We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pampering in a true Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Grand Rose Hall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Grand Rose Hall to your Saves list
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Main Road | Little River, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Rose Hall
Moorestown, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pampering in a true Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from an amazing stay at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall. From the moment we arrived we were expertly pampered. I had a mimosa in my hand at check-in! Our daytime butler Darwin was fantastic. He was knocking at our door just minutes after check-in to introduce himself, see if we needed anything or had any special requests. He also provided us with a tour of the resort. He and our evening butler, Randy, made sure that our refrigerator was always stocked with our favorites including water and my husbands favorite Red Stripe! This trip was my anniversary present from my husband and even though our anniversary was back in November, the staff arranged for a rose petal bath and a bottle of champagne to celebrate! We didn't arrive back at our room until nearly 1am that night, yet the bath was piping hot, how did they know when we would be back? Amazing! The buffets were very good and my husband loved trying the local cuisine. The only thing I didn't care for was the Italian restaurant, I'm an Italian from New Jersey, what can I say? Star Friends and entertainers were great at getting us involved in activities, but were also accepting when we just wanted to relax. It was the perfect vacation. We have previously vacationed at Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton resorts and this was the first all-inclusive we have ever tried. We were very impressed with the level of service we received. Thank you to all of our new friends at Iberostar. We will never forget our time with you and hope to be back soon.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to hear that you considered our resort to be the best you had ever visited. We aim to ensure that our service leaves a lasting impression on each guest. For this reason, it was inspiring to see your review. Your special mention of our staff, buffet, cuisine and entertainment options will also serve to motivate those team members. We encourage you to return soon and not hesitate to return in the near future as it would be a pleasure to welcome you.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,338
    619
    140
    48
    31
See reviews for
390
2,824
86
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Rose Hall in January 21-28 for my brother's wedding. This was our first all inclusive holiday and I can honestly say that we will be returning! The resort was absolutely beautiful, the service was awesome and the food was great!
Everyone was awesome but a few people really stuck out for us: Our butlers Reniche and Marlon were so friendly and helpful, Avory at the Italian Restaurant was so nice and Danville at the pool bar was our favourite bartender! We flew through Air Canada Vacations and Helen was so much help:) The entertainment staff were so much fun! G-Money is awesome! You really do get to know many of the staff there, everyone was seriously so nice! The wedding ceremony on the beach was beautiful along with the reception which was also on the beach. Clearly we loved it! Jamaica is beautiful and this resort was absolutely perfect! We have children so our next visit we may stay at the suites or beach where they allow children, but for a couples getaway, the grand is the way to go! Plus if you stay at the grand you get to use all amenities at the other two iberostar resorts which are all so easily accessible!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your review. We are ecstatic to hear that your trip had met your expectations. It was particularly heartwarming to hear that our staff, resort, service and the way that we had executed your brother’s wedding left a positive impression on you. We look forward to serving you again soon and hope that whenever you are planning a vacation, we will be foremost on your mind.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had an absolutely great stay at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall! From the minute we got off the bus, we were treated fabulous... check in was a breeze! The staff was great!! Our butler, RuShane was the best and helped make our stay wonderful!!! The al a cart restaurants were amazing... and if you are lucky enough to have Fitzroy as a server at Surf & Turf, you will understand!! The pool bar was a great time, met some great people. Beach-side service was a bonus. Plenty of pool chairs and beach chairs... I never felt the need to reserve. Plenty of food whenever you are hungry especially with 24 hr room service. Top shelf liquor and bar tenders who can make something special for anyone... you cant go wrong. The lobby bar/lounge was a great place to stop before dinner it had a great ambiance. There was entertainment every night, the beach party was my favorite! I cant find anything to complain about!

Room Tip: Ocean view or ocean front.... the patio is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your comments on your visit to the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall on this website. Your comments about our restaurants and the quality of our cuisine. We are especially grateful that you chose our property to spend your vacation. We hope to serve you again soon and trust that you will not hesitate to choose our resort for your next vacation.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had been to the Grand once before and had a great time. We had never returned to the same resort twice and were a bit nervous that our excellent first experience would not be repeated this time around. As it turned out we had no reason to be concerned. From the grounds through every staff member to the rooms, beach and restaurants everything was top notch. Even the security and life guards made sure they said hello. Even the cat by the breakfast buffet garden was well groomed and friendly.

There were two big corporate groups but the hotel seemed to handled them well and there was no problem with them ganging up on the rest of us - thank you!

Too many staff to single out, although Rachel and the other wait staff on the beach walk their legs off every day and deserve special mention. We didn’t use the butler but he was there if we needed him.

To have a great time just ask for whatever you want, but remember you are in the Jamaican’s country so don’t be demanding – it’s all about one love after all. At the Grand they make things happen.

As many posters have said, the Grand is the adult only part of the Iberostar complex, so if you’re looking for party nights I suggest the Suites or Beaches might be a better choice (hint to the 50+ year olds who felt the need to smoke-up non-stop on their balcony – the 60’s called and want their weed back LOL).

