suggestion concerning the gym, but wish to point out that since each guest has the right to enjoy the facilities, it is hard for us to put time limits on the use of the equipment. Perhaps guests could also communicate with the person using the equipment to allow sharing.

We are disappointed to hear that this particular visit fell below your usual expectations, particularly since you mentioned it was mostly in part to do with matters beyond our knowledge. It would be an honor to have the opportunity to be able to welcome you back.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,277
    596
    138
    46
    28
See reviews for
384
2,760
84
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

I recently had my destination wedding at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall. It was the most amazing wedding I have ever seen. There were no worries throughout the entire process. There was excellent communication before we got to Jamaica with all the planning and everything was carried out to perfection. I would like to thank Syrecka, she was the wedding coordinator in charge. Thank you, you did an amazing job. The butler service was very nice to have but the weather and resort is so beautiful my wife and I didn't really take advantage of it. The star friends were very fun! Andre and Kiki were my favorites! What a great job you guys do and I can tell you really love your job your not just putting on a show. Now for my favorite part, where we spent almost all day everyday!! The swim up bar... The staff there was great! I never even had to ask for a second drink and they were calling my name holding one up for me! I would like to say thank you for being awesome at your job to Kerry, Camron, DeWayne and the lady bartender. Sorry forgot her name. Get the Kerry Special where he lines up like 20 shots!! Very Cool!!!! And to my favorite Bartender, the man who bartender my wedding Odean!! You were awesome!! I'll never forget when the song "Shots" came on, how hard he was trying to make and pour all the shots before the song ended. You were great!
My favorite part about this resort was how genuine every person I encountered was. Thank you Iberostar for making this the greatest memory and best vacation I have ever had! Shelly and Jeff will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled to hear that you were satisfied with how we organized your wedding. We take pride in offering our brides a flawless and hassle-free wedding experience, so it was most inspiring to hear your kind words about our wedding team. It would be our pleasure to serve you again so we hope that we will be foremost in your minds as your destination of choice for future vacations or your one (1) year anniversary.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Iberostar Grand Rose Hall ~ February 15 - 22, 2013
Background
We have travelled to numerous 5-star all-inclusive resorts in Mexico, Cuba, DR and Bahamas over a period of 10 years; Iberostar Grand Pariaso, Secrets Maroma Beach, Excellence Playa Mujeres, Sandals Emerald Bay, Excellence Punta Cana, Royal Suites Yucatan to name a few. This was our first trip to Jamaica. We are in our late 40’s.

Arrival
My husband and I flew on a direct Sunwing flight into Montego Bay, arriving at 11am. We were in a very long lineup to clear customs but it surprisingly went quite smoothly and quickly. Within 30 minutes we were out of the terminal and loaded onto the waiting bus. We waited on the bus for another 30 minutes before we had all the guests on board. We were the only two people getting off at Iberostar (20 minutes away), with the majority of people travelling to Ocho Rios – a 90-minute ride. We were the first stop, then to Bahia Principe then to Ocho Rios. Our Sunwing rep on the bus was very friendly, offering beer and drinks for $5/each. Upon our arrival at IGRH, we were greeted with a cold cloth and a cold drink.

Check-In
We were given our wristbands; and told our room was not ready until 2pm. We booked a standard Junior Suite and asked at the time if an upgrade was available, but they stated they were full to capacity. We were handed a resort map and asked to come back at 2pm for our room. I was disappointed that they did not have us flagged as a “3-time repeat Iberostar customer” on file even though our travel agent noted it in our booking. I thought we may receive some sort of recognition, but there was nothing….(we received t-shirts from Iberostar Grand Paraiso). We quickly changed into our swimsuits and headed out to enjoy the welcoming sunshine. After about an hour, my husband decided to confirm with the front desk that we previously requested a high floor room. We know the requests submitted are all dependant on what is available at the moment you check in, so we like to confirm these requests. He was told they didn’t have our requests and that our assigned room was in the back end of building 6 – facing vegetation. After previously staying in an oceanfront room at the Iberostar Grand in Mexico, I knew this view would be a huge disappointment. Luckily Dane came to our rescue and provided us a room on the 3rd floor in building 5 with a lovely view of the pool area and the ocean. It wasn’t oceanfront, but it was a huge improvement to where we originally would have been. We are so thankful for Dane! He provided us excellent customer service!!
We requested a bottle of Baileys for our room from our butler (I won’t name him as I don’t think he was supposed to give us the full bottle). This was the only request we had for him and we were very, very pleased he was able to have it delivered to our room. Again….excellent customer service!

Room
Our suite was beautiful and looked exactly like all the pictures and was the same layout as the Iberostar Grand in Mexico. It was large, bright and extremely clean. The bathroom had a great layout with his and her sinks on opposite sides of the room, large soaker Jacuzzi, separate shower and separate toilet area. There was a display of shampoo, conditioner, bath gel, body lotion, as well as a hair dryer. There is good storage under the sinks for makeup, hair accessories, etc. Another nice feature was having the lights to your room automatically turn on when you opened your door.
The living area had a chaise lounge and a desk area. The room also had a coffee-maker, ice-bucket, as well as an alarm clock and iPod station, TV and a DVD player. The mini fridge held 3 or 4 different types of beer, soft drinks, bottled water, wine and small shot size bottles of rum, vodka and whiskey.
There are two closets with ample room for hanging clothes, ironing board and iron. There is a combination in-room safe, at no extra charge. Maid service was excellent! Air-conditioning worked great and was set at a perfect temperature. The pillow menu is a wonderful touch. Turn-down service is provided every evening. They also wipe down the shower, leave clean towels, take away dirty dishes and leave you chocolates.

Balcony
We were very happy with the view of the pool and ocean as well as the size of the balcony (10’x14’). It contained a swing, a comfy sofa, coffee table, side table and laundry drying rack. However, there is only a partial wall separating some balconies, which hinders privacy. We could hear every word our neighbors said to each other!

Service
Great for the most part! Other than Secrets Maroma Beach, Mexico (which is tops in our books), the service at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall was great. Our day and evening butlers were both very accommodating and friendly. We didn’t need them to do much for us, as we prefer privacy, and they respected that. The service at all restaurants and bars was great. Entertainment Staff extremely friendly and made a point of recalling our names. They work long hours and do a great job.
One small complaint; We ordered a pot of coffee from room service on our first morning at about 6am and it was delivered within 15 minutes. We ordered the second pot and it never did arrive. The next morning we ordered 2 pots of coffee as we were in a hurry to leave for the golf course. We waited 45 minutes but it never did arrive. We never bothered to order room service after this. We made our own in-house coffee.

Currency
U.S. currency works fine. If you pay for something in US money, they will give you change in US dollars. This was a nice surprise, as other countries we visited usually made change in their own currency.

Grounds
The resort grounds are lovely from the moment you drive through the security gate. It is a very small resort and we found it very easy to find our way around. The gardeners work very hard to keep shrubs and trees trimmed.

Beach
The beach area has soft sand with lots of chairs and palapas for shade. We did find the palapas positioned too close together, which didn’t allow much privacy on the beach. We didn’t even want to talk to each other in case we bothered someone reading beside us. They seemed to crowd them into 2 areas rather than spread them out. We had to reserve early in the morning before 7am for a shaded spot by the pool or beach. The water is lovely and a mixture of blue and turquoise colors with a sandy bottom.