There is no wi-fi in the rooms but you’re on vacation, so relax! (BTW on the balconies of the 5 wing you can connect to the lobby wi-fi).

We only ate at the buffet for breakfast and it is excellent. The al la carte’s were all good, although the surf and turf and Japanese were our favorites. If you want lobster with any meal just ask for it. Italian was probably our least favorite only because it was lots of pasta we could have anywhere. Try the Jamaican dishes whenever you can. Don’t be put off because it looks different – e.g. akee and salt fish is fantastic. Jerk chicken, pork and beef is one of the reasons we come to Jamaica. We don’t bother with room service – we want to be out in the sun and sand but others we talked to said it was prompt and good.

The shows are actually better than most, with live singers and house band that can really play. What the dancers lack in technique they make up for in enthusiasm.

There is some lounge saving that goes on especially at the pool, but even at full capacity there are chairs enough for everyone. There is no need to fight about it or get up at 5:00 to get a lounger. Really, must you have that one particular chair – really? On the other hand, if you’re not coming down until 2pm, why do you think it’s alright to save beginning at 7am?

The Pirate night on Thursday was fun, but for the amount of time it took to set up and tear down I wonder if they should give the staff a break and try something else.

The beach is not miles of white sand beach like Punta Cana or Negril but it is nice and well maintained all the way to the boat dock at the east end. There is a sketchy shanty town past the dock if you want cheap trinkets or some actual handcrafts, and vendors on surfboards are along the beach every morning. FYI the best prices and selection for “stuff” is at the MBJ airport. Sunshine liquor there is cheaper than the duty free store.

If you see a negative review about the Grand, look closely at the complaint. If yelling at the staff failed to improve the service…imagine that. If not having someone turn down your bed at the exact time you wanted it has ruined your vacation perhaps you better save your money and stay home.

Overall the Grand is ire mon.

Room Tip: Any of the higher floors in the 5 wing will give you a good view of the ocean, beach and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for reviewing our property. We are honored to hear that we had met your high expectations. Your mention of our staff, buffet, and property in general will also serve to motivate our team. We are grateful for the chance to have hosted you and hope that you will be returning soon.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MASSACHUSETTS
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed @ the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall from Jan 13-18. It was one of the most relaxing vacations we've ever had. No worries...starting with the mimosas we were handed when we arrived.
Pros:Rooms were large & the swing seat on the balcony had a fabulous view of the pools & beach (no seaweed that others have mentioned). Our butler, Wheeler, was fabulous (setting up a special jacuzzi w/rose petals, candles, & champagne for our anniversary). The pools were beautiful & the bartenders/waitstaff were extremely nice (always greeting you with a smile). The restaurant food was good; especially the Lobster Thermador).
Cons: Wireless is only available in the lobby. That made it difficult to stay in touch with our kids (with school, their schedules, & our dinner reservations...the time to talk to them via Skype was 6-7:30pm). Unfortunately, that's when everyone was a the lobby lounge having pre-dinner drinks and there was always live music...great, except if you are trying to hear). They should expand wireless to the rooms. The only other criticism is that the restaurants were only about 1/2 full, but people were turned away if they didn't have a reservation. We ate our whole meal at the Gourmet and 1/2 the tables were open...I'm not sure why they wouldn't let the other couple change their reservations? We saw this at all the restaurants, not just the Gourmet.

Overall, we loved Iberostar; it was beautiful & well maintained. We can't say enough about the Iberostar employees...they made us feel special during our stay. This is the first time we've stayed at an all-inclusive or at an Iberostar resort. It was a great experience and we would definitely consider returning or staying at one of their other resorts.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time out on your return home to prepare this review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your trip, especially the effort we had made for your anniversary. We look forward to hosting you again and ask that you think of us as your vacation “home away from home”.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

First of all, let me say that I was reluctant to write this glowing review because I did not want those Sandals customers that had complaints, flooding to this resort and driving the price up. I decided to go ahead anyway because based on most of the other Trip Advisor reviews of this resort, the cat is already out of the bag.

I will start by saying that the service, rooms, food, location and resort in General are all worthy of a five star rating. Anyone with any major complaints about this place is just being petty. If you do have any issues, they will address them expediently. I am not the type of person that gives up a 5 star rating easily.

Service and staff and tipping:
If anything the staff is always there and asking you if everything is OK, and if there is anything they can do for you. I realize that it will give you a feeling of a need to constantly tip, but I believe that if they give you good service then you tip, if not, don’t tip. If you were at home, you would be tipping more for the same service. We were two couples and we always gave ten dollars to our servers at the a la cartes. That is reasonable and it is well deserved. A two or three dollar tip for lunch, and/or for a round of drinks. There are too many butlers and too many maids to give them all 5 dollars a day. I gave them a tip when they did something I requested.

Star Friends: Beautiful, talented, and very wonderful people. They were not in your face all day, but if you wanted to participate they were a lot of fun.