Pools
There are only 4 or 5 palapas (with 2 chairs each) by the activity pool and these were usually reserved by 7am. There is a security guard walking through the pool area making sure nobody reserves the chairs before 7am…..unless you sit there and wait for that magic time. Make note the resort was at full capacity when we were there. In my opinion, they could provide a few more shaded areas; umbrellas are easily set up if there is no room to build palapas. There are plenty of shaded areas available in the quieter pool area near the main building, but most people wanted to be where the action was. At the beginning of our week there were a few white canopies scattered throughout the pool area, but they were removed during our week. Not sure if they will be replaced or if they have another plan for more shade. Beach towels are plentiful and available at the towel hut from 7am until pool closing. No towel keys are necessary so people are using 2 or more per person and there were still plenty to go around. My husband’s biggest complaint was the temperature of the pools. They were way too cold for him to get in. I managed a quick swim each day, but even I found them too cold. There was a spa tub (not a hot tub) but it had cool water as well. One day we counted 13 different people (we were sitting where they enter the pool) who tried to get in the pool and the comments were similar to “With all the money we spent on this place would it kill them to heat this pool!” (a negative that could easily be resolved for such a high-end resort).

Restaurants
We booked dinners at 3 of the 4 ala carte restaurants (Japanese, Gourmet and Surf and Turf). We emailed our reservation requests the week before arriving for early sittings (7pm) and they were all confirmed. All meals had FANTASTIC service. Our favorite was the Japanese restaurant which we booked twice during our week. We were seated at the show table and had wonderful meals both evenings. I highly recommend it. Each meal we had was cooked to perfection and beautifully presented. All wait staff were wonderful and friendly. We did not try the Italian restaurant, as none of the menu choices interested us. Men are required to wear long pants and shoes at the restaurants. Women can get away with just about anything other than beachwear.

Breakfast was predictable with the standard omelets and pancakes etc, but the side choices were very limited. We have stayed in many all-inclusive resorts that had the extras; (not this resort’s strong point). It’s located in the main building and opens at 7am. The beach buffet opens at 9am.
We enjoyed the cooking demonstration on the beach one afternoon. They did jerk chicken paella and seafood paella. The chicken was delicious! They had a bbq on a few days by the pool bar with jerk chicken one day and tacos another. Both were excellent.
We were disappointed in the dessert options throughout the buffets and ala cartes. Perhaps Jamaica is not big on desserts?? We like to have hot dessert choices such as apple crumble or more chocolate choices. Desserts were mainly squares with gelatin textures. The ice cream was good.
Room Service is available 24 hours, other than coffee in the morning we didn’t try it but heard from others it was really nice and fast.

Bars
Service was great at all bars. The waitress service on the beach and pool area was also excellent.

Internet
No wifi in the rooms! We found this very strange for such a high end luxury resort. There was wifi in the lobby and you could also request a hard wired connection for your room. I would like to see Iberostar offer free wifi in each room…for the cost to install, seems a no-brainer for a 5-star resort, just my opinion.

Nightly Entertainment
They provided a live musician in the main lobby each evening beginning at 7:15. Each one was outstanding!!! Violin, Piano, Flute, etc. We were totally impressed with the talent from each. The only disappointment was not having enough seating for everyone. We watched many people walk away, simply because there was no place to sit. They really need to provide more tables and chairs when the resort is at full capacity.

We went to 5 different theatre shows as well as the outdoor Beach Party/Pirate Show. Show time in the theatre was between 9:45 and 10. The theatre was comfortable and fully air conditioned with great bar service. The Big Band night was repeated twice within the same week we were there. We were disappointed we didn’t get to see Reggae Night, so went to the theatre in the Suites section a couple of times for a change of scenery. We also enjoyed the Blues Bar in the Suites section….they had a great live Reggae band there one night.
The Disco is located in the Suites building down a staircase. Star Friends were there dancing and mingling.

Shopping
There are shops in the lobby area between the Grand and Suites that carry many souvenirs, cigars, liquor and jewelry. Prices are probably higher than the markets, but much more enjoyable to shop without being harassed. Liquor is highly priced, so I would suggest waiting to purchase any liquor until you get to the duty free shop in the airport. The airport has plenty of shops and free WI-FI to help pass the time waiting for flights. Very nice airport!