Nightly Shows;
I only went to the disco show and the super bowl party. They were fantastic. Our friends went to most of the other shows, and they said they were great. The Star friends and the night friends were the major part of the cast and they were very talented. A big shout out to Bubbles, Shortcake and Kiki. Really nice young ladies.

Accommodations:
All the rooms are suites and seem to be the same. Very luxurious. A lot of the rooms on ground level and level one do not have much of a view. Confused? Let me explain. In many Caribbean and Mexican resorts the ground level is known as level “0”, the first floor up is known as “1”, what we would think is the third floor is level “2”. The first number in your room number is the building number. We were in room 6231, which is building 6, level 2, and room 31 on that level. Building 1 and 2 is the Iberostar beach resort, building 3 and 4 Iberostar suites and building 5 and 6 the Iberostar Grand. The beachfront rooms had the best views but cost a premium. If you are on level 2, 3 or 4 I believe you should have a view of the ocean from any room. Hope this helps.

Pool Chairs:
We had no problem getting shaded pool chair loungers at 09:00 am each morning. They were also quite nice and comfortable. Also they were pretty liberal with the towels, not requiring towel cards each time you asked for a towel or returned them.

Food
The food at the a la cartes was the best we have had in a total of 34 destinations over the years (except Horizons Bermuda). The buffet was a little weak, but still OK. We ate dinners at Surf and Turf, and Italian twice each, and once each at the Gourmet, Japanese and the buffet. The Surf and turf and the Italian were our favorites. There were two buffet locations for breakfast and lunch. We ate most breakfasts in the main building and lunches at the beach buffet. Lunches were pretty good. Service was fast and always done with a smile. Now for the best tip in this dissertation. If you want to eat early, at the a la cartes, you can e-mail them a few days early (before your trip) and request either 6:30 0r 7:00 pm reservations. Otherwise you may be stuck with 8:30 or 9:00 pm as there is nothing in between. There is a concierge desk in each building to book your meals and your golf.
Pr.grand@iberostar.com.jm

Wine
They have several to choose from in each restaurant, Mostly Spanish but some Argentinean and South African, Someone in an earlier review said the wine was not good. We purchased a couple of bottles of duty free to take there, but found it was not necessary. We liked their wine. If you are a real wine snob, you can purchase more expensive bottles or take some with you. They will serve up your own wine at the restaurants if you prefer.

Excursions:
The Tour rep will fill you in, and there are several excursions to go on near and far. Make sure you know, how far and how long your trip is. You can spend two hours traveling each way to some destinations.

Golf (This is what the golfman is for)
If you stay for 5 nights or more, then two rounds of golf are included. This includes transportation to and from the course, caddy fee, green fees, water, soft drinks and beer. It does not include mandatory golf cart, (a bone of contention with Air Canada) or caddy tip (suggested $20.00 per player) or rental golf clubs. The rental golf clubs are $52.00 to $55.00 so it can get expensive if you do not have your own clubs. They assign one caddy for each of two players and they are well worth the tip. Our caddy both days was Michael Adams and though very quiet, he is a great caddy. The cart fee is $20.00 per person. My wife and I had our own clubs so it cost us only $40.00 each per round, including caddy tip. Cinnamon Hill has some very beautiful holes overlooking the ocean. The front nine is fairly easy but the back nine is quite challenging. The first hole, a par 5, is known as The Big Bamboo.

Finally, I want to thank Denston and Kevin (butlers), Peter (the bellman), Maureen, Big Ned, Bubbles, Shortcake and Kiki and all the staff of “The Grand” for making our stay extra special.

Bond, James Bond (The golfman100) Week of Jan 29 to Feb 5
(Disclaimer: All information in this review is subject to your own independent verification)

Room Tip: See the body of my review
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your feedback on this website. We are thankful that you have taken the time to post your review, as reviews like this motivate our team. We are all too aware that our staff work tirelessly each day to ensure that our guests are comfortable and satisfied. We take pride in the quality of our accommodations, amenities and cuisine so your glowing recommendation of our services was an added bonus. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that you will not hesitate to return.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We recently returned back from our stay at the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall and it is the only all inclusive I didn't want to leave. You are greeted with cold towels and mimosas..the staff is all SO friendly..the food is amazing..the rooms and hotel itself are very clean. People are constantly asking you if you need anything, there are tons of activities to participate in, including yoga with a view of the ocean. The staff remembered our name everytime we saw them. I don't believe there was anything we could ask for that we wouldnt get. We never had any issues finding chairs by the pool/ocean. It didnt feel too packed. Would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. We had a room on the first floor facing the pool and it was still amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for providing invaluable feedback on your recent visit. We are certain that other prospective travelers will also find your review helpful. We are grateful for the opportunity to have been able to serve you and hope that you will come again soon.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Grand Rose Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Rose Hall

Address: Main Road | Little River, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Rose Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Iberostar Grand Rose Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall Hotel Rose Hall
Iberostar Montego Bay
Iberostar Hotel Montego Bay
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall Jamaica - Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.