Spa/Sports
The Gym facility was tucked away in the lobby area between the two resorts. We didn’t use the facility at all as it was very small and appeared to be crowded during the peak morning hours. The Spa facility was there also, which we did not use. The Entertainment Star Friends offer many fun games around the pool each day and also on the beach. If you are lucky, you could win a bottle of Appleton rum or a T-Shirt.

Golf
My husband golfed twice at Cinnamon Hill, a short 10 minute taxi drive. With a 7 night stay, we had 2 free rounds of golf included. Taxi service was also included. We did have to pay a $20 cart fee and everyone is accompanied with a caddy with a minimum tip of $20. The course was laid out in 3 distinct formats; oceanfront, inland and mangrove. Beautiful scenery and well worth the few dollars to play!! Whitney was our caddie and he was a great help with club selection. He also gave us a wonderful history lesson on the area.

Pros:
Friendly staff
Excellent accommodations
Excellent service
Excellent top shelf liquor and beer choices
Excellent gourmet food – the beef was always tender and delicious, jerk chicken was great

Cons:
Not enough shaded chairs around main activity pool
No wifi in rooms
Restaurant Reservations required
Cold pools
Nightly shows were repeated during our week
Not enough seating in lobby bar during live entertainment
Room Service did not arrive 2 out of 3 requests

Summary
As an adult-only resort, Iberostar Grand Rose Hall is a great choice for those who want exceptional service, beautiful accommodations and excellent food and drinks. We don’t usually return to resorts so we can enjoy other places, but I would recommend this resort to others. Having already been to the Grand in Mexico and Jamaica, we hope to try Iberostar Grand Bavaro in Punta Cana next year, unless of course we are tempted by another 5-star adult only at a better price. Of all the resorts we have been guests of, Iberostar Grand Paraiso is my favorite, Secrets Maroma 2nd, Excellence Playa Mujeres 3rd and Iberostar Grand Rose Hall 4th.

Room Tip: High floors for ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your kind comments on this website. We are honored to have been at your service for a 3rd time. We are inspired by your kind words regarding your room, comfortable balcony area, service and impeccable grounds. Here at the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall we pay special emphasis on the needs of our guests. However, we were unable to honor your complimentary upgrade as we were fully booked. As you can imagine, upgrades are dependent on space availability. As it pertains to your t-shirts, we do have t-shirts for return guests and these are normally provided by your concierge or butler. We are not sure what happened but can assure you that on your next visit you can communicate with our Public Relations Manager – who would personally ensure you receive your t-shirts.

We look forward to serving you again and hope that you will not hesitate to return to our hotel.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We just returned from our trip last week (traveled 2/14-2/18) to the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall and could not have better things to say about our experience at the hotel! We have stayed at all-inclusives in the past but this hotel exceeded all expectations. This is our first review but we felt we just had to write something to thank them for our fabulous trip!

We arrived early in the morning (6AM flight out of NYC) and had made reservations to take one of the shuttles to the hotel. We found a taxi while we were walking out of customs that was both cheaper and quicker since we did not have to stop at multiple hotels. His name was Duane and he gave us a great introduction to the island.

Upon arrival, we were greeted with smiles and a drink. Mackenie was so great in accommodating us when we arrived. We expressed our interest in upgrading to an ocean front room since we were celebrating our anniversary and she sent us down to the breakfast buffet while she worked something out. She was so sweet and let us look at two rooms and decide which one we wanted. We decided on a ground floor room that was on the beach and steps from the pool. It was actually great, not loud at all and just so convenient to everywhere we wanted to go. If we forgot something in the room it wasn’t a big hassle to go back and get it. Our butlers (Marvin 1 and Marvin 2) were great – offering us pillow options, making sure our mini fridge was full of drinks and doritos, always asking if we need anything. They even set up to have our room decorated for Valentines Day and our anniversary with rose petals, a drawn bath, towels shaped as hearts, a chocolate dessert and champagne. Thanks to the housekeeper as well! She set it up beautifully. It was such a nice surprise.

The grounds were beautiful. So clean and no issues getting a chair honestly. We went out at 9AM each day and the two of us were very happy with where we sat. We sat at the pool every day but the beach was beautiful as well. The beds they have are so comfortable, we kept falling asleep. Bartenders at the pool were great coming up with delicious drinks (thanks Comrae!) and the waitresses were always there asking if we wanted another one. I have only the best things to say about the Star Friends. They had great activities for people of all ages. We were on the pretty young side (mid-twenties) and they made sure we were always entertained. We played bocce, “beer pong”, beach volleyball, ring toss, and took zumba, water stretching, and other dance classes. Thanks so much Crazy, Shortcake, Diva, Mr. Fresh, Mr. Neat, Lucky and Bubbles! All of you really made our trip. They were always so enthusiastic and having a blast. They also left us alone when we just wanted to chill. It was so nice that it was adults only as well!

We also played tennis one day – they don’t advertise the courts too well but they were really nice and never crowded. Also we used the complementary round of golf that Iberostar gave us at Cinnamon Hill. This was definitely one of our highlights of the trip (and I’ m not a big golfer!). The hotel takes care of all beverages on the golf course and we had a wonderful caddy (Vinton). It was a spectacular course.

One complaint I have is the external activities. We signed up for a sunset cruise and it was a complete disaster. It was supposed to be a surprise for my anniversary and it did not go as planned. Bus broke down, we stopped at five hotels to pick people up, then when we got there some of the group did not want to go because it was cloudy so they canceled the whole boat trip for everyone! We literally wasted 2 hours. They gave us our money back but we really just wanted the experience. It was fine though, literally only a minor blip on our weekend, we forgot about it when we got back to the hotel and resumed our day.

Food was great!!! Breakfast buffet had anything you would ever want. We actually enjoyed the breakfast buffet by the pool better than the main one. It had less of a selection but we thought it was nicer to sit by the water outdoors. Also we ordered room service twice to eat on the patio in our room which was so fun! Lunch was our favorite meal probably. Lunch buffet by the pool was so good with great salads and the jerk burger was delicious. Also, the grill they had on the beach one day with jerk chicken was so tasty but the best was probably the tacos we had one day. They had them set up by the pool and they were so good. Thanks so much to Janelle! She was such a sweetheart and on our last day had the chef special make us tacos at lunch ! Everyone was looking at us with such jealousy. Dinner was great too! The reservation system was kind of annoying because we had made all our reservations before hand but the Japanese restaurant did not have it for one of nights. They sat us eventually though after we ran back to our room to get proof of our confirmation. It was very unnecessary. We ate at the Surf & Turf, Japanese and Italian twice. Our favorites were the Japanese and Italian. We loved the Italian so much mainly because our waiter was so great! His name was Karim and he ruled.

We loved Jamaica and the people! We ‘ll definitely return!

Room Tip: Ocean front on the ground floor...clean, quiet, close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate your mention of our Butler service, property in general, food and friendly staff. We are sorry to hear about your experience with your tour, but of course we are not responsible for tours. Perhaps you could review the tour company on Trip Advisor separately. It was a great privilege to be able to meet your discerning needs. We are already aiming to exceed your expectations on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, ON
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I have been to Jamaica 4 times now. We LOVE it here! The people are so friendly and accommodating and the weather is always perfect! This trip we stayed in Montego Bay at the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall (adults only) resort. Check in was fast and very welcoming! Greeted with a cool face cloth and drink was wonderful! We were shown to our room (#6024) which was amazing! It was massive and we had a swim-up room! We literally could have stayed in this room for the entire week with our own pool, amazing butler service and housekeeping staff! However we do enjoy the main pools so we went there each day and came back to our "own" pool around 3-4. As at most resorts some idiots get up early and "claim" the best lounge chairs and fail to return for HOURS! However, here the pool staff was amazing! If you told them, they would collect any towels from chairs if not occupied for an hour. There was only one day when we had difficulty finding a chair. They also have lifeguards on duty at the pools! I've been to many resorts and never seen any lifeguards so that was a nice touch! I was able to do the water aerobics once before I got sick but would have done it every day if not....was awesome!

The food was amazing from the grand buffet, to the the beach restaurant. Every day there was a BBQ by the main pool or on the beach, as well as the beach restaurant buffet. The a la carte restaurants were all very good as well. The Italian was our favorite but we only got there once. The Japanese was "ok". The food was great but the chef was attending to 2 groups of people which took away from the atmosphere.

The shows started late for us (9:45) and we were usually beat by that time! LOL We did get to a few of them but I managed to bring a terrible head cold from the plane so we were back in our room pretty early most nights.

We will definitely make this a "repeat" vacation destination!

Thanks to "Clive" in the main dining room! You are awesome and we wish you all the best! And to the entertainment crew who work harder than anyone I know! You are all awesome!

Next time I will be sure to bring LOTS of Jolly Rancher candies for everyone! :)

Cheers,

Kelly & Steve Bonnay
Burlington, ON
Canada

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your kind review. We apologize wholeheartedly for the problems encountered with other guests “holding” beach chairs, we are currently trying to discourage this practice, however it is always a challenge trying to determine who has genuinely stepped away for 5 minutes as opposed to many hours. We therefore ask that guests report such observations to one of the Pool Concierge. It was great to know that you enjoyed the food, restaurants and entertainment. It is hoped that you will be returning soon as we plan to ensure that we exceed your expectations even further.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I returned to the Iberostar grand for our one year anniversary and once again it was amazing! The staff are unbelievable! most of them even remembered us from our wedding the year before. Davian, our buttler from last year went out of his way to make sure we had a great time, even though he was not assigned to our room. The star friends were awesome, Kiki, bubbles and shortcake always made a point to come chat with us and make sure we were having a good time. Food was outstanding, all the lobster you can eat and top shelf liquor!!! Lobby bar staff were amazing and hilarious, one of the bartenders is a very talented guitar player, he played for us a few evenings and it was great, he should have been the lobby bar entertainment all night! The pool bartenders odean and kerry always remembered our drink orders and had one ready before we could even get to the counter (ask for the odean special, its amazing!)! It will be hard to go anywhere else after a place like this! already planning for next year!

Room Tip: Ask for whichever area Davian is working!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled to have been able to play an integral role in the celebration of your one year anniversary. It was our pleasure to have the chance to host you. We feel rewarded by your comments about our staff, food, entertainment and butler service. We look forward to hosting you on the occasion of your second anniversary.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

My stay at the Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall was Heaven. The trip was for my Son's wedding. The wedding on the beach was beautiful beyond words. The minute we arrived at this hotel it was evident we were somewhere special. The staff was at our beacon call and always with a smile and cheerful enthusiasm. The room was a step into luxury with a bathroom that I would love to have in my home. The bed was comfortable and had very nice linens. Furnishings were nice and the balcony was perfect and had a view of both the pool and ocean beach. We enjoyed everything we had to eat from all the restaurants and buffets. Breakfast in our room from room service was great and all other food from room service was perfect. Room service and buffets 24 hours a day left nothing out. We felt like Royalty our entire stay. I cannot think of one single thing I could have asked for that wasn't available. I will go back to this Hotel for another fabulous retreat and special treatment. Thank You to Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall for the fantastic stay and the Beautiful Wedding you made for my Son and new Daughter in law. Debby Trad

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your heartwarming review. It was a pleasure to have hosted you on the occasion of your son’s wedding. Your mention of our staff, rooms, food and the enjoyable time you had is a testament of the dedication our team has towards guest satisfaction. We trust that our property will maintain a special place in your family’s hearts and hope that you will not hesitate to return.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Grand Rose Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Rose Hall

Address: Main Road | Little River, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Rose Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and Orbitz so you can book your Iberostar Grand Rose Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall Hotel Rose Hall
Iberostar Montego Bay
Iberostar Hotel Montego Bay
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall Jamaica - Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